If you cast true polymorph on a creature and change it into another creature and concentrate for the hour then it can only be dispelled... if this happens and the creature dies it is just a corpse and no longer a creature... dispelling now will have no effect as it is no longer a creature but an object (dead body). There in no reverting back and affecting those who may have eaten some of the body.
Why? The spell lasts until dispelled. If death does not end the spell, even in death the spell should stay and be dispellable. There is no indication, that death makes the spell un-dispellable.
So chose one, either it ends with death or it does not end, and you can dispell it later. Your take is another interpretation that is even more complicated than this whole discussion.
If you cast true polymorph on a creature and change it into another creature and concentrate for the hour then it can only be dispelled... if this happens and the creature dies it is just a corpse and no longer a creature... dispelling now will have no effect as it is no longer a creature but an object (dead body). There in no reverting back and affecting those who may have eaten some of the body.
Why? The spell lasts until dispelled. If death does not end the spell, even in death the spell should stay and be dispellable. There is no indication, that death makes the spell un-dispellable.
So chose one, either it ends with death or it does not end, and you can dispell it later. Your take is another interpretation that is even more complicated than this whole discussion.
A dead creature is no longer a creature. When they die, the spell would end, but since they're no longer the creature they were turned into, they would not revert.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
1) Why would no longer being a creature matter? True polymorph can change anything into pretty much anything. There is no 'creature only' limiter on what it starts as or finishes as, or since the true poly's can be nested, passes through on the way. If a creature is true polymorphed into a corpse does that end the spell on it?
Yes, but it's no longer the spell that would've changed them into that. It's a bit like polymorphing something that's already been true polymorphed. For as long as they are that new thing, the old thing doesn't matter.
2) Saying they are no longer the creature they were turned into is like saying someone's corpse is no longer them and thus if raised either fails to come back or comes back as someone else.
No, in D&D rules, if you die, you're no longer a creature. Your body is an object.
3) There is nothing ANYWHERE that says that if a spell ends due to the target no longer being a valid target (which seems to be the argument you are using), the effects still remain.
It may not say that, but it's pretty obvious. If I turn a creature into a piece of metal, and then melt that metal and scatter the molten metal around, you're no longer going to be able to turn the object back into a creature.
4) The argument is that the effects are only removable by dispel. Death is not dispel. Being a corpse is not dispel. Being re-polymorphed into a corpse (or bookcase or kumquat or any other inanimate object) does not end the spell. If only dispel ends the spell then only dispel ends the spell.
Being a corpse is no longer being a creature, which invalidates the "Creature into creature/Object into Creature" sections. If they're no longer the thing that they were turned into, the spell is null.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
"3) There is nothing ANYWHERE that says that if a spell ends due to the target no longer being a valid target (which seems to be the argument you are using), the effects still remain.
It may not say that, but it's pretty obvious. If I turn a creature into a piece of metal, and then melt that metal and scatter the molten metal around, you're no longer going to be able to turn the object back into a creature."
idk. I would say melting down the metal would drop it to 0 hp.
DISCLAIMER: I have not been following the thread. pardon if I am repeating/ or this has already been proved wrong
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
“I will take responsibility for what I have done. [...] If must fall, I will rise each time a better man.” ― Brandon Sanderson, Oathbringer.
To be fair to everyone, as far as I'm aware there's no general rule that a spell ends if the target ceases to be valid. Targeting only needs to be valid at the time of casting. If I cast moonbeam at max range and take a step back, the moonbeam is still there even though the target is no longer valid. If I cast hold person and the target is subsequently polymorphed into a beast, they are still paralyzed.
Except for when he says after the hour the only way to end true polymorph is to dispel it. Period. He wanted to clarify that you become the new creature/object until dispelled.
But as for effects ending when the spell ends there are a number of spells where this is not so. Find Familiar is instantaneous but the familiar hangs around after the spell ends. The effect from Cure Wounds doesn't end when the spell does and can't be dispelled afterward. Cure Wounds ends but you keep the hp and the hp cannot be dispelled away.
Actually earlier on he states that the 'drop to 0' rule was not there and was specifically put in to both spells after original publication. When he subsequently discusses it, he makes no distinction between polymorph and true polymorph or true polymorph pre-1 hour mark and after.
That strongly suggests that his opinion on how the spell works is non-authoritative, because someone changed the way the spell works that invalidated his opinion.
Why would it be the top layer polymorph? Doesn't Dispel Magic dispel all spells affecting a target... or at least have the chance to do so depending on rolls?
Among the reasons for this is the pretty obvious concern than otherwise landing true polymorph + an hour concentration equals autowin. True polymorph the proverbial (non-shapechanging) dragon into a slug, put it in a container and concentrate for an hour, then squish the slug.
It's a 9th level spell, why not let it be an auto-win?
Among the reasons for this is the pretty obvious concern than otherwise landing true polymorph + an hour concentration equals autowin. True polymorph the proverbial (non-shapechanging) dragon into a slug, put it in a container and concentrate for an hour, then squish the slug.
It's a 9th level spell, why not let it be an auto-win?
Why even have levels over 16? Why even have rules?
9th level spells are intended to be powerful, not all-powerful.
Among the reasons for this is the pretty obvious concern than otherwise landing true polymorph + an hour concentration equals autowin. True polymorph the proverbial (non-shapechanging) dragon into a slug, put it in a container and concentrate for an hour, then squish the slug.
It's a 9th level spell, why not let it be an auto-win?
Why even have levels over 16? Why even have rules?
9th level spells are intended to be powerful, not all-powerful.
It isn't all-powerful, it provides a saving throw; and a whole hour for the target's allies to sort things out!
The GM has great latitude in ruling what occurs in such an instance; the greater the wish, the greater the likelihood that something goes wrong. This spell might simply fail, the effect you desire might only be partly achieved, or you might suffer some unforeseen consequence as a result of how you worded the wish.
Among the reasons for this is the pretty obvious concern than otherwise landing true polymorph + an hour concentration equals autowin. True polymorph the proverbial (non-shapechanging) dragon into a slug, put it in a container and concentrate for an hour, then squish the slug.
It's a 9th level spell, why not let it be an auto-win?
Why even have levels over 16? Why even have rules?
9th level spells are intended to be powerful, not all-powerful.
It isn't all-powerful, it provides a saving throw; and a whole hour for the target's allies to sort things out!
I wasn't the one that suggested letting the 9th-level spell be an auto-win.
As a DM does anyone have any advice that could help with something I'm trying to figure out???
Say something casts True Polymorph on itself to become something else, it waits the full hour so the change is permanent, now I'm worried about Dispel Magic being used in this situation, the thing wants to remain in its new Form, what would be something I could do that would keep the creature from reverting back to its original form??? I know as a DM I could simply say Dispel doesn't work but I have some players who are sticklers for the wording of a spell lol
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
A DM of 3 years a Player of 4 I enjoy world building and have many Homebrew Campaigns and several One shots, I like to consider myself a pretty laid back DM as far as some I've played under, I'm fair and enjoy running games for my friends and strangers, I enjoy teaching and helping players, I don't hold back when it comes to my worlds and monsters.
As a DM does anyone have any advice that could help with something I'm trying to figure out???
Say something casts True Polymorph on itself to become something else, it waits the full hour so the change is permanent, now I'm worried about Dispel Magic being used in this situation, the thing wants to remain in its new Form, what would be something I could do that would keep the creature from reverting back to its original form??? I know as a DM I could simply say Dispel doesn't work but I have some players who are sticklers for the wording of a spell lol
Homebrewing a special magic item could work.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
As a DM does anyone have any advice that could help with something I'm trying to figure out???
Say something casts True Polymorph on itself to become something else, it waits the full hour so the change is permanent, now I'm worried about Dispel Magic being used in this situation, the thing wants to remain in its new Form, what would be something I could do that would keep the creature from reverting back to its original form??? I know as a DM I could simply say Dispel doesn't work but I have some players who are sticklers for the wording of a spell lol
You could have a Wish spell or cleric Divine Intervention render its new duration Instantaneous rather than Until Dispelled, like Reincarnate.
As a DM does anyone have any advice that could help with something I'm trying to figure out???
Say something casts True Polymorph on itself to become something else, it waits the full hour so the change is permanent, now I'm worried about Dispel Magic being used in this situation, the thing wants to remain in its new Form, what would be something I could do that would keep the creature from reverting back to its original form??? I know as a DM I could simply say Dispel doesn't work but I have some players who are sticklers for the wording of a spell lol
One relatively inexpensive possibility is using Nystul's Magic Aura to make them appear as if they're not affected by True Polymorph, so that casual divination magic wouldn't reveal the truth.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
The Wish spell actually doesn't exist in my Campaign, would Channel Divinity allow it to remain permanent and not be affected by Dispel Magic???
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
A DM of 3 years a Player of 4 I enjoy world building and have many Homebrew Campaigns and several One shots, I like to consider myself a pretty laid back DM as far as some I've played under, I'm fair and enjoy running games for my friends and strangers, I enjoy teaching and helping players, I don't hold back when it comes to my worlds and monsters.
The Wish spell actually doesn't exist in my Campaign, would Channel Divinity allow it to remain permanent and not be affected by Dispel Magic???
No (there is no Channel Divinity effect that does that). There's no official way of doing what you want, other than Wish (because it can do anything the DM lets it do), though you can always invent a special ritual that does whatever you want (there's no official way of turning into a lich either, but that doesn't mean it doesn't happen, just means it's outside the rules).
Why? The spell lasts until dispelled. If death does not end the spell, even in death the spell should stay and be dispellable. There is no indication, that death makes the spell un-dispellable.
So chose one, either it ends with death or it does not end, and you can dispell it later. Your take is another interpretation that is even more complicated than this whole discussion.
A dead creature is no longer a creature. When they die, the spell would end, but since they're no longer the creature they were turned into, they would not revert.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
Yes, but it's no longer the spell that would've changed them into that. It's a bit like polymorphing something that's already been true polymorphed. For as long as they are that new thing, the old thing doesn't matter.
No, in D&D rules, if you die, you're no longer a creature. Your body is an object.
It may not say that, but it's pretty obvious. If I turn a creature into a piece of metal, and then melt that metal and scatter the molten metal around, you're no longer going to be able to turn the object back into a creature.
Being a corpse is no longer being a creature, which invalidates the "Creature into creature/Object into Creature" sections. If they're no longer the thing that they were turned into, the spell is null.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
It may not say that, but it's pretty obvious. If I turn a creature into a piece of metal, and then melt that metal and scatter the molten metal around, you're no longer going to be able to turn the object back into a creature."
idk. I would say melting down the metal would drop it to 0 hp.
DISCLAIMER: I have not been following the thread. pardon if I am repeating/ or this has already been proved wrong
“I will take responsibility for what I have done. [...] If must fall, I will rise each time a better man.” ― Brandon Sanderson, Oathbringer.
To be fair to everyone, as far as I'm aware there's no general rule that a spell ends if the target ceases to be valid. Targeting only needs to be valid at the time of casting. If I cast moonbeam at max range and take a step back, the moonbeam is still there even though the target is no longer valid. If I cast hold person and the target is subsequently polymorphed into a beast, they are still paralyzed.
And don’t forget bout every damage spell ever.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
That strongly suggests that his opinion on how the spell works is non-authoritative, because someone changed the way the spell works that invalidated his opinion.
Yes.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
It's a 9th level spell, why not let it be an auto-win?
Why even have levels over 16? Why even have rules?
9th level spells are intended to be powerful, not all-powerful.
It isn't all-powerful, it provides a saving throw; and a whole hour for the target's allies to sort things out!
Not all-powerful.
I wasn't the one that suggested letting the 9th-level spell be an auto-win.
Not to mention if you cast true poly on an ancient red dragon and it fails, it can just choose to succeed with a legendary resist anyway.
As a DM does anyone have any advice that could help with something I'm trying to figure out???
Say something casts True Polymorph on itself to become something else, it waits the full hour so the change is permanent, now I'm worried about Dispel Magic being used in this situation, the thing wants to remain in its new Form, what would be something I could do that would keep the creature from reverting back to its original form???
I know as a DM I could simply say Dispel doesn't work but I have some players who are sticklers for the wording of a spell lol
A DM of 3 years a Player of 4 I enjoy world building and have many Homebrew Campaigns and several One shots, I like to consider myself a pretty laid back DM as far as some I've played under, I'm fair and enjoy running games for my friends and strangers, I enjoy teaching and helping players, I don't hold back when it comes to my worlds and monsters.
Homebrewing a special magic item could work.
Please check out my homebrew, I would appreciate feedback:
Spells, Monsters, Subclasses, Races, Arcknight Class, Occultist Class, World, Enigmatic Esoterica forms
You could have a Wish spell or cleric Divine Intervention render its new duration Instantaneous rather than Until Dispelled, like Reincarnate.
One relatively inexpensive possibility is using Nystul's Magic Aura to make them appear as if they're not affected by True Polymorph, so that casual divination magic wouldn't reveal the truth.
Helpful rewriter of Japanese->English translation and delver into software codebases (she/e/they)
The Wish spell actually doesn't exist in my Campaign, would Channel Divinity allow it to remain permanent and not be affected by Dispel Magic???
A DM of 3 years a Player of 4 I enjoy world building and have many Homebrew Campaigns and several One shots, I like to consider myself a pretty laid back DM as far as some I've played under, I'm fair and enjoy running games for my friends and strangers, I enjoy teaching and helping players, I don't hold back when it comes to my worlds and monsters.
No (there is no Channel Divinity effect that does that). There's no official way of doing what you want, other than Wish (because it can do anything the DM lets it do), though you can always invent a special ritual that does whatever you want (there's no official way of turning into a lich either, but that doesn't mean it doesn't happen, just means it's outside the rules).