Level
Cantrip
Casting Time
1 Action
Range/Area
10 ft.
Components
V, S
Duration
1 Hour
School
Transmutation
Attack/Save
None
Damage/Effect
Utility
This spell is a minor magical trick that novice spellcasters use for practice. You create one of the following magical effects within range:
- You create an instantaneous, harmless sensory effect, such as a shower of sparks, a puff of wind, faint musical notes, or an odd odor.
- You instantaneously light or snuff out a candle, a torch, or a small campfire.
- You instantaneously clean or soil an object no larger than 1 cubic foot.
- You chill, warm, or flavor up to 1 cubic foot of nonliving material for 1 hour.
- You make a color, a small mark, or a symbol appear on an object or a surface for 1 hour.
- You create a nonmagical trinket or an illusory image that can fit in your hand and that lasts until the end of your next turn.
If you cast this spell multiple times, you can have up to three of its non-instantaneous effects active at a time, and you can dismiss such an effect as an action.
Casting word is:
Arcanus Trivialus
But wouldn’t a mosquito sound be “a harmless sensory effect” much like “faint musical notes”?
well that just got more and more disturbing and bard-like.
I as a DM would rule yes but it wouldn't work as an actual component because it only exists for 1-hour and I don't think it counts as a real object.
The small object would only last for one turn, I believe.
Yeah but it wouldn't be the persistent buzzing you'd normally hear with mosquitoes. Like a single bzz no longer than the snap of a finger.
It lasts for up to an hour, so yes, I think a mosquito sound would qualify, but you'd need to be within 10 feet of the person.
Edit: Nevermind. Just saw that this effect is one of the instantaneous ones.
Seems like a great cold-camp spell when you're out in the wilderness: Heat up some rations without a fire, make it taste good, and clean up afterward.
Would making clothes dry count as cleaning them? It'd be cool if you could instantly dry clothes after they've gotten drenched.
No. I don't know of any spell that lets you make a Component for another spell.
Can this spell create a small, handheld pocket mirror? It is a trinket.
Question: can I mess with my Ingame brother by making all of their food taste like cabbage? Or will it taste like meat with a bit of cabbage flavour, water with cabbage flavour, ale with a bit of cabbage flavour... Still fun but full taste of cabbage will probably get him crazy even more.
The important thing to remember when you pronounce it, is to be sure to trill your 'r' sounds for an extended amount of time so you sound like a 3-ring circus MC.
"Prrrrrrrestidigitation!"
This would go beyond the abilities of this spell. If you read the description carefully, all of the scenarios depict a very minor effect, none of which are detailed enough to produce a badge or severed head.
i usually pronounce it, Press-a-dija-tation
See, I think your edit missed a single letter
The effect IS one of the instantaneous ones... Including making faint musical noteS
Doesn't say how many, and the spell itself seems to either last 1 turn for an item, or 1 hour for an effect (like flavor, lift, or clean)
Imo, notes plural could either refer to a single chord with multiple notes, or a short sequence of notes over the few seconds of a single turn. I'm pretty sure RAI was for that effect to last a single turn.
Could you change the color and flavor it to taste like beer?
I have a player that's going to make a magician-type wizard. Top hat, cape, pulling rabbits out of his hat, that sort of thing. He wants to use Prestidigitation to pull rabbits out of his hat and make them move, likely to distract (dumb) targets. Would he be able to use the last line of the cantrip ("You create a nonmagical trinket or an illusory image that can fit in your hand and that lasts until the end of your next turn.") to create a rabbit that moves?
I was thinking of using the rules of the cantrip is guardrails. Meaning, the rabbit can only move as far as the range of the spell, and can only last 6 seconds (the end of your next turn part). What would you guys do?
I'm curious how DMs have interpreted "1 cubic foot" for this cantrip. My take is this is different than, for example, a 5-foot cube (Minor Illusion) in that it only specifies volume, not dimensions, meaning I could (conceivably) clean the blood off a (idealized) longsword that is 36" x 1/2" x 3" (at the hilt). Volume of a rectangular-based pyramid is 1/3 * a * b * h (a and b being the sides at the base) so in this case 1/3 * 1/2 * 3 * 36 = 108/6 = 18 cu inches (well within the 1728 cu inches in a cubic foot).
How wrong am I?
Edit: removed word