When my knight kills an enemy Great Weapon Master Attack kicks in.
On your turn, when you score a critical hit with a melee weapon or reduce a creature to 0 HP with one, you can make one melee weapon attack as a bonus action.
Can that attack originate by the Echo on the following rule Manifest Echo - Attack (Special)
When you take the Attack action on your turn, any attack you make with that action can originate from your space or the echo’s space. You make this choice for each attack.
Each attack, implies to me that I can attack my great Weapon Master attack from my echo.
Could someone clarify that has more experience.
RAW, no you cannot.
"When you take the Attack action on your turn, any attack you make with that action can originate from your space or the echo’s space. You make this choice for each attack."
Manifest echo only applies to attacks made during an Attack action. Bonus action attacks aren't part of the Attack action.
Does the Echo Avetar have the same perception altering impacts as the knight? (ie racial darkvision, the walocks Devil's sight, or the See Invisibility spell)
What (if any) skills can be done while using Echo Avetar? (ie perception, investigation, knowledge - not interacting w/ the world)
Can the knight still feel touch when using Echo Avetar? (ie party members getting his attention to "wake up")
Can the knight speak or move (with his own body) while in the Echo Avetar state? (likely with assistance since blind/deaf)
Is a concentration check required to remain in control of the Echo Avetar if the Knight takes damage (while blinded/deafened)?
If the echo is destroyed while using Echo avetar does this affect the knight in any way? (I would assume it doesn't destroy the characters consciousness since it was in the echo and that would make Echo Avetar almost useless)
Can the knight swap places with the echo between planes or over infinite distance? (scenario: step through a portal - dont like the result quickly and swap to return to the party).
Similarly does the 1000 ft limit of Echo Avetar occur on a 6 second tick (end of turn) or occur instantly? (ie walk into unknown portal with echo avetar to determine safety)
Can the knight attack object through the echo? (ie even if you cant untie the rope holding the chandelere an attack with a great axe would achieve the same goal)
Clearly the designers never intended to make a flying immovable rod...
If the Knight has those traits (darkvision, etc) they would have access to them while looking through the avatar's eyes.
Up to the DM, but any check that requires sight, hearing, and mental capacity could be accomplished.
The Knight is still aware of their physical body. Identical to projecting your senses through Find Familiar.
Same answer as above.
Up to the DM, but RAW no.
Again, up to the DM, but by RAW there are no ill effects. Also applies Find Familiar rules. I could see a case being made for psychic damage, but that would be a house rule.
Per RAW, I would say yes: "As a bonus action, you can teleport, magically swapping places with your echo at a cost of 15 feet of your movement, regardless of the distance between the two of you."
Same as 30' rule. At the end of your turn, if the Avatar is currently more than 1000' feet away it is destroyed.
If the Knight can attack it, so can the Echo.
They intended for the Echo to be able to move in any direction. Crawford has stated as much. But not so much an Immovable Rod, since object interaction applies to the Echo. If a creature or force shoves against it, it could be moved.
If I carry a bunch of people inside my bag of holding, after I swap with my echo, I carry them with me?
Bag of Holding has a weight limit of 500lbs. Up to that weight, if everything else inside is transported with you, I don't see why people wouldn't be. But a fighter in plate probably weighs 300+ lbs by himself. Plus whatever else you have inside.
Question: If a Knight using the Avatar encounters a Banshee that is wailing, does the Knight make the associated CON save? The effect's text states: "All other creatures within 30 feet of her that can hear her must make a DC 13 Constitution saving throw."
The Knight's body is safely out of the 30' range, though he can still hear her. My take on this is that it's not the sound of the wail that is the problem, as it can likely be heard for more than 30', it's the magic that emanates from the Banshee herself which only has a range of 30 feet. This happened to me in our last session, and while the DM agreed with me, I'd like the opinion of others.
Question: If a Knight using the Avatar encounters a Banshee that is wailing, does the Knight make the associated CON save? The effect's text states: "All other creatures within 30 feet of her that can hear her must make a DC 13 Constitution saving throw."
The Knight's body is safely out of the 30' range, though he can still hear her. My take on this is that it's not the sound of the wail that is the problem, as it can likely be heard for more than 30', it's the magic that emanates from the Banshee herself which only has a range of 30 feet. This happened to me in our last session, and while the DM agreed with me, I'd like the opinion of others.
No. If you're not within 30 feet, you don't make the save, even if you hear it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
That's really surprising to me, I've always pictured in my mind being grappled as having the opponent with both hands around you holding you firm. Even if your arms are not grappled (they have your torso or legs maybe), you're not really going to be able to make an effective swing with a two-handed weapon for example. Regardless, I stand corrected and surprised.
You only need one arm to grapple, and it doesn't specify where you grapple them. The mistake is understandable, though.
grapple really is a questionable word to define what that represents then. Although the mirriam definition leaves room for that interpretation, I think the reasonable person test says if you ask someone what grapple means, 9 out of 10 of them are going to give a description that involves both of their hands, and maximal effort to restrict the opponents movement, whether through bear hug or otherwise making every effort to constrain. That's much more impactful when it comes to attacks than say "grabbing their wrist" which is what I envision with this DnD definition of grapple.
I know this is the echo knight FAQ so I'll ceast and desist, I'm just really surprised at the broad interpretation of this (by DnD rules, not you all) given the overall specificity that exists elsewhere in most of DnD rules.
Jeremy Crawford has said that grappling only takes one arm to do so. Whether or not that makes real world sense doesn't seem to be part of the discussion here.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Question: If a Knight using the Avatar encounters a Banshee that is wailing, does the Knight make the associated CON save? The effect's text states: "All other creatures within 30 feet of her that can hear her must make a DC 13 Constitution saving throw."
The Knight's body is safely out of the 30' range, though he can still hear her. My take on this is that it's not the sound of the wail that is the problem, as it can likely be heard for more than 30', it's the magic that emanates from the Banshee herself which only has a range of 30 feet. This happened to me in our last session, and while the DM agreed with me, I'd like the opinion of others.
No. If you're not within 30 feet, you don't make the save, even if you hear it.
Excellent FAQ! I have one very "fuzzy" question, and one very exact one.
Let's start with the exact one: Does Disintegrate work against an Echo? Disintegrate says "This spell automatically disintegrates a Large or smaller nonmagical object or a creation of magical force. If the target is a Huge or larger object or creation of force, this spell disintegrates a 10-foot- cube portion of it. A magic item is unaffected by this spell." Is an Echo "a creation of magical force"? The spell doesn't seem to address magical objects that are not magical items and not "creations of magical force" (wall of force and similar is of course the intent here).
So, the fuzzy question: As a DM, how often do you have enemies attack the Echo? Is this part of the design intent of Echo Knight, that monsters are supposed to waste their attacks taking out this weird, grey image? How intelligent would you say a monster has to be, to immediately disregard the Echo? In my campaign, this has proved to be the most unbalancing effect of the Echo Knight. I see no reason most monsters wouldn't try to whack this grey solid thing that keeps attacking them. So the Echo basically eats at least one attack every combat, quite often more attacks if the monsters are particularly unintelligent or they keep missing the Echo. It would feel quite metagame-y and silly to me if I were to simply have all monsters disregard the Echo. It has shape, it is solid, it has AC, it has a hit point, and it can attack. So clearly it's intended to be attackable. But having this "shield" endlessly resummonable with a bonus action also feels a bit OP.
I would say Disintegrate immediately destroys an Echo. For this purpose I would consider it a creation of magical force. That said, DM's call.
My DM will typically have a creature attack my Echo if it has first attacked the creature or blocks its path. Moreso with "dumb" creatures, but even an intelligent creature will strike at what is attacking them, unless there is a more dangerous target within range. But yes, the intent is for the Echo to engage a creature, make some attacks and eat an attack or two. The trade-off is that if the Knight has to resummon on every bonus action, they are losing out on teleporting, BA attacks, Second Wind, etc.
Excellent FAQ! I have one very "fuzzy" question, and one very exact one.
Let's start with the exact one: Does Disintegrate work against an Echo? Disintegrate says "This spell automatically disintegrates a Large or smaller nonmagical object or a creation of magical force. If the target is a Huge or larger object or creation of force, this spell disintegrates a 10-foot- cube portion of it. A magic item is unaffected by this spell." Is an Echo "a creation of magical force"? The spell doesn't seem to address magical objects that are not magical items and not "creations of magical force" (wall of force and similar is of course the intent here).
