One bonus action only need to cast then concentrate on the spell no need to continue using the bonus action to cast it again, that only happens if the creature you marked as your quarry is dead.
Hunters Mark gets even more effective when you have reliable sources of extra attack, like Dread Ambusher from Gloomstalker. However, it can be problematic with other sources of extra attack that requires your bonus action like TWF, CBE or PAM.
E.G. I am sneaking ahead of the rest of the party... I see an enemy which I am still hidden... can I cast HM?
No. The spell description says
"You choose a creature you can see within range and mystically mark it as your quarry."
So, since you have no creature to target, you can't cast the spell out of combat.
The thing you can do, is: Cast it. You and the party win the fight. You still have it for an hour, so if another fight starts before that hour ends, you can use a bonus action on your first round to mark an enemy, but you don't need to use a spell slot, since that first cast it still up -- assuming you didn't break concentration for some reason.
E.G. I am sneaking ahead of the rest of the party... I see an enemy which I am still hidden... can I cast HM?
No. The spell description says
"You choose a creature you can see within range and mystically mark it as your quarry."
So, since you have no creature to target, you can't cast the spell out of combat.
The thing you can do, is: Cast it. You and the party win the fight. You still have it for an hour, so if another fight starts before that hour ends, you can use a bonus action on your first round to mark an enemy, but you don't need to use a spell slot, since that first cast it still up -- assuming you didn't break concentration for some reason.
This is a grey area and up to the DM if you can cast it outside of combat
E.G. I am sneaking ahead of the rest of the party... I see an enemy which I am still hidden... can I cast HM?
No. The spell description says
"You choose a creature you can see within range and mystically mark it as your quarry."
So, since you have no creature to target, you can't cast the spell out of combat.
The thing you can do, is: Cast it. You and the party win the fight. You still have it for an hour, so if another fight starts before that hour ends, you can use a bonus action on your first round to mark an enemy, but you don't need to use a spell slot, since that first cast it still up -- assuming you didn't break concentration for some reason.
This is a grey area and up to the DM if you can cast it outside of combat
What’s grey about “a creature you can see within range”?
Unless you’re talking about the old bag of rats thing.
E.G. I am sneaking ahead of the rest of the party... I see an enemy which I am still hidden... can I cast HM?
No. The spell description says
"You choose a creature you can see within range and mystically mark it as your quarry."
So, since you have no creature to target, you can't cast the spell out of combat.
The thing you can do, is: Cast it. You and the party win the fight. You still have it for an hour, so if another fight starts before that hour ends, you can use a bonus action on your first round to mark an enemy, but you don't need to use a spell slot, since that first cast it still up -- assuming you didn't break concentration for some reason.
This is a grey area and up to the DM if you can cast it outside of combat
What’s grey about “a creature you can see within range”?
Unless you’re talking about the old bag of rats thing.
The grey is can it be cast outside of combat. Some DMs allow it and some don't
E.G. I am sneaking ahead of the rest of the party... I see an enemy which I am still hidden... can I cast HM?
No. The spell description says
"You choose a creature you can see within range and mystically mark it as your quarry."
So, since you have no creature to target, you can't cast the spell out of combat.
The thing you can do, is: Cast it. You and the party win the fight. You still have it for an hour, so if another fight starts before that hour ends, you can use a bonus action on your first round to mark an enemy, but you don't need to use a spell slot, since that first cast it still up -- assuming you didn't break concentration for some reason.
This is a grey area and up to the DM if you can cast it outside of combat
What’s grey about “a creature you can see within range”?
Unless you’re talking about the old bag of rats thing.
The grey is can it be cast outside of combat. Some DMs allow it and some don't
Any DM who wouldn’t allow a player to have their character cast hunter’s mark outside of initiative is blatantly breaking the rules of the game.
I definitely lean towards allowing it. Though it does say that it requires a bonus action to cast... so I guess you could argue that you can't bonus act outside of battle??
I definitely lean towards allowing it. Though it does say that it requires a bonus action to cast... so I guess you could argue that you can't bonus act outside of battle??
That’s the kind of technical argument I view as a sign of a bad DM. Technically that argument would lead to not being able to pick up a mug of ale outside of combat since interacting with an object is an action.
You can act all you like outside of action, so on that basis your last bit about the mug is overcome. The bonus action however wouldn't have a use outside of battle, as it would just be an action.
I said I am sneaking ahead and spot an enemy. If I am hidden, they can't see me, and therefore I'm not in a battle
In this case, what you are talking about is surprise rules. This scenario would go:
You: I see the enemy and cast Hunter's Mark.
DM: Everyone roll initiative.
