Can a Character/NPC/Monster allow itself to be Charmed?
My players wanted to make a deal with the Necromancer at Old Owl Well in the Phandelver adventure, and the Necromancer wanted some kind of proof that the players would uphold their end of the bargain.
His solution was for one of the Characters to allow themself to be Charmed as a show of good faith, which would also function as a sort of lie detector test - being that a Charmed Character is highly unlikely to lie to the creature Charming them.
I just ruled it that if the target it willing, then no saving throws need to be made, it just happens. Not sure if that's RAW correct...
Technically there are no rules that allow you to voluntarily fail a saving throw but it's a common house rule (to the point where at many tables it being a house rule is a surprise).
It was a rule in older editions that a character could choose to fail a save. Many groups (including mine) just continue the tradition. Honestly, a Save is an active thing, so not saving should be possible. After all, does there need to be a rule stating that a character is allowed to not react to something. (Although, to be fair, anyone willing to be “charmed” is already likely friendly.)
Can a Character/NPC/Monster allow itself to be Charmed?
My players wanted to make a deal with the Necromancer at Old Owl Well in the Phandelver adventure, and the Necromancer wanted some kind of proof that the players would uphold their end of the bargain.
His solution was for one of the Characters to allow themself to be Charmed as a show of good faith, which would also function as a sort of lie detector test - being that a Charmed Character is highly unlikely to lie to the creature Charming them.
I just ruled it that if the target it willing, then no saving throws need to be made, it just happens. Not sure if that's RAW correct...
If the target is willing than sure, I would allow it.
Yes. Any player can allow anything upon themselves and fail a roll. Just that simple.
Technically there are no rules that allow you to voluntarily fail a saving throw but it's a common house rule (to the point where at many tables it being a house rule is a surprise).
It was a rule in older editions that a character could choose to fail a save. Many groups (including mine) just continue the tradition. Honestly, a Save is an active thing, so not saving should be possible. After all, does there need to be a rule stating that a character is allowed to not react to something. (Although, to be fair, anyone willing to be “charmed” is already likely friendly.)
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Of course, the PC says that he won't resist the spell that is being cast at him.
The PC is hoping that the NPC is going to cast a simple Charm spell at them. ;-)