while the title kinda sounds like a dime novel or a DIY guide, I'm digging down deep into the mechanics of my multiclass Warforged Artificer/Wizard here. I'm currently 3rd lvl and pondering which class I'd pick next, when I came across a (possibly) problematic tidbit for Multiclass Wizards.
I'm using an orb as an arcane focus (embedded into my palm for flavor) for my wizard spells, and in my other hand I have tinker tools at the ready when using Arti spells. While browing spell descriptions and the fine print details I realized, that my 'forged needs to have one hand for his focus and one free hand for the neccessary gestures - which means I'd have to switch between focus and tinker tools every time I use a different spell list. :-/
As a result, I probably can't use an infused quarterstaff effectivly, either, because I'd still have to change weapons and keep one hand free. If I decide to go down further along the Artificer road further, this problem only increases and keeps me from using a shield and a sword/dagger/whatever, doesn't it? Arti spells also require somatic components, don't they?
Am I missing something here? I'm not complaining, and I doubt my GM would even care if I simply use my arcane focus for all spells all the time, but I'd like to keep it strictly by-the-book.
By the book you're right; you need one focus for each spellcasting type you can do, i.e- a wizard's arcane focus is for casting wizard spells, so you need that one when you use a wizard spell, likewise tinker's tools are for Artificer spells, so you need to switch.
You do get one free object interaction per turn, and in the rules it gives the example of using that to draw or stow a weapon, but you could work with your DM to decide if swapping a focus could be a single interaction; the rule for free object interactions is very open ended, so switching non-weapons could be seen as acceptable.
However for a war forged you could also argue something more mechanical and thematic; e.g- instead of just having the one focus built into your hand, you could have all of them, and swap them out like a multi-tool? i.e- one moment you have tinker's tool fingers, the next they rotate away to reveal the orb etc.? This is would be balanced by it always being the same hand (could be limiting if that arm is restricted in some way)?
As long as you're not switching more than once per turn I think it should be fine, so long as you keep in mind that it may limit what reaction spells (if any) you have available if you leave the wrong focus active at the end of your turn?
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
You could use a normal wand and then infuse it with the Enhanced Arcane Focus To make it a +1 (+2 at 10th level). Now you can cast both Wizard and Artificer spells through it because any item you infuse can be your spellcasting focus as an Artificer and a Wand can be used as a Wizard’s arcane focus.
Actually, if a wizard can use a staff as a focus, you can do the same thing with a staff.
Edit: Also, not to sure if this helps but there is this item from Eberron.
Wondrous item, common (requires attunement by a warforged)
A wand sheath clamps onto your arm and imparts the following benefits:
The wand sheath can't be removed from you while you're attuned to it.
You can insert a wand into the sheath as an action. The sheath can hold only one wand at a time.
You can retract or extend a wand from the sheath as a bonus action. While the wand is extended, you can use it as if you were holding it, but your hand remains free.
If a sheathed wand requires attunement, you must attune to the wand before you can use it. However, the wand sheath and the attached wand count as a single magic item with regard to the number of magic items you can attune to. If you remove the wand from the sheath, your attunement to the wand ends.
Hey fellas,
while the title kinda sounds like a dime novel or a DIY guide, I'm digging down deep into the mechanics of my multiclass Warforged Artificer/Wizard here.
I'm currently 3rd lvl and pondering which class I'd pick next, when I came across a (possibly) problematic tidbit for Multiclass Wizards.
I'm using an orb as an arcane focus (embedded into my palm for flavor) for my wizard spells, and in my other hand I have tinker tools at the ready when using Arti spells. While browing spell descriptions and the fine print details I realized, that my 'forged needs to have one hand for his focus and one free hand for the neccessary gestures - which means I'd have to switch between focus and tinker tools every time I use a different spell list. :-/
As a result, I probably can't use an infused quarterstaff effectivly, either, because I'd still have to change weapons and keep one hand free. If I decide to go down further along the Artificer road further, this problem only increases and keeps me from using a shield and a sword/dagger/whatever, doesn't it? Arti spells also require somatic components, don't they?
Am I missing something here? I'm not complaining, and I doubt my GM would even care if I simply use my arcane focus for all spells all the time, but I'd like to keep it strictly by-the-book.
By the book you're right; you need one focus for each spellcasting type you can do, i.e- a wizard's arcane focus is for casting wizard spells, so you need that one when you use a wizard spell, likewise tinker's tools are for Artificer spells, so you need to switch.
You do get one free object interaction per turn, and in the rules it gives the example of using that to draw or stow a weapon, but you could work with your DM to decide if swapping a focus could be a single interaction; the rule for free object interactions is very open ended, so switching non-weapons could be seen as acceptable.
However for a war forged you could also argue something more mechanical and thematic; e.g- instead of just having the one focus built into your hand, you could have all of them, and swap them out like a multi-tool? i.e- one moment you have tinker's tool fingers, the next they rotate away to reveal the orb etc.? This is would be balanced by it always being the same hand (could be limiting if that arm is restricted in some way)?
As long as you're not switching more than once per turn I think it should be fine, so long as you keep in mind that it may limit what reaction spells (if any) you have available if you leave the wrong focus active at the end of your turn?
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
All casters can use a component pouch.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Except artificers
You could use a normal wand and then infuse it with the Enhanced Arcane Focus To make it a +1 (+2 at 10th level). Now you can cast both Wizard and Artificer spells through it because any item you infuse can be your spellcasting focus as an Artificer and a Wand can be used as a Wizard’s arcane focus.
Actually, if a wizard can use a staff as a focus, you can do the same thing with a staff.
Edit: Also, not to sure if this helps but there is this item from Eberron.
A wand sheath clamps onto your arm and imparts the following benefits:
If a sheathed wand requires attunement, you must attune to the wand before you can use it. However, the wand sheath and the attached wand count as a single magic item with regard to the number of magic items you can attune to. If you remove the wand from the sheath, your attunement to the wand ends.
"Meddle not in the affairs of dragons, for thou art crunchy and taste good with ketchup."
Characters for Tenebris Sine Fine
RoughCoronet's Greater Wills
Huzzah, that is the solution I am looking for - and can justify in-game, as well!