Yes, they still require your Concentration. The scroll replaces the material components, but you still have to cast the spell. Maintaining a Concentration spell after you have cast it requires your concentration, whether it was cast through a magical item, a scroll, a class feature, racial ability, or as a spell from your spell list.
I think you misunderstood my point, I wasn't saying that scrolls shouldn't require concentrations because potions don't, I was saying that if someone wants to have the effects of a spell without having to concentrate on it, they could use a potion in some cases; I was simply providing an alternative.
Edit: Here is the relevant excerpt from the Dungeon Master's Guide.
"Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item, often by expending charges from it. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no components unless the item’s description says otherwise. The spell uses its normal casting time, range, and duration, and the user of the item must concentrate if the spell requires concentration. Many items, such as potions, bypass the casting of a spell and confer the spell’s effects with their usual duration. Certain items make exceptions to these rules, changing the casting time, duration, or other parts of a spell."
That would be super broken in 5e. Concentration exists both as a general check on caster power, and to avoid having too many effects running at once that people have to keep track of.
Is there any buff from any class or subclass, or magic item that allows a concentration spell to be cast without concentration?
There are ways to cast a spell specified by the ability / item without the caster concentrating, if that would count. But the ability to maintain any two concentration spells simultaneously would be very overpowered.
There are, IIRC, a few sapient artifacts that can maintain concentration on a spell cast by the artifact itself, but that's the closest thing to allowing a spell to be cast without maintaining concentration on it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Is there any buff from any class or subclass, or magic item that allows a concentration spell to be cast without concentration?
Unusual to see so many wrong answers in a row. Glyph of warding, spell glyph version, allows you to do that (when you cast a concentration spell into the glyph, it breaks any other concentration you have, but after that you're in the clear).
Is there any buff from any class or subclass, or magic item that allows a concentration spell to be cast without concentration?
Unusual to see so many wrong answers in a row. Glyph of warding, spell glyph version, allows you to do that (when you cast a concentration spell into the glyph, it breaks any other concentration you have, but after that you're in the clear).
That's why we asked for clarification. There is a difference between ignoring concentration for 1 specific spell ( like many potions or Shield of the Hidden Lord ) or a set of spells (Glyph works for spells up to the level of the Glyph, but the glyph can't be moved particularly far) compared to maintaining any 2 (or more) concentration spells simultaneously without restriction.
Yeah but simulacrum is a cheat code that the UA will (hopefully) eliminate. The UA does provide one case where one class can have 2 spells up that normally require concentration - the UA ranger with hunters mark and any one other concentration spell. But that is the not nonsmulacrum/glyph case I can think of.
Simulacrum also has a very high casting cost, cannot regain spell slots, and costs you further GP to restore its HP at a pretty steep rate. It's technically doable, but massively impractical and dependent on either getting access to the materials or the DM handwaving that requirement to one degree or another.
Is there any buff from any class or subclass, or magic item that allows a concentration spell to be cast without concentration?
Unusual to see so many wrong answers in a row. Glyph of warding, spell glyph version, allows you to do that (when you cast a concentration spell into the glyph, it breaks any other concentration you have, but after that you're in the clear).
Glyph of Warding isn't a buff from any class or subclass, or magic item. ;P
Glyph of Warding isn't a buff from any class or subclass, or magic item. ;P
Technically true, but I guess I'm not in the habit of looking for loopholes in how questions are phrased as an excuse to withhold my best answer. Anyway, are you trying to add something to the discussion or just trolling out of boredom? What discussion did you want your comment to elicit, other than a petty argument?
I should be mindful of how blunt I sound as well with the "wrong answers" bit, but in my defense I was also bringing a substantial comment onto the table.
Do spells cast from a spell scrolls that require concentration still need you to keep concentration?
As I would assume they don’t require material components why would it still require concentration?
Yes, they still require your Concentration. The scroll replaces the material components, but you still have to cast the spell. Maintaining a Concentration spell after you have cast it requires your concentration, whether it was cast through a magical item, a scroll, a class feature, racial ability, or as a spell from your spell list.
Some potions give you the effects of a spell without concentration; like the potion of speed for example.
These are exceptions to the rule and we should expect those exceptions to say so 👍🏻
"Not all those who wander are lost"
I think you misunderstood my point, I wasn't saying that scrolls shouldn't require concentrations because potions don't, I was saying that if someone wants to have the effects of a spell without having to concentrate on it, they could use a potion in some cases; I was simply providing an alternative.
Edit: Here is the relevant excerpt from the Dungeon Master's Guide.
"Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item, often by expending charges from it. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no components unless the item’s description says otherwise. The spell uses its normal casting time, range, and duration, and the user of the item must concentrate if the spell requires concentration. Many items, such as potions, bypass the casting of a spell and confer the spell’s effects with their usual duration. Certain items make exceptions to these rules, changing the casting time, duration, or other parts of a spell."
Is there any buff from any class or subclass, or magic item that allows a concentration spell to be cast without concentration?
Nope
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
That would be super broken in 5e. Concentration exists both as a general check on caster power, and to avoid having too many effects running at once that people have to keep track of.
There are ways to cast a spell specified by the ability / item without the caster concentrating, if that would count. But the ability to maintain any two concentration spells simultaneously would be very overpowered.
There are, IIRC, a few sapient artifacts that can maintain concentration on a spell cast by the artifact itself, but that's the closest thing to allowing a spell to be cast without maintaining concentration on it.
Find your own truth, choose your enemies carefully, and never deal with a dragon.
"Canon" is what's factual to D&D lore. "Cannon" is what you're going to be shot with if you keep getting the word wrong.
Unusual to see so many wrong answers in a row. Glyph of warding, spell glyph version, allows you to do that (when you cast a concentration spell into the glyph, it breaks any other concentration you have, but after that you're in the clear).
That's why we asked for clarification. There is a difference between ignoring concentration for 1 specific spell ( like many potions or Shield of the Hidden Lord ) or a set of spells (Glyph works for spells up to the level of the Glyph, but the glyph can't be moved particularly far) compared to maintaining any 2 (or more) concentration spells simultaneously without restriction.
Closest I know of to something like that is the War Caster feat you get advantage on concentration checks.
CENSORSHIP IS THE TOOL OF COWARDS and WANNA BE TYRANTS.
Simulcrum allows you to have multiple concentration spells up by having each simulacrum concentrate on one spell.
Yeah but simulacrum is a cheat code that the UA will (hopefully) eliminate. The UA does provide one case where one class can have 2 spells up that normally require concentration - the UA ranger with hunters mark and any one other concentration spell. But that is the not nonsmulacrum/glyph case I can think of.
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.
Simulacrum also has a very high casting cost, cannot regain spell slots, and costs you further GP to restore its HP at a pretty steep rate. It's technically doable, but massively impractical and dependent on either getting access to the materials or the DM handwaving that requirement to one degree or another.
Glyph of Warding isn't a buff from any class or subclass, or magic item. ;P
Technically true, but I guess I'm not in the habit of looking for loopholes in how questions are phrased as an excuse to withhold my best answer. Anyway, are you trying to add something to the discussion or just trolling out of boredom? What discussion did you want your comment to elicit, other than a petty argument?
I should be mindful of how blunt I sound as well with the "wrong answers" bit, but in my defense I was also bringing a substantial comment onto the table.
Multi-Simulacrum is also banned in Adventurer's League Organized Play: