Howdy I have a plasmoid druid and use primal savagery but reflavor it as a pseudopod attack when I cast it of course I stay to the restrictions of 5ft range but that aside I've got a question!
I asked my dm if I could use it outside combat and melt a wood door they said yes but another dm in the server freaked out and the session got canceled right there and then. So my question is, is it reasonable to use a cantrip that says (idk how to pull up the spell srry)
You channel primal magic to cause your teeth or fingernails to sharpen, ready to deliver a corrosive attack. Make a melee spell attack against one creature within 5 feet of you. On a hit, the target takes 1d10 acid damage. After you make the attack, your teeth or fingernails return to normal.
The spell's damage increases by 1d10 when you reach 5th level (2d10), 11th level (3d10), and 17th level (4d10)
To make an attack on a door to get through or was my request to the dm unreasonable?
Objects and creatures are not the same. A creature is a (un)living being - dwarves, elves, dragons, skeletons etc. An object is a thing - book, door, table, statue etc. Most attack cantrips only target creatures, the number that can be used on objects is quite limited such as firebolt.
As others have stated, a door is not a creature. The reason for such a distinction is that it leaves something for the martial classes to do that the spellcasters can’t just cantrip through. That being said, the very first paragraph in the rules for Objects state the following:
When characters need to saw through ropes, shatter a window, or smash a vampire's coffin, the only hard and fast rule is this: given enough time and the right tools, characters can destroy any destructible object.
Use common sense when determining a character's success at damaging an object. Can a fighter cut through a section of a stone wall with a sword? No, the sword is likely to break before the wall does.
For the purpose of these rules, an object is a discrete, inanimate item like a window, door, sword, book, table, chair, or stone, not a building or a vehicle that is composed of many other objects.
If there were no time restraints, and you wanted to flavor it as having used your acid, as a DM I would have let you but simply said it took a long, long time so you would know it wouldn’t work if you were ever in a hurry.
Howdy I have a plasmoid druid and use primal savagery but reflavor it as a pseudopod attack when I cast it of course I stay to the restrictions of 5ft range but that aside I've got a question!
I asked my dm if I could use it outside combat and melt a wood door they said yes but another dm in the server freaked out and the session got canceled right there and then. So my question is, is it reasonable to use a cantrip that says (idk how to pull up the spell srry)
You channel primal magic to cause your teeth or fingernails to sharpen, ready to deliver a corrosive attack. Make a melee spell attack against one creature within 5 feet of you. On a hit, the target takes 1d10 acid damage. After you make the attack, your teeth or fingernails return to normal.
The spell's damage increases by 1d10 when you reach 5th level (2d10), 11th level (3d10), and 17th level (4d10)
To make an attack on a door to get through or was my request to the dm unreasonable?
Technically it only allows you to attack creatures, so some DM's who go only by RAW won't allow you to attack an object with it.
Canto alla vita
alla sua bellezza
ad ogni sua ferita
ogni sua carezza!
I sing to life and to its tragic beauty
To pain and to strife, but all that dances through me
The rise and the fall, I've lived through it all!
Yeah, it technically can't melt through a door, it's specifically for an attack.
Objects and creatures are not the same. A creature is a (un)living being - dwarves, elves, dragons, skeletons etc. An object is a thing - book, door, table, statue etc. Most attack cantrips only target creatures, the number that can be used on objects is quite limited such as firebolt.
As others have stated, a door is not a creature. The reason for such a distinction is that it leaves something for the martial classes to do that the spellcasters can’t just cantrip through. That being said, the very first paragraph in the rules for Objects state the following:
If there were no time restraints, and you wanted to flavor it as having used your acid, as a DM I would have let you but simply said it took a long, long time so you would know it wouldn’t work if you were ever in a hurry.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting