For each round of combat a character only gets one reaction. They regain their reaction each time they take their turn, not at the top of the combat round.
When you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn. If the reaction interrupts another creature's turn, that creature can continue its turn right after the reaction.
For each round of combat a character only gets one reaction. They regain their reaction each time they take their turn, not at the top of the combat round.
The only exception I can think of would be the Cavalier (Fighter subclass, XGTE) capstone:
Vigilant Defender: Starting at 18th level, you respond to danger with extraordinary vigilance. In combat, you get a special reaction that you can take once on every creature’s turn, except your turn. You can use this special reaction only to make an opportunity attack, and you can’t use it on the same turn that you take your normal reaction.
Any other exceptions would likely be similar in wording.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hey folks!
Been searching for a while now and I can't find an answer. Hopefully someone might know here. How many reactions can a character use per round/turn?
For each round of combat a character only gets one reaction. They regain their reaction each time they take their turn, not at the top of the combat round.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
Relevant rules: https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/combat#Reactions
Site Info: Wizard's ToS | Fan Content Policy | Forum Rules | Physical Books | Content Not Working | Contact Support
How To: Homebrew Rules | Create Homebrew | Snippet Codes | Tool Tips (Custom) | Rollables (Generator)
My Homebrew: Races | Subclasses | Backgrounds | Feats | Spells | Magic Items
Other: Beyond20 | Page References | Other Guides | Entitlements | Dice Randomization | Images Fix | FAQ
You didn't search in the basic rules/PHB section about reactions? What they are, how they work?
The only exception I can think of would be the Cavalier (Fighter subclass, XGTE) capstone:
Vigilant Defender: Starting at 18th level, you respond to danger with extraordinary vigilance. In combat, you get a special reaction that you can take once on every creature’s turn, except your turn. You can use this special reaction only to make an opportunity attack, and you can’t use it on the same turn that you take your normal reaction.
Any other exceptions would likely be similar in wording.