By the strictest possible reading of RAW, no. The Defender cannot grapple, nor can it technically attempt to escape a grapple or take any other contextual action such as dousing itself if it's set on fire.
Many DMs will relax these restrictions, as it makes little sense that a construct capable of understanding and obeying the commands of its creator (Steel Defenders understand their creator's languages, even if they cannot speak themselves) would be incapable of figuring out "grab that guy!" or "stop, drop and roll!"
That said, it's something you should clarify with your DM, especially if using a humanoid Defender. There are limits to how far a DM will relax the restrictions on the critter, and it's good to know whete you stand before you put your DM on the spot.
They may not technically be able to grapple RAW since it technically can not take the Attack. But as Yurei said, that a bit... 🤨 so many DMs do choose to overrule that, find out if yours does.
However I disagree about escaping a grapple. My interpretation is that they can attempt to escape a grapple since the condition itself grants that action to the target.
When you want to grab a creature or wrestle with it, you can use the Attack action to make a special melee attack, a grapple. If you're able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them.
The target of your grapple must be no more than one size larger than you and must be within your reach. Using at least one free hand, you try to seize the target by making a grapple check instead of an attack roll: a Strength (Athletics) check contested by the target's Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check (the target chooses the ability to use). You succeed automatically if the target is incapacitated. If you succeed, you subject the target to the grappled condition. The condition specifies the things that end it, and you can release the target whenever you like (no action required).
Escaping a Grapple. A grappled creature can use its action to escape. To do so, it must succeed on a Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check contested by your Strength (Athletics) check.
Moving a Grappled Creature. When you move, you can drag or carry the grappled creature with you, but your speed is halved, unless the creature is two or more sizes smaller than you.
Shoving a Creature
Using the Attack action, you can make a special melee attack to shove a creature, either to knock it prone or push it away from you. If you're able to make multiple attacks with the Attack action, this attack replaces one of them.
The target must be no more than one size larger than you and must be within your reach. Instead of making an attack roll, you make a Strength (Athletics) check contested by the target's Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check (the target chooses the ability to use). You succeed automatically if the target is incapacitated. If you succeed, you either knock the target prone or push it 5 feet away from you.
Can’t escape a grapple?! You’re correct (by RAW)! That’s opens up a entirely different thought in my head. I was just wondering because if the action in the stat block not being the “attack action”. But that is crazy. That can’t be the intent of the ability and creature, surely.
"Escaping a Grapple. A grappled creature can use its action to escape. To do so, it must succeed on a Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check contested by your Strength (Athletics) check."
RAW, a steel defender can escape a grapple. RAW, any creature that can take an action is able to escape a grapple.
I like your direction on this. How the act of being grappled allows the action to escape. This is what hangs me up on that thought though.
“...but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take one of the actions in its stat block or the Dash, Disengage, Help, Hide, or Search action.“
Are you thinking one takes precedent over the other?
Personally, I think contextual actions would take precedence over other features. There are quite a few features/effects in the game that give the target a contextual actions, such as escaping a grapple or examining an illusion. There are also some features that force a contextual action, such as dashing, on a target. There are also some contextual actions that might not be written in the rules, depending on the situation. For many of those actions, there realistically is no reason that the steel defender wouldn't be able to do them.
It honestly feels like something the DM would have to call at the table. However, I think it makes sense that the steel defender would be allowed to make contextual actions, as long as it it physically able to.
I agree with escaping a grapple becoming available when grappled due to the wording, heck I'm quite sure escaping a grapple isn't listed in the standard actions for PCs either (though they can make skill checks with their actions.)
Although grappling is a basic rule and the Steel Defender is a class rule, I'm pretty sure how the Steel Defender behaves is the general rule in this case as it's the one that normally applies, whereas grappling only applies when used (so is more specific), in which case it explicitly grants a new action to escape.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
Although grappling is a basic rule and the Steel Defender is a class rule, I'm pretty sure how the Steel Defender behaves is the general rule in this case as it's the one that normally applies, whereas grappling only applies when used (so is more specific), in which case it explicitly grants a new action to escape.
