It is a "ranged weapon attack" in that it is a ranged attack- and thus subject to those rules- made with a weapon as opposed to a spell. When you throw a dagger you are making a ranged weapon attack, but the dagger remains a melee weapon. In the same way, a psychic blade is expressly described as a melee weapon. Therefore, while you could ignore half and three-quarters cover with the Sharpshooter feat, it is not a ranged weapon, and therefore does not qualify for the special attack option.
"Also at 3rd level, You can manifest your psionic power as shimmering blades of psychic energy. Whenever you take the Attack action, you can manifest a psychic blade from your free hand and make the attack with that blade. This magic blade is a simple melee weapon with the finesse and thrown properties. It has a normal range of 60 feet and no long range, and on a hit, it deals psychic damage equal to 1d6 plus the ability modifier you used for the attack roll. The blade vanishes immediately after it hits or misses its target, and it leaves no mark on its target if it deals damage.
After you attack with the blade, you can make a melee or ranged weapon attack with a second psychic blade as a bonus action on the same turn, provided your other hand is free to create it."
The description SPECIFICALLY refers to it as a "ranged Weapon Attack" Which qualifies for the third ability of the Sharpshooter Feat.
Melee weapons make THROWN attacks, if they have the Thrown property. Range weapons make Ranged weapon attacks.
The Sharpshooter, third part, specifically says, "attack with a ranged weapon" and the Psychic Blades specifically say you can make "a melee or ranged weapon attack". By RAW they are the same and therefore qualify. They are a unique weapon that borrow from different weapons and have unique qualities that no listed weapon has, including being able to attack as both a melee weapon and a ranged weapon.
These are MAGIC PSYCHIC BLADES. Nowhere in the description does it say they are daggers or shortswords. I Italicized each reference in the description to reinforce this error of interpretation. These blades are a mix of numerous, shortsword damage, dagger range, ignores range the long range properties of a ranged weapon, can make melee attacks and ranged weapon attacks.
Funny how you added all kinds of italics… but managed to miss the actually relevant language.
“This magic blade is a simple melee weapon”. They are melee weapons. Sharpshooter‘s damage boost ability applies only to a “ranged weapon”.
Your own citation proves you wrong.
Now, could a DM homerule Sharpshooter to work with Soulknife? Sure. But it would not be RAW.
The Sharpshooter, third part, specifically says, "attack with a ranged weapon" and the Psychic Blades specifically say you can make "a melee or ranged weapon attack". By RAW they are the same and therefore qualify.
No, those things are not equivalent. This is where your misinterpretation of RAW is clear. It doesn't seem worthwhile to explain why again since we already have multiple times in this thread, but maybe notice that not a single person here agrees with you. Play how you want, but the feature is worded fine for people who understand how the language of 5e works.
Actually, while it does have many flaws, this is not one of them.
You see, much like how all toads are frogs, but not all frog are toads, all Thrown weapons are ranged weapons but not all Ranged weapons are thrown. Page 147 of the PHB defines the weapon properties as thus:
"Range. A weapon that can be used to make a ranged attack has a range shown in parentheses after the ammunition or thrown property. The range lists two numbers. The first is the weapon's normal range in feet, and the second indicates the weapon's long range. When attacking a target beyond normal range, you have disadvantage on the attack roll. You can't attack a target beyond the weapon's long range."
Pay attention to that first sentence, a 'ranged' weapon also has either the ammunition or thrown property.
and;
"Thrown. If a weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack. If the weapon is a melee weapon, you use the same ability modifier for that attack roll and damage roll that you would use for a melee attack with the weapon. For example, if you throw a handaxe, you use your Strength, but if you throw a dagger, you can use either your Strength or your Dexterity, since the dagger has the finesse property."
Again, pay attention to the first sentence. A thrown weapon can be used to make a ranged attack... also known as a *drumroll* 'ranged weapon attack'. So, a weapon with the Thrown property is a "ranged weapon" because it can be used to attack within its range. Thrown weapons are ranged weapons that expend themselves as ammunition, and a Ranged weapon it a weapon that either fires ammunition (having the ammunition property) or is the ammunition (having the thrown property). Either way, if it is an attack made with a weapon at a range it is, by definition, a "ranged weapon attack". So, Crawford's ruling is incorrect, and a dagger (and because of the specific wording of the Soulknife's Psychic Blades feature stating it to be a 'simple melee weapon with the Finesse and Thrown properties'), qualifies for all 3 parts of Sharpshooter.
To all those DMs that are saying "if it's a thrown weapon it's not the same thing as a ranged weapon", please, for the love of the game, go back and actually READ the weapon properties. Ranged weapons expend ammunition, Thrown weapons are ranged weapons that are the ammunition.
All Thrown are Ranged, but not all Ranged are Thrown = All Toads are Frogs, but not all Frogs are Toads.
Actually, while it does have many flaws, this is not one of them.
You see, much like how all toads are frogs, but not all frog are toads, all Thrown weapons are ranged weapons but not all Ranged weapons are thrown. Page 147 of the PHB defines the weapon properties as thus:
"Range. A weapon that can be used to make a ranged attack has a range shown in parentheses after the ammunition or thrown property. The range lists two numbers. The first is the weapon's normal range in feet, and the second indicates the weapon's long range. When attacking a target beyond normal range, you have disadvantage on the attack roll. You can't attack a target beyond the weapon's long range."
Pay attention to that first sentence, a 'ranged' weapon also has either the ammunition or thrown property.
and;
"Thrown. If a weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack. If the weapon is a melee weapon, you use the same ability modifier for that attack roll and damage roll that you would use for a melee attack with the weapon. For example, if you throw a handaxe, you use your Strength, but if you throw a dagger, you can use either your Strength or your Dexterity, since the dagger has the finesse property."
Again, pay attention to the first sentence. A thrown weapon can be used to make a ranged attack... also known as a *drumroll* 'ranged weapon attack'. So, a weapon with the Thrown property is a "ranged weapon" because it can be used to attack within its range. Thrown weapons are ranged weapons that expend themselves as ammunition, and a Ranged weapon it a weapon that either fires ammunition (having the ammunition property) or is the ammunition (having the thrown property). Either way, if it is an attack made with a weapon at a range it is, by definition, a "ranged weapon attack". So, Crawford's ruling is incorrect, and a dagger (and because of the specific wording of the Soulknife's Psychic Blades feature stating it to be a 'simple melee weapon with the Finesse and Thrown properties'), qualifies for all 3 parts of Sharpshooter.
To all those DMs that are saying "if it's a thrown weapon it's not the same thing as a ranged weapon", please, for the love of the game, go back and actually READ the weapon properties. Ranged weapons expend ammunition, Thrown weapons are ranged weapons that are the ammunition.
