Am I supposed to be able to grab a young green dragon as an aarakocra monk then proceed knock it prone with my way of the open hand? Apologies, I'm sorta new to the game so I don't really know if I'm able to do this, the DM thought it was busted...
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Grappling and knocking prone a young dragon 4 times in a row as aarakocra monk=angery DM
You would strike it with your flurry of blows, and then if you hit force it to make a Dexterity Saving Throw. If it fails, it would fall prone. This is only when you've spent a ki to activate your flurry of blows. You can also choose to force one of the other two effects instead. You are manipulating the mystical 'ki' of your foe.
A great strategy for Open Hand monks is when you hit with the first attack, try to knock it prone. If you succeed on knocking it prone, you get advantage on the next Flurry of Blows attack, which is pretty awesome.
But of course... It has to be in melee range of you in order for you to do this. The dragon should probably keep it's distance from you, since it has a 16 INT. It has 80ft of flying speed, so it should be able to outrun your aarakocra unless you're high level.
I mean, yeah you can per rules. Most ways of knocking prone share size restrictions saying if its more than one size larger than you, it doesn't fall prone. The way of the open hand shows no limitations in size restrictions. It's not even much of a big deal for a dragon in particular. It only looses half it's movement getting back up. It could still fly 40ft straight up in the air, getting out of most peoples attack range and it can still attack.
Got a follow up question on that: Is the dragon grappled and prone at the same time? If so, is it even able to get back up (thanks to its movement being 0)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Grappling and knocking prone a young dragon 4 times in a row as aarakocra monk=angery DM
It would be grappled and prone. Keep in mind that you can only grapple a creature only one size larger than you. So, you could grapple a young dragon, but not anything larger.
You would be hugging an angry dragon who is going to bite and claw at you 3 times. He may also look directly at you and use his poison breath in your face. Just because you can, doesn't mean you should. He's not a mindless goblin who won't know what to do while grappled/prone. He can still attack you, he just has disadvantage per rules due to prone.
You can use an Attack to Grapple an enemy, even a dragon, but this is a special melee attack and does not count as use of "monk weapon" or "unarmed strike" and therefore you cannot trigger your Flurry of Blows or Martial Arts bonus attack off the Grapple. If you have the Extra Attack feature, however, then you can make a monk weapon/unarmed strike to trigger either Martial Arts or Flurry of Blows.
However, the target of your grapple must be no more than one size category larger than you in order to successfully apply a grapple condition.
Since a young dragon is "large" and only one size category bigger than you then you can try to grapple it and if you succeed the target is grappled. This means the grappled creature's speed becomes 0, and it can't benefit from any bonus to its speed. While grappled you can move the creature by dragging or carrying it in the direction you choose but you move at half-speed. The creature cannot move of it's own accord until it uses an action to try and break free.
If you make the target prone while grappled it's just grappled and prone. You simply apply the prone condition effects on top of the grapple effects. This means in addition to having no movement until it breaks free it has disadvantage on all attacks and attacks made against it by an attacker within 5 ft of it are made with advantage.
So, assuming you have the 5th level "Extra Attack" feature you can do the following:
Attack Action
1st Attack: Grapple attempt. Let's say it succeeds.
2nd Attack: Monk weapon strike or unarmed strike. On hit then spend a ki point to gain Flurry of Blows.
Bonus Action - Flurry of Blows Attack 1: if you hit you can make the target perform a Dex save and if it fails the target is rendered prone.
Bonus Action - Flurry of Blows Attack 2: if target is prone you have advantage on the attack. If the target was not prone you don't have advantage on the attack but if you hit you can try again to make it prone.
If you succeed in making the target prone while grappled and they fail to break the grapple you will continue to have advantage on all attacks against it and it will have disadvantage on all attacks it makes until it does break free (and then has to use half movement to stand).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action.
You do not need an unarmed strike or the use of a monk weapon in order to use Flurry of Blows, at least per rules.
/e I think what you're think about is
Martial Arts
At 1st level, your practice of martial arts gives you mastery of combat styles that use unarmed strikes and monk weapons, which are shortswords and any simple melee weapons that don’t have the two-handed or heavy property.
You gain the following benefits while you are unarmed or wielding only monk weapons and you aren’t wearing armor or wielding a shield:
When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike or a monk weapon on your turn, you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action. For example, if you take the Attack action and attack with a quarterstaff, you can also make an unarmed strike as a bonus action, assuming you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
During the second turn of grappling the dragon, (I survived the 1st somehow) I asked the DM if I could quarterstaff the dragon and he said I could, though I would have disadvantage, (and 1 handed of course) so I went with headbutting the dragon 3 times, do you guys think that was a good ruling? (by DM)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Grappling and knocking prone a young dragon 4 times in a row as aarakocra monk=angery DM
No because grappling an enemy does not impose disadvantage on your attacks of any kind. You could, for instance, be sitting on/straddling the enemy which leaves your hands free for an overhead two-handed staff-smash. Or maybe you're using the staff to hold them but all you have to do is jerk the staff to hit them. Basically grappling the enemy does not mean you cannot use weapons, even two handed ones, for attacks.
Even if the DM is insistent on imposing disadvantage (which is ridiculous) then the fact you had advantage from the enemy being prone should have negated that.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
You would not have disadvantage. You could make an unarmed strike or attack with a 1h weapon.
The way I would rule this is, you're grappling a prone target so you are also prone. Attacking a prone target with melee gives you advantage. Being prone gives you disadvantage. Negating both, you have a straight roll. You only have 1 hand available so you can swing a 1h weapon, if you're wielding one, or you could punch/kick him. Ultimately, because it's a dragon, I would probably rule that you are using both hands to grapple him, so you would be able to headbutt, as you did, or kick.
Do note: the dragon can attempt to break your grapple every round. He does not have to stay grappled. He can make an athletics check for his action to break free.
You do not need to be prone to grapple a prone target. You could just be using a well-placed knee to lock up a part of the spine, a foot to hold the neck, stand on them, etc. This all classes as grappling the prone enemy without being prone yourself and all of it would leave your hands free for a two-handed, with advantage, attack.
Just because it is a dragon does not impose any advantages or disadvantages or extra rulings on grapples. As per RAW the grapple/prone condition applies to the enemy only even if they are one size category larger than you.
I could be wrong, if so please feel free to quote/link the specific ruling that states just by grappling a target one size larger this must mean you use both hands and therefore cannot use two-handed weapons or must be prone as well.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
You're not wrong Cyb3rM1nd, that's why I said 'The way I would rule this is' but, the grapple action does say 'Using at least one free hand, you try to seize the target by making a grapple check instead of an attack roll'
One last (hopefully) question: when I grapple the dragon, I add my athletics modifier and contest against the DM's roll, but does the dragon get any modifiers to its roll? (as far as I am sure there is no athletics or acrobatics modifiers for young dragons)
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Grappling and knocking prone a young dragon 4 times in a row as aarakocra monk=angery DM
If the DM is going by the standard monster stats then no it does not. It has no proficiencies in athletics or acrobatics so for the dragon it is a straight strength or dexterity check (and going by standard monster stats it would be using strength which would be a 1d20 + 4 against your athletics skill check. To "avoid" the grapple when you try to make it it must match or exceed your skill check, but if it is trying to "break free" of your grapple it must exceed your check (when two contested skill checks match the result is "no change" so if it was grappled then no change means it remains grappled).
However, it is normal for DMs to adjust monster stats by changing ability scores or granting or removing proficiencies. You, as a player, should not be relying on Monster stats found in Monster Manual as this is metagaming unless your character is very knowledgeable about dragons specifically. Even if your character was knowledgeable the DM may change monster proficiencies on a per monster basis to give the monster in question more identity.
However, Ground 'n' Pound remains a particularly effective martial arts technique even in real life for a reason. However, dragons are very intelligent creatures so the instant it breaks free of your grapple it will instantly be out of your melee grappling reach and will rely on swooping attacks from the sky or breath attacks if the DM knows what he's doing.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Am I supposed to be able to grab a young green dragon as an aarakocra monk then proceed knock it prone with my way of the open hand? Apologies, I'm sorta new to the game so I don't really know if I'm able to do this, the DM thought it was busted...
Grappling and knocking prone a young dragon 4 times in a row as aarakocra monk=angery DM
You would strike it with your flurry of blows, and then if you hit force it to make a Dexterity Saving Throw. If it fails, it would fall prone. This is only when you've spent a ki to activate your flurry of blows. You can also choose to force one of the other two effects instead. You are manipulating the mystical 'ki' of your foe.
A great strategy for Open Hand monks is when you hit with the first attack, try to knock it prone. If you succeed on knocking it prone, you get advantage on the next Flurry of Blows attack, which is pretty awesome.
But of course... It has to be in melee range of you in order for you to do this. The dragon should probably keep it's distance from you, since it has a 16 INT. It has 80ft of flying speed, so it should be able to outrun your aarakocra unless you're high level.
I mean, yeah you can per rules. Most ways of knocking prone share size restrictions saying if its more than one size larger than you, it doesn't fall prone. The way of the open hand shows no limitations in size restrictions. It's not even much of a big deal for a dragon in particular. It only looses half it's movement getting back up. It could still fly 40ft straight up in the air, getting out of most peoples attack range and it can still attack.
Got a follow up question on that: Is the dragon grappled and prone at the same time? If so, is it even able to get back up (thanks to its movement being 0)
Grappling and knocking prone a young dragon 4 times in a row as aarakocra monk=angery DM
It would be grappled and prone. Keep in mind that you can only grapple a creature only one size larger than you. So, you could grapple a young dragon, but not anything larger.
You would be hugging an angry dragon who is going to bite and claw at you 3 times. He may also look directly at you and use his poison breath in your face. Just because you can, doesn't mean you should. He's not a mindless goblin who won't know what to do while grappled/prone. He can still attack you, he just has disadvantage per rules due to prone.
So I've got him held down until I become lunch, gottit. Thanks!
Grappling and knocking prone a young dragon 4 times in a row as aarakocra monk=angery DM
You can use an Attack to Grapple an enemy, even a dragon, but this is a special melee attack and does not count as use of "monk weapon" or "unarmed strike" and therefore you cannot trigger your Flurry of Blows or Martial Arts bonus attack off the Grapple. If you have the Extra Attack feature, however, then you can make a monk weapon/unarmed strike to trigger either Martial Arts or Flurry of Blows.
However, the target of your grapple must be no more than one size category larger than you in order to successfully apply a grapple condition.
Since a young dragon is "large" and only one size category bigger than you then you can try to grapple it and if you succeed the target is grappled. This means the grappled creature's speed becomes 0, and it can't benefit from any bonus to its speed. While grappled you can move the creature by dragging or carrying it in the direction you choose but you move at half-speed. The creature cannot move of it's own accord until it uses an action to try and break free.
If you make the target prone while grappled it's just grappled and prone. You simply apply the prone condition effects on top of the grapple effects. This means in addition to having no movement until it breaks free it has disadvantage on all attacks and attacks made against it by an attacker within 5 ft of it are made with advantage.
So, assuming you have the 5th level "Extra Attack" feature you can do the following:
Attack Action
1st Attack: Grapple attempt. Let's say it succeeds.
2nd Attack: Monk weapon strike or unarmed strike. On hit then spend a ki point to gain Flurry of Blows.
Bonus Action - Flurry of Blows Attack 1: if you hit you can make the target perform a Dex save and if it fails the target is rendered prone.
Bonus Action - Flurry of Blows Attack 2: if target is prone you have advantage on the attack. If the target was not prone you don't have advantage on the attack but if you hit you can try again to make it prone.
If you succeed in making the target prone while grappled and they fail to break the grapple you will continue to have advantage on all attacks against it and it will have disadvantage on all attacks it makes until it does break free (and then has to use half movement to stand).
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
Flurry of Blows
Immediately after you take the Attack action on your turn, you can spend 1 ki point to make two unarmed strikes as a bonus action.
You do not need an unarmed strike or the use of a monk weapon in order to use Flurry of Blows, at least per rules.
/e I think what you're think about is
Martial Arts
At 1st level, your practice of martial arts gives you mastery of combat styles that use unarmed strikes and monk weapons, which are shortswords and any simple melee weapons that don’t have the two-handed or heavy property.
You gain the following benefits while you are unarmed or wielding only monk weapons and you aren’t wearing armor or wielding a shield:
When you use the Attack action with an unarmed strike or a monk weapon on your turn, you can make one unarmed strike as a bonus action. For example, if you take the Attack action and attack with a quarterstaff, you can also make an unarmed strike as a bonus action, assuming you haven’t already taken a bonus action this turn.
Interesting. Thanks for clarification.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
During the second turn of grappling the dragon, (I survived the 1st somehow) I asked the DM if I could quarterstaff the dragon and he said I could, though I would have disadvantage, (and 1 handed of course) so I went with headbutting the dragon 3 times, do you guys think that was a good ruling? (by DM)
Grappling and knocking prone a young dragon 4 times in a row as aarakocra monk=angery DM
No because grappling an enemy does not impose disadvantage on your attacks of any kind. You could, for instance, be sitting on/straddling the enemy which leaves your hands free for an overhead two-handed staff-smash. Or maybe you're using the staff to hold them but all you have to do is jerk the staff to hit them. Basically grappling the enemy does not mean you cannot use weapons, even two handed ones, for attacks.
Even if the DM is insistent on imposing disadvantage (which is ridiculous) then the fact you had advantage from the enemy being prone should have negated that.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
You would not have disadvantage. You could make an unarmed strike or attack with a 1h weapon.
The way I would rule this is, you're grappling a prone target so you are also prone. Attacking a prone target with melee gives you advantage. Being prone gives you disadvantage. Negating both, you have a straight roll. You only have 1 hand available so you can swing a 1h weapon, if you're wielding one, or you could punch/kick him. Ultimately, because it's a dragon, I would probably rule that you are using both hands to grapple him, so you would be able to headbutt, as you did, or kick.
Do note: the dragon can attempt to break your grapple every round. He does not have to stay grappled. He can make an athletics check for his action to break free.
You do not need to be prone to grapple a prone target. You could just be using a well-placed knee to lock up a part of the spine, a foot to hold the neck, stand on them, etc. This all classes as grappling the prone enemy without being prone yourself and all of it would leave your hands free for a two-handed, with advantage, attack.
Just because it is a dragon does not impose any advantages or disadvantages or extra rulings on grapples. As per RAW the grapple/prone condition applies to the enemy only even if they are one size category larger than you.
I could be wrong, if so please feel free to quote/link the specific ruling that states just by grappling a target one size larger this must mean you use both hands and therefore cannot use two-handed weapons or must be prone as well.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
You're not wrong Cyb3rM1nd, that's why I said 'The way I would rule this is' but, the grapple action does say 'Using at least one free hand, you try to seize the target by making a grapple check instead of an attack roll'
One last (hopefully) question: when I grapple the dragon, I add my athletics modifier and contest against the DM's roll, but does the dragon get any modifiers to its roll? (as far as I am sure there is no athletics or acrobatics modifiers for young dragons)
Grappling and knocking prone a young dragon 4 times in a row as aarakocra monk=angery DM
If the DM is going by the standard monster stats then no it does not. It has no proficiencies in athletics or acrobatics so for the dragon it is a straight strength or dexterity check (and going by standard monster stats it would be using strength which would be a 1d20 + 4 against your athletics skill check. To "avoid" the grapple when you try to make it it must match or exceed your skill check, but if it is trying to "break free" of your grapple it must exceed your check (when two contested skill checks match the result is "no change" so if it was grappled then no change means it remains grappled).
However, it is normal for DMs to adjust monster stats by changing ability scores or granting or removing proficiencies. You, as a player, should not be relying on Monster stats found in Monster Manual as this is metagaming unless your character is very knowledgeable about dragons specifically. Even if your character was knowledgeable the DM may change monster proficiencies on a per monster basis to give the monster in question more identity.
However, Ground 'n' Pound remains a particularly effective martial arts technique even in real life for a reason. However, dragons are very intelligent creatures so the instant it breaks free of your grapple it will instantly be out of your melee grappling reach and will rely on swooping attacks from the sky or breath attacks if the DM knows what he's doing.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.