Just looking through my character sheet now, I've noticed that while other spells cast at a higher level have their damage increased and highlighted, Spiritual Weapon doesn't have this. When cast at say, third level, in the attack section of actions, the damage isn't changed to reflect this.
That's because spiritual weapon only scales up every two levels when using spell slots from 4, 6 and 8th level. Spell slots at 3rd, 5th, 7th and 9th do not increase the effectiveness of spiritual weapon over the preceding even numbered level. Does the character sheet update properly if you use a 4th, 6th or 8th level slot for casting?
It lists 3rd level as being able to cast the spell at higher levels. It does not say you get 2d8 at 4th level like every other spell format.
So, this can be interpreted as when you cast it at 3rd level you get 2d8. The later part of the statment lists "after the second", not "after the 2nd spell slot". This leads me to interpret as intent being able to cast it at higher level beginning at 3rd, then another 1d8 per 2 levels after that. Which would give you the table:
There is also the arguement that you can cast it at 3rd level, but at a 2nd level effectiveness... so that means you can burn a 3rd level slot on it for a 2nd level spell for such a time as perhaps you didn't want to use a 2nd level slot or had none availabe.
it would be nice if they used less counter-intuitive writing techniques in such cases.
I can see a DM ruling either way. Sage Advice needs a lot of updating.
There is still one fundamental flaw here. There is no other spell written like this, and taking into account the character sheet in Roll20 is not any indicator of intent. It just means whomever is the sheet editor interpreted it that way. They use the 1x1 formula for simplifying the sheet dynamics and haven't addressed the issue on Sage Advice.
It lists 3rd level as being able to cast the spell at higher levels. It does not say you get 2d8 at 4th level like every other spell format.
So, this can be interpreted as when you cast it at 3rd level you get 2d8. The later part of the statment lists "after the second", not "after the 2nd spell slot". This leads me to interpret as intent being able to cast it at higher level beginning at 3rd, then another 1d8 per 2 levels after that. Which would give you the table:
There is also the arguement that you can cast it at 3rd level, but at a 2nd level effectiveness... so that means you can burn a 3rd level slot on it for a 2nd level spell for such a time as perhaps you didn't want to use a 2nd level slot or had none availabe.
it would be nice if they used less counter-intuitive writing techniques in such cases.
I can see a DM ruling either way. Sage Advice needs a lot of updating.
The way DDB presents it is completely compliant with both RAW, and RAI. If you cast it using a 2nd or 3rd-level Spell Slot, it uses its base damage of 1d8+modifier. If you use a 4th or 5th-level Spell Slot, the damage increases to 2d8+modifier, etc.
PS- Sage Advice is in no what whatsoever official, only the actual errata is considered official for any actual rulings. Also, both the official errata and the Sage Advice Compendium were updated only a few weeks ago.
Just looking through my character sheet now, I've noticed that while other spells cast at a higher level have their damage increased and highlighted, Spiritual Weapon doesn't have this. When cast at say, third level, in the attack section of actions, the damage isn't changed to reflect this.
That's because spiritual weapon only scales up every two levels when using spell slots from 4, 6 and 8th level. Spell slots at 3rd, 5th, 7th and 9th do not increase the effectiveness of spiritual weapon over the preceding even numbered level. Does the character sheet update properly if you use a 4th, 6th or 8th level slot for casting?
You're right, my bad.
This one can be interpreted in more than one way.
It lists 3rd level as being able to cast the spell at higher levels. It does not say you get 2d8 at 4th level like every other spell format.
So, this can be interpreted as when you cast it at 3rd level you get 2d8. The later part of the statment lists "after the second", not "after the 2nd spell slot". This leads me to interpret as intent being able to cast it at higher level beginning at 3rd, then another 1d8 per 2 levels after that. Which would give you the table:
2nd level = 1d8
3rd level = 2d8
5th level = 3d8
7th level = 4d8
9th level = 5d8
There is also the arguement that you can cast it at 3rd level, but at a 2nd level effectiveness... so that means you can burn a 3rd level slot on it for a 2nd level spell for such a time as perhaps you didn't want to use a 2nd level slot or had none availabe.
it would be nice if they used less counter-intuitive writing techniques in such cases.
I can see a DM ruling either way. Sage Advice needs a lot of updating.
There is still one fundamental flaw here. There is no other spell written like this, and taking into account the character sheet in Roll20 is not any indicator of intent. It just means whomever is the sheet editor interpreted it that way. They use the 1x1 formula for simplifying the sheet dynamics and haven't addressed the issue on Sage Advice.
The way DDB presents it is completely compliant with both RAW, and RAI. If you cast it using a 2nd or 3rd-level Spell Slot, it uses its base damage of 1d8+modifier. If you use a 4th or 5th-level Spell Slot, the damage increases to 2d8+modifier, etc.
PS- Sage Advice is in no what whatsoever official, only the actual errata is considered official for any actual rulings. Also, both the official errata and the Sage Advice Compendium were updated only a few weeks ago.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting