To be honest for wizard's, sorcerer and many more this feat Will be overpowered... A free spell from your entire Class list not spell list Class list as a bonus action.
At lvl
17 you have 2 wishes a day
It's not "free". It still costs a spell slot
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Oh I now see what the fuss is about, the Book of Many Things early release was available from 31st October and the released version of Cartomancer is worded differently to the UA! The "official" version looks rather broken.
Care to elaborate? I don't have the content. What's the broken part?
Oh I now see what the fuss is about, the Book of Many Things early release was available from 31st October and the released version of Cartomancer is worded differently to the UA! The "official" version looks rather broken.
Care to elaborate? I don't have the content. What's the broken part?
I am basing this off of an email one of my players sent me but for me it was they changed the imbued spell from being a max spell level equal to your prof bonus in the UA to now being a max level of spell level for which you have spell slots, so if you have 9th level spells then that is a quickened 9th level spell potentially each long rest. Now to be fair they have added a max duration for the imbued spell but my initial gut reaction was that could be pretty broken for level 7/8/9 spells but admittedly there might not be many campaigns that get to those heady heights.
For me the wording is still open for interpretation on whether it uses a spell slot to cast the imbued spell but if I bring it into my game I would lkely enforce it as it does use a spell slot.
Rather interestingly for me though they got rid fo the bonus damage the UA version had.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
* Need a character idea? Search for "Rob76's Unused" in the Story and Lore section.
From what I am told (I've not had a game that high), by the time you get access to level 9 spells, the game is already coming off the rails in terms of balance anyway. If that is true, it's not like getting another level 9 spell is going to break anything; whatever it could break is already broken.
Well, that's true, but an extra 5th, 6th, or 7th level slot would still be huge. Luckily it doesn't sound like the feat actually does that. Though, it's pretty pointless to speculate without having the text on hand, and I'm not inclined to buy it, so I'm pretty much done here, I dunno about y'all.
You cast the spell, so you use a spell slot to cast it. Any time you're allowed to cast a spell without using a spell slot, it specifically says so.
So this is a sort of extra prepared spell coupled with a Quickened Spell (not a Subtle Spell, though, I'm not sure where LordSleep is getting that idea). More limited in use than either of those, but a reasonable package for a level 4+ feat, I think.
The first part is not quite true. Take Spellwrought Tattoo (which according to what you said, would require you to use a spell slot) Once the tattoo is there, you can cast its spell, requiring no material components. The tattoo glows faintly while you cast the spell and for the spell’s duration. Once the spell ends, the tattoo vanishes from your skin.
Oddly enough, Cartomancer is worded in a similar fashion: While the card is imbued with the spell, you can use a bonus action to flourish the card and cast the spell within. The card then immediately loses its magic.
Well, that's true, but an extra 5th, 6th, or 7th level slot would still be huge. Luckily it doesn't sound like the feat actually does that. Though, it's pretty pointless to speculate without having the text on hand, and I'm not inclined to buy it, so I'm pretty much done here, I dunno about y'all.
Kinda.... but, not as much as you'd think. Having run 8 campaigns to 15+ from level 1, and 5 of those to level 20 (5e), even if the extra slot is 9th level, isn't that game breaking. Given the lackluster nature of the rest of the feat- I'd say if it does take one of your slots to cast, then it isn't worth a feat. A feat for 1 additional prepared spell... even if it is variable... well, maybe for a Warlock... then again, Warlocks cannot use it.
You cast the spell, so you use a spell slot to cast it. Any time you're allowed to cast a spell without using a spell slot, it specifically says so.
So this is a sort of extra prepared spell coupled with a Quickened Spell (not a Subtle Spell, though, I'm not sure where LordSleep is getting that idea). More limited in use than either of those, but a reasonable package for a level 4+ feat, I think.
The first part is not quite true. Take Spellwrought Tattoo (which according to what you said, would require you to use a spell slot) Once the tattoo is there, you can cast its spell, requiring no material components. The tattoo glows faintly while you cast the spell and for the spell’s duration. Once the spell ends, the tattoo vanishes from your skin.
Oddly enough, Cartomancer is worded in a similar fashion: While the card is imbued with the spell, you can use a bonus action to flourish the card and cast the spell within. The card then immediately loses its magic.
The tattoo is a magic item. Magic items have a collective blurb tucked away in the DMG so they don't have to include it in every single item with spells.
It this is a free slot, free quicken spell as I understand it is very awesome.
No. It just means you can choose a spell and later can cast it as a bonus action. It's basically 1 free use of "Quicken Spell" metamagic.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
One of my fellow players has a plan with this that I'm not sure follows all the rules. He plans to take, say, 19 levels in artificer, 1 level sorcerer, and the cast wish for free every day. Does this break any rules? I feel like you should only be able to imbue a spell that you have the spell slot for, but I haven't researched the feat. Anybody have more knowledge on how it works?
I don't have access to the feat to check the actual write up. However, you have to be able to cast the spell in the first place, that's the usual caveat right? Artificer only goes up to 5th Level Slots, so they wouldn't be able to cast Wish with only 1 level in Sorcerer.
I'd need to see the write up to verify, but that's the question that jumps to my mind.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
I don't have access to the feat to check the actual write up. However, you have to be able to cast the spell in the first place, that's the usual caveat right? Artificer only goes up to 5th Level Slots, so they wouldn't be able to cast Wish with only 1 level in Sorcerer.
I'd need to see the write up to verify, but that's the question that jumps to my mind.
Invite sent for content sharing.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
CENSORSHIP IS THE TOOL OF COWARDS and WANNA BE TYRANTS.
So yeah, you have to have a spell slot that can cast the spell, an Artificer couldn't get that high unless it's only a couple of levels dip into Artificer.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
Hidden Ace. When you finish a long rest, you can choose one spell from your class’s spell list and imbue that spell into a card. The chosen spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and it must be a level for which you have spell slots. The card remains imbued with this spell for 8 hours. While the card is imbued with the spell, you can use a bonus action to flourish the card and cast the spell within. The card then immediately loses its magic.
Choose a spell from your class list. Spells you don't otherwise have access to. Nice for, say, a bard or sorcerer.
The real controversy is whether, when you "cast the spell within", that uses a spell slot. As YOU cast the spell within, I'd say it costs a spell slot at that time.
So what can be done with this feat? Well, let's say that you are a sorcerer or wizard. You have the Wish spell. Are you going to use another of your 15 Sorcerer choices to select another L9 spell? Will your Wizard prepare two (or more) L9 spells? Maybe - you have 22 - 25 spells you can prepare., so your resources are not as limited.
But you could learn/prepare Wish and imbue a card with any other L9 spell of your choice. Maybe that's Time Stop. You can choose which one you use during the day.
At any level, you can prepare an extra spell for your highest level slot. You can access an array of 1 Action spells you don't otherwise have access to. And that spell will be available as a bonus action. That seems like a Feat worth taking, but not a Feat that everyone has to take (which an extra top-level slot sure feels like). It seems like the interpretation that makes the feat worthwhile but not automatic is the best interpretation.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
It's not "free". It still costs a spell slot
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
Care to elaborate? I don't have the content. What's the broken part?
I am basing this off of an email one of my players sent me but for me it was they changed the imbued spell from being a max spell level equal to your prof bonus in the UA to now being a max level of spell level for which you have spell slots, so if you have 9th level spells then that is a quickened 9th level spell potentially each long rest. Now to be fair they have added a max duration for the imbued spell but my initial gut reaction was that could be pretty broken for level 7/8/9 spells but admittedly there might not be many campaigns that get to those heady heights.
For me the wording is still open for interpretation on whether it uses a spell slot to cast the imbued spell but if I bring it into my game I would lkely enforce it as it does use a spell slot.
Rather interestingly for me though they got rid fo the bonus damage the UA version had.
From what I am told (I've not had a game that high), by the time you get access to level 9 spells, the game is already coming off the rails in terms of balance anyway. If that is true, it's not like getting another level 9 spell is going to break anything; whatever it could break is already broken.
DM mostly, Player occasionally | Session 0 form | He/Him/They/Them
EXTENDED SIGNATURE!
Doctor/Published Scholar/Science and Healthcare Advocate/Critter/Trekkie/Gandalf with a Glock
Try DDB free: Free Rules (2024), premade PCs, adventures, one shots, encounters, SC, homebrew, more
Answers: physical books, purchases, and subbing.
Check out my life-changing
Well, that's true, but an extra 5th, 6th, or 7th level slot would still be huge. Luckily it doesn't sound like the feat actually does that. Though, it's pretty pointless to speculate without having the text on hand, and I'm not inclined to buy it, so I'm pretty much done here, I dunno about y'all.
The first part is not quite true. Take Spellwrought Tattoo (which according to what you said, would require you to use a spell slot)
Once the tattoo is there, you can cast its spell, requiring no material components. The tattoo glows faintly while you cast the spell and for the spell’s duration. Once the spell ends, the tattoo vanishes from your skin.
Oddly enough, Cartomancer is worded in a similar fashion:
While the card is imbued with the spell, you can use a bonus action to flourish the card and cast the spell within. The card then immediately loses its magic.
Kinda.... but, not as much as you'd think. Having run 8 campaigns to 15+ from level 1, and 5 of those to level 20 (5e), even if the extra slot is 9th level, isn't that game breaking. Given the lackluster nature of the rest of the feat- I'd say if it does take one of your slots to cast, then it isn't worth a feat. A feat for 1 additional prepared spell... even if it is variable... well, maybe for a Warlock... then again, Warlocks cannot use it.
The tattoo is a magic item. Magic items have a collective blurb tucked away in the DMG so they don't have to include it in every single item with spells.
It this is a free slot, free quicken spell as I understand it is very awesome.
No. It just means you can choose a spell and later can cast it as a bonus action. It's basically 1 free use of "Quicken Spell" metamagic.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
One of my fellow players has a plan with this that I'm not sure follows all the rules. He plans to take, say, 19 levels in artificer, 1 level sorcerer, and the cast wish for free every day. Does this break any rules? I feel like you should only be able to imbue a spell that you have the spell slot for, but I haven't researched the feat. Anybody have more knowledge on how it works?
All help wanted/appreciated.
I don't have access to the feat to check the actual write up. However, you have to be able to cast the spell in the first place, that's the usual caveat right? Artificer only goes up to 5th Level Slots, so they wouldn't be able to cast Wish with only 1 level in Sorcerer.
I'd need to see the write up to verify, but that's the question that jumps to my mind.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
Invite sent for content sharing.
CENSORSHIP IS THE TOOL OF COWARDS and WANNA BE TYRANTS.
Thanks for the help! :)
So yeah, you have to have a spell slot that can cast the spell, an Artificer couldn't get that high unless it's only a couple of levels dip into Artificer.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
Thanks! :)
The real bonus is hidden ace which let's you cast almost any spell from your spell list (whether you know it or not) as a bonus action once per day
Choose a spell from your class list. Spells you don't otherwise have access to. Nice for, say, a bard or sorcerer.
The real controversy is whether, when you "cast the spell within", that uses a spell slot. As YOU cast the spell within, I'd say it costs a spell slot at that time.
So what can be done with this feat? Well, let's say that you are a sorcerer or wizard. You have the Wish spell. Are you going to use another of your 15 Sorcerer choices to select another L9 spell? Will your Wizard prepare two (or more) L9 spells? Maybe - you have 22 - 25 spells you can prepare., so your resources are not as limited.
But you could learn/prepare Wish and imbue a card with any other L9 spell of your choice. Maybe that's Time Stop. You can choose which one you use during the day.
At any level, you can prepare an extra spell for your highest level slot. You can access an array of 1 Action spells you don't otherwise have access to. And that spell will be available as a bonus action. That seems like a Feat worth taking, but not a Feat that everyone has to take (which an extra top-level slot sure feels like). It seems like the interpretation that makes the feat worthwhile but not automatic is the best interpretation.