I am an artificer and I noticed that in the description it says that you use the tools to cast spells (for example create a salve which is equivalent to cure wounds). Following the salve example, would I be able to store that salve for later use?
No, not as such. Even if you're flavoring as a salve, as a low level artificer, it's still just a spell and it's still only effective as you cast it. You can't save it for later.
What you can do, is use for example a Herbalism Kit to make salves or healing potions. Those will have a cost for materials. This crafting does not require any particular spell.
You can also scribe scrolls (or possibly your DM will let you flavor your scrolls into some other form, but the rule is the same) if you are proficient in arcana, which you probably are. The rules for this are in Xanathar, but basically you can make any first level spell into a scroll (including cure wounds) for 25 gold pieces and 8 hours of downtime, if you have the spell prepared.
It's not until 11th level that Artificers can store a spell in an object, at which time you could store cure wounds or some other spell.
Spell storing item
At 11th level, you can now store a spell in an object. Whenever you finish a long rest, you can touch one simple or martial weapon or one item that you can use as a spellcasting focus, and you store a spell in it, choosing a 1st- or 2nd-level spell from the artificer spell list that requires 1 action to cast (you needn't have it prepared).
While holding the object, a creature can take an action to produce the spell's effect from it, using your spellcasting ability modifier. If the spell requires concentration, the creature must concentrate. The spell stays in the object until it's been used a number of times equal to twice your Intelligence modifier (minimum of twice) or until you use this feature again to store a spell in an object.
There are a couple of very nice properties of this - that you can hand the item off to another person/creature and have them concentrate on it, even if they could not typically cast the spell, is extremely useful. And of course it's a way to save up a bunch of spell slots for later.
While you can't technically store spells, there is a lot of room for flavor where Artificers are concerned in how you describe that spell being cast. For example, casting Faerie Fire could be you pulling a pouch of powder out of your belt and throwing it across the area. Thunderwave could be stored in a metal cap on your boot that is released when you stomp your foot. And Cure Wounds can indeed be a salve that you can apply when you cast it. But these are the items (i.e. spells) you prepare each day as an Artificer that they are technically "stored" in spell slots.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
I am an artificer and I noticed that in the description it says that you use the tools to cast spells (for example create a salve which is equivalent to cure wounds). Following the salve example, would I be able to store that salve for later use?
No, not as such. Even if you're flavoring as a salve, as a low level artificer, it's still just a spell and it's still only effective as you cast it. You can't save it for later.
What you can do, is use for example a Herbalism Kit to make salves or healing potions. Those will have a cost for materials. This crafting does not require any particular spell.
You can also scribe scrolls (or possibly your DM will let you flavor your scrolls into some other form, but the rule is the same) if you are proficient in arcana, which you probably are. The rules for this are in Xanathar, but basically you can make any first level spell into a scroll (including cure wounds) for 25 gold pieces and 8 hours of downtime, if you have the spell prepared.
It's not until 11th level that Artificers can store a spell in an object, at which time you could store cure wounds or some other spell.
There are a couple of very nice properties of this - that you can hand the item off to another person/creature and have them concentrate on it, even if they could not typically cast the spell, is extremely useful. And of course it's a way to save up a bunch of spell slots for later.
While you can't technically store spells, there is a lot of room for flavor where Artificers are concerned in how you describe that spell being cast. For example, casting Faerie Fire could be you pulling a pouch of powder out of your belt and throwing it across the area. Thunderwave could be stored in a metal cap on your boot that is released when you stomp your foot. And Cure Wounds can indeed be a salve that you can apply when you cast it. But these are the items (i.e. spells) you prepare each day as an Artificer that they are technically "stored" in spell slots.