Of note: That sets a precedent that things that grant creatures new action options also grant new action options for the Steel Defender. This would include situations where a spell grants a new action like Dragon's Breath, or a magic item that requires the use of an action like an Immovable Rod (it still wouldn't necessarily allow the Steel Defender to speak command words), or the case where a creature is on fire due to Alchemist's Fire (flask) and the creature can use an action to put themselves out.
It effectively lets the Artificer do a lot more things as a bonus action by commanding the Steel Defender to do these applicable tasks for them.
Personally, I'm all for setting this precedent because I'm of the opinion it leads to interesting things happening instead of sad moments where the Steel Defender is as pitiable as a roomba caught on a loose thread in the rug.
(Also it already works with familiars as long as it's not an attack so it's only fair.)
From the second Crawford Tweet (...Many D&D magic items confer their benefits without requiring an action. A creature, like the steel defender, that has limits on what it can do with its action can use such magic items.), my take away is a Steel Defender can NOT use a magic item that requires an action outside of those actions listed in the ability or stat block.
Yep. That's the impression I got from it too, which logically leads to cannot escape from grapple/put itself out if on fire which I think is a dumb situation so it's one where I disagree with JC and that particular interaction of RAW.
I'm not really sure how helpful that second tweet of his really is, as it doesn't really confirm that it can't, or why it wouldn't be able to, which is what people are confused about; it reads more like he's just reminding people that there are magic items that don't need actions.
If I remember right, a lot of magic items with actions/bonus actions require you actually do something as part of that action which might present other issues to a Steel Defender, e.g- speaking a command word. Armor of Invulnerability is one that just seems to be an action, and there is an oddity in the form of some things being written as "you can do X", whereas Grappling is "any grappled creature can use its action to escape", which to me seems far too specific to be overridden by the normal Steel Defender rules.
The behaviour of the Steel Defender is pretty much exactly the same as for a Beast Master's pet creature, and it just seems silly that a creature which, if it wasn't a pet, would try to escape a grapple, would suddenly refuse to even try as a pet, or that a Steel Defender which can dodge to defend itself wouldn't try to "dodge" out of a grapple.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
The hang up (for me anyway) is the language used in the steel defender section for the battle smith's artificer subclass. It says pretty clearly "It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take one of the actions in its stat block or the dash, disengage, help, hide, or search action." Both the steel defender and a beast companion are "pets" but the steel defender is a programed robot. It has only very specific things it can do at all, and only if commanded to do so, beyond moving, dodging, and using its reaction. A beast companion has language like "The beast obeys your commands as best as it can." and "If you are incapacitated or absent, the beast acts on its own, focusing on protecting you and itself." Above all esle, a beast companion is an animal. A (sort of) trained animal, but an animal none the less.
The hang up (for me anyway) is the language used in the steel defender section for the battle smith's artificer subclass. It says pretty clearly "It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take one of the actions in its stat block or the dash, disengage, help, hide, or search action." Both the steel defender and a beast companion are "pets" but the steel defender is a programed robot. It has only very specific things it can do at all, and only if commanded to do so, beyond moving, dodging, and using its reaction. A beast companion has language like "The beast obeys your commands as best as it can." and "If you are incapacitated or absent, the beast acts on its own, focusing on protecting you and itself." Above all else, a beast companion is an animal. A (sort of) trained animal, but an animal none the less.
It's funny that you mention the Ranger's Companion, because it is almost exactly the same language. The feature is very specific about the actions the companion can take, and the specific action it takes if you don't command it. It's almost the same actions, too. In fact, the steel defender actually has more actions than the ranger's companion.
"You can use your action to verbally command it to take the Attack, Dash, Disengage, or Help action. If you don't issue a command, the beast takes the Dodge action."
