Unless a feature says otherwise your creature type isn't changed. The feature must specifically state the creature is now an object, like in the spell True Polymorph. However most turn-to-stone features, such as the Flesh to Stone spell, don't state they turn the creature into an object. It simply states they are petrified. This means it is a creature with the petrified condition - the condition does not state the creature is considered an object while petrified.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
My bad. I misunderstood the question... didn't think he meant the petrified condition, thought he meant the creature was actually petrified. Like dead for ages and petrified.
Although it does say if you fail 3 saves you are turned to stone and subjected to the petrified condition.
So while in a state of being a stone statue it could be ruled you are an object... the spell even states that if broken while petrified you suffer similar deformities when reverted back.
Saying you are "turned to stone" (change of materials) is not the same thing as being "turned into a stone" (changed into an object). It just means instead of being made of blood and bones, you're now made of stone. This doesn't make you an object or kill you. You are just a creature made of stone. I'll also repeat it doesn't kill you - you remain alive. Granted, it's an odd state of life because you're not aware of anything, etc, but nevertheless you are still a living creature. An object, quite specifically, must not be alive - as per Object rules in DMG.
Creatures in D&D can be made of all sorts of things, creatures can be made from stone, metal, fire, ice, water, shadow - all sorts of things, and still be living creatures, not objects.
Warforged are made of stone and wood, but stone shape doesn't work on them either, because they're still creatures - and even still classed as Humanoid.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
I think having it be an object leads it to all sorts of annoying headaches of trying to invent rulings and being consistent with it.
At the end of the day, if the feature or condition do not actively state the creature is turned into an object, I think we should stick to that.
And given the person whose job it is to clarify things like this has mentioned multiple times that they do not become objects, I think that's the safer route.
The use of "and" that you hung onto so much in the flesh to stone spell is probably because the petrified condition is not limited to "stone", so it was clarifying that the material you turn into was stone and was not indirectly saying you actually become an object. I would think if a spell or effect was going to turn you into an object, it would state so directly like True Poly does.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Does a petrified creature count as an object?
Murder Hobo Help (a great place for new dm's to get help with murderhobos and a great place to share how you've delt with murderhobos)
Wait in the petrifaction thing it says creature.
Murder Hobo Help (a great place for new dm's to get help with murderhobos and a great place to share how you've delt with murderhobos)
So I dunno. What I wanted to know this for is flesh to stone and stone shape. (Only a wizard can get both of these spells but whatever).
Murder Hobo Help (a great place for new dm's to get help with murderhobos and a great place to share how you've delt with murderhobos)
Generally no.
Unless a feature says otherwise your creature type isn't changed. The feature must specifically state the creature is now an object, like in the spell True Polymorph. However most turn-to-stone features, such as the Flesh to Stone spell, don't state they turn the creature into an object. It simply states they are petrified. This means it is a creature with the petrified condition - the condition does not state the creature is considered an object while petrified.
Jeremy Crawford has confirmed this multiple times.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Okay thanks! To bad. The flesh to stone and stone shape combo would be OP though thanks!
Murder Hobo Help (a great place for new dm's to get help with murderhobos and a great place to share how you've delt with murderhobos)
Saying you are "turned to stone" (change of materials) is not the same thing as being "turned into a stone" (changed into an object). It just means instead of being made of blood and bones, you're now made of stone. This doesn't make you an object or kill you. You are just a creature made of stone. I'll also repeat it doesn't kill you - you remain alive. Granted, it's an odd state of life because you're not aware of anything, etc, but nevertheless you are still a living creature. An object, quite specifically, must not be alive - as per Object rules in DMG.
Creatures in D&D can be made of all sorts of things, creatures can be made from stone, metal, fire, ice, water, shadow - all sorts of things, and still be living creatures, not objects.
Warforged are made of stone and wood, but stone shape doesn't work on them either, because they're still creatures - and even still classed as Humanoid.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
I think having it be an object leads it to all sorts of annoying headaches of trying to invent rulings and being consistent with it.
At the end of the day, if the feature or condition do not actively state the creature is turned into an object, I think we should stick to that.
And given the person whose job it is to clarify things like this has mentioned multiple times that they do not become objects, I think that's the safer route.
The use of "and" that you hung onto so much in the flesh to stone spell is probably because the petrified condition is not limited to "stone", so it was clarifying that the material you turn into was stone and was not indirectly saying you actually become an object. I would think if a spell or effect was going to turn you into an object, it would state so directly like True Poly does.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.