Hidden Ace. When you finish a long rest, you can choose one spell from your class’s spell list and imbue that spell into a card. The chosen spell must .... While the card is imbued with the spell, you can use a bonus action to flourish the card and cast the spell within. The card then immediately loses its magic.
It doesn't mention spell slots being expended to either imbue the spell into the card or to cast it.
I assume the benefit is that you can reduce the casting time from 1 action to 1 bonus action. But it's unclear.
Considering it can cover any spell level you have access too, I'd say "yes" as allowing two casts of 9th level spells would be broken. Also, the other benfit is that you can pull anything from your class spell list, not just known/prepped spells.
I see this as akin to the Artificer's Infusion Item feature to imbue the card. However, the feature does say that you are casting the spell, so I would assume you are using your own spell slots. So I would say it is best used to cast a spell of 8th level or lower, since it is best used for spells you do not know and your 9th level spell slot should almost always be held in reserve for Wish. :P
I see this as akin to the Artificer's Infusion Item feature to imbue the card. However, the feature does say that you are casting the spell, so I would assume you are using your own spell slots. So I would say it is best used to cast a spell of 8th level or lower, since it is best used for spells you do not know and your 9th level spell slot should almost always be held in reserve for Wish. :P
Bah, Wish is the boring option. Do something fun like True Polymorph into a dragon or wield a planar rift as a weapon with Blade of Disaster.
It doesn't mention spell slots being expended to either imbue the spell into the card or to cast it.
It says you're casting a spell, and the only thing it changes is the casting time. Why would it need to specify that casting a spell uses a spell slot?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
It doesn't mention spell slots being expended to either imbue the spell into the card or to cast it.
It says you're casting a spell, and the only thing it changes is the casting time. Why would it need to specify that casting a spell uses a spell slot?
A Wand of Magic Missiles also says you're casting a spell, and the only thing it changes is that it adds a charge cost. I don't think you'd argue that you have to spend slots to use it, though.
I agree that the feat uses a slot, but the wording could definitely use some cleaning up.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
It doesn't mention spell slots being expended to either imbue the spell into the card or to cast it.
It says you're casting a spell, and the only thing it changes is the casting time. Why would it need to specify that casting a spell uses a spell slot?
A Wand of Magic Missiles also says you're casting a spell, and the only thing it changes is that it adds a charge cost. I don't think you'd argue that you have to spend slots to use it, though.
Because there's already a rule about it
Spells
Some magic items allow the user to cast a spell from the item, often by expending charges from it. The spell is cast at the lowest possible spell and caster level, doesn’t expend any of the user’s spell slots, and requires no components unless the item’s description says otherwise.
Is there a similar rule that says casting spells via a feat doesn't use spell slots?
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
If it doesn’t mention spell slots then it doesn’t require one.
If it doesn't mention spell slots, it follows the normal rules for casting. Feats that don't require spell slots for casting specify that they don't
You learn the misty step spell and one 1st-level spell of your choice. The 1st-level spell must be from the divination or enchantment school of magic. You can cast each of these spells without expending a spell slot. Once you cast either of these spells in this way, you can’t cast that spell in this way again until you finish a long rest. You can also cast these spells using spell slots you have of the appropriate level. The spells’ spellcasting ability is the ability increased by this feat.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
If it doesn’t mention spell slots then it doesn’t require one.
If it doesn't mention spell slots, it follows the normal rules for casting. Feats that don't require spell slots for casting specify that they don't
You learn the misty step spell and one 1st-level spell of your choice. The 1st-level spell must be from the divination or enchantment school of magic. You can cast each of these spells without expending a spell slot. Once you cast either of these spells in this way, you can’t cast that spell in this way again until you finish a long rest. You can also cast these spells using spell slots you have of the appropriate level. The spells’ spellcasting ability is the ability increased by this feat.
So, Spellwrought Tatoo requires a spell slot? The needle turns into ink that becomes the tattoo, which appears on the skin in whatever design you like. Once the tattoo is there, you can cast its spell, requiring no material components. The tattoo glows faintly while you cast the spell and for the spell’s duration. Once the spell ends, the tattoo vanishes from your skin.
If it doesn’t mention spell slots then it doesn’t require one.
If it doesn't mention spell slots, it follows the normal rules for casting. Feats that don't require spell slots for casting specify that they don't
You learn the misty step spell and one 1st-level spell of your choice. The 1st-level spell must be from the divination or enchantment school of magic. You can cast each of these spells without expending a spell slot. Once you cast either of these spells in this way, you can’t cast that spell in this way again until you finish a long rest. You can also cast these spells using spell slots you have of the appropriate level. The spells’ spellcasting ability is the ability increased by this feat.
So, Spellwrought Tatoo requires a spell slot? The needle turns into ink that becomes the tattoo, which appears on the skin in whatever design you like. Once the tattoo is there, you can cast its spell, requiring no material components. The tattoo glows faintly while you cast the spell and for the spell’s duration. Once the spell ends, the tattoo vanishes from your skin.
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
I think the example you are looking for is the feat Aberrant Dragonmark.
"In addition, choose a 1st-level spell from the sorcerer spell list. You learn that spell and can cast it through your mark. Once you cast it, you must finish a short or long rest before you can cast it again through the mark."
When you cast the spell through your mark, do you expend a spell slot?
When you cast the spell through your cards, do you expend a spell slot?
One could also argue that imbuing the cards with your spell makes them a magic item that wouldn't use your spell slot.
I think it is clear you would use your spell slot because otherwise it would be broken. But at the very least we should acknowledge that the wording isn't as clear as it could be.
You're right, they should clean up the wording on Aberrant Dragonmark, as it can be taken by players that don't even have spell slots
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
The facts that it specifically says you cast it through your mark, doesn't check for a Spellcasting feature, and immediately describes a cooldown before you can use the feature again all make it very clear that a spell slot is not used. Cartomancer, in contrast, only says that you "cast the spell within", which simply affirms that you're casting the spell you picked at the start.
Yikes. I am just saying it could be clearer. See the Rune Shaper Feat (my emphasis added):
"You temporarily learn the 1st-level spells that correspond to the runes you inscribed, as specified on the Rune Spells table, and you know those spells until you finish a long rest, when the runes fade. While you are wearing or carrying any rune-marked object, you can cast the spells associated with those runes using any spell slots you have.
You can also invoke a rune inscribed on an object you are wearing or carrying and cast its associated spell without expending a spell slot or using material components. Once you cast the spell in this way, you can’t do so again until you finish a long rest."
Anyway. You guys are probably right that the totality of the rules show that the spell is cast using slots and that additional clarification is not required.
That's basically my point as well. A free spell feels broken, but it's really not clear and I just wish it was more obvious to avoid arguments, such as if you use the spell slot or when the spell slot is used.
Heck, you could also argue that it takes a Bonus Action and an Action to cast the spell. Since "you can use a bonus action to flourish the card and cast the spell within." So you flourish as you BA gaining access to the spell in the card that isn't one you learned or prepared normally, and can then cast it normally. Which probably isn't the RAI but the feat wording could probably have used an "also."
Heck, you could also argue that it takes a Bonus Action and an Action to cast the spell. Since "you can use a bonus action to flourish the card and cast the spell within." So you flourish as you BA gaining access to the spell in the card that isn't one you learned or prepared normally, and can then cast it normally. Which probably isn't the RAI but the feat wording could probably have used an "also."
You can argue just about anything, especially when you pick and choose which phrases you focus on and ignore others. Doesn't mean it's a good argument
When you finish a long rest, you can choose one spell from your class’s spell list and imbue that spell into a card. The chosen spell must have a casting time of 1 action, and it must be a level for which you have spell slots. The card remains imbued with this spell for 8 hours. While the card is imbued with the spell, you can use a bonus action to flourish the card and cast the spell within. The card then immediately loses its magic.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock) Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric) Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue) Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
The feat says:
It doesn't mention spell slots being expended to either imbue the spell into the card or to cast it.
I assume the benefit is that you can reduce the casting time from 1 action to 1 bonus action. But it's unclear.
Considering it can cover any spell level you have access too, I'd say "yes" as allowing two casts of 9th level spells would be broken. Also, the other benfit is that you can pull anything from your class spell list, not just known/prepped spells.
I see this as akin to the Artificer's Infusion Item feature to imbue the card. However, the feature does say that you are casting the spell, so I would assume you are using your own spell slots. So I would say it is best used to cast a spell of 8th level or lower, since it is best used for spells you do not know and your 9th level spell slot should almost always be held in reserve for Wish. :P
DM mostly, Player occasionally | Session 0 form | He/Him/They/Them
EXTENDED SIGNATURE!
Doctor/Published Scholar/Science and Healthcare Advocate/Critter/Trekkie/Gandalf with a Glock
Try DDB free: Free Rules (2024), premade PCs, adventures, one shots, encounters, SC, homebrew, more
Answers: physical books, purchases, and subbing.
Check out my life-changing
Bah, Wish is the boring option. Do something fun like True Polymorph into a dragon or wield a planar rift as a weapon with Blade of Disaster.
It says you're casting a spell, and the only thing it changes is the casting time. Why would it need to specify that casting a spell uses a spell slot?
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
A Wand of Magic Missiles also says you're casting a spell, and the only thing it changes is that it adds a charge cost. I don't think you'd argue that you have to spend slots to use it, though.
I agree that the feat uses a slot, but the wording could definitely use some cleaning up.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
Because there's already a rule about it
Is there a similar rule that says casting spells via a feat doesn't use spell slots?
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
If it doesn’t mention spell slots then it doesn’t require one.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
If it doesn't mention spell slots, it follows the normal rules for casting. Feats that don't require spell slots for casting specify that they don't
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
So, Spellwrought Tatoo requires a spell slot?
The needle turns into ink that becomes the tattoo, which appears on the skin in whatever design you like. Once the tattoo is there, you can cast its spell, requiring no material components. The tattoo glows faintly while you cast the spell and for the spell’s duration. Once the spell ends, the tattoo vanishes from your skin.
You mean the magic item (and not a feat) spellwrought tattoo?
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
I think the example you are looking for is the feat Aberrant Dragonmark.
"In addition, choose a 1st-level spell from the sorcerer spell list. You learn that spell and can cast it through your mark. Once you cast it, you must finish a short or long rest before you can cast it again through the mark."
When you cast the spell through your mark, do you expend a spell slot?
When you cast the spell through your cards, do you expend a spell slot?
One could also argue that imbuing the cards with your spell makes them a magic item that wouldn't use your spell slot.
I think it is clear you would use your spell slot because otherwise it would be broken. But at the very least we should acknowledge that the wording isn't as clear as it could be.
You're right, they should clean up the wording on Aberrant Dragonmark, as it can be taken by players that don't even have spell slots
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
The facts that it specifically says you cast it through your mark, doesn't check for a Spellcasting feature, and immediately describes a cooldown before you can use the feature again all make it very clear that a spell slot is not used. Cartomancer, in contrast, only says that you "cast the spell within", which simply affirms that you're casting the spell you picked at the start.
Yikes. I am just saying it could be clearer. See the Rune Shaper Feat (my emphasis added):
"You temporarily learn the 1st-level spells that correspond to the runes you inscribed, as specified on the Rune Spells table, and you know those spells until you finish a long rest, when the runes fade. While you are wearing or carrying any rune-marked object, you can cast the spells associated with those runes using any spell slots you have.
You can also invoke a rune inscribed on an object you are wearing or carrying and cast its associated spell without expending a spell slot or using material components. Once you cast the spell in this way, you can’t do so again until you finish a long rest."
Anyway. You guys are probably right that the totality of the rules show that the spell is cast using slots and that additional clarification is not required.
That's basically my point as well. A free spell feels broken, but it's really not clear and I just wish it was more obvious to avoid arguments, such as if you use the spell slot or when the spell slot is used.
Heck, you could also argue that it takes a Bonus Action and an Action to cast the spell. Since "you can use a bonus action to flourish the card and cast the spell within." So you flourish as you BA gaining access to the spell in the card that isn't one you learned or prepared normally, and can then cast it normally. Which probably isn't the RAI but the feat wording could probably have used an "also."
You can argue just about anything, especially when you pick and choose which phrases you focus on and ignore others. Doesn't mean it's a good argument
Active characters:
Carric Aquissar, elven wannabe artist in his deconstructionist period (Archfey warlock)
Lan Kidogo, mapach archaeologist and treasure hunter (Knowledge cleric)
Mardan Ferres, elven private investigator obsessed with that one unsolved murder (Assassin rogue)
Xhekhetiel, halfling survivor of a Betrayer Gods cult (Runechild sorcerer/fighter)
I would allow the spell to be cast with this feat as a bonus action (Like quicken spell) and for an action you can cast a Cantrip.
Just my take on it.
RAI the feat lets you cast as a bonus action, not without using a slot.
RAW is poorly worded.
Wouldn’t a magically imbued playing card be the same as a scroll?