I want to know RAW if dropping an item, such as a focus, bow, or any other mundane object to the ground is actionless or is regarded as interacting with an object.
I asked this on a separate site (Sorry DNDBeyond) and had a fairly decent response.
I am also referring to RAW and I am already aware of what Mile Mearls wrote about the rule before someone brings it up :-)
Below is the response I had from someone on another site
Dropping your weapon would fall under the first sentence of the "Other Activity on Your Turn" section. "Your turn can include a variety of flourishes that require neither your action nor your move." "....Brief utterances and gestures, as you take your turn." Opening your hand and letting something fall out of it is a gesture and it is brief.
Now it looks like I am answering my own questions. Yet, however, its for adventurers league, so I like to know how to explain the rules to new players properly and considerately. As we may or may not know Mike Mearls Jeremy Crawford is wisdom but not errata.
I'll agree with InquisitiveCoder up there, that Mike's tweets are advice. However, the link I see does indeed provide this answer from Jeremy Crawford, and not Mike Mearls. Perhaps it was replaced in SageAdvice with something more official?
Also, I'd like to mention that the list posted includes "a few examples", and the DM is final arbiter as to what object interaction requires the Use Object action and what can be done during your round for free (once. The rule mentions a second attempt requires the aforementioned action). I take that to read "things like these, or similar", and thus "drop an object" fits snugly along with those examples (it's much easier to drop an item than plant a banner in the ground, isn't it?)
I'll agree with InquisitiveCoder up there, that Mike's tweets are advice. However, the link I see does indeed provide this answer from Jeremy Crawford, and not Mike Mearls. Perhaps it was replaced in SageAdvice with something more official?
Thanks for pointing that out. I was thinking of the tweet in the previous post when I brought up Mearls. I missed the fact that what I wrote could easily make it look like I'm quoting Mearls.
Something else that supports the idea that dropping an object doesn't cost anything: you automatically drop anything you're holding when you're knocked unconscious, even though being unconscious means you can't take actions.
I want to know RAW if dropping an item, such as a focus, bow, or any other mundane object to the ground is actionless or is regarded as interacting with an object.
I believe it to be actionless, but I don't actually know.
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both" -- allegedly Benjamin Franklin
Tooltips (Help/aid)
You're able to do a list of things as part of your move action and part of your action action... :
Site Rules & Guidelines --- Focused Feedback Mega Threads --- Staff Quotes --- Homebrew Tutorial --- Pricing FAQ
Please feel free to message either Sorce or another moderator if you have any concerns.
Draw, sheath, pick up, take off, drink, put on, etc.
He's asking about drop.
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both" -- allegedly Benjamin Franklin
Tooltips (Help/aid)
I asked this on a separate site (Sorry DNDBeyond) and had a fairly decent response.
I am also referring to RAW and I am already aware of what Mile Mearls wrote about the rule before someone brings it up :-)
Below is the response I had from someone on another site
Site Rules & Guidelines --- Focused Feedback Mega Threads --- Staff Quotes --- Homebrew Tutorial --- Pricing FAQ
Please feel free to message either Sorce or another moderator if you have any concerns.
"Any society that would give up a little liberty to gain a little security will deserve neither and lose both" -- allegedly Benjamin Franklin
Tooltips (Help/aid)
Mike MearlsJeremy Crawford is wisdom but not errata.RAW: There are none. It's up to each DM whether this is an object interaction or not.
RAI:
P.S. Be careful with Mearl's tweets. Unlike Jeremy's, they're not official rulings, and he sometimes gets the nuances of the rules wrong.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
I'll agree with InquisitiveCoder up there, that Mike's tweets are advice. However, the link I see does indeed provide this answer from Jeremy Crawford, and not Mike Mearls. Perhaps it was replaced in SageAdvice with something more official?
Also, I'd like to mention that the list posted includes "a few examples", and the DM is final arbiter as to what object interaction requires the Use Object action and what can be done during your round for free (once. The rule mentions a second attempt requires the aforementioned action). I take that to read "things like these, or similar", and thus "drop an object" fits snugly along with those examples (it's much easier to drop an item than plant a banner in the ground, isn't it?)
The Forum Infestation (TM)
I was referring to both links, actually.
Wish mentions "this is the link by Mike Mearls", but that link gets me to a Crawford quote as well. That's why I said "perhaps SageAdvice changed it".
For related (RAW) precedence, the grappling rules state "you can release the target whenever you like (no action required)".
Also (RAW) dropping an item isn't listed on the Interacting With an item list
My mistake. I had Mike Mearls and Jeremy Crawford mixed around. Signs its been a long week.