Level
1st
Casting Time
1 Action
Range/Area
Self
(15 ft. )
Components
V, S
Duration
Instantaneous
School
Evocation
Attack/Save
CON Save
Damage/Effect
Thunder
A wave of thunderous force sweeps out from you. Each creature in a 15-foot cube originating from you must make a Constitution saving throw. On a failed save, a creature takes 2d8 thunder damage and is pushed 10 feet away from you. On a successful save, the creature takes half as much damage and isn't pushed.
In addition, unsecured objects that are completely within the area of effect are automatically pushed 10 feet away from you by the spell's effect, and the spell emits a thunderous boom audible out to 300 feet.
At Higher Levels. When you cast this spell using a spell slot of 2nd level or higher, the damage increases by 1d8 for each slot level above 1st.
points or origin are explained in players handbook
Cries in bard
Nope. If that were the case, you'd damage yourself. When the area is centered on you, that is explicitly stated in the spell description, using the term "centered," and then the spell caster is excluded from the damage, explicitly.
This cube is not "centered" on you. It "originates" from you. You're on the edge of the cube, directly adjacent to it, unless you'd like to take the damage.
See the cantrip, "Thunderclap" for a spell that's centered on you.
From the Player's Handbook:
Cube
"You select a cube's point of origin, which lies anywhere on a face of the cubic effect. The cube's size is expressed as the length of each side.
A cube's point of origin is not included in the cube's area of effect, unless you decide otherwise."
I.e. The point of origin is the caster, in this case, whose position must lie on a face of the cubic effect, not centered in the area of effect.
generates from self, what that means is you are generating the soundwave from your spot on the map. if you chose the spot on the map then the attack would damage you too because the soundwave would hurt you too. Easy way to imagine it is like your character is a tuning fork and the thunderwave are soundwaves coming from you. this explains why your character isn't effected by the spell, even though you are in the effective area.
probably the best explination i have heard and its the most clear
haha everytime I have picked this spell I getbtold im wrong but I was right because of the rules of spell casting a cube from the phb
Funny, we just hit on this the other night in a CoS run. PC cast it "diagonally" across the grid, not including himself, and hit two monsters on his six and twelve (like a clock face). I did not think this should be allowed, for tactical RAW, but no sweat off my brow.
In re-reading, I struggle with the Area of Effect picture from PHB and the Spell's Description.
Thematically, it seems to make sense originating from the caster's "square", but at 15 ft cube, it would only be the squares around the player affected. Pretty cool, if in major melee.
Not sure there really is a right/wrong here, play at your table as you see fit...but, for now, our table is playing it as a cube that does not include the caster.
There is absolutely a "right/wrong" here. The PHB explains how different AoE's work, including a cube.
Give me dj alok
weeeeeee
How was this intended to work? A cube is convex; if two points are within the cube, so are all points between those points, so if the caster hits enemies in front of them and behind them, they're also in the area of effect. (The exception would be the situation someone else mentioned, if the caster ducked or went prone and cast it above them so the upper bodies of the enemies were still in the AoE. Could also work for a gnome or halfling casting the spell on human-sized enemies.) Casting the cube diagonally (i.e. not aligned with the map grid) could work for avoiding allies in a group, though.
Total noob here and need help and have watched many a YouTube, is it against my constitution or the casters constitution and what modifiers are added to the saving throw (if any?)?
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/spellcasting#SavingThrows
Spells use their caster's spell save DC, (8 + proficiency bonus + an ability modifier determined by their class or monster entry)
The spell's targets roll to resist using their own Constitution saving throw bonuses
Yeah I don't see why my gnome sorcerer shouldn't be able to crouch low and cast it "upward" to hit a bunch of medium creatures around me. Maybe small creatures get advantage against that tactic. Or just choose to include the point of origin in the AoE as per the rules and damage myself to hit everyone...
The origin is you - equivalent to "any point in your space", the origin lies on the face of the cube, the origin is not included unless you decide otherwise, so I think both of these are valid:
XXX
XXXC
XXX
or
XXX
XXC
XXX
And with 3 dimensions taken into account,
XXX
XCX
XXX
should be possible if you're aiming up or down, though that gets a little tricky.
Also nothing says you have to align with the grid's rotation, so putting it diagonally something like:
XX
CXXXX
XX
One of the cube's faces is touching the player, not the center. Read the rules for spell casting, they go over every shape's origin point.
My friends are weird and renamed this spell to thundercheaks.
glyph of warding
you can target yourself to quote the rules of magic in d&d handbook
TARGETING YOURSELF: If a spell targets a creature of your choice, you can choose yourself unless the creature must be hostile or specifically a creature other than you. If you are in the area of effect of a spell you cast, you can target yourself. what you can use example bless. you can use bless on yourself and two other creatures as a first-level spell.
meaning this entire debate on where the cube is. Is useless because you can do both and even if do fall prone to cast the spell to avoid the damage you still get hit because it is a cube so its height = width = lenth.