If I'm using a +1 weapon for the attack, is that bonus still added to roll?
This was answered above - it's a normal melee attack - you add your proficiency if applicable, the appropriate stat and any other bonuses such as magical weapon.
I'm still seeing the bonus calculated incorrectly. As of today, it still uses spellcasting ability as the modifier for Booming Blade and Green Flame Blade.
This topic was super helpful, I was wondering why my character sheet was showing spell attack instead of melee attack bonuses. My guess would be that it's a tough one to resolve, since you might have a +2 weapon and a normal weapon equipped, and the character sheet wouldn't know which one you were using booming blade with. Maybe it would be easier to not list the modifier on the sheet at all, and if anything just put something like "melee attack" in its place.
So to clarify this, say I were to apply Booming Blade to a monk, via a feat...would the melee attack used to cast booming blade prop the melee attack needed to dip into a flurry of blows?
So to clarify this, say I were to apply Booming Blade to a monk, via a feat...would the melee attack used to cast booming blade prop the melee attack needed to dip into a flurry of blows?
Booming Blade requires a weapon. While your unarmed strikes are considered melee weapon attacks they are not considered weapons. You cannot use an unarmed strike with Booming Blade.
Booming Blade is a spell and requires the Cast A Spell action. Flurry of Blows requires you to use the Attack action. Therefore if you use your action for the Cast a Spell action to cast Booming Blade you cannot then use your bonus action for Flurry of Blows, since you did not take an Attack action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Yes, that's why you don't get an Extra Attack with Booming Blade, either. It's a spell (cantrip) attack that uses a melee weapon, not an Attack action.
Yes, that's why you don't get an Extra Attack with Booming Blade, either. It's a spell (cantrip) attack that uses a melee weapon, not an Attack action.
Not quite, it is the 'cast a spell' action, not the 'attack' action, so you do not get to use the 'extra attack' feature. However, it is not a 'melee spell attack'. Instead, the spell requires you to make a 'melee weapon attack'. I think of the attack being the somatic component, whereas the weapon is the material component of the spell.
Yes, you are correct. Cast a Spell Action (and a spell attack), but not an Attack Action.
It is not actually a spell attack.
Booming blade states "As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range, otherwise the spell fails."
That means you need to make a melee weapon attack. The difference being you do not use your spellcasting ability nor gain your spellcasting proficiency, but instead need to use the ability and proficiency necessitated by the weapon you are using.
That is also correct. The attack is resolved using the appropriate Strength or Dexterity modifier and the weapon proficiency, and also the base damage depends on the ability related to the melee weapon.
Thus one should say that it is a
1) Cast a Spell Action (not an Attack action, thus no extra or bonus attacks)
2) Melee Weapon Attack (at least for all practical purposes for to hit and base damage)
I have to say, the whole attack, attack action, melee weapon attack, melee attack, spell attack, melee weapon attack with a weapon, etc... is just a result of really poor wording on WOTC's part, and probably one of the most confusing aspects for many casual players.
The multiple uses of the word 'level' is the other big one. Character level, class level, spell level, spell slot level, etc... "Hey your PC just hit level 12, which means that you are a 5th level Artificer and 7th level Wizard which means you can cast a 4th level spell with a 6th level spell slot!"
The systems themselves are not complicated, but the wording chosen just leads to confusion.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If I'm using a +1 weapon for the attack, is that bonus still added to roll?
This was answered above - it's a normal melee attack - you add your proficiency if applicable, the appropriate stat and any other bonuses such as magical weapon.
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
I'm still seeing the bonus calculated incorrectly. As of today, it still uses spellcasting ability as the modifier for Booming Blade and Green Flame Blade.
In deed.
This topic was super helpful, I was wondering why my character sheet was showing spell attack instead of melee attack bonuses. My guess would be that it's a tough one to resolve, since you might have a +2 weapon and a normal weapon equipped, and the character sheet wouldn't know which one you were using booming blade with. Maybe it would be easier to not list the modifier on the sheet at all, and if anything just put something like "melee attack" in its place.
So to clarify this, say I were to apply Booming Blade to a monk, via a feat...would the melee attack used to cast booming blade prop the melee attack needed to dip into a flurry of blows?
Booming Blade requires a weapon. While your unarmed strikes are considered melee weapon attacks they are not considered weapons. You cannot use an unarmed strike with Booming Blade.
Booming Blade is a spell and requires the Cast A Spell action. Flurry of Blows requires you to use the Attack action. Therefore if you use your action for the Cast a Spell action to cast Booming Blade you cannot then use your bonus action for Flurry of Blows, since you did not take an Attack action.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Yes, that's why you don't get an Extra Attack with Booming Blade, either. It's a spell (cantrip) attack that uses a melee weapon, not an Attack action.
Not quite, it is the 'cast a spell' action, not the 'attack' action, so you do not get to use the 'extra attack' feature. However, it is not a 'melee spell attack'. Instead, the spell requires you to make a 'melee weapon attack'. I think of the attack being the somatic component, whereas the weapon is the material component of the spell.
More Interesting Lock Picking Rules
Yes, you are correct. Cast a Spell Action (and a spell attack), but not an Attack Action.
It means when you roll a d20 for attack, you add 5 to the roll.
It is not actually a spell attack.
Booming blade states "As part of the action used to cast this spell, you must make a melee attack with a weapon against one creature within the spell’s range, otherwise the spell fails."
That means you need to make a melee weapon attack. The difference being you do not use your spellcasting ability nor gain your spellcasting proficiency, but instead need to use the ability and proficiency necessitated by the weapon you are using.
More Interesting Lock Picking Rules
That is also correct. The attack is resolved using the appropriate Strength or Dexterity modifier and the weapon proficiency, and also the base damage depends on the ability related to the melee weapon.
Thus one should say that it is a
1) Cast a Spell Action (not an Attack action, thus no extra or bonus attacks)
2) Melee Weapon Attack (at least for all practical purposes for to hit and base damage)
I have to say, the whole attack, attack action, melee weapon attack, melee attack, spell attack, melee weapon attack with a weapon, etc... is just a result of really poor wording on WOTC's part, and probably one of the most confusing aspects for many casual players.
The multiple uses of the word 'level' is the other big one. Character level, class level, spell level, spell slot level, etc... "Hey your PC just hit level 12, which means that you are a 5th level Artificer and 7th level Wizard which means you can cast a 4th level spell with a 6th level spell slot!"
The systems themselves are not complicated, but the wording chosen just leads to confusion.