All Thrown are Ranged, but not all Ranged are Thrown = All Toads are Frogs, but not all Frogs are Toads.
You are reading the rules wrong. Some Thrown Weapons are Ranged Weapons, but not all Thrown Weapons are. Being able to attack at range does not make something a ranged weapon. Spending ammunition does not make something a ranged weapon. Having the thrown property does not make something a ranged weapon.
The only thing that makes something a "ranged weapon" is if it says "Simple Ranged Weapon" or "Martial Ranged Weapon."
Here is how that breaks down for Weapons with the Thrown property:
The following count as Simple Ranged Weapons, and therefore you can use Sharpshooter with them: Darts and Nets.
The following count as Simple Melee Weapons, and therefore you cannot use Sharpshooter with them: Daggers, Handaxes, Javelins, Light Hammers, Spears, Tridents, and Yklwa.
Soul Knife creates Daggers. Daggers are Simple Melee Weapons. Daggers are therefore not Simple Range Weapons or Martial Range Weapons. Therefore, Rules as Written, Sharpshooter does not apply.
Here is the list, with the weapon type shown under the weapon's name, just for reference.
Actually, while it does have many flaws, this is not one of them.
You see, much like how all toads are frogs, but not all frog are toads, all Thrown weapons are ranged weapons but not all Ranged weapons are thrown. Page 147 of the PHB defines the weapon properties as thus:
"Range. A weapon that can be used to make a ranged attack has a range shown in parentheses after the ammunition or thrown property. The range lists two numbers. The first is the weapon's normal range in feet, and the second indicates the weapon's long range. When attacking a target beyond normal range, you have disadvantage on the attack roll. You can't attack a target beyond the weapon's long range."
Pay attention to that first sentence, a 'ranged' weapon also has either the ammunition or thrown property.
and;
"Thrown. If a weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack. If the weapon is a melee weapon, you use the same ability modifier for that attack roll and damage roll that you would use for a melee attack with the weapon. For example, if you throw a handaxe, you use your Strength, but if you throw a dagger, you can use either your Strength or your Dexterity, since the dagger has the finesse property."
Again, pay attention to the first sentence. A thrown weapon can be used to make a ranged attack... also known as a *drumroll* 'ranged weapon attack'. So, a weapon with the Thrown property is a "ranged weapon" because it can be used to attack within its range. Thrown weapons are ranged weapons that expend themselves as ammunition, and a Ranged weapon it a weapon that either fires ammunition (having the ammunition property) or is the ammunition (having the thrown property). Either way, if it is an attack made with a weapon at a range it is, by definition, a "ranged weapon attack". So, Crawford's ruling is incorrect, and a dagger (and because of the specific wording of the Soulknife's Psychic Blades feature stating it to be a 'simple melee weapon with the Finesse and Thrown properties'), qualifies for all 3 parts of Sharpshooter.
To all those DMs that are saying "if it's a thrown weapon it's not the same thing as a ranged weapon", please, for the love of the game, go back and actually READ the weapon properties. Ranged weapons expend ammunition, Thrown weapons are ranged weapons that are the ammunition.
All Thrown are Ranged, but not all Ranged are Thrown = All Toads are Frogs, but not all Frogs are Toads.
You are reading the rules wrong. Some Thrown Weapons are Ranged Weapons, but not all Thrown Weapons are. Being able to attack at range does not make something a ranged weapon. Spending ammunition does not make something a ranged weapon. Having the thrown property does not make something a ranged weapon.
The only thing that makes something a "ranged weapon" is if it says "Simple Ranged Weapon" or "Martial Ranged Weapon."
Here is how that breaks down for Weapons with the Thrown property:
The following count as Simple Ranged Weapons, and therefore you can use Sharpshooter with them: Darts and Nets.
The following count as Simple Melee Weapons, and therefore you cannot use Sharpshooter with them: Daggers, Handaxes, Javelins, Light Hammers, Spears, Tridents, and Yklwa.
Soul Knife creates Daggers. Daggers are Simple Melee Weapons. Daggers are therefore not Simple Range Weapons or Martial Range Weapons. Therefore, Rules as Written, Sharpshooter does not apply.
Here is the list, with the weapon type shown under the weapon's name, just for reference.
Any weapon that has a range increment listed is a ranged weapon when used to make a ranged attack, that's literally the definition written in the book, regardless of if it is shot or thrown. Some weapons are designed to be both a melee and ranged, like a Dagger or a Janvelin. However, they are not going to list it as a "Simple melee/ranged weapon" because that would look weird. The only reason a weapon like a bow, dart or net is labeled as a Ranged Weapon is because it is designed to only be used at range.
No matter what a weapon is classified as, if it is used to make a ranged attack, it becomes a ranged weapon for that attack, (PHB pg. 14) "For attacks with ranged weapons, use your Dexterity modifier for attack and damage rolls. A weapon that has the thrown property, such as a handaxe, can use your Strength modifier instead". (PHB pg. 146) "A melee weapon is used to attack a target within 5 feet of you, whereas a ranged weapon is used to attack a target at a distance.". (PHB pg. 147) "Thrown. If a weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack", "Range. A weapon that can be used to make a ranged attack has a range shown in parentheses after the ammunition or thrown property.".
Show me a ranged weapon that doesn't have either the Ammunition or Thrown property, you can't. Darts are not designed to be used effectively in melee combat, hence why they are listed under 'simple ranged weapons', but a dagger transforms from a "Simple Melee weapon" into a "Simple Ranged weapon" when it is Thrown, this is done through a process called physics. You seem to be focusing on what the tables list the weapon as rather than the actual definition of the weapon properties. All weapons with the Thrown property can used as a Ranged weapon, but some can also be used effectively in melee, hence why they are listed as a melee weapon with the Thrown property.
Basically, if a weapon has a range increment listed, it is a ranged weapon when used to make a ranged attack.
And the Soulknife does not create daggers, they create a psychic blade that is more akin to a Shortsword. The Psychic Blade that is akin to a dagger is created as part of their bonus action attack. Either way, it is a melee weapon that becomes a ranged weapon when it is thrown as part of a ranged attack as defined by both the Thrown weapon property and the Range weapon property.
So, I stand firmly by "All Thrown weapons are ranged weapons, but not all Ranged weapons are thrown.", and thus any ranged attack made with a weapon is a ranged weapon attack, regardless of if it was designed to be used in that manner, and therefore can be used with all facets of the Sharpshooter feat if you are proficient with said weapon.
The psi knife ability says that the psi knives are simple MELEE weapons with the finesse and thrown properties. The finesse property allows them to be used for backstabs. But thrown doesn’t make them Ranged weapons even they they have a thrown range. Ranged weapons are ONLY those listed as ranged weapons (simple or martial) in the PHB LISTINGS. Being a “thrown” weapon does not make a weapon a ranged weapon it is still a melee weapon - which is part of why the ranges for them are so low. The only 2 weapons that are both thrown and ranged are darts (simple) and nets (martial). Folks can argue til the cows come home about “ frogs and toads” but that is how the rules read bothnRAW and ( to my mind) RAI.
Actually, while it does have many flaws, this is not one of them.
You see, much like how all toads are frogs, but not all frog are toads, all Thrown weapons are ranged weapons but not all Ranged weapons are thrown. Page 147 of the PHB defines the weapon properties as thus:
"Range. A weapon that can be used to make a ranged attack has a range shown in parentheses after the ammunition or thrown property. The range lists two numbers. The first is the weapon's normal range in feet, and the second indicates the weapon's long range. When attacking a target beyond normal range, you have disadvantage on the attack roll. You can't attack a target beyond the weapon's long range."
Pay attention to that first sentence, a 'ranged' weapon also has either the ammunition or thrown property.
and;
"Thrown. If a weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack. If the weapon is a melee weapon, you use the same ability modifier for that attack roll and damage roll that you would use for a melee attack with the weapon. For example, if you throw a handaxe, you use your Strength, but if you throw a dagger, you can use either your Strength or your Dexterity, since the dagger has the finesse property."
Again, pay attention to the first sentence. A thrown weapon can be used to make a ranged attack... also known as a *drumroll* 'ranged weapon attack'. So, a weapon with the Thrown property is a "ranged weapon" because it can be used to attack within its range. Thrown weapons are ranged weapons that expend themselves as ammunition, and a Ranged weapon it a weapon that either fires ammunition (having the ammunition property) or is the ammunition (having the thrown property). Either way, if it is an attack made with a weapon at a range it is, by definition, a "ranged weapon attack". So, Crawford's ruling is incorrect, and a dagger (and because of the specific wording of the Soulknife's Psychic Blades feature stating it to be a 'simple melee weapon with the Finesse and Thrown properties'), qualifies for all 3 parts of Sharpshooter.
To all those DMs that are saying "if it's a thrown weapon it's not the same thing as a ranged weapon", please, for the love of the game, go back and actually READ the weapon properties. Ranged weapons expend ammunition, Thrown weapons are ranged weapons that are the ammunition.
All Thrown are Ranged, but not all Ranged are Thrown = All Toads are Frogs, but not all Frogs are Toads.
You are reading the rules wrong. Some Thrown Weapons are Ranged Weapons, but not all Thrown Weapons are. Being able to attack at range does not make something a ranged weapon. Spending ammunition does not make something a ranged weapon. Having the thrown property does not make something a ranged weapon.
The only thing that makes something a "ranged weapon" is if it says "Simple Ranged Weapon" or "Martial Ranged Weapon."
Here is how that breaks down for Weapons with the Thrown property:
The following count as Simple Ranged Weapons, and therefore you can use Sharpshooter with them: Darts and Nets.
The following count as Simple Melee Weapons, and therefore you cannot use Sharpshooter with them: Daggers, Handaxes, Javelins, Light Hammers, Spears, Tridents, and Yklwa.
Soul Knife creates Daggers. Daggers are Simple Melee Weapons. Daggers are therefore not Simple Range Weapons or Martial Range Weapons. Therefore, Rules as Written, Sharpshooter does not apply.
Here is the list, with the weapon type shown under the weapon's name, just for reference.
Any weapon that has a range increment listed is a ranged weapon when used to make a ranged attack, that's literally the definition written in the book, regardless of if it is shot or thrown. Some weapons are designed to be both a melee and ranged, like a Dagger or a Janvelin. However, they are not going to list it as a "Simple melee/ranged weapon" because that would look weird. The only reason a weapon like a bow, dart or net is labeled as a Ranged Weapon is because it is designed to only be used at range.
No matter what a weapon is classified as, if it is used to make a ranged attack, it becomes a ranged weapon for that attack, (PHB pg. 14) "For attacks with ranged weapons, use your Dexterity modifier for attack and damage rolls. A weapon that has the thrown property, such as a handaxe, can use your Strength modifier instead". (PHB pg. 146) "A melee weapon is used to attack a target within 5 feet of you, whereas a ranged weapon is used to attack a target at a distance.". (PHB pg. 147) "Thrown. If a weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack", "Range. A weapon that can be used to make a ranged attack has a range shown in parentheses after the ammunition or thrown property.".
Show me a ranged weapon that doesn't have either the Ammunition or Thrown property, you can't. Darts are not designed to be used effectively in melee combat, hence why they are listed under 'simple ranged weapons', but a dagger transforms from a "Simple Melee weapon" into a "Simple Ranged weapon" when it is Thrown, this is done through a process called physics. You seem to be focusing on what the tables list the weapon as rather than the actual definition of the weapon properties. All weapons with the Thrown property can used as a Ranged weapon, but some can also be used effectively in melee, hence why they are listed as a melee weapon with the Thrown property.
Basically, if a weapon has a range increment listed, it is a ranged weapon when used to make a ranged attack.
And the Soulknife does not create daggers, they create a psychic blade that is more akin to a Shortsword. The Psychic Blade that is akin to a dagger is created as part of their bonus action attack. Either way, it is a melee weapon that becomes a ranged weapon when it is thrown as part of a ranged attack as defined by both the Thrown weapon property and the Range weapon property.
So, I stand firmly by "All Thrown weapons are ranged weapons, but not all Ranged weapons are thrown.", and thus any ranged attack made with a weapon is a ranged weapon attack, regardless of if it was designed to be used in that manner, and therefore can be used with all facets of the Sharpshooter feat if you are proficient with said weapon.
Show me where it says in the book “when a weapon with the thrown property is used at range, treat it as a Ranged Weapon.”
You will not be able to - because it does not exist in the rules. This has been confirmed by Jeremy Crawford, the lead rules writer in D&D.
This is some of the worst rules writing in D&D - unless you are very well versed in the nuances of language, “ranged weapon attack” (which daggers can do) and “attack with a ranged weapon” look very similar.
They are not, however, the same—you are wrong in thinking they are.
Ranged Weapon Attack means “attacking with a weapon at range.” A thrown weapon, being a weapon, can do this.
Attacking with a ranged weapon means “attacking with a weapon classified as either martial ranged weapon or simple melee weapon.” A dagger does not count for that.
