I have a Druid 4/Arcane Trickster 3 making me a 5th lvl caster with access to 3rd level spells but when I tried to manage my druid spells 3rd levels aren't showing up.
Per the multiclassing rules, you only add the class levels together to determine spell slots, not spells known/prepared.
Spells Known and Prepared. You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class.
Spell Slots. You determine your available spell slots by adding together all your levels in the bard, cleric, druid, sorcerer, and wizard classes, half your levels (rounded down) in the paladin and ranger classes, and a third of your fighter or rogue levels (rounded down) if you have the Eldritch Knight or the Arcane Trickster feature. Use this total to determine your spell slots by consulting the Multiclass Spellcaster table.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat On - Mod Hat Off
The multiclassing rules are mostly referring to the quantity of spells that you can know/prepare not the level. On each individual classes description for spells known/prepared the level is determined by the highest level spell slot that you currently have. For example a Cleric 1/Wizard 19 with a wisdom modifier of +0 can only prepare one cleric spell but because they have a 9th level spell slot and spell slots are not separated between the two classes the one spell can be level 9
The multiclassing rules are mostly referring to the quantity of spells that you can know/prepare not the level. On each individual classes description for spells known/prepared the level is determined by the highest level spell slot that you currently have. For example a Cleric 1/Wizard 19 with a wisdom modifier of +0 can only prepare one cleric spell but because they have a 9th level spell slot and spell slots are not separated between the two classes the one spell can be level 9
This is not the case - as per the entry on multiclassing within the Basic Rules/PHB:
Spells Known and Prepared.You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually, as if you were a single-classed member of that class. If you are a ranger 4/wizard 3, for example, you know three 1st-level ranger spells based on your levels in the ranger class.
Per your example as a Wizard 19/Cleric 1 - you will only be able to cast 9th level Wizard spells- not 9th level Cleric spells.
The multiclassing rules are mostly referring to the quantity of spells that you can know/prepare not the level. On each individual classes description for spells known/prepared the level is determined by the highest level spell slot that you currently have. For example a Cleric 1/Wizard 19 with a wisdom modifier of +0 can only prepare one cleric spell but because they have a 9th level spell slot and spell slots are not separated between the two classes the one spell can be level 9
Nope, Silvva is correct: re-read the rules they quoted above, "You determine what spells you know and can prepare..." The rule does not just refer to the number of known/prepared spells, but also to level.
The discrepancy is not in the multi-class rule but in the individual class spellcasting ability rules.
As stated in the multi-class rules you determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually. So in order to determine what spell levels are available you have to look at the classes spell casting ability. To tie into my previous example let's look at the cleric and what determines what spells are available.
You prepare the list of cleric spells that are available for you to cast, choosing from the cleric spell list. When you do so, choose a number of cleric spells equal to your Wisdom modifier + your cleric level (minimum of one spell). The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.
Based on the last sentence of this quote out of the player's handbook, the level your spells can be is determined by what spell slots you have, not the level of your class. By the nature and rules of multiclassing you can have spell slots higher than what you'd normally have in the individual class.
The discrepancy is not in the multi-class rule but in the individual class spellcasting ability rules.
As stated in the multi-class rules you determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually. So in order to determine what spell levels are available you have to look at the classes spell casting ability. To tie into my previous example let's look at the cleric and what determines what spells are available.
You prepare the list of cleric spells that are available for you to cast, choosing from the cleric spell list. When you do so, choose a number of cleric spells equal to your Wisdom modifier + your cleric level (minimum of one spell). The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.
Based on the last sentence of this quote out of the player's handbook, the level your spells can be is determined by what spell slots you have, not the level of your class. By the nature and rules of multiclassing you can have spell slots higher than what you'd normally have in the individual class.
But I you look only at the table for a given class, you don’t have those spell slots. That’s what they mean. That’s been the universal response every time this issue is raised on this forum, and you are the only person I’ve ever seen here who hasn’t understood the rule the way we have been explaining it after it was pointed out to them. I think I’m on solid ground saying that what I and others have said here is both RAW and RAI. (Rules As Written and Rules As Intended)
So I ended up looking it up on sage advice. And unfortunately you are correct. Though I agree with the conclusion at the end of thread that the way it's written is confusing. Just so you know the way the developer explained it is the following
Now that you've re-read the multiclass rules, let's go to the cleric. The first sentence of "Preparing and Casting Spells" reads "The Cleric table shows how many spells slots you have to cast your spells …" That initial text sets the stage for what follows in that rule.
Based on the last sentence of this quote out of the player's handbook, the level your spells can be is determined by what spell slots you have, not the level of your class. By the nature and rules of multiclassing you can have spell slots higher than what you'd normally have in the individual class.
I will admit that this is also what I thought when I first read it. However, as Jeremy Crawford has pointed out multiple times, D&D is a game of exceptions. And the multiclassing rules are an exception to that rule.
The part in red here is the important part:
Spells Known and Prepared. You determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually,as if you were a single-classed member of that class.
Meaning that you don't count the other class when determining what spells you know/prepare. So a 1st level cleric / 4th level wizard only prepares cleric spells as if they were a 1st level cleric and wizard spells as if they were a 4th level wizard.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat On - Mod Hat Off
I have a Druid 4/Arcane Trickster 3 making me a 5th lvl caster with access to 3rd level spells but when I tried to manage my druid spells 3rd levels aren't showing up.
Character sheet for reference: https://ddb.ac/characters/31751045/X2VI5s
Per the multiclassing rules, you only add the class levels together to determine spell slots, not spells known/prepared.
Homebrew Rules || Homebrew FAQ || Snippet Codes || Tooltips
DDB Guides & FAQs, Class Guides, Character Builds, Game Guides, Useful Websites, and WOTC Resources
The multiclassing rules are mostly referring to the quantity of spells that you can know/prepare not the level. On each individual classes description for spells known/prepared the level is determined by the highest level spell slot that you currently have. For example a Cleric 1/Wizard 19 with a wisdom modifier of +0 can only prepare one cleric spell but because they have a 9th level spell slot and spell slots are not separated between the two classes the one spell can be level 9
I am also having this issue with my cleric/sorcerer. It seems to be a problem with all multi-classing.
This is not the case - as per the entry on multiclassing within the Basic Rules/PHB:
Per your example as a Wizard 19/Cleric 1 - you will only be able to cast 9th level Wizard spells- not 9th level Cleric spells.
Nope, Silvva is correct: re-read the rules they quoted above, "You determine what spells you know and can prepare..." The rule does not just refer to the number of known/prepared spells, but also to level.
Trying to Decide if DDB is for you? A few helpful threads: A Buyer's Guide to DDB; What I/We Bought and Why; How some DMs use DDB; A Newer Thread on Using DDB to Play
Helpful threads on other topics: Homebrew FAQ by IamSposta; Accessing Content by ConalTheGreat;
Check your entitlements here. | Support Ticket LInk
The discrepancy is not in the multi-class rule but in the individual class spellcasting ability rules.
As stated in the multi-class rules you determine what spells you know and can prepare for each class individually. So in order to determine what spell levels are available you have to look at the classes spell casting ability. To tie into my previous example let's look at the cleric and what determines what spells are available.
You prepare the list of cleric spells that are available for you to cast, choosing from the cleric spell list. When you do so, choose a number of cleric spells equal to your Wisdom modifier + your cleric level (minimum of one spell). The spells must be of a level for which you have spell slots.
Based on the last sentence of this quote out of the player's handbook, the level your spells can be is determined by what spell slots you have, not the level of your class. By the nature and rules of multiclassing you can have spell slots higher than what you'd normally have in the individual class.
But I you look only at the table for a given class, you don’t have those spell slots. That’s what they mean. That’s been the universal response every time this issue is raised on this forum, and you are the only person I’ve ever seen here who hasn’t understood the rule the way we have been explaining it after it was pointed out to them. I think I’m on solid ground saying that what I and others have said here is both RAW and RAI. (Rules As Written and Rules As Intended)
Trying to Decide if DDB is for you? A few helpful threads: A Buyer's Guide to DDB; What I/We Bought and Why; How some DMs use DDB; A Newer Thread on Using DDB to Play
Helpful threads on other topics: Homebrew FAQ by IamSposta; Accessing Content by ConalTheGreat;
Check your entitlements here. | Support Ticket LInk
So I ended up looking it up on sage advice. And unfortunately you are correct. Though I agree with the conclusion at the end of thread that the way it's written is confusing. Just so you know the way the developer explained it is the following
I will admit that this is also what I thought when I first read it. However, as Jeremy Crawford has pointed out multiple times, D&D is a game of exceptions. And the multiclassing rules are an exception to that rule.
The part in red here is the important part:
Meaning that you don't count the other class when determining what spells you know/prepare. So a 1st level cleric / 4th level wizard only prepares cleric spells as if they were a 1st level cleric and wizard spells as if they were a 4th level wizard.
Homebrew Rules || Homebrew FAQ || Snippet Codes || Tooltips
DDB Guides & FAQs, Class Guides, Character Builds, Game Guides, Useful Websites, and WOTC Resources
Darn I was hoping I could MC my paladin to get lvl 3 spells while being Paladin lvl 6.
This was helpful.