This is a very long series of multipart questions concerning various interactions concerning a multiclass Thief Rogue, Wild Magic Sorcerer. Some I just wanted to double check some I've found differing answers to, others I couldn't find any info on. Anyone who has answers on these, very much appreciated, and thank you.
1. If you cast Mirror Image, and one of your duplicates is hit instead of you, can you make an attack of opportunity using the guardian feature of the Sentinel Feat in the 2024 rules?
2. If you cast Mirror Image, and a creature hits you with an attack, can you wait to decide whether to use a) shield or b) uncanny dodge until after you determine whether or not the attack hits you or your duplicates?
3. If you have the Sentinel feat, and a creature within your reach fails a save against Dissonant Whispers (cast by another player), and you hit it with an opportunity attack for leaving your reach, can you choose to not to use the halt feature of Sentinel?
4. If a creature is sheathed in booming energy from booming blade, and then fails a save against a) Dissonant Whispers b) Fear, or c) Command: Flee, does its resultant movement cause it to take the additional damage from movement?
5. If you have the War Caster feat, can you still use booming blade on a creature for leaving your reach in the 2024 rules? b) And with true strike?
6. If so, if you have the War Caster feat and the Sentinel feat, and a creature moves out of your reach, and if you hit it with a) booming blade or b) true strike, is its speed 0 for the rest of the current turn?
7. If a creature is sheathed in booming energy, and it leaves moves to leave your reach (5 ft), does it take the additional damage from movement before or after your attack of opportunity?
8. If you have the Sorcerer's innate sorcery active, and you use a) booming blade, or b) true strike, do you make the attack roll with advantage?
9. If you miss with a) booming blade or b) true strike, can you Metamagic Seeking Spell, to reroll in the 2024 rules?
10. Can you use Metamagic Empowered Spell with booming blade to reroll the dice from the a) weapon, b) additional damage from true strike, c) additional booming blade damage on hit, d) additional damage from sneak attack, e) additional booming blade damage from movement (as a separate use of Metamagic Empowered Spell)?
11. If you roll a 29-32 on the Wild Magic Surge Table: "The next time you cast a spell that deals damage within the next minute, don’t roll the spell’s damage dice for the damage. Instead use the highest number possible for each damage die." With booming blade, does this apply to dice from the a) weapon, b) additional damage from true strike, c) additional booming blade damage on hit, d) additional damage from sneak attack?
12. If you roll a 21-24 on the Wild Magic Surge Table: "For the next minute, all your spells with a casting time of an action have a casting time of a Bonus Action." a) Can you choose to cast spells that now cost a bonus action with an action? b) Does casting a spell from a spell scroll now cost a bonus action? c) Does casting a spell from enspelled armor or enspelled weapon cost a bonus action?
13. a) if you use a scroll of booming blade, does it use your dexterity modifier for the attack roll. b) If you use a scroll of true strike, does it use your spellcasting modifier for the attack roll?
14. a) if a scroll of booming blade was scribed by someone of 5th level, and cast by someone of 11th level, does it do +2d8, +1d8, or no additional damage on hit.
15. a) Can a thief rogue use a spell scroll as a bonus action? b) enspelled weapon or armor?
If you are a player ask your DM. Many of these questions are not clearly answered in the rules (which is why you have found different answers to them). The rules state "When it’s not clear what ought to happen next, the DM decides how to apply the rules."
If you are a DM then you need to make the interpretation yourself, you can look at the arguments others post one way or another. Often it is a choise between Rules as written (in cases where that is clear) rules as intended and rule of cool. An example here is question 3. Sentinal says "When you hit a creature with an Opportunity Attack, the creature's Speed becomes 0 for the rest of the current turn." it does not say you can choose that the creatures speed becomes 0 so RAW is if you hit it it stays where it is (of course you can choose not to take the Op attack if you want it to run away from you). However you might decide it would be cool a character with the sentinal feat to not to have any disadvantage from a character without the sentinal feat in that situation.
Yes. The attacker is hitting a target other than you.
All three effects have the same trigger, so you can order them as you see fit.
Sentinel’s reduce to zero speed isn’t optional.
Booming Blade will deal its additional damage in all three cases. The situation where it doesn’t deal damage is if someone else forces the movement (such as with push abilities).
Yes.
War Caster is only allowed when you get an Opportunity Attack from a creature leaving your reach. Sentinel’s additional Opportunity Attack options do not permit the use of War Caster for those Opportunity Attacks. However, Sentinel’s reduce-to-zero-movement effect occurs with any sort of Opportunity Attack.
The additional damage triggers from actual movement, not the intent of movement.
As long as they are Sorcerer spells. If you had these spells from a source other than Sorcerer, Innate Sorcery will not help.
Yes.
The damage from weapon and Sneak Attack are not damage from the spell, so cannot be re-rolled. If you want to re-roll both the upfront and the on-movement aspects of Booming Blade, you'd need to spend a Sorcery Point each time they dealt damage.
See above. The weapon/Sneak Attack damage is not dealt by the spell.
a) no. b) yes. c). yes. Magic items that cast spells are still casting spells.
a) yes. b) it uses the spellcasting modifier of whomever scribed the scroll.
The caster level of a scroll is dependent on the scribe, not the caster. Note that storebought scrolls are at the lowest possible level for the spell.
1. No, the duplicates cannot be deliberately targeted and are not creatures thus do not count for Sentinel
2. Yes, if the attack hits a duplicate it is not hitting you.
3. Yes, you can choose not to use Sentinel.
4. No, that movement is not "Willingly" so does not count for BB.
5. Yes they are spells.
6. No, Warcaster replaces the AoO with a spell, that spell is no longer an AoO so Sentinel does not apply.
7. It takes the damage after it has moved 5ft, regardless of whether or not this movement triggers an AoO
8. No, the attack is a weapon attack not a spell attack.
9. No, the attack is a weapon attack not a spell attack
10. Additional dice from the spell that occurs when the spell is cast only, so only the thunder damage dealt on a hit by BB, and only the extra radiant damage from True Strike for True Strike.
11. see 10. Sneak attack is not damage of the spell, nor is the damage from the weapon.
12. (a) No, not unless your DM universally rules that Bonus Actions can be used as an Action. (b) No a scroll is not "your spell" it is a scroll you could have gotten from anywhere. (c) No those spells are from the item they are not "your spell"
13. a) Casing a spell from a scroll does not change the spell at all. BB uses your attack modifier for the weapon attack, b) True Strike uses the spell modifier of the person who created the scroll.
14. a) No, the spell is cast at the same level it was to create the scroll, the person who uses the scroll has no effect on that spell - it does not use their DC, their spell attack, their level in any way. It is a spell frozen in time on a piece of paper.
3. RAW, I'm not sure. It doesn't have the usual wording "you can".
4. I'd rule no because it's not willing movement in those cases. Also, from the Dev:
@BobbyBarbarian Would you take damage from the second part of Booming Blade if you fail a save against Dissonant Whispers and move away? @JeremyECrawford Booming blade hurts you if you move away willingly. Dissonant whispers forces you to move—doesn't trigger BL.
5. Yes, because True Strike targets a creature, not you. There is some debate about it and that's just my POV.
6. N/A, because "... you can take a Reaction to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an Opportunity Attack."
7. An Opportunity Attack triggers when a creature leaves your reach and the attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach. Booming Blade is triggered when the target willingly moves 5 feet or more. So I'd say the Opportunity Attack goes first.
8. Level 1: Innate Sorcery doesn't say "spell attack roll", just "attack rolls of Sorcerer spells", so the interaction should be fine. I'd rule the same for Spell Sniper or Seeking Spell.
9. (see #8)
10. Again, just my POV. Empowered Spell says "When you roll damage for a spell", and the weapon attacks in Booming Blade, Green-Flame Blade and True Strike are not spell's damage rolls.
So for Booming Blade, Empowered Spell could affect the damage rolls for Thunder damage:
"[...] If the target willingly moves 5 feet or more before then, the target takes 1d8 thunder damage, and the spell ends."
"At 5th level, the melee attack deals an extra 1d8 thunder damage to the target on a hit, and the damage the target takes for moving increases to 2d8 [...]"
And for True Strike, it could affect the damage rolls for the extra Radiant damage:
"[...] Whether you deal Radiant damage or the weapon’s normal damage type, the attack deals extra Radiant damage when you reach levels 5 (1d6), 11 (2d6), and 17 (3d6)."
When you take the Magic action, you cast a spell that has a casting time of an action or use a feature or magic item that requires a Magic action to be activated.
If you cast a spell that has a casting time of 1 minute or longer, you must take the Magic action on each turn of that casting, and you must maintain Concentration while you do so. If your Concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don’t expend a spell slot. See also “Concentration.”
Note a casting time of one action is equivalent to the Magic action.
---
Some threads related to Sentinel, War Caster and True Strike:
If you are a player ask your DM. Many of these questions are not clearly answered in the rules (which is why you have found different answers to them). The rules state "When it’s not clear what ought to happen next, the DM decides how to apply the rules."
I was just vaguely thinking about a build in the abstract. Honestly, were still using the 2014 books. If I did end up playing a campaign in a group that's using the new books, it might be an idea for a character to have on hand, it would be nice to do the homework for my own the character rather than dropping work on the DM. I was kind of hoping that there were just definitive answers to everything. Mostly, I was just thinking, "hey guys, the mirror image/sentinel rogue thing is really good in 2024, no?". But that's only true if that's generally assumed to work across tables.
Thanks for all the replies, and long list of resources, TarodNet. I think I pretty much got it, or at least where any disparities of interpretation would come from.
One thing I don't get, why would sentinel only work with creatures, or why it would require deliberate intent to target the duplicates. Wouldn't the images be covered under Sentinel: "hits a target other than you"... Mirror Image: "one of the duplicates is hit instead of you" Target: ... object.. selected to receive the effects of a... phenomenon", even if it wouldn't be covered under the first clause describing target. Is it that rolling to determine if the duplicate is hit isn't "selecting it", or are the duplicates not objects? What are the mechanics of what's going wrong for this hypothetical sorcerer.
Is it that rolling to determine if the duplicate is hit isn't "selecting it", or are the duplicates not objects? What are the mechanics of what's going wrong for this hypothetical sorcerer.
The duplicates are illusory images that are constantly shifting around you within the same space as you, to disguise which is the original and which a duplicate. They are not objects, they do not occupy space, they do not extend beyond your space. A creature missing you and hitting your cloak or your shield doesn't trigger Sentinel, so neither does a Mirror Image.
That's a 2014 answer that didn't make it into the SAC so I wouldn't put too much stock in it tbh. For the 2024 version of the spell the interaction never mentions "target" at all so I'd have to agree with the consensus and say that it is quite clear that it wouldn't trigger Sentinel.
That's a 2014 answer that didn't make it into the SAC so I wouldn't put too much stock in it tbh. For the 2024 version of the spell the interaction never mentions "target" at all so I'd have to agree with the consensus and say that it is quite clear that it wouldn't trigger Sentinel.
"A target is the creature or object targeted by an attack roll, forced to make a saving throw by an effect, or selected to receive the effects of a spell or another phenomenon." A Mirror Image fits this description. Targets do not have to be hostile. They do not have to be creatures. They're merely something that receives effects.
For example, if you're standing next to a Wizard who cast Fireball across the room, incidentally hitting a desk chair, you receive a Sentinel Opportunity Attack because it meets all the criteria.
if you're standing next to a Wizard who cast Fireball across the room, incidentally hitting a desk chair, you receive a Sentinel Opportunity
That is 100% incorrect, since Sentinel only triggers on an Attack, and Fireball does not involve an attack. You would need Mage Slayer in this case.
Take all of these examples:
Attacker A attacks creature C who has Sentinel.
1. Creature B uses the Protection Fighting Style to cause Attacker A's attack to miss. Based on the mechanical design & flavour text Protection works by Creature B using their shield to block the attack. Does Sentinel trigger because Attacker A's attack hits Creature B's shield?
1.5 Same as #1 but it is the Battlesmith's Steel Defender.
2. Attacker A's attack misses by 1, and creature C is holding a shield. Implicitly this occurs because Creature C blocks the attack with their shield. Does Sentinel trigger because Attacker A's attack hits Creature C's shield?
2.5 Same as #2 but the attack misses because of Creature C's armour rather than their shield.
2.75 Same as #2 but the attack misses because Creature C has Shield of Faith cast on them.
3. Creature C is hiding behind 3/4 cover, and Attacker A's attack misses because of that cover, implicitly this occurs because Attacker A hit the cover instead (there is even DM guidance that in such cases you can have the attack deal damage to the cover instead). Does Sentinel trigger because Attacker A's attack hits whatever it is that gives Creature C cover?
4. Attacker A's attack misses because of Creature C has the Blur spell on them. Blur is also an illusion surrounding Creature C, does Sentinel trigger because Attacker A hits the Blur illusion?
4.5 Same as #4 but instead of Blur it is Shadow of Moil, or it is a Cloak of Displacement.
5. Attacker A's attack hits Creature C, but the damage is reduced to 0 because Creature B uses the Interception Fighting Style. Implicitly the attack is no longer hitting you it is hitting the weapon of Creature B as they move to intercept it.
5.5 Same as #5 but it is the Ancestral Guardian's Spirit Shield, or the Abjuration Wizard's Projected Ward?
[...] Thanks for all the replies, and long list of resources, TarodNet. I think I pretty much got it, or at least where any disparities of interpretation would come from.
You're welcome, mate :)
That was just my interpretation based on the points I've made, but I opted to add the links because True Strike, its attack type (weapon or spell?), range (you, your weapon, or a creature?) and how it interacts with other game elements has been debated before, as shown in those threads.
Regarding Sentinel, you could certainly rule it that way, and it'd be fine. However, my interpretation aligns more with what others have explained.
PS. You could even argue that you have the feat, not your images :D
Using the 2014 rules, previously Mirror Image/Sentinel was something had worked in my group, and I had been under the impression that was true generally for most people. Although with a "check with the DM ahead of time" caveat. Maybe I'm wrong about that.
So is the idea that it never worked, or that it did work then but doesn't now?
Here's the text for both from both 2014 and 2024...
Mirror Image 2014: "Three illusory duplicates of yourself appear in your space. Until the spell ends, the duplicates move with you and mimic your actions, shifting position so it’s impossible to track which image is real. You can use your action to dismiss the illusory duplicates. Each time a creature targets you with an attack during the spell’s duration, roll a d20 to determine whether the attack instead targets one of your duplicates. If you have three duplicates, you must roll a 6 or higher to change the attack’s target to a duplicate. With two duplicates, you must roll an 8 or higher. With one duplicate, you must roll an 11 or higher. A duplicate’s AC equals 10 + your Dexterity modifier. If an attack hits a duplicate, the duplicate is destroyed. A duplicate can be destroyed only by an attack that hits it. It ignores all other damage and effects. The spell ends when all three duplicates are destroyed. A creature is unaffected by this spell if it can’t see, if it relies on senses other than sight, such as blindsight, or if it can perceive illusions as false, as with truesight."
Sentinel 2014: "When a creature within 5 feet of you makes an attack against a target other than you (and that target doesn't have this feat), you can use your reaction to make a melee weapon attack against the attacking creature."
Mirror Image 2024: Three illusory duplicates of yourself appear in your space. Until the spell ends, the duplicates move with you and mimic your actions, shifting position so it’s impossible to track which image is real. Each time a creature hits you with an attack roll during the spell’s duration, roll a d6 for each of your remaining duplicates. If any of the d6s rolls a 3 or higher, one of the duplicates is hit instead of you, and the duplicate is destroyed. The duplicates otherwise ignore all other damage and effects. The spell ends when all three duplicates are destroyed. A creature is unaffected by this spell if it has the Blinded condition, Blindsight, or Truesight.
Sentinel 2024: "Immediately after a creature within 5 feet of you takes the Disengage action or hits a target other than you with an attack, you can make an Opportunity Attack against that creature."
So in 2014 the idea was the attack's target is now the duplicates instead of you, and then sentinel triggers if there's an attack against a target other than you. In 2024, the text for both changes. For mirror image the attack hits the duplicates instead of you, and sentinel triggers if it hits a target other than you. The flavor description of the spell didn't change, and the rules text of mirror image and sentinel changed in concert from "targets with an attack" to "hits". It makes me think they were intended to continue to match.
For the 2024 version of the spell the interaction never mentions "target" at all so I'd have to agree with the consensus and say that it is quite clear that it wouldn't trigger Sentinel.
So 2024 Mirror Image definitely shouldn't work with 2014 Sentinel, RAW, because the duplicate is now not targeted instead of you, but hit instead of you. But I'd think it would work with 2024 Sentinel since that now triggers on "hits a target other than you". The problem could be that the duplicate can't fulfill the requirements of being a "target" in the abstract definition, even though something doesn't need to be targeted by an attack role to be a "target". The duplicate definitely gets hit by an attack.
I guess those examples you were talking about, Agile Mind, are things that come from 2024 changing Sentinel "makes an attack against a target" to "hits a target with an attack". And like you're saying, it would be absurd to read 2024 Sentinel to expand it to let you use it in any of those ways. So being reticent of what 2024 Sentinel actually covers makes sense, in a way that wasn't true before. I'm not sure those cases are actually a problem though. The blur spell isn't hit with an attack, even your shield isn't mechanically hit with a shield. The attack doesn't hit, it misses. So strictly following the game mechanics it shouldn't work. Only by matching up a very legalistic view of sentinel with the flavor with which a DM is describing combat, "the attack bounces harmless of your shield", would you get a problem. And, in the situations you're describing, if you wanted to make a reaction attack, these would be covered by "Riposte", the Battle Master maneuver.
But with mirror image, the duplicates are definitely "hit with an attack" as part of the game mechanics. And in this situation riposte RAW, doesn't work, right? Since he didn't actually technically ever miss an attack. So I think Mirror Image is different.
Also the way it's described, you'd think it should work RAI. The baddy is attacking something which for all intents and purposes is a player as far as he knows, just as much as if he was attacking one of your allies, and is acting exactly as if he was attacking some other player.
I dunno, Idda thunk the two things would work together. But apparently this interaction is a lot less commonly allowed than I would have thought, which was somewhat surprising.
That was just my interpretation based on the points I've made, but I opted to add the links because True Strike, its attack type (weapon or spell?), range (you, your weapon, or a creature?) and how it interacts with other game elements has been debated before, as shown in those threads.
PS. You could even argue that you have the feat, not your images :D
Yeah, true strike is an odd spell. I had been wondering about some other things about it that were in those links. There'll probably be even more weird interactions with the new Psion class. So is booming blade, it hasn't been updated for 2024 yet has it? It was interesting there was a Bladesinger UA but I didn't see anything about GFB or BB with it.
I don't think 2024 Sentinel clause says it doesn't work if the other guy also has sentinel. They dropped that part.
This is a very long series of multipart questions concerning various interactions concerning a multiclass Thief Rogue, Wild Magic Sorcerer. Some I just wanted to double check some I've found differing answers to, others I couldn't find any info on. Anyone who has answers on these, very much appreciated, and thank you.
1. If you cast Mirror Image, and one of your duplicates is hit instead of you, can you make an attack of opportunity using the guardian feature of the Sentinel Feat in the 2024 rules?
2. If you cast Mirror Image, and a creature hits you with an attack, can you wait to decide whether to use a) shield or b) uncanny dodge until after you determine whether or not the attack hits you or your duplicates?
3. If you have the Sentinel feat, and a creature within your reach fails a save against Dissonant Whispers (cast by another player), and you hit it with an opportunity attack for leaving your reach, can you choose to not to use the halt feature of Sentinel?
4. If a creature is sheathed in booming energy from booming blade, and then fails a save against a) Dissonant Whispers b) Fear, or c) Command: Flee, does its resultant movement cause it to take the additional damage from movement?
5. If you have the War Caster feat, can you still use booming blade on a creature for leaving your reach in the 2024 rules? b) And with true strike?
6. If so, if you have the War Caster feat and the Sentinel feat, and a creature moves out of your reach, and if you hit it with a) booming blade or b) true strike, is its speed 0 for the rest of the current turn?
7. If a creature is sheathed in booming energy, and it leaves moves to leave your reach (5 ft), does it take the additional damage from movement before or after your attack of opportunity?
8. If you have the Sorcerer's innate sorcery active, and you use a) booming blade, or b) true strike, do you make the attack roll with advantage?
9. If you miss with a) booming blade or b) true strike, can you Metamagic Seeking Spell, to reroll in the 2024 rules?
10. Can you use Metamagic Empowered Spell with booming blade to reroll the dice from the a) weapon, b) additional damage from true strike, c) additional booming blade damage on hit, d) additional damage from sneak attack, e) additional booming blade damage from movement (as a separate use of Metamagic Empowered Spell)?
11. If you roll a 29-32 on the Wild Magic Surge Table: "The next time you cast a spell that deals damage within the next minute, don’t roll the spell’s damage dice for the damage. Instead use the highest number possible for each damage die." With booming blade, does this apply to dice from the a) weapon, b) additional damage from true strike, c) additional booming blade damage on hit, d) additional damage from sneak attack?
12. If you roll a 21-24 on the Wild Magic Surge Table: "For the next minute, all your spells with a casting time of an action have a casting time of a Bonus Action." a) Can you choose to cast spells that now cost a bonus action with an action? b) Does casting a spell from a spell scroll now cost a bonus action? c) Does casting a spell from enspelled armor or enspelled weapon cost a bonus action?
13. a) if you use a scroll of booming blade, does it use your dexterity modifier for the attack roll. b) If you use a scroll of true strike, does it use your spellcasting modifier for the attack roll?
14. a) if a scroll of booming blade was scribed by someone of 5th level, and cast by someone of 11th level, does it do +2d8, +1d8, or no additional damage on hit.
15. a) Can a thief rogue use a spell scroll as a bonus action? b) enspelled weapon or armor?
Are you a DM or a player?
If you are a player ask your DM. Many of these questions are not clearly answered in the rules (which is why you have found different answers to them). The rules state "When it’s not clear what ought to happen next, the DM decides how to apply the rules."
If you are a DM then you need to make the interpretation yourself, you can look at the arguments others post one way or another. Often it is a choise between Rules as written (in cases where that is clear) rules as intended and rule of cool. An example here is question 3. Sentinal says "When you hit a creature with an Opportunity Attack, the creature's Speed becomes 0 for the rest of the current turn." it does not say you can choose that the creatures speed becomes 0 so RAW is if you hit it it stays where it is (of course you can choose not to take the Op attack if you want it to run away from you). However you might decide it would be cool a character with the sentinal feat to not to have any disadvantage from a character without the sentinal feat in that situation.
1. No, the duplicates cannot be deliberately targeted and are not creatures thus do not count for Sentinel
2. Yes, if the attack hits a duplicate it is not hitting you.
3. Yes, you can choose not to use Sentinel.
4. No, that movement is not "Willingly" so does not count for BB.
5. Yes they are spells.
6. No, Warcaster replaces the AoO with a spell, that spell is no longer an AoO so Sentinel does not apply.
7. It takes the damage after it has moved 5ft, regardless of whether or not this movement triggers an AoO
8. No, the attack is a weapon attack not a spell attack.
9. No, the attack is a weapon attack not a spell attack
10. Additional dice from the spell that occurs when the spell is cast only, so only the thunder damage dealt on a hit by BB, and only the extra radiant damage from True Strike for True Strike.
11. see 10. Sneak attack is not damage of the spell, nor is the damage from the weapon.
12. (a) No, not unless your DM universally rules that Bonus Actions can be used as an Action. (b) No a scroll is not "your spell" it is a scroll you could have gotten from anywhere. (c) No those spells are from the item they are not "your spell"
13. a) Casing a spell from a scroll does not change the spell at all. BB uses your attack modifier for the weapon attack, b) True Strike uses the spell modifier of the person who created the scroll.
14. a) No, the spell is cast at the same level it was to create the scroll, the person who uses the scroll has no effect on that spell - it does not use their DC, their spell attack, their level in any way. It is a spell frozen in time on a piece of paper.
15. a) yes b) no
The answer to both of these questions is "yes, if the spell in question has a casting time of one action or one bonus action".
pronouns: he/she/they
I'd like to share my opinion as well:
1. No, because Sentinel interacts with creatures.
2. Yes.
3. RAW, I'm not sure. It doesn't have the usual wording "you can".
4. I'd rule no because it's not willing movement in those cases. Also, from the Dev:
5. Yes, because True Strike targets a creature, not you. There is some debate about it and that's just my POV.
For me, True Strike is similar to Booming Blade and Green-Flame Blade in terms of targeting and attack type (a weapon attack, not a spell attack): Can you use green-flame blade and booming blade with Extra Attack, opportunity attacks, Sneak Attack, and other weapon attack options?
6. N/A, because "... you can take a Reaction to cast a spell at the creature rather than making an Opportunity Attack."
7. An Opportunity Attack triggers when a creature leaves your reach and the attack occurs right before the creature leaves your reach. Booming Blade is triggered when the target willingly moves 5 feet or more. So I'd say the Opportunity Attack goes first.
8. Level 1: Innate Sorcery doesn't say "spell attack roll", just "attack rolls of Sorcerer spells", so the interaction should be fine. I'd rule the same for Spell Sniper or Seeking Spell.
9. (see #8)
10. Again, just my POV. Empowered Spell says "When you roll damage for a spell", and the weapon attacks in Booming Blade, Green-Flame Blade and True Strike are not spell's damage rolls.
So for Booming Blade, Empowered Spell could affect the damage rolls for Thunder damage:
And for True Strike, it could affect the damage rolls for the extra Radiant damage:
N/A for a) and d)
11. (see #10)
12. a) No:
b) and c) no because they are not your spells.
13. You must follow the spell rules and the spell descriptions. Not always DEX for Booming Blade. It depends: Attack Roll Abilities
14. No. For a cantrip, see Scribing Spell Scrolls and Spell Scroll
15. If the action being used is the Magic action, Level 3: Fast Hands can be used, regardless of the specific Magic Item.
Magic action states:
Note a casting time of one action is equivalent to the Magic action.
---
Some threads related to Sentinel, War Caster and True Strike:
Some threads related to True Strike, and interaction between this spell and Agonizing Blast, Potent Cantrip, Potent Spellcasting, or Radiant Soul:
Thanks for all the replies
I was just vaguely thinking about a build in the abstract. Honestly, were still using the 2014 books. If I did end up playing a campaign in a group that's using the new books, it might be an idea for a character to have on hand, it would be nice to do the homework for my own the character rather than dropping work on the DM. I was kind of hoping that there were just definitive answers to everything. Mostly, I was just thinking, "hey guys, the mirror image/sentinel rogue thing is really good in 2024, no?". But that's only true if that's generally assumed to work across tables.
Thanks for all the replies, and long list of resources, TarodNet. I think I pretty much got it, or at least where any disparities of interpretation would come from.
One thing I don't get, why would sentinel only work with creatures, or why it would require deliberate intent to target the duplicates. Wouldn't the images be covered under Sentinel: "hits a target other than you"... Mirror Image: "one of the duplicates is hit instead of you" Target: ... object.. selected to receive the effects of a... phenomenon", even if it wouldn't be covered under the first clause describing target. Is it that rolling to determine if the duplicate is hit isn't "selecting it", or are the duplicates not objects? What are the mechanics of what's going wrong for this hypothetical sorcerer.
The duplicates are illusory images that are constantly shifting around you within the same space as you, to disguise which is the original and which a duplicate. They are not objects, they do not occupy space, they do not extend beyond your space. A creature missing you and hitting your cloak or your shield doesn't trigger Sentinel, so neither does a Mirror Image.
That's an excellent way to explain it, going to steal that
pronouns: he/she/they
In terms of Mirror Image and Sentinel: https://www.sageadvice.eu/does-an-attacker-who-targets-a-mirror-image-instead-of-you-provoke-an-attack-from-the-sentinel-feat/
That's a 2014 answer that didn't make it into the SAC so I wouldn't put too much stock in it tbh. For the 2024 version of the spell the interaction never mentions "target" at all so I'd have to agree with the consensus and say that it is quite clear that it wouldn't trigger Sentinel.
"A target is the creature or object targeted by an attack roll, forced to make a saving throw by an effect, or selected to receive the effects of a spell or another phenomenon." A Mirror Image fits this description. Targets do not have to be hostile. They do not have to be creatures. They're merely something that receives effects.
For example, if you're standing next to a Wizard who cast Fireball across the room, incidentally hitting a desk chair, you receive a Sentinel Opportunity Attack because it meets all the criteria.
That is 100% incorrect, since Sentinel only triggers on an Attack, and Fireball does not involve an attack. You would need Mage Slayer in this case.
Take all of these examples:
Attacker A attacks creature C who has Sentinel.
1. Creature B uses the Protection Fighting Style to cause Attacker A's attack to miss. Based on the mechanical design & flavour text Protection works by Creature B using their shield to block the attack. Does Sentinel trigger because Attacker A's attack hits Creature B's shield?
1.5 Same as #1 but it is the Battlesmith's Steel Defender.
2. Attacker A's attack misses by 1, and creature C is holding a shield. Implicitly this occurs because Creature C blocks the attack with their shield. Does Sentinel trigger because Attacker A's attack hits Creature C's shield?
2.5 Same as #2 but the attack misses because of Creature C's armour rather than their shield.
2.75 Same as #2 but the attack misses because Creature C has Shield of Faith cast on them.
3. Creature C is hiding behind 3/4 cover, and Attacker A's attack misses because of that cover, implicitly this occurs because Attacker A hit the cover instead (there is even DM guidance that in such cases you can have the attack deal damage to the cover instead). Does Sentinel trigger because Attacker A's attack hits whatever it is that gives Creature C cover?
4. Attacker A's attack misses because of Creature C has the Blur spell on them. Blur is also an illusion surrounding Creature C, does Sentinel trigger because Attacker A hits the Blur illusion?
4.5 Same as #4 but instead of Blur it is Shadow of Moil, or it is a Cloak of Displacement.
5. Attacker A's attack hits Creature C, but the damage is reduced to 0 because Creature B uses the Interception Fighting Style. Implicitly the attack is no longer hitting you it is hitting the weapon of Creature B as they move to intercept it.
5.5 Same as #5 but it is the Ancestral Guardian's Spirit Shield, or the Abjuration Wizard's Projected Ward?
You're welcome, mate :)
That was just my interpretation based on the points I've made, but I opted to add the links because True Strike, its attack type (weapon or spell?), range (you, your weapon, or a creature?) and how it interacts with other game elements has been debated before, as shown in those threads.
Regarding Sentinel, you could certainly rule it that way, and it'd be fine. However, my interpretation aligns more with what others have explained.
PS. You could even argue that you have the feat, not your images :D
Using the 2014 rules, previously Mirror Image/Sentinel was something had worked in my group, and I had been under the impression that was true generally for most people. Although with a "check with the DM ahead of time" caveat. Maybe I'm wrong about that.
So is the idea that it never worked, or that it did work then but doesn't now?
Here's the text for both from both 2014 and 2024...
So in 2014 the idea was the attack's target is now the duplicates instead of you, and then sentinel triggers if there's an attack against a target other than you. In 2024, the text for both changes. For mirror image the attack hits the duplicates instead of you, and sentinel triggers if it hits a target other than you. The flavor description of the spell didn't change, and the rules text of mirror image and sentinel changed in concert from "targets with an attack" to "hits". It makes me think they were intended to continue to match.
So 2024 Mirror Image definitely shouldn't work with 2014 Sentinel, RAW, because the duplicate is now not targeted instead of you, but hit instead of you. But I'd think it would work with 2024 Sentinel since that now triggers on "hits a target other than you". The problem could be that the duplicate can't fulfill the requirements of being a "target" in the abstract definition, even though something doesn't need to be targeted by an attack role to be a "target". The duplicate definitely gets hit by an attack.
I guess those examples you were talking about, Agile Mind, are things that come from 2024 changing Sentinel "makes an attack against a target" to "hits a target with an attack". And like you're saying, it would be absurd to read 2024 Sentinel to expand it to let you use it in any of those ways. So being reticent of what 2024 Sentinel actually covers makes sense, in a way that wasn't true before. I'm not sure those cases are actually a problem though. The blur spell isn't hit with an attack, even your shield isn't mechanically hit with a shield. The attack doesn't hit, it misses. So strictly following the game mechanics it shouldn't work. Only by matching up a very legalistic view of sentinel with the flavor with which a DM is describing combat, "the attack bounces harmless of your shield", would you get a problem. And, in the situations you're describing, if you wanted to make a reaction attack, these would be covered by "Riposte", the Battle Master maneuver.
But with mirror image, the duplicates are definitely "hit with an attack" as part of the game mechanics. And in this situation riposte RAW, doesn't work, right? Since he didn't actually technically ever miss an attack. So I think Mirror Image is different.
Also the way it's described, you'd think it should work RAI. The baddy is attacking something which for all intents and purposes is a player as far as he knows, just as much as if he was attacking one of your allies, and is acting exactly as if he was attacking some other player.
I dunno, Idda thunk the two things would work together. But apparently this interaction is a lot less commonly allowed than I would have thought, which was somewhat surprising.
Yeah, true strike is an odd spell. I had been wondering about some other things about it that were in those links. There'll probably be even more weird interactions with the new Psion class. So is booming blade, it hasn't been updated for 2024 yet has it? It was interesting there was a Bladesinger UA but I didn't see anything about GFB or BB with it.
I don't think 2024 Sentinel clause says it doesn't work if the other guy also has sentinel. They dropped that part.
I don't think 2024 Mage Slayer lets you do make an attack as a reaction anymore.