Sharpshooter confuses the issue by including both. Bullet point 2 uses range weapon attack and can be used by daggers or soul knife weapons or any thrown melee weapon. Bullet point 2 cannot because it uses “attack with a range weapon.”
Now, to be clear, you could homebrew daggers or other simple melee weapons with thrown to count for sharpshooter - I likely would. But you are wrong about it being the rules as written.
The psi knife ability says that the psi knives are simple MELEE weapons with the finesse and thrown properties. The finesse property allows them to be used for backstabs. But thrown doesn’t make them Ranged weapons even they they have a thrown range. Ranged weapons are ONLY those listed as ranged weapons (simple or martial) in the PHB LISTINGS. Being a “thrown” weapon does not make a weapon a ranged weapon it is still a melee weapon - which is part of why the ranges for them are so low. The only 2 weapons that are both thrown and ranged are darts (simple) and nets (martial). Folks can argue til the cows come home about “ frogs and toads” but that is how the rules read bothnRAW and ( to my mind) RAI.
A dagger, and subsequently the Soulknife's Psychic Blade, are both melee and ranged.
Page 14 of the PHB states; "For attacks with ranged weapons, use your Dexterity modifier for attack and damage rolls. A weapon that has the thrown property, such as a handaxe, can use your Strength modifier instead". Now why would they use a handaxe (which by your logic is a melee weapon with the thrown property and not a 'ranged weapon') as an example to the rules of Ranged Weapons if a Thrown weapon is not a ranged weapon?
Again I quote page 147 of the PHB, "Range. A weapon that can be used to make a ranged attack has a range shown in parentheses after the ammunition or thrown property. The range lists two numbers. The first is the weapon's normal range in feet, and the second indicates the weapon's long range. When attacking a target beyond normal range, you have disadvantage on the attack roll. You can't attack a target beyond the weapon's long range."
and;
"Thrown. If a weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack. If the weapon is a melee weapon, you use the same ability modifier for that attack roll and damage roll that you would use for a melee attack with the weapon. For example, if you throw a handaxe, you use your Strength, but if you throw a dagger, you can use either your Strength or your Dexterity, since the dagger has the finesse property."
When an attack is made with a weapon beyond the range of melee, it is a ranged weapon attack. A melee attack with a range weapon is a melee weapon attack. The effectiveness of either of these types of attacks is based upon whether the weapon is designed to be used in one way or the other, or both. A bow or an arrow can be used to melee but it is not designed to do so, a shortsword can be thrown but it is not designed for that purpose. A Dagger is designed to be both a melee and ranged weapon by the very fact that it has the Thrown property and a range increment. The so-called "Ranged" weapons you are referring to either have the Ammunition or Thrown property. The difference in the ranges is due to the method of delivery, bows are a tool that increases the effective range of its Ammunition, rather than relying entirely upon the actual motion of a person's arm.
WotC was saving ink and page space by not reprinting all of the melee weapons with the "Thrown" property under the ranged weapons table, but they are nevertheless a ranged weapon whenthrown. RAW, Thrown weapons are ranged when thrown because they have a range listed, as defined on PHB pg 147.
And I posit that the argument about Darts and Nets being 'the only ranged weapon that is thrown' is a fallacy because neither of those weapons are designed to be used in melee combat, but all melee weapons with the Thrown property are designed to be used for either melee or ranged combat... there is no such thing as a "Thrown Weapon attack" only Melee or Ranged.
Show me where it says in the book “when a weapon with the thrown property is used at range, treat it as a Ranged Weapon.”
You will not be able to - because it does not exist in the rules.
*Sigh* Player's Hanbook Page 14 "For attacks with ranged weapons, use your Dexterity modifier for attack and damage rolls. A weapon that has the thrown property, such as a handaxe, can use your Strength modifier instead". Player's Handbook Page 147 "Range. A weapon that can be used to make a ranged attack has a range shown in parentheses after the ammunition or thrown property.", "Thrown. If a weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack." Did you not read these? When all three of these rules are used in conjunction, it means that thrown weapons are, not "treated as", ranged weapons when thrown. The book itself says so. These are literally the Rules As Written.
Crawford may be the lead rule designer, but he is one person out of a team of people who wrote the rules. Crawford has also been proven to be wrong about some of his rulings. I am also pretty sure that WotC has stated that "Specific beats General" when rules seem to contradict, so, the specific rules as I have quoted multiple times now, beats the general rules about weapons being classified as either Ranged or Melee, and also proves Crawford is incorrect with this ruling.
Some. Weapons. Are. Both.
Simple logic indicates that if the weapon has a range listed, it is a ranged weapon when being used to make a ranged attack. However, that same logic dictates that talking to a brick wall will yield no results aside from wasting air, so, I will continue to operate all of my games using the specific rules as they are written, rather than the general weapon classifications.
I will say, this is something I hope they fix in 5.5. It is a set of rules so poorly written that folks clearly get confused about it all the time. One shouldn’t have to have a law degree and apply statutory construction rules to read a rule—but that is exactly what you have to do here to see why “ranged weapon attack” and “attack with a ranged weapon” are different and distinct terms, with no implication of interchangeable use.
And, let’s assume arguendo the incorrect people who say you can use Sharpshooter’s last ability with melee thrown weapons were, in fact correct - that means the rules are so poorly written the head rules guru of D&D is wrong about them and that an application of technical rule reading results in the incorrect answer.
It is bad writing—probably the worst in all of D&D. Exactly the kind of thing they could and should fix in 5.5.
Again for Sir Preston - daggers are not listed as a ranged weapon in the PHB list of weapons, they are listed as a simple melee weapon with the thrown and finesse properties - just as the psi blades are described in Tasha’s as melee weapons with the finesse and thrown weapons - which is why the psi blades are compared to daggers. Weapons with the thrown property can be used to make a ranged weapon attack ( within their allowed ranges) but that doesn’t make them ranged weapons. They are only ranged weapons if they are listed as such in the PHB weapon tables. Then you have a ranged weapon making a ranged (weapon (as opposed to spell)) attack. Just because you can make a ranged weapon (as opposed to spell) attack doesn’t make the weapon a “ranged weapon” - a sword doesn’t become a ranged weapon just because you throw it.