They both basically say: "You can command it to do these specific things, otherwise it takes the Dodge action."
I think this is a topic where a common sense approach works best, but if you want an over thought analysis, then I wrote this on another thread that covered the exact same topic.
Under the heading "Actions in Combat" (pg. 192 PHB), there is a series of subheadings that name each type of defined action that you can take in combat. These subheadings are Attack, Cast a Spell, Dash, Disengage, Dodge, Help, Hide, Ready, Search, and Use Object. Of these listed actions, a Steel Defender can use Dash, Disengage, Dodge, Help, Hide, and Search with the action in their stat block filling in for their Attack as they do for every other monster/NPC stat block. You will notice however that grapple and escaping a grapple do not appear anywhere on this list. I believe this means two maybe three things.
1. The only actions that a Steel Defender cannot use are the Ready and Use Object actions. This unfortunately means that they can in fact not use a Spell-Storing Item or any magic items that require an action to activate. The inability to ready an action, however, is not nearly as unfortunate as the Steel Defender has more useful things to do with their reactions.
2. That since escaping from a grapple does not use either the Ready or Use Object actions, the Steel Defender can in fact escape from a grapple. Also, since the rules for escaping a grapple are "detailed elsewhere in the rules," they do not invoke the second paragraph after "Actions in Combat" which says, "When you describe an action not detailed elsewhere in the rules, the DM tells you whether that action is possible and what kind of roll you need to make, if any, to determine success or failure." In effect, attempting to escape a grapple (or any imposed condition) is a perfectly reasonable and (maybe more importantly) allowable by RAW action for any creature to take.
3. A Steel Defender since they have a melee weapon attack in their stat block can attempt to grapple another creature. Since the Steel Defender's Force-Empowered Rend is a melee weapon attack, and a grapple is a special melee attack, I see it as allowable by both RAW and RAI especially since grapple as an action does not appear on any monster/NPC stat black. Do you want to argue that an ogre cannot whirl a gnome around by their leg or a wolf cannot pin someone down for the rest of their pack to attack. Also, how else would a Steel Defender pull someone off the battlefield and to safety if they cannot not grapple someone?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Bark side up, bark side down, it really, truly does not matter.
I believe this has been remedied with Tasha’s as now the steel defender reads, “It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action.“
“Or some other action” leads me to believe grapple or escaping one can be used.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
None of the actions in the steel defender's stat block or the battle smith's ability is the attack action.
By the strictest possible reading of RAW, no. The Defender cannot grapple, nor can it technically attempt to escape a grapple or take any other contextual action such as dousing itself if it's set on fire.
Many DMs will relax these restrictions, as it makes little sense that a construct capable of understanding and obeying the commands of its creator (Steel Defenders understand their creator's languages, even if they cannot speak themselves) would be incapable of figuring out "grab that guy!" or "stop, drop and roll!"
That said, it's something you should clarify with your DM, especially if using a humanoid Defender. There are limits to how far a DM will relax the restrictions on the critter, and it's good to know whete you stand before you put your DM on the spot.
Please do not contact or message me.
They may not technically be able to grapple RAW since it technically can not take the Attack. But as Yurei said, that a bit... 🤨 so many DMs do choose to overrule that, find out if yours does.
However I disagree about escaping a grapple. My interpretation is that they can attempt to escape a grapple since the condition itself grants that action to the target.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Can’t escape a grapple?! You’re correct (by RAW)! That’s opens up a entirely different thought in my head. I was just wondering because if the action in the stat block not being the “attack action”. But that is crazy. That can’t be the intent of the ability and creature, surely.
"Escaping a Grapple. A grappled creature can use its action to escape. To do so, it must succeed on a Strength (Athletics) or Dexterity (Acrobatics) check contested by your Strength (Athletics) check."
RAW, a steel defender can escape a grapple. RAW, any creature that can take an action is able to escape a grapple.
How to add tooltips on dndbeyond
I like your direction on this. How the act of being grappled allows the action to escape. This is what hangs me up on that thought though.
“...but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take one of the actions in its stat block or the Dash, Disengage, Help, Hide, or Search action.“
Are you thinking one takes precedent over the other?
Personally, I think contextual actions would take precedence over other features. There are quite a few features/effects in the game that give the target a contextual actions, such as escaping a grapple or examining an illusion. There are also some features that force a contextual action, such as dashing, on a target. There are also some contextual actions that might not be written in the rules, depending on the situation. For many of those actions, there realistically is no reason that the steel defender wouldn't be able to do them.
It honestly feels like something the DM would have to call at the table. However, I think it makes sense that the steel defender would be allowed to make contextual actions, as long as it it physically able to.
How to add tooltips on dndbeyond
I agree with escaping a grapple becoming available when grappled due to the wording, heck I'm quite sure escaping a grapple isn't listed in the standard actions for PCs either (though they can make skill checks with their actions.)
As far as RAW is concerned, specific rules always overcome general ones.
Although grappling is a basic rule and the Steel Defender is a class rule, I'm pretty sure how the Steel Defender behaves is the general rule in this case as it's the one that normally applies, whereas grappling only applies when used (so is more specific), in which case it explicitly grants a new action to escape.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
Of note: That sets a precedent that things that grant creatures new action options also grant new action options for the Steel Defender. This would include situations where a spell grants a new action like Dragon's Breath, or a magic item that requires the use of an action like an Immovable Rod (it still wouldn't necessarily allow the Steel Defender to speak command words), or the case where a creature is on fire due to Alchemist's Fire (flask) and the creature can use an action to put themselves out.
It effectively lets the Artificer do a lot more things as a bonus action by commanding the Steel Defender to do these applicable tasks for them.
Word of Crawford on the matter of the Steel Defender using magic items:
https://twitter.com/jeremyecrawford/status/1207428655401488384
Specifically referencing using actions:
https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/1207431466277208064
Personally, I'm all for setting this precedent because I'm of the opinion it leads to interesting things happening instead of sad moments where the Steel Defender is as pitiable as a roomba caught on a loose thread in the rug.
(Also it already works with familiars as long as it's not an attack so it's only fair.)
"...as pitiable as a roomba caught on a loose thread in the rug."
LOL! That is a great visual!
From the second Crawford Tweet (...Many D&D magic items confer their benefits without requiring an action. A creature, like the steel defender, that has limits on what it can do with its action can use such magic items.), my take away is a Steel Defender can NOT use a magic item that requires an action outside of those actions listed in the ability or stat block.
Yep. That's the impression I got from it too, which logically leads to cannot escape from grapple/put itself out if on fire which I think is a dumb situation so it's one where I disagree with JC and that particular interaction of RAW.
I'm not really sure how helpful that second tweet of his really is, as it doesn't really confirm that it can't, or why it wouldn't be able to, which is what people are confused about; it reads more like he's just reminding people that there are magic items that don't need actions.
If I remember right, a lot of magic items with actions/bonus actions require you actually do something as part of that action which might present other issues to a Steel Defender, e.g- speaking a command word. Armor of Invulnerability is one that just seems to be an action, and there is an oddity in the form of some things being written as "you can do X", whereas Grappling is "any grappled creature can use its action to escape", which to me seems far too specific to be overridden by the normal Steel Defender rules.
The behaviour of the Steel Defender is pretty much exactly the same as for a Beast Master's pet creature, and it just seems silly that a creature which, if it wasn't a pet, would try to escape a grapple, would suddenly refuse to even try as a pet, or that a Steel Defender which can dodge to defend itself wouldn't try to "dodge" out of a grapple.
Former D&D Beyond Customer of six years: With the axing of piecemeal purchasing, lack of meaningful development, and toxic moderation the site isn't worth paying for anymore. I remain a free user only until my groups are done migrating from DDB, and if necessary D&D, after which I'm done. There are better systems owned by better companies out there.
I have unsubscribed from all topics and will not reply to messages. My homebrew is now 100% unsupported.
The hang up (for me anyway) is the language used in the steel defender section for the battle smith's artificer subclass. It says pretty clearly "It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take one of the actions in its stat block or the dash, disengage, help, hide, or search action." Both the steel defender and a beast companion are "pets" but the steel defender is a programed robot. It has only very specific things it can do at all, and only if commanded to do so, beyond moving, dodging, and using its reaction. A beast companion has language like "The beast obeys your commands as best as it can." and "If you are incapacitated or absent, the beast acts on its own, focusing on protecting you and itself." Above all esle, a beast companion is an animal. A (sort of) trained animal, but an animal none the less.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/monsters/steel-defender
It's funny that you mention the Ranger's Companion, because it is almost exactly the same language. The feature is very specific about the actions the companion can take, and the specific action it takes if you don't command it. It's almost the same actions, too. In fact, the steel defender actually has more actions than the ranger's companion.
"You can use your action to verbally command it to take the Attack, Dash, Disengage, or Help action. If you don't issue a command, the beast takes the Dodge action."
They both basically say: "You can command it to do these specific things, otherwise it takes the Dodge action."
How to add tooltips on dndbeyond
Kind of the same. The steel defender can only take the actions listed. But that’s just nit picking on my part.
I think this is a topic where a common sense approach works best, but if you want an over thought analysis, then I wrote this on another thread that covered the exact same topic.
Under the heading "Actions in Combat" (pg. 192 PHB), there is a series of subheadings that name each type of defined action that you can take in combat. These subheadings are Attack, Cast a Spell, Dash, Disengage, Dodge, Help, Hide, Ready, Search, and Use Object. Of these listed actions, a Steel Defender can use Dash, Disengage, Dodge, Help, Hide, and Search with the action in their stat block filling in for their Attack as they do for every other monster/NPC stat block. You will notice however that grapple and escaping a grapple do not appear anywhere on this list. I believe this means two maybe three things.
1. The only actions that a Steel Defender cannot use are the Ready and Use Object actions. This unfortunately means that they can in fact not use a Spell-Storing Item or any magic items that require an action to activate. The inability to ready an action, however, is not nearly as unfortunate as the Steel Defender has more useful things to do with their reactions.
2. That since escaping from a grapple does not use either the Ready or Use Object actions, the Steel Defender can in fact escape from a grapple. Also, since the rules for escaping a grapple are "detailed elsewhere in the rules," they do not invoke the second paragraph after "Actions in Combat" which says, "When you describe an action not detailed elsewhere in the rules, the DM tells you whether that action is possible and what kind of roll you need to make, if any, to determine success or failure." In effect, attempting to escape a grapple (or any imposed condition) is a perfectly reasonable and (maybe more importantly) allowable by RAW action for any creature to take.
3. A Steel Defender since they have a melee weapon attack in their stat block can attempt to grapple another creature. Since the Steel Defender's Force-Empowered Rend is a melee weapon attack, and a grapple is a special melee attack, I see it as allowable by both RAW and RAI especially since grapple as an action does not appear on any monster/NPC stat black. Do you want to argue that an ogre cannot whirl a gnome around by their leg or a wolf cannot pin someone down for the rest of their pack to attack. Also, how else would a Steel Defender pull someone off the battlefield and to safety if they cannot not grapple someone?
Bark side up, bark side down, it really, truly does not matter.
I believe this has been remedied with Tasha’s as now the steel defender reads, “It can move and use its reaction on its own, but the only action it takes on its turn is the Dodge action, unless you take a bonus action on your turn to command it to take another action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action.“
“Or some other action” leads me to believe grapple or escaping one can be used.