So I've been looking at Artificer quite a bit recently and found myself wondering a few things...
(Apologies if this has been answered before, couldn't for the life of me find 'em.)
1) Artificer requires a focus for all spells (either tools or an infused item), so they can't use a Component Pouch for any spells with an M requirement. Any spell with costly components needs 2 hands to cast (one hand for tools/focus) while other casters could use 1 (Somatic components can be done with the same hand used for Material components).
Can you use a worn infused item instead of a hand-held one (ex. bag of holding) as per the allowance for infused items to be used as a spellcasting focus for the Artificer (ie. do you have to be holding the item in your hand or can it be something you're wearing) thus eliminating this requirement for 2-hands in order to cast M spells with costly components?
I ask because the line that states you can use an infused item as a focus does not state that it must be held in one's hand(s).
2) Does the Artillerist's Eldritch Cannon count as a creature for the purposes of spells that affect "creatures" (ie. fireball, cone of cold, etc). What about Shatter which states "non-magical object"?
My interpretation is that the Eldritch Cannon has the Magical Object characteristic as opposed to Creature or Object. This would mean, at least if I'm understanding things correctly, any spell that specifies that it affects Creatures, such as a Fireball, would not affect the Eldritch Cannon. Subsequently, Shatter, which specifies it does not affect Magical Objects, would also not affect the Eldritch Cannon.
So I've been looking at Artificer quite a bit recently and found myself wondering a few things...
(Apologies if this has been answered before, couldn't for the life of me find 'em.)
1) Artificer requires a focus for all spells (either tools or an infused item), so they can't use a Component Pouch for any spells with an M requirement. Any spell with costly components needs 2 hands to cast (one hand for tools/focus) while other casters could use 1 (Somatic components can be done with the same hand used for Material components).
Can you use a worn infused item instead of a hand-held one (ex. bag of holding) as per the allowance for infused items to be used as a spellcasting focus for the Artificer (ie. do you have to be holding the item in your hand or can it be something you're wearing) thus eliminating this requirement for 2-hands in order to cast M spells with costly components?
I ask because the line that states you can use an infused item as a focus does not state that it must be held in one's hand(s).
2) Does the Artillerist's Eldritch Cannon count as a creature for the purposes of spells that affect "creatures" (ie. fireball, cone of cold, etc). What about Shatter which states "non-magical object"?
My interpretation is that the Eldritch Cannon has the Magical Object characteristic as opposed to Creature or Object. This would mean, at least if I'm understanding things correctly, any spell that specifies that it affects Creatures, such as a Fireball, would not affect the Eldritch Cannon. Subsequently, Shatter, which specifies it does not affect Magical Objects, would also not affect the Eldritch Cannon.
Thoughts and insight appreciated.
First point: The rules on spellcasting explicitly state that the focus is held, not worn:
"A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components." - PHB Chapter 10 Spellcasting (Components)
You don't need a focus if you are using components, but you do need the hand free - I don't see where you are getting the two-hand requirement from? The focus is only required when casting a spell without using material components (you use the components if they are consumed by the spell or have a price listed)
Second point: It is explicitly described as a Magical Object, thus it is definitely not a non-magical object. And from the fact that objects are not creatures and vice versa, it is not a creature either. See how the Battle Smith - Steel Defender is not an Object but a Construct and thus a Creature
"The cannon is a magical object." - Eberron: Rising from the Last War Chapter 1: Character Creation (Artificer Specialists)
"By 3rd level, your tinkering has borne you a faithful companion, a steel defender. It is friendly to you and your companions, and it obeys your commands. See this creature’s game statistics in the steel defender stat block." - Eberron: Rising from the Last War Chapter 1: Character Creation (Artificer Specialists)
Fireball may have an impact on your cannon however it doesn't deal damage directly:
"It ignites flammable objects in the area that aren't being worn or carried." - Fireball Spell
This may be disputed by the further text of your Eldritch Cannon that gives rules on how to handle checks, save etc:
"Regardless of size, the cannon has an AC of 18 and a number of hit points equal to five times your artificer level. It is immune to poison damage, psychic damage, and all conditions. If it is forced to make an ability check or a saving throw, treat all its ability scores as 10 (+0)." - Eberron: Rising from the Last War Chapter 1: Character Creation (Artificer Specialists)
But that is a discussion to make with the DM of the session, as it is up to interpretation (damage amount from being set on fire by fireball etc)
So I've been looking at Artificer quite a bit recently and found myself wondering a few things...
(Apologies if this has been answered before, couldn't for the life of me find 'em.)
1) Artificer requires a focus for all spells (either tools or an infused item), so they can't use a Component Pouch for any spells with an M requirement. Any spell with costly