Further - think of it this way: melee weapons are designed and meant for holding in your hand(s) while fighting at close ranges ( which is why they they have handles to hold the weapon while fighting). Missile weapons are designed to fly (relatively) long ranges before hitting the foe to keep them out of melee range ( the net and darts are the exceptions here). Daggers have handles because the best way to wield them is to hold them in your hands slashing and stabbing at close range - when thrown they are easy to deflect or dodge. Darts ( including throwing knives and shurikens) are meant to be thrown to distract and slow foes not as killing weapons despite James Bond scenes and ninja movies etc. similarly the Roman javelin wasn’t really meant to kill foes ( great if it did but that wasn’t its purpose) , it was meant to force the foe to discard their shield making them easier to hit, the net serves basically the same purpose. So, because they are meant to be thrown as their primary purpose they are considered (PHB) ranged weapons. (Personally, because of all this I think the javelin is misplaced and should be considered a ranged martial weapon not a simple melee weapon, but that is not RAW )
Could someone please define for me what a "Ranged Weapon" is according to the rules then?
It is a weapon which is given the title “Simple Ranged Weapon” of “Martial Ranged Weapon” in its description. If it does not say one of those two things, it is not a Ranged Weapon, even if it can be used at range.
Could someone please define for me what a "Ranged Weapon" is according to the rules then?
It is a weapon which is given the title “Simple Ranged Weapon” of “Martial Ranged Weapon” in its description. If it does not say one of those two things, it is not a Ranged Weapon, even if it can be used at range.
Can you please cite in the PHB where that is stated?
Could someone please define for me what a "Ranged Weapon" is according to the rules then?
It is a weapon which is given the title “Simple Ranged Weapon” of “Martial Ranged Weapon” in its description. If it does not say one of those two things, it is not a Ranged Weapon, even if it can be used at range.
Can you please cite in the PHB where that is stated?
"Every weapon is classified as either melee or ranged." It creates a dichotomy--a weapon is categorized as either one or the other. The PHB then goes on to define which weapons count as melee and which count as ranged.
Notably, the rule for thrown anticipates you can be using a melee weapon. It does not state "treat this weapon as a ranged weapon for any attack when thrown" but rather still categorizes the weapon as a melee weapon, albeit one making a "ranged attack. Without specific language changing the dichotomy of its weapon type, the weapon type does not change--it remains a melee weapon.
Again, I think this should change in 5.5--and "treat this weapon as a ranged weapon" language should be included. But, that language was not included in 5e and therefore it is not rules as written.
Could someone please define for me what a "Ranged Weapon" is according to the rules then?
It is a weapon which is given the title “Simple Ranged Weapon” of “Martial Ranged Weapon” in its description. If it does not say one of those two things, it is not a Ranged Weapon, even if it can be used at range.
Can you please cite in the PHB where that is stated?
"Every weapon is classified as either melee or ranged." It creates a dichotomy--a weapon is categorized as either one or the other. The PHB then goes on to define which weapons count as melee and which count as ranged.
Notably, the rule for thrown anticipates you can be using a melee weapon. It does not state "treat this weapon as a ranged weapon for any attack when thrown" but rather still categorizes the weapon as a melee weapon, albeit one making a "ranged attack. Without specific language changing the dichotomy of its weapon type, the weapon type does not change--it remains a melee weapon.
Again, I think this should change in 5.5--and "treat this weapon as a ranged weapon" language should be included. But, that language was not included in 5e and therefore it is not rules as written.
I agree that the wording could probably be better, but I still hold firm that a melee weapon with the Thrown property is both a melee and a ranged weapon, it just depends on how the attack is being made. The PHB lists a Dagger as a weapon that deals Piercing damage, not one that deals Slashing damage, yet you can still slash with it even though that specific wording on the weapon doesn't say you can. While I know that the analogy I just used is not what is being debated, the fact remains that there are certain things that are implied or even inferred by the wording. By very virtue of the fact that PHB pg 14 says "For attacks with ranged weapons, use your Dexterity modifier for attack and damage rolls. A weapon that has the thrown property, such as a handaxe, can use your Strength modifier instead." it is inferring that a melee weapon is treated as a ranged weapon when it is thrown. Otherwise I cannot logically see any reason why the Handaxe (which is a simple melee weapon) is mentioned at all in the rules for how a ranged weapon functions. Furthermore, if a melee weapon with the Thrown property is not a ranged weapon when thrown, then what would be the point of the Thrown weapon property even existing? A Longsword can be "thrown", and it still has the same range as a dagger, same damage too (due to the improvised nature of the attack)... makes the Thrown property seem completely useless, unless the actual Thrown property allows a normally melee weapon to become a ranged weapon if the attack is being made from further than melee range...
I think the best way of looking at it is this; From what range is the attack with the weapon being made? If the answer is anything other than melee range, then it falls into the ranged weapon category for that specific attack because it is a ranged attack being made with a weapon. The order of the words makes no difference. The only reason to specify a "ranged weapon attack" over simply a "ranged attack" is to exclude ranged spell attacks from certain feats and features.
ranged weapon attack = attack with a ranged weapon = ranged attack with a weapon; they all mean the exact same thing.
Now as far as the 3rd aspect of Sharpshooter, it does state that you must also be proficient with whatever weapon you are making the ranged attack with. So, as long as a Soulknife is proficient with a weapon that has range property (which all Thrown weapons do), then they can use said weapon with Sharpshooter to get the damage bonus.
Imagine trying to build Marvel's villian Bullseye in 5e... he'd be pretty useless if he was only able to devastating with a bow/gun/net/dart wouldn't he? He can throw nearly anything with just as much deadly accuracy as he can firing a projectile from a bow/gun/slingshot.
I really don't mean to keep beating a dead horse (my characters tend to be evil, so I probably killed it anyway), but the point that I am trying to get across is that a ranged attack made with a weapon, and not a spell, is by all definitions a ranged weapon attack for that attack and the purposes of any feat or feature that calls for a those 3 specific words (in any order or configuration), regardless of if the weapon is typically classified as a melee weapon or not. Whether or not it is going to be effective, or you are proficient with using the weapon in that manner, is another story entirely.
The rules do not use implications or inferences. They say what they say. That is why there are two general ways of reading D&D rules.
On one hand, there is RAW, the Rules as Written. This is what the Rules actually say—and this is how the rules must be played in official settings. This thread is asking for the RAW answer of how thrown melee weapons are to be treated under a strict application of the Rules. The answer is that, under RAW, they benefit from the first two elements of Sharpshooter, which apply to any “ranged weapon attack”, but not the third which applies when you “attack with a ranged weapon”.
On the other, there is RAI, Rules as Intended. This is the grey area where a DM can say “sure, RAW says X, but I think it makes more sense if the rules said Y.” What you are putting forward is a RAI argument—that the RAW reading results in unintended silliness. This is where DMs apply homebrew rules, slightly modifying RAW to ensure the rules work as the DM thinks they ought to.
There is a strong RAI argument for Sharpshooter’s third point to apply to melee thrown weapons—and I have indicated on this thread I likely would allow Sharpshooter to apply. RAI allows you to merge “ranged weapon attack” and “attack with a ranged weapon” into less confusing terms. It prevents a situation where two-thirds of Sharpshooter applies but one-third doesn’t. It creates congruity between all thrown weapons, since two of them are considered simple ranged. It gives a big boon to the pretty terrible combat archetype of thrown weapons.
But there are also RAI arguments for applying RAW - for example, you use different skills when you throw a weapon like a dagger than you do when you use a bow, gun, etc. That is the magic of D&D - a DM is welcome to play around with the rules and apply them how they believed will work best for their game.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
It is a "ranged weapon attack" in that it is a ranged attack- and thus subject to those rules- made with a weapon as opposed to a spell. When you throw a dagger you are making a ranged weapon attack, but the dagger remains a melee weapon. In the same way, a psychic blade is expressly described as a melee weapon. Therefore, while you could ignore half and three-quarters cover with the Sharpshooter feat, it is not a ranged weapon, and therefore does not qualify for the special attack option.
Funny how you added all kinds of italics… but managed to miss the actually relevant language.
“This magic blade is a simple melee weapon”. They are melee weapons. Sharpshooter‘s damage boost ability applies only to a “ranged weapon”.
Your own citation proves you wrong.
Now, could a DM homerule Sharpshooter to work with Soulknife? Sure. But it would not be RAW.
No, those things are not equivalent. This is where your misinterpretation of RAW is clear. It doesn't seem worthwhile to explain why again since we already have multiple times in this thread, but maybe notice that not a single person here agrees with you. Play how you want, but the feature is worded fine for people who understand how the language of 5e works.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
Actually, while it does have many flaws, this is not one of them.
You see, much like how all toads are frogs, but not all frog are toads, all Thrown weapons are ranged weapons but not all Ranged weapons are thrown. Page 147 of the PHB defines the weapon properties as thus:
"Range. A weapon that can be used to make a ranged attack has a range shown in parentheses after the ammunition or thrown property. The range lists two numbers. The first is the weapon's normal range in feet, and the second indicates the weapon's long range. When attacking a target beyond normal range, you have disadvantage on the attack roll. You can't attack a target beyond the weapon's long range."
Pay attention to that first sentence, a 'ranged' weapon also has either the ammunition or thrown property.
and;
"Thrown. If a weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack. If the weapon is a melee weapon, you use the same ability modifier for that attack roll and damage roll that you would use for a melee attack with the weapon. For example, if you throw a handaxe, you use your Strength, but if you throw a dagger, you can use either your Strength or your Dexterity, since the dagger has the finesse property."
Again, pay attention to the first sentence. A thrown weapon can be used to make a ranged attack... also known as a *drumroll* 'ranged weapon attack'. So, a weapon with the Thrown property is a "ranged weapon" because it can be used to attack within its range. Thrown weapons are ranged weapons that expend themselves as ammunition, and a Ranged weapon it a weapon that either fires ammunition (having the ammunition property) or is the ammunition (having the thrown property). Either way, if it is an attack made with a weapon at a range it is, by definition, a "ranged weapon attack". So, Crawford's ruling is incorrect, and a dagger (and because of the specific wording of the Soulknife's Psychic Blades feature stating it to be a 'simple melee weapon with the Finesse and Thrown properties'), qualifies for all 3 parts of Sharpshooter.
To all those DMs that are saying "if it's a thrown weapon it's not the same thing as a ranged weapon", please, for the love of the game, go back and actually READ the weapon properties. Ranged weapons expend ammunition, Thrown weapons are ranged weapons that are the ammunition.
All Thrown are Ranged, but not all Ranged are Thrown = All Toads are Frogs, but not all Frogs are Toads.
You are reading the rules wrong. Some Thrown Weapons are Ranged Weapons, but not all Thrown Weapons are. Being able to attack at range does not make something a ranged weapon. Spending ammunition does not make something a ranged weapon. Having the thrown property does not make something a ranged weapon.
The only thing that makes something a "ranged weapon" is if it says "Simple Ranged Weapon" or "Martial Ranged Weapon."
Here is how that breaks down for Weapons with the Thrown property:
The following count as Simple Ranged Weapons, and therefore you can use Sharpshooter with them: Darts and Nets.
The following count as Simple Melee Weapons, and therefore you cannot use Sharpshooter with them: Daggers, Handaxes, Javelins, Light Hammers, Spears, Tridents, and Yklwa.
Soul Knife creates Daggers. Daggers are Simple Melee Weapons. Daggers are therefore not Simple Range Weapons or Martial Range Weapons. Therefore, Rules as Written, Sharpshooter does not apply.
Here is the list, with the weapon type shown under the weapon's name, just for reference.
Stop right here, and go back to read the thread.
Any weapon that has a range increment listed is a ranged weapon when used to make a ranged attack, that's literally the definition written in the book, regardless of if it is shot or thrown. Some weapons are designed to be both a melee and ranged, like a Dagger or a Janvelin. However, they are not going to list it as a "Simple melee/ranged weapon" because that would look weird. The only reason a weapon like a bow, dart or net is labeled as a Ranged Weapon is because it is designed to only be used at range.
No matter what a weapon is classified as, if it is used to make a ranged attack, it becomes a ranged weapon for that attack, (PHB pg. 14) "For attacks with ranged weapons, use your Dexterity modifier for attack and damage rolls. A weapon that has the thrown property, such as a handaxe, can use your Strength modifier instead". (PHB pg. 146) "A melee weapon is used to attack a target within 5 feet of you, whereas a ranged weapon is used to attack a target at a distance.". (PHB pg. 147) "Thrown. If a weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack", "Range. A weapon that can be used to make a ranged attack has a range shown in parentheses after the ammunition or thrown property.".
Show me a ranged weapon that doesn't have either the Ammunition or Thrown property, you can't. Darts are not designed to be used effectively in melee combat, hence why they are listed under 'simple ranged weapons', but a dagger transforms from a "Simple Melee weapon" into a "Simple Ranged weapon" when it is Thrown, this is done through a process called physics. You seem to be focusing on what the tables list the weapon as rather than the actual definition of the weapon properties. All weapons with the Thrown property can used as a Ranged weapon, but some can also be used effectively in melee, hence why they are listed as a melee weapon with the Thrown property.
Basically, if a weapon has a range increment listed, it is a ranged weapon when used to make a ranged attack.
And the Soulknife does not create daggers, they create a psychic blade that is more akin to a Shortsword. The Psychic Blade that is akin to a dagger is created as part of their bonus action attack. Either way, it is a melee weapon that becomes a ranged weapon when it is thrown as part of a ranged attack as defined by both the Thrown weapon property and the Range weapon property.
So, I stand firmly by "All Thrown weapons are ranged weapons, but not all Ranged weapons are thrown.", and thus any ranged attack made with a weapon is a ranged weapon attack, regardless of if it was designed to be used in that manner, and therefore can be used with all facets of the Sharpshooter feat if you are proficient with said weapon.
The psi knife ability says that the psi knives are simple MELEE weapons with the finesse and thrown properties. The finesse property allows them to be used for backstabs. But thrown doesn’t make them Ranged weapons even they they have a thrown range. Ranged weapons are ONLY those listed as ranged weapons (simple or martial) in the PHB LISTINGS. Being a “thrown” weapon does not make a weapon a ranged weapon it is still a melee weapon - which is part of why the ranges for them are so low. The only 2 weapons that are both thrown and ranged are darts (simple) and nets (martial). Folks can argue til the cows come home about “ frogs and toads” but that is how the rules read bothnRAW and ( to my mind) RAI.
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.
Show me where it says in the book “when a weapon with the thrown property is used at range, treat it as a Ranged Weapon.”
You will not be able to - because it does not exist in the rules. This has been confirmed by Jeremy Crawford, the lead rules writer in D&D.
This is some of the worst rules writing in D&D - unless you are very well versed in the nuances of language, “ranged weapon attack” (which daggers can do) and “attack with a ranged weapon” look very similar.
They are not, however, the same—you are wrong in thinking they are.
Ranged Weapon Attack means “attacking with a weapon at range.” A thrown weapon, being a weapon, can do this.
Attacking with a ranged weapon means “attacking with a weapon classified as either martial ranged weapon or simple melee weapon.” A dagger does not count for that.
Sharpshooter confuses the issue by including both. Bullet point 2 uses range weapon attack and can be used by daggers or soul knife weapons or any thrown melee weapon. Bullet point 2 cannot because it uses “attack with a range weapon.”
Now, to be clear, you could homebrew daggers or other simple melee weapons with thrown to count for sharpshooter - I likely would. But you are wrong about it being the rules as written.
A dagger, and subsequently the Soulknife's Psychic Blade, are both melee and ranged.
Page 14 of the PHB states; "For attacks with ranged weapons, use your Dexterity modifier for attack and damage rolls. A weapon that has the thrown property, such as a handaxe, can use your Strength modifier instead". Now why would they use a handaxe (which by your logic is a melee weapon with the thrown property and not a 'ranged weapon') as an example to the rules of Ranged Weapons if a Thrown weapon is not a ranged weapon?
Again I quote page 147 of the PHB, "Range. A weapon that can be used to make a ranged attack has a range shown in parentheses after the ammunition or thrown property. The range lists two numbers. The first is the weapon's normal range in feet, and the second indicates the weapon's long range. When attacking a target beyond normal range, you have disadvantage on the attack roll. You can't attack a target beyond the weapon's long range."
and;
"Thrown. If a weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack. If the weapon is a melee weapon, you use the same ability modifier for that attack roll and damage roll that you would use for a melee attack with the weapon. For example, if you throw a handaxe, you use your Strength, but if you throw a dagger, you can use either your Strength or your Dexterity, since the dagger has the finesse property."
When an attack is made with a weapon beyond the range of melee, it is a ranged weapon attack. A melee attack with a range weapon is a melee weapon attack. The effectiveness of either of these types of attacks is based upon whether the weapon is designed to be used in one way or the other, or both. A bow or an arrow can be used to melee but it is not designed to do so, a shortsword can be thrown but it is not designed for that purpose. A Dagger is designed to be both a melee and ranged weapon by the very fact that it has the Thrown property and a range increment. The so-called "Ranged" weapons you are referring to either have the Ammunition or Thrown property. The difference in the ranges is due to the method of delivery, bows are a tool that increases the effective range of its Ammunition, rather than relying entirely upon the actual motion of a person's arm.
WotC was saving ink and page space by not reprinting all of the melee weapons with the "Thrown" property under the ranged weapons table, but they are nevertheless a ranged weapon when thrown. RAW, Thrown weapons are ranged when thrown because they have a range listed, as defined on PHB pg 147.
And I posit that the argument about Darts and Nets being 'the only ranged weapon that is thrown' is a fallacy because neither of those weapons are designed to be used in melee combat, but all melee weapons with the Thrown property are designed to be used for either melee or ranged combat... there is no such thing as a "Thrown Weapon attack" only Melee or Ranged.
*Sigh* Player's Hanbook Page 14 "For attacks with ranged weapons, use your Dexterity modifier for attack and damage rolls. A weapon that has the thrown property, such as a handaxe, can use your Strength modifier instead". Player's Handbook Page 147 "Range. A weapon that can be used to make a ranged attack has a range shown in parentheses after the ammunition or thrown property.", "Thrown. If a weapon has the thrown property, you can throw the weapon to make a ranged attack." Did you not read these? When all three of these rules are used in conjunction, it means that thrown weapons are, not "treated as", ranged weapons when thrown. The book itself says so. These are literally the Rules As Written.
Crawford may be the lead rule designer, but he is one person out of a team of people who wrote the rules. Crawford has also been proven to be wrong about some of his rulings. I am also pretty sure that WotC has stated that "Specific beats General" when rules seem to contradict, so, the specific rules as I have quoted multiple times now, beats the general rules about weapons being classified as either Ranged or Melee, and also proves Crawford is incorrect with this ruling.
Some. Weapons. Are. Both.
Simple logic indicates that if the weapon has a range listed, it is a ranged weapon when being used to make a ranged attack. However, that same logic dictates that talking to a brick wall will yield no results aside from wasting air, so, I will continue to operate all of my games using the specific rules as they are written, rather than the general weapon classifications.
I will say, this is something I hope they fix in 5.5. It is a set of rules so poorly written that folks clearly get confused about it all the time. One shouldn’t have to have a law degree and apply statutory construction rules to read a rule—but that is exactly what you have to do here to see why “ranged weapon attack” and “attack with a ranged weapon” are different and distinct terms, with no implication of interchangeable use.
And, let’s assume arguendo the incorrect people who say you can use Sharpshooter’s last ability with melee thrown weapons were, in fact correct - that means the rules are so poorly written the head rules guru of D&D is wrong about them and that an application of technical rule reading results in the incorrect answer.
It is bad writing—probably the worst in all of D&D. Exactly the kind of thing they could and should fix in 5.5.
Again for Sir Preston - daggers are not listed as a ranged weapon in the PHB list of weapons, they are listed as a simple melee weapon with the thrown and finesse properties - just as the psi blades are described in Tasha’s as melee weapons with the finesse and thrown weapons - which is why the psi blades are compared to daggers. Weapons with the thrown property can be used to make a ranged weapon attack ( within their allowed ranges) but that doesn’t make them ranged weapons. They are only ranged weapons if they are listed as such in the PHB weapon tables. Then you have a ranged weapon making a ranged (weapon (as opposed to spell)) attack. Just because you can make a ranged weapon (as opposed to spell) attack doesn’t make the weapon a “ranged weapon” - a sword doesn’t become a ranged weapon just because you throw it.
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.
Further - think of it this way: melee weapons are designed and meant for holding in your hand(s) while fighting at close ranges ( which is why they they have handles to hold the weapon while fighting). Missile weapons are designed to fly (relatively) long ranges before hitting the foe to keep them out of melee range ( the net and darts are the exceptions here). Daggers have handles because the best way to wield them is to hold them in your hands slashing and stabbing at close range - when thrown they are easy to deflect or dodge. Darts ( including throwing knives and shurikens) are meant to be thrown to distract and slow foes not as killing weapons despite James Bond scenes and ninja movies etc. similarly the Roman javelin wasn’t really meant to kill foes ( great if it did but that wasn’t its purpose) , it was meant to force the foe to discard their shield making them easier to hit, the net serves basically the same purpose. So, because they are meant to be thrown as their primary purpose they are considered (PHB) ranged weapons.
(Personally, because of all this I think the javelin is misplaced and should be considered a ranged martial weapon not a simple melee weapon, but that is not RAW )
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.
Could someone please define for me what a "Ranged Weapon" is according to the rules then?
It is a weapon which is given the title “Simple Ranged Weapon” of “Martial Ranged Weapon” in its description. If it does not say one of those two things, it is not a Ranged Weapon, even if it can be used at range.
Can you please cite in the PHB where that is stated?
"Every weapon is classified as either melee or ranged." It creates a dichotomy--a weapon is categorized as either one or the other. The PHB then goes on to define which weapons count as melee and which count as ranged.
Notably, the rule for thrown anticipates you can be using a melee weapon. It does not state "treat this weapon as a ranged weapon for any attack when thrown" but rather still categorizes the weapon as a melee weapon, albeit one making a "ranged attack. Without specific language changing the dichotomy of its weapon type, the weapon type does not change--it remains a melee weapon.
Again, I think this should change in 5.5--and "treat this weapon as a ranged weapon" language should be included. But, that language was not included in 5e and therefore it is not rules as written.
I agree that the wording could probably be better, but I still hold firm that a melee weapon with the Thrown property is both a melee and a ranged weapon, it just depends on how the attack is being made. The PHB lists a Dagger as a weapon that deals Piercing damage, not one that deals Slashing damage, yet you can still slash with it even though that specific wording on the weapon doesn't say you can. While I know that the analogy I just used is not what is being debated, the fact remains that there are certain things that are implied or even inferred by the wording. By very virtue of the fact that PHB pg 14 says "For attacks with ranged weapons, use your Dexterity modifier for attack and damage rolls. A weapon that has the thrown property, such as a handaxe, can use your Strength modifier instead." it is inferring that a melee weapon is treated as a ranged weapon when it is thrown. Otherwise I cannot logically see any reason why the Handaxe (which is a simple melee weapon) is mentioned at all in the rules for how a ranged weapon functions. Furthermore, if a melee weapon with the Thrown property is not a ranged weapon when thrown, then what would be the point of the Thrown weapon property even existing? A Longsword can be "thrown", and it still has the same range as a dagger, same damage too (due to the improvised nature of the attack)... makes the Thrown property seem completely useless, unless the actual Thrown property allows a normally melee weapon to become a ranged weapon if the attack is being made from further than melee range...
I think the best way of looking at it is this; From what range is the attack with the weapon being made? If the answer is anything other than melee range, then it falls into the ranged weapon category for that specific attack because it is a ranged attack being made with a weapon. The order of the words makes no difference. The only reason to specify a "ranged weapon attack" over simply a "ranged attack" is to exclude ranged spell attacks from certain feats and features.
ranged weapon attack = attack with a ranged weapon = ranged attack with a weapon; they all mean the exact same thing.
Now as far as the 3rd aspect of Sharpshooter, it does state that you must also be proficient with whatever weapon you are making the ranged attack with. So, as long as a Soulknife is proficient with a weapon that has range property (which all Thrown weapons do), then they can use said weapon with Sharpshooter to get the damage bonus.
Imagine trying to build Marvel's villian Bullseye in 5e... he'd be pretty useless if he was only able to devastating with a bow/gun/net/dart wouldn't he? He can throw nearly anything with just as much deadly accuracy as he can firing a projectile from a bow/gun/slingshot.
I really don't mean to keep beating a dead horse (my characters tend to be evil, so I probably killed it anyway), but the point that I am trying to get across is that a ranged attack made with a weapon, and not a spell, is by all definitions a ranged weapon attack for that attack and the purposes of any feat or feature that calls for a those 3 specific words (in any order or configuration), regardless of if the weapon is typically classified as a melee weapon or not. Whether or not it is going to be effective, or you are proficient with using the weapon in that manner, is another story entirely.
The rules do not use implications or inferences. They say what they say. That is why there are two general ways of reading D&D rules.
On one hand, there is RAW, the Rules as Written. This is what the Rules actually say—and this is how the rules must be played in official settings. This thread is asking for the RAW answer of how thrown melee weapons are to be treated under a strict application of the Rules. The answer is that, under RAW, they benefit from the first two elements of Sharpshooter, which apply to any “ranged weapon attack”, but not the third which applies when you “attack with a ranged weapon”.
On the other, there is RAI, Rules as Intended. This is the grey area where a DM can say “sure, RAW says X, but I think it makes more sense if the rules said Y.” What you are putting forward is a RAI argument—that the RAW reading results in unintended silliness. This is where DMs apply homebrew rules, slightly modifying RAW to ensure the rules work as the DM thinks they ought to.
There is a strong RAI argument for Sharpshooter’s third point to apply to melee thrown weapons—and I have indicated on this thread I likely would allow Sharpshooter to apply. RAI allows you to merge “ranged weapon attack” and “attack with a ranged weapon” into less confusing terms. It prevents a situation where two-thirds of Sharpshooter applies but one-third doesn’t. It creates congruity between all thrown weapons, since two of them are considered simple ranged. It gives a big boon to the pretty terrible combat archetype of thrown weapons.
But there are also RAI arguments for applying RAW - for example, you use different skills when you throw a weapon like a dagger than you do when you use a bow, gun, etc. That is the magic of D&D - a DM is welcome to play around with the rules and apply them how they believed will work best for their game.