The initiative roll happens before you actually cast the spell. Then, when your turn in the initiative order comes up, that's when you cast it, then take the rest of your turn as you like. Creatures who are surprised don't get to act on their turns. (In general, maybe there's some edge case exception.) So, you are not actually casting it outside of battle. You casting it starts the battle. It may seem like a small, almost meaningless distinction, but it matters in the context of when creatures get reactions, and can matter if there are other party members who need to act before others in a battle. (e.g. assassin rogues)
I'll have to speak with the DM then. Because I would be ahead of my party, so they would not be there to roll for initiative...
Also, I wouldn't class casting HM as an attack, therefore no battle was started. I could cast it and never hit them, nor them ever see or hear me - so they couldnt start a battle with me either.
I appreciate the reply's though. I see your point
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hi all,
I am new to D&D and would appreciate some help understanding Hunters Mark.
I understand that casting it is a bonus action, but is it only a bonus action during the initial casting of it?
Or is counted as a bonus action for every subsequent turn where it's active and I hit?
Also, if I have Hunters Mark active and I fail to hit and therefore don't get to do any extra damage...
Do I get to take a bonus action during this turn? Regardless of whether the bonus action deactivates Hunters Mark...
Thanks in advance!
One bonus action only need to cast then concentrate on the spell no need to continue using the bonus action to cast it again, that only happens if the creature you marked as your quarry is dead.
How about when I reach level 5 and get an extra attack?
Does that mean I deal addition damage from Hunters Mark for that attack too?
So I hit with a longbow, deal normal damage and then extra from Hunters Mark.
I then make an extra attack and succeed.
Do I deal additional damage for that also?
Yes extra 1d6 damage for each attack
Niiiiiiiiice
Thank you for the reply
Hunters Mark gets even more effective when you have reliable sources of extra attack, like Dread Ambusher from Gloomstalker. However, it can be problematic with other sources of extra attack that requires your bonus action like TWF, CBE or PAM.
Good to know, thanks.
This is my first campaign of D&D and the DM isn't allowing me to choose gloomstalker.
If it's not in the Handbook released 2014, then we can't use it.
I was disappointed to not be allowed to use things like Zephyr Strike, Absorb elements, and choose races like Tabaxi
It's still a fun campaign but next campaign I will be playing with a DM who allows all these cool things.
Can Hunter's mark be cast outside of battle?
E.G. I am sneaking ahead of the rest of the party... I see an enemy which I am still hidden... can I cast HM?
No. The spell description says
"You choose a creature you can see within range and mystically mark it as your quarry."
So, since you have no creature to target, you can't cast the spell out of combat.
The thing you can do, is: Cast it. You and the party win the fight. You still have it for an hour, so if another fight starts before that hour ends, you can use a bonus action on your first round to mark an enemy, but you don't need to use a spell slot, since that first cast it still up -- assuming you didn't break concentration for some reason.
But I do have a creature to cast it on.
I said I am sneaking ahead and spot an enemy.
If I am hidden, they can't see me, and therefore I'm not in a battle
This is a grey area and up to the DM if you can cast it outside of combat
What’s grey about “a creature you can see within range”?
Unless you’re talking about the old bag of rats thing.
The grey is can it be cast outside of combat. Some DMs allow it and some don't
Any DM who wouldn’t allow a player to have their character cast hunter’s mark outside of initiative is blatantly breaking the rules of the game.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
I definitely lean towards allowing it.
Though it does say that it requires a bonus action to cast... so I guess you could argue that you can't bonus act outside of battle??
That’s the kind of technical argument I view as a sign of a bad DM. Technically that argument would lead to not being able to pick up a mug of ale outside of combat since interacting with an object is an action.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Just to play devils advocate here...
You can act all you like outside of action, so on that basis your last bit about the mug is overcome.
The bonus action however wouldn't have a use outside of battle, as it would just be an action.
I am relatively new to DnD, so I may be wrong.
In this case, what you are talking about is surprise rules. This scenario would go:
You: I see the enemy and cast Hunter's Mark.
DM: Everyone roll initiative.
The initiative roll happens before you actually cast the spell. Then, when your turn in the initiative order comes up, that's when you cast it, then take the rest of your turn as you like. Creatures who are surprised don't get to act on their turns. (In general, maybe there's some edge case exception.) So, you are not actually casting it outside of battle. You casting it starts the battle. It may seem like a small, almost meaningless distinction, but it matters in the context of when creatures get reactions, and can matter if there are other party members who need to act before others in a battle. (e.g. assassin rogues)
I'll have to speak with the DM then.
Because I would be ahead of my party, so they would not be there to roll for initiative...
Also, I wouldn't class casting HM as an attack, therefore no battle was started.
I could cast it and never hit them, nor them ever see or hear me - so they couldnt start a battle with me either.
I appreciate the reply's though. I see your point