Hello GMs, so a rogue in my campain uses this feat and recently has asked me about amout of times that she can shoot. The feat says that you ignore the loading proprty of crossbows that you are proficient at. So if she uses an Action to shoot from her light crossbow and then reloads it by using the feat, can she shoot with it second time with consuming bonus action?
Hello GMs, so a rogue in my campain uses this feat and recently has asked me about amout of times that she can shoot. The feat says that you ignore the loading proprty of crossbows that you are proficient at. So if she uses an Action to shoot from her light crossbow and then reloads it by using the feat, can she shoot with it second time with consuming bonus action?
The Bonus Action has nothing to do with it. You can only attack with your bonus action if you are wielding two weapons, or if you have some special feature that allows you to attack with your bonus action such as the Monk’s Martial Arts ability.
The Crossbow expert feat would allow the character to make additional attacks if they get more than 1 attack per action from something like the Extra Attack feature. Rogues do not get that feature however.
The Bonus Action has nothing to do with it. You can only attack with your bonus action if you are wielding two weapons, or if you have some special feature that allows you to attack with your bonus action such as the Monk’s Martial Arts ability.
Crossbow Expert is a special feature that lets you attack with your bonus action. The only requirement the feat has for taking the bonus action is attacking with a one-handed weapon, and a hand crossbow is a one-handed weapon. This is even covered in Sage Advice:
Does Crossbow Expert let you fire a hand crossbow and then fire it again as a bonus action?
It does! Take a look at the feat’s third benefit. It says you can attack with a hand crossbow as a bonus action when you use the Attack action to attack with a one-handed weapon. A hand crossbow is a one-handed weapon, so it can, indeed, be used for both attacks, assuming you have a hand free to load the hand crossbow between the two attacks.
This would be true even if the feat didn't remove the Loading property, because that property only limits you to one shot per action/bonus action/reaction, so it doesn't stop you from shooting once as an action and again as a bonus action.
The Bonus Action has nothing to do with it. You can only attack with your bonus action if you are wielding two weapons, or if you have some special feature that allows you to attack with your bonus action such as the Monk’s Martial Arts ability.
Crossbow Expert is a special feature that lets you attack with your bonus action. The only requirement the feat has for taking the bonus action is attacking with a one-handed weapon, and a hand crossbow is a one-handed weapon. This is even covered in Sage Advice:
Does Crossbow Expert let you fire a hand crossbow and then fire it again as a bonus action?
It does! Take a look at the feat’s third benefit. It says you can attack with a hand crossbow as a bonus action when you use the Attack action to attack with a one-handed weapon. A hand crossbow is a one-handed weapon, so it can, indeed, be used for both attacks, assuming you have a hand free to load the hand crossbow between the two attacks.
This would be true even if the feat didn't remove the Loading property, because that property only limits you to one shot per action/bonus action/reaction, so it doesn't stop you from shooting once as an action and again as a bonus action.
So let say a Rogue with a hand crossbow can shoot with his attack action and 'reload' shoot again with their bonus action all in one turn. I was iffy if this was only possible if the character held two hand crossbows.
The Bonus Action has nothing to do with it. You can only attack with your bonus action if you are wielding two weapons, or if you have some special feature that allows you to attack with your bonus action such as the Monk’s Martial Arts ability.
Crossbow Expert is a special feature that lets you attack with your bonus action. The only requirement the feat has for taking the bonus action is attacking with a one-handed weapon, and a hand crossbow is a one-handed weapon. This is even covered in Sage Advice:
Does Crossbow Expert let you fire a hand crossbow and then fire it again as a bonus action?
It does! Take a look at the feat’s third benefit. It says you can attack with a hand crossbow as a bonus action when you use the Attack action to attack with a one-handed weapon. A hand crossbow is a one-handed weapon, so it can, indeed, be used for both attacks, assuming you have a hand free to load the hand crossbow between the two attacks.
This would be true even if the feat didn't remove the Loading property, because that property only limits you to one shot per action/bonus action/reaction, so it doesn't stop you from shooting once as an action and again as a bonus action.
Hello GMs, so a rogue in my campain uses this feat and recently has asked me about amout of times that she can shoot. The feat says that you ignore the loading proprty of crossbows that you are proficient at. So if she uses an Action to shoot from her light crossbow and then reloads it by using the feat, can she shoot with it second time with consuming bonus action?
While it would work for a Hand Crossbow, it would not work for a Light Crossbow.
So let say a Rogue with a hand crossbow can shoot with his attack action and 'reload' shoot again with their bonus action all in one turn. I was iffy if this was only possible if the character held two hand crossbows.
