You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of an attack. When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action. This action is also useful when you want to interact with more than one object on your turn.
I was considering the act of throwing down your torch as part of your action while drawing a sword. Talk me out of it??
(OOC: As in, with good enough reasoning or rules, I would give. Send me a quote from a recognized source;) (oh, I mean that honestly not sarcastically, honest!)
(OOC: as you pointed out it states drawing and attack are fine, I would say that opening my hand and letting a torch drop the ground as I grab my sword hilt, a act if my hand was few would still need to open to grab would would be less of a action the communicating with gestures, which RAW would allow me to sign to Simone then draw my sword and attack.
Other Activity on Your Turn
Your turn can include a variety of flourishes that require neither your action nor your move.
You can communicate however you are able, through brief utterances and gestures, as you take your turn.)
(OOC: Also not sure if I'll be online when Kathrine's turn comes up, so want to post now...)
"Trust me..." Kathrine calls to Alarion and Silver. She then says a brief prayer to her god, as she focuses on the two of them. She binds them together, able to aid each other as they fight and defend.
Kathrine uses Emboldening bond... As an action, you choose up to 2 willing creatures within 30 ft. of you, creating a magical bond among them for 10 minutes or until you use this feature again. While any bonded creature is within 30 ft. of another, once per turn, they can roll a d4 and add it to an attack roll, an ability check, or a saving throw they make.
Post #92 on page 5.
Forgive me if it has been used since. Should get 2 uses per long rest.
This post has potentially manipulated dice roll results.
(OOC: Well, since that post was also prior to the last long rest, Kathrine has both uses of her ability still then. I thought I had activated it prior to the fight with the goblins at the stream outside of the cave, but cannot find where I did so, so must have only thought about doing so.)
For now I'll stay with the posted action. the disadvantage portion of the roll is here: 11 Take the worst of this and the previous to-hit roll.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
(OOC: the PHB says you can draw a sword and attack in the same round, I believe I should be able to attack this round.)
(OOC: whichever wolf is engaged and/or closest to Rowen)
Use an Object
You normally interact with an object while doing something else, such as when you draw a sword as part of an attack. When an object requires your action for its use, you take the Use an Object action. This action is also useful when you want to interact with more than one object on your turn.
I was considering the act of throwing down your torch as part of your action while drawing a sword. Talk me out of it??
(OOC: As in, with good enough reasoning or rules, I would give. Send me a quote from a recognized source;) (oh, I mean that honestly not sarcastically, honest!)
(OOC: as you pointed out it states drawing and attack are fine, I would say that opening my hand and letting a torch drop the ground as I grab my sword hilt, a act if my hand was few would still need to open to grab would would be less of a action the communicating with gestures, which RAW would allow me to sign to Simone then draw my sword and attack.
Other Activity on Your Turn
Your turn can include a variety of flourishes that require neither your action nor your move.
You can communicate however you are able, through brief utterances and gestures, as you take your turn.)
Heh alright then, no comment on Simone
Gabriel's torch drops as his sword rises...
(OOC: thank you, 11 damage to Alarions wolf)
The wolf that was attacking Alairion is sliced hard by Gabiel's sword. Blood pours from it's neck - it sinks to the ground.
(geez, and I was worried about TPK at level 1!)
One of the wolves is dying, one is badly wounded, another is maddened - the two still alive are regrouping.
(Did Kathrine's shot hit? If so it would be on the wolf who attacked her.)
On his turn, Alarion is going to try to non-lethally attack the nearest wolf with his dagger:
Attack: 10 Damage: 4
(If Katherine or anyone else can help find the post regarding 'ennobling ...' regardless I think it expired)
Is Katherine attacking with a crossbow at close range?
(because ranged attacks in melee are at a disadvantage. Just sayin')
Post #92 on page 5.
Forgive me if it has been used since. Should get 2 uses per long rest.
Mana - Verdan Bard - Dragon Heist
”I love deadlines. I like the whooshing sound they make as they fly by.” - Douglas Adams
”I’ve suffered a great many catastrophes in my life. Most of them never happened.” - Mark Twain
(Ah, thank you for finding that! And I hate to tell y'all... I think that was more than 10 minutes ago, even in game time)
The alpha of the pack is standing over one of his dead comrades, his wounded kin whimpering and snarling next to him.
Katherine's bolt slugs into the wounded one.
One wolf is still standing
(OOC: Well, since that post was also prior to the last long rest, Kathrine has both uses of her ability still then. I thought I had activated it prior to the fight with the goblins at the stream outside of the cave, but cannot find where I did so, so must have only thought about doing so.)
For now I'll stay with the posted action. the disadvantage portion of the roll is here: 11 Take the worst of this and the previous to-hit roll.