So, the fuzzy question: As a DM, how often do you have enemies attack the Echo? Is this part of the design intent of Echo Knight, that monsters are supposed to waste their attacks taking out this weird, grey image? How intelligent would you say a monster has to be, to immediately disregard the Echo? In my campaign, this has proved to be the most unbalancing effect of the Echo Knight. I see no reason most monsters wouldn't try to whack this grey solid thing that keeps attacking them. So the Echo basically eats at least one attack every combat, quite often more attacks if the monsters are particularly unintelligent or they keep missing the Echo. It would feel quite metagame-y and silly to me if I were to simply have all monsters disregard the Echo. It has shape, it is solid, it has AC, it has a hit point, and it can attack. So clearly it's intended to be attackable. But having this "shield" endlessly resummonable with a bonus action also feels a bit OP.
here's the other side of that, it looks just like the echo knight himself (albeit grey), which a lot of these monsters should also be able to see. So the monster, depending on how intelligent, may make the connection that it's an image and go for the source.
That's why my echo knight has sentinel, so if they DO go for you, they take a risk :)
So, the fuzzy question: As a DM, how often do you have enemies attack the Echo? Is this part of the design intent of Echo Knight, that monsters are supposed to waste their attacks taking out this weird, grey image? How intelligent would you say a monster has to be, to immediately disregard the Echo? In my campaign, this has proved to be the most unbalancing effect of the Echo Knight. I see no reason most monsters wouldn't try to whack this grey solid thing that keeps attacking them. So the Echo basically eats at least one attack every combat, quite often more attacks if the monsters are particularly unintelligent or they keep missing the Echo. It would feel quite metagame-y and silly to me if I were to simply have all monsters disregard the Echo. It has shape, it is solid, it has AC, it has a hit point, and it can attack. So clearly it's intended to be attackable. But having this "shield" endlessly resummonable with a bonus action also feels a bit OP.
I just want to emphasize this paragraph here. An excellent observation. While there is no easy answer for it since every DM will respond differently, this hugely increases the Echo Knights survivability starting from level 3. In some campaigns, it would definitely be OP.
I realize that this may not be everyone's interpretation and that is fine, but compare the echo to some similar features: Invoke Duplicity, Silent Image, Minor Illusion:
The Echo is a gray, translucent image of yourself. It is not active or distracting enough to create advantage for yourself (compare Invoke Duplicity), nor is it distracting enough to grant a rogue Sneak Attack. It has no scent and no sound. It also lacks any text that denotes natural movement, worded much more like Minor Illusion compared to Silent Image.
Given all of this, I'd treat the echo as static and stationary whenever it isn't being used by one of the Knight's features. It is a snapshot of an alternate reality that the Echo Knight can access and update on his turn. It isn't convincing as an actual ethereal creature, but acts more as a humanoid shaped Bigby's Hand or Spiritual Weapon.
That's not to say it can't draw attacks, especially if it gets in people's way or strikes low intelligence, low wisdom creature. This is especially true on the first turn of combat if no one saw you manifest it. But you'd be hard pressed to fool most humanoids or similarly intelligent creatures, and even beasts may have the wisdom to understand the difference between a creature and the echo enough to prioritize actual creatures. I wouldn't expect it to draw more than 1 attack per combat, and even then that attack will be somewhat situational.
But I also haven't run or played a game with one yet, so I could change my mind once I see it more in action.
It would feel quite metagame-y and silly to me if I were to simply have all monsters disregard the Echo. It has shape, it is solid, it has AC, it has a hit point, and it can attack.
This is the point I keep trying to make. People hang up on the word "Image" to the point that they want to ignore the very real, physical properties of the Echo. I would also add the very important trait that it is able to be targeted, unlike say Spiritual Weapon which operates very similarly but cannot be targeted by attacks.
Having played one weekly for several months now, I can say the rules lend themselves better to treating it like an animated object than any sort of image/illusion. Images/Illusions are relatively harmless once you know what they are. Whether it is ruled as a static image or not at your table, it is an object with substance that can injure a creature and block its path. Even intelligent creatures will attack a chair if it is in their way and attacking them. Players do it all the time (though their intelligence can be disputed.)
You don't have to "fool" a creature to get it to attack the Echo, only bother it enough. Intelligent creatures will react to the fact that they're getting stabbed in kidney, regardless of what is doing the stabbing.
It would feel quite metagame-y and silly to me if I were to simply have all monsters disregard the Echo. It has shape, it is solid, it has AC, it has a hit point, and it can attack.
This is the point I keep trying to make. People hang up on the word "Image" to the point that they want to ignore the very real, physical properties of the Echo. I would also add the very important trait that it is able to be targeted, unlike say Spiritual Weapon which operates very similarly but cannot be targeted by attacks.
Having played one weekly for several months now, I can say the rules lend themselves better to treating it like an animated object than any sort of image/illusion. Images/Illusions are relatively harmless once you know what they are. Whether it is ruled as a static image or not at your table, it is an object with substance that can injure a creature and block its path. Even intelligent creatures will attack a chair if it is in their way and attacking them. Players do it all the time (though their intelligence can be disputed.)
You don't have to "fool" a creature to get it to attack the Echo, only bother it enough. Intelligent creatures will react to the fact that they're getting stabbed in kidney, regardless of what is doing the stabbing.
Agree 100%, and the DM can play that level of specificity. Maybe when you summon it, they see it as a translucent image and ignore it. But once they either A) realize they can't move through it and its blocking their way, or B) get attacked by it, everything above then comes into play with regard to the thinking of the enemies. This is one of the reasons I consider Sentinel to be extremely valuable. If they ignore it and move past they are in for a surprise that changes their thinking quickly.
Overall good opportunity for the DM to think through how enemies react to their environment, and fun for tactical gameplay (the appeal for me) for the echo knight player.
If an Echo is an object it should be able to be pushed by something like a shove, you could push a box over in combat. and if you make at attack action through the Echo it doesn't have to be a violent punch, a slap is also an attack or a poke so in theory it should able to perform light manipulations. It only has one hit point so minor damage would make it disappear. it should be something like mage hand but much more limited. But to summon the echo you have to be able to see where it is appearing, can you look through a crack in a wall, can you look under a door and summon if you can see the floor through the gap? Can you summon it through something in the way like a window. Could you summon it through a window and have it "poke attack" a window latch to unlock the window?
Most of that would fall under DM fiat, as the targeting rules are a bit murky. You could probably be able to summon the echo through a crack if you can clearly see the other side. A Summoning through a window is a bit wonky - windows provide total cover, which normally prevent things from being targeted (including spells that target a point in space, like fireball).
The sketchiest part of that is "attacking" the window open. RAW, you can't technically even target the latch with an attack, as it has total cover from you. But it would be reasonable to rule that if you can see something and it doesn't have cover from your echo, the echo can attack it.
Aside from that, you start really flexing the definition of "attack". The echo could definitely try to smash the window with a legitimate attack. He could also maybe strike at the latch and get lucky with brute forcing a very basic latching mechanism open (probably with some permanent damage). But gently using your blade to work the mechanism open is a bit far, IMO.
Basic rule of thumb for me: If the action wouldn't require an attack roll with a normal character, I wouldn't allow an Echo Knight to attempt it with their echo. But you could always just swap places with your echo and do it yourself.
I fail to see how there's any debate on this. The instruction from the class description is pretty clear. Emphasis below is mine:
When a creature that you can see within 5 feet of your echo moves at least 5 feet away from it, you can use your reaction to make an opportunity attack against that creature as if you were in the echo’s space.
As you can see, it clearly says that you use your reaction to make an attack as if you were in the space. As a result, you would get one and only one reaction. However, you could choose whether the attack originates from the echo's space or yours. This could be useful depending on the positioning of the battlefield, if you happen to play on a battle map, or use minis and terrain.
Edit: You would only get a second reaction if the echo itself could take a reaction. However, the echo is an object, not a creature. Thus, it gets no reaction of its own.
RAW, no you cannot.
"When you take the Attack action on your turn, any attack you make with that action can originate from your space or the echo’s space. You make this choice for each attack."
Manifest echo only applies to attacks made during an Attack action. Bonus action attacks aren't part of the Attack action.
If the Knight has those traits (darkvision, etc) they would have access to them while looking through the avatar's eyes.
Up to the DM, but any check that requires sight, hearing, and mental capacity could be accomplished.
The Knight is still aware of their physical body. Identical to projecting your senses through Find Familiar.
Same answer as above.
Up to the DM, but RAW no.
Again, up to the DM, but by RAW there are no ill effects. Also applies Find Familiar rules. I could see a case being made for psychic damage, but that would be a house rule.
Per RAW, I would say yes: "As a bonus action, you can teleport, magically swapping places with your echo at a cost of 15 feet of your movement, regardless of the distance between the two of you."
Same as 30' rule. At the end of your turn, if the Avatar is currently more than 1000' feet away it is destroyed.
If the Knight can attack it, so can the Echo.
They intended for the Echo to be able to move in any direction. Crawford has stated as much. But not so much an Immovable Rod, since object interaction applies to the Echo. If a creature or force shoves against it, it could be moved.
Bag of Holding has a weight limit of 500lbs. Up to that weight, if everything else inside is transported with you, I don't see why people wouldn't be. But a fighter in plate probably weighs 300+ lbs by himself. Plus whatever else you have inside.
Question: If a Knight using the Avatar encounters a Banshee that is wailing, does the Knight make the associated CON save? The effect's text states: "All other creatures within 30 feet of her that can hear her must make a DC 13 Constitution saving throw."
The Knight's body is safely out of the 30' range, though he can still hear her. My take on this is that it's not the sound of the wail that is the problem, as it can likely be heard for more than 30', it's the magic that emanates from the Banshee herself which only has a range of 30 feet. This happened to me in our last session, and while the DM agreed with me, I'd like the opinion of others.
No. If you're not within 30 feet, you don't make the save, even if you hear it.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
Jeremy Crawford has said that grappling only takes one arm to do so. Whether or not that makes real world sense doesn't seem to be part of the discussion here.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
Thanks, that's what I figured.
Thanks! That is what I thought. :D
Excellent FAQ! I have one very "fuzzy" question, and one very exact one.
Let's start with the exact one: Does Disintegrate work against an Echo? Disintegrate says "This spell automatically disintegrates a Large or smaller nonmagical object or a creation of magical force. If the target is a Huge or larger object or creation of force, this spell disintegrates a 10-foot- cube portion of it. A magic item is unaffected by this spell." Is an Echo "a creation of magical force"? The spell doesn't seem to address magical objects that are not magical items and not "creations of magical force" (wall of force and similar is of course the intent here).
So, the fuzzy question: As a DM, how often do you have enemies attack the Echo? Is this part of the design intent of Echo Knight, that monsters are supposed to waste their attacks taking out this weird, grey image? How intelligent would you say a monster has to be, to immediately disregard the Echo? In my campaign, this has proved to be the most unbalancing effect of the Echo Knight. I see no reason most monsters wouldn't try to whack this grey solid thing that keeps attacking them. So the Echo basically eats at least one attack every combat, quite often more attacks if the monsters are particularly unintelligent or they keep missing the Echo. It would feel quite metagame-y and silly to me if I were to simply have all monsters disregard the Echo. It has shape, it is solid, it has AC, it has a hit point, and it can attack. So clearly it's intended to be attackable. But having this "shield" endlessly resummonable with a bonus action also feels a bit OP.
I would say Disintegrate immediately destroys an Echo. For this purpose I would consider it a creation of magical force. That said, DM's call.
My DM will typically have a creature attack my Echo if it has first attacked the creature or blocks its path. Moreso with "dumb" creatures, but even an intelligent creature will strike at what is attacking them, unless there is a more dangerous target within range. But yes, the intent is for the Echo to engage a creature, make some attacks and eat an attack or two. The trade-off is that if the Knight has to resummon on every bonus action, they are losing out on teleporting, BA attacks, Second Wind, etc.
here's the other side of that, it looks just like the echo knight himself (albeit grey), which a lot of these monsters should also be able to see. So the monster, depending on how intelligent, may make the connection that it's an image and go for the source.
That's why my echo knight has sentinel, so if they DO go for you, they take a risk :)
I just want to emphasize this paragraph here. An excellent observation. While there is no easy answer for it since every DM will respond differently, this hugely increases the Echo Knights survivability starting from level 3. In some campaigns, it would definitely be OP.
I realize that this may not be everyone's interpretation and that is fine, but compare the echo to some similar features: Invoke Duplicity, Silent Image, Minor Illusion:
The Echo is a gray, translucent image of yourself. It is not active or distracting enough to create advantage for yourself (compare Invoke Duplicity), nor is it distracting enough to grant a rogue Sneak Attack. It has no scent and no sound. It also lacks any text that denotes natural movement, worded much more like Minor Illusion compared to Silent Image.
Given all of this, I'd treat the echo as static and stationary whenever it isn't being used by one of the Knight's features. It is a snapshot of an alternate reality that the Echo Knight can access and update on his turn. It isn't convincing as an actual ethereal creature, but acts more as a humanoid shaped Bigby's Hand or Spiritual Weapon.
That's not to say it can't draw attacks, especially if it gets in people's way or strikes low intelligence, low wisdom creature. This is especially true on the first turn of combat if no one saw you manifest it. But you'd be hard pressed to fool most humanoids or similarly intelligent creatures, and even beasts may have the wisdom to understand the difference between a creature and the echo enough to prioritize actual creatures. I wouldn't expect it to draw more than 1 attack per combat, and even then that attack will be somewhat situational.
But I also haven't run or played a game with one yet, so I could change my mind once I see it more in action.
This is the point I keep trying to make. People hang up on the word "Image" to the point that they want to ignore the very real, physical properties of the Echo. I would also add the very important trait that it is able to be targeted, unlike say Spiritual Weapon which operates very similarly but cannot be targeted by attacks.
Having played one weekly for several months now, I can say the rules lend themselves better to treating it like an animated object than any sort of image/illusion. Images/Illusions are relatively harmless once you know what they are. Whether it is ruled as a static image or not at your table, it is an object with substance that can injure a creature and block its path. Even intelligent creatures will attack a chair if it is in their way and attacking them. Players do it all the time (though their intelligence can be disputed.)
You don't have to "fool" a creature to get it to attack the Echo, only bother it enough. Intelligent creatures will react to the fact that they're getting stabbed in kidney, regardless of what is doing the stabbing.
Agree 100%, and the DM can play that level of specificity. Maybe when you summon it, they see it as a translucent image and ignore it. But once they either A) realize they can't move through it and its blocking their way, or B) get attacked by it, everything above then comes into play with regard to the thinking of the enemies. This is one of the reasons I consider Sentinel to be extremely valuable. If they ignore it and move past they are in for a surprise that changes their thinking quickly.
Overall good opportunity for the DM to think through how enemies react to their environment, and fun for tactical gameplay (the appeal for me) for the echo knight player.
If an Echo is an object it should be able to be pushed by something like a shove, you could push a box over in combat. and if you make at attack action through the Echo it doesn't have to be a violent punch, a slap is also an attack or a poke so in theory it should able to perform light manipulations. It only has one hit point so minor damage would make it disappear. it should be something like mage hand but much more limited. But to summon the echo you have to be able to see where it is appearing, can you look through a crack in a wall, can you look under a door and summon if you can see the floor through the gap? Can you summon it through something in the way like a window. Could you summon it through a window and have it "poke attack" a window latch to unlock the window?
Most of that would fall under DM fiat, as the targeting rules are a bit murky. You could probably be able to summon the echo through a crack if you can clearly see the other side. A Summoning through a window is a bit wonky - windows provide total cover, which normally prevent things from being targeted (including spells that target a point in space, like fireball).
The sketchiest part of that is "attacking" the window open. RAW, you can't technically even target the latch with an attack, as it has total cover from you. But it would be reasonable to rule that if you can see something and it doesn't have cover from your echo, the echo can attack it.
Aside from that, you start really flexing the definition of "attack". The echo could definitely try to smash the window with a legitimate attack. He could also maybe strike at the latch and get lucky with brute forcing a very basic latching mechanism open (probably with some permanent damage). But gently using your blade to work the mechanism open is a bit far, IMO.
Basic rule of thumb for me: If the action wouldn't require an attack roll with a normal character, I wouldn't allow an Echo Knight to attempt it with their echo. But you could always just swap places with your echo and do it yourself.
If my echo and knight trigger an attack of attack of opportunity at the same time. Now many times might I attack?
I have different experiences with different dms.
Some say 1 or 2.
Please enlighten me.
Some say you only have one reaction so it is one.
I fail to see how there's any debate on this. The instruction from the class description is pretty clear. Emphasis below is mine:
As you can see, it clearly says that you use your reaction to make an attack as if you were in the space. As a result, you would get one and only one reaction. However, you could choose whether the attack originates from the echo's space or yours. This could be useful depending on the positioning of the battlefield, if you happen to play on a battle map, or use minis and terrain.
Edit: You would only get a second reaction if the echo itself could take a reaction. However, the echo is an object, not a creature. Thus, it gets no reaction of its own.
Okay tnx!
No problem! The Echo Knight has a lot of confusing aspects to it.