The feat does not remove the requirement for a free hand to load the crossbow. If they were holding two hand crossbows they would not be able to load either of them.
The Bonus Action has nothing to do with it. You can only attack with your bonus action if you are wielding two weapons, or if you have some special feature that allows you to attack with your bonus action such as the Monk’s Martial Arts ability.
Crossbow Expert is a special feature that lets you attack with your bonus action. The only requirement the feat has for taking the bonus action is attacking with a one-handed weapon, and a hand crossbow is a one-handed weapon. This is even covered in Sage Advice:
Does Crossbow Expert let you fire a hand crossbow and then fire it again as a bonus action?
It does! Take a look at the feat’s third benefit. It says you can attack with a hand crossbow as a bonus action when you use the Attack action to attack with a one-handed weapon. A hand crossbow is a one-handed weapon, so it can, indeed, be used for both attacks, assuming you have a hand free to load the hand crossbow between the two attacks.
This would be true even if the feat didn't remove the Loading property, because that property only limits you to one shot per action/bonus action/reaction, so it doesn't stop you from shooting once as an action and again as a bonus action.
So let say a Rogue with a hand crossbow can shoot with his attack action and 'reload' shoot again with their bonus action all in one turn. I was iffy if this was only possible if the character held two hand crossbows
The Bonus Action has nothing to do with it. You can only attack with your bonus action if you are wielding two weapons, or if you have some special feature that allows you to attack with your bonus action such as the Monk’s Martial Arts ability.
Crossbow Expert is a special feature that lets you attack with your bonus action. The only requirement the feat has for taking the bonus action is attacking with a one-handed weapon, and a hand crossbow is a one-handed weapon. This is even covered in Sage Advice:
Does Crossbow Expert let you fire a hand crossbow and then fire it again as a bonus action?
It does! Take a look at the feat’s third benefit. It says you can attack with a hand crossbow as a bonus action when you use the Attack action to attack with a one-handed weapon. A hand crossbow is a one-handed weapon, so it can, indeed, be used for both attacks, assuming you have a hand free to load the hand crossbow between the two attacks.
This would be true even if the feat didn't remove the Loading property, because that property only limits you to one shot per action/bonus action/reaction, so it doesn't stop you from shooting once as an action and again as a bonus action.
So let say a Rogue with a hand crossbow can shoot with his attack action and 'reload' shoot again with their bonus action all in one turn. I was iffy if this was only possible if the character held two hand crossbows.
Actually you can shoot when trere are two hand crossbows becouse there are light weapons.
The Bonus Action has nothing to do with it. You can only attack with your bonus action if you are wielding two weapons, or if you have some special feature that allows you to attack with your bonus action such as the Monk’s Martial Arts ability.
Crossbow Expert is a special feature that lets you attack with your bonus action. The only requirement the feat has for taking the bonus action is attacking with a one-handed weapon, and a hand crossbow is a one-handed weapon. This is even covered in Sage Advice:
Does Crossbow Expert let you fire a hand crossbow and then fire it again as a bonus action?
It does! Take a look at the feat’s third benefit. It says you can attack with a hand crossbow as a bonus action when you use the Attack action to attack with a one-handed weapon. A hand crossbow is a one-handed weapon, so it can, indeed, be used for both attacks, assuming you have a hand free to load the hand crossbow between the two attacks.
This would be true even if the feat didn't remove the Loading property, because that property only limits you to one shot per action/bonus action/reaction, so it doesn't stop you from shooting once as an action and again as a bonus action.
So let say a Rogue with a hand crossbow can shoot with his attack action and 'reload' shoot again with their bonus action all in one turn. I was iffy if this was only possible if the character held two hand crossbows.
The feat does not remove the requirement for a free hand to load the crossbow. If they were holding two hand crossbows they would not be able to load either of them.
I think that it removes becouse feat say that you ignore the reload quality.
"You ignore the loading quality of crossbows with which you are proficient."
So let say a Rogue with a hand crossbow can shoot with his attack action and 'reload' shoot again with their bonus action all in one turn. I was iffy if this was only possible if the character held two hand crossbows.
The feat does not remove the requirement for a free hand to load the crossbow. If they were holding two hand crossbows they would not be able to load either of them.
I think that it removes becouse feat say that you ignore the reload quality.
"You ignore the loading quality of crossbows with which you are proficient."
Ammunition. You can use a weapon that has the ammunition property to make a ranged attack only if you have ammunition to fire from the weapon. Each time you attack with the weapon, you expend one piece of ammunition. Drawing the ammunition from a quiver, case, or other container is part of the attack (you need a free hand to load a one-handed weapon). At the end of the battle, you can recover half your expended ammunition by taking a minute to search the battlefield.
If you use a weapon that has the ammunition property to make a melee attack, you treat the weapon as an improvised weapon (see "Improvised Weapons" later in the section). A sling must be loaded to deal any damage when used in this way.
Disregard my post, IamSposta is right on all accounts. With a light crossbow the Crossbow Expert isn't relevant unless they have Extra Attack, and it's not possible to repeatedly shoot two hand crossbows because you need a hand free to reload them. The Light property on hand crossbows is completely useless because the two-weapon fighting rules require melee weapons. I'm honestly not sure why it still hasn't been removed after 5 rounds of errata.
The Bonus Action has nothing to do with it. You can only attack with your bonus action if you are wielding two weapons, or if you have some special feature that allows you to attack with your bonus action such as the Monk’s Martial Arts ability.
Crossbow Expert is a special feature that lets you attack with your bonus action. The only requirement the feat has for taking the bonus action is attacking with a one-handed weapon, and a hand crossbow is a one-handed weapon. This is even covered in Sage Advice:
Does Crossbow Expert let you fire a hand crossbow and then fire it again as a bonus action?
It does! Take a look at the feat’s third benefit. It says you can attack with a hand crossbow as a bonus action when you use the Attack action to attack with a one-handed weapon. A hand crossbow is a one-handed weapon, so it can, indeed, be used for both attacks, assuming you have a hand free to load the hand crossbow between the two attacks.
This would be true even if the feat didn't remove the Loading property, because that property only limits you to one shot per action/bonus action/reaction, so it doesn't stop you from shooting once as an action and again as a bonus action.
Disregard my post, IamSposta is right on all accounts. With a light crossbow the Crossbow Expert isn't relevant unless they have Extra Attack, and it's not possible to repeatedly shoot two hand crossbows because you need a hand free to reload them. The Light property on hand crossbows is completely useless because the two-weapon fighting rules require melee weapons. I'm honestly not sure why it still hasn't been removed after 5 rounds of errata.
Yeah I see. That was kinda my mistake becouse I misread the feat and thought that you can shoot with every crossbow exept the heavy one. But still thanks. That was helpful
So let say a Rogue with a hand crossbow can shoot with his attack action and 'reload' shoot again with their bonus action all in one turn. I was iffy if this was only possible if the character held two hand crossbows.
The feat does not remove the requirement for a free hand to load the crossbow. If they were holding two hand crossbows they would not be able to load either of them.
I think that it removes becouse feat say that you ignore the reload quality.
"You ignore the loading quality of crossbows with which you are proficient."
Ammunition. You can use a weapon that has the ammunition property to make a ranged attack only if you have ammunition to fire from the weapon. Each time you attack with the weapon, you expend one piece of ammunition. Drawing the ammunition from a quiver, case, or other container is part of the attack (you need a free hand to load a one-handed weapon). At the end of the battle, you can recover half your expended ammunition by taking a minute to search the battlefield.
If you use a weapon that has the ammunition property to make a melee attack, you treat the weapon as an improvised weapon (see "Improvised Weapons" later in the section). A sling must be loaded to deal any damage when used in this way.
So let say a Rogue with a hand crossbow can shoot with his attack action and 'reload' shoot again with their bonus action all in one turn. I was iffy if this was only possible if the character held two hand crossbows.
The feat does not remove the requirement for a free hand to load the crossbow. If they were holding two hand crossbows they would not be able to load either of them.
I think that it removes becouse feat say that you ignore the reload quality.
"You ignore the loading quality of crossbows with which you are proficient."
Ammunition. You can use a weapon that has the ammunition property to make a ranged attack only if you have ammunition to fire from the weapon. Each time you attack with the weapon, you expend one piece of ammunition. Drawing the ammunition from a quiver, case, or other container is part of the attack (you need a free hand to load a one-handed weapon). At the end of the battle, you can recover half your expended ammunition by taking a minute to search the battlefield.
If you use a weapon that has the ammunition property to make a melee attack, you treat the weapon as an improvised weapon (see "Improvised Weapons" later in the section). A sling must be loaded to deal any damage when used in this way.
Oh gosh so hard. I have missed this. Thanks for finding this
So let say a Rogue with a hand crossbow can shoot with his attack action and 'reload' shoot again with their bonus action all in one turn. I was iffy if this was only possible if the character held two hand crossbows.
The feat does not remove the requirement for a free hand to load the crossbow. If they were holding two hand crossbows they would not be able to load either of them.
I think that it removes becouse feat say that you ignore the reload quality.
"You ignore the loading quality of crossbows with which you are proficient."
Ammunition. You can use a weapon that has the ammunition property to make a ranged attack only if you have ammunition to fire from the weapon. Each time you attack with the weapon, you expend one piece of ammunition. Drawing the ammunition from a quiver, case, or other container is part of the attack (you need a free hand to load a one-handed weapon). At the end of the battle, you can recover half your expended ammunition by taking a minute to search the battlefield.
If you use a weapon that has the ammunition property to make a melee attack, you treat the weapon as an improvised weapon (see "Improvised Weapons" later in the section). A sling must be loaded to deal any damage when used in this way.
Oh gosh so hard. I have missed this. Thanks for finding this
Wow, I never hear that!!! Even when it’s true like now. Thank you.
No, thank you for catching my dumbass mistake. I really shouldn't be multitasking while browsing the rules forum.
We all make mistakes. Lol A couple of months ago I got the Great Weapon Fighting Style rules and the Critical Hit rules mixed up. Talk about a dumbass mistake! So embarrassing. Lol
Your Rogue will get more benefit from switching to a hand crossbow. Light crossbow deals more base damage, but when conditions allow, hand crossbow gives them the chance to attempt a sneak attack again if they miss their first shot.
Hello GMs, so a rogue in my campain uses this feat and recently has asked me about amout of times that she can shoot. The feat says that you ignore the loading proprty of crossbows that you are proficient at. So if she uses an Action to shoot from her light crossbow and then reloads it by using the feat, can she shoot with it second time with consuming bonus action?
The Bonus Action has nothing to do with it. You can only attack with your bonus action if you are wielding two weapons, or if you have some special feature that allows you to attack with your bonus action such as the Monk’s Martial Arts ability.
The Crossbow expert feat would allow the character to make additional attacks if they get more than 1 attack per action from something like the Extra Attack feature. Rogues do not get that feature however.
I hope this has been helpful.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Crossbow Expert is a special feature that lets you attack with your bonus action. The only requirement the feat has for taking the bonus action is attacking with a one-handed weapon, and a hand crossbow is a one-handed weapon. This is even covered in Sage Advice:This would be true even if the feat didn't remove the Loading property, because that property only limits you to one shot per action/bonus action/reaction, so it doesn't stop you from shooting once as an action and again as a bonus action.The Forum Infestation (TM)
So let say a Rogue with a hand crossbow can shoot with his attack action and 'reload' shoot again with their bonus action all in one turn. I was iffy if this was only possible if the character held two hand crossbows.
The OP specified a light crossbow, not a hand crossbow:
While it would work for a Hand Crossbow, it would not work for a Light Crossbow.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
The feat does not remove the requirement for a free hand to load the crossbow. If they were holding two hand crossbows they would not be able to load either of them.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Actually you can shoot when trere are two hand crossbows becouse there are light weapons.
Ok, huge thank you for your reply. I'll tell her
I think that it removes becouse feat say that you ignore the reload quality.
"You ignore the loading quality of crossbows with which you are proficient."
But not the Ammunition property:
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Disregard my post, IamSposta is right on all accounts. With a light crossbow the Crossbow Expert isn't relevant unless they have Extra Attack, and it's not possible to repeatedly shoot two hand crossbows because you need a hand free to reload them. The Light property on hand crossbows is completely useless because the two-weapon fighting rules require melee weapons. I'm honestly not sure why it still hasn't been removed after 5 rounds of errata.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
Remember, this works for a crossbow, hand, NOT a crossbow, light
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Wow, I never hear that!!! Even when it’s true like now. Thank you.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Yeah I see. That was kinda my mistake becouse I misread the feat and thought that you can shoot with every crossbow exept the heavy one. But still thanks. That was helpful
Oh gosh so hard. I have missed this. Thanks for finding this
Happy to help.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
No, thank you for catching my dumbass mistake. I really shouldn't be multitasking while browsing the rules forum.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
We all make mistakes. Lol A couple of months ago I got the Great Weapon Fighting Style rules and the Critical Hit rules mixed up. Talk about a dumbass mistake! So embarrassing. Lol
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
In order to use two crossbows, you need a magical crossbow that reloads it self. The Artificer can make a 'repeating shot' crossbow that does this.
Your Rogue will get more benefit from switching to a hand crossbow. Light crossbow deals more base damage, but when conditions allow, hand crossbow gives them the chance to attempt a sneak attack again if they miss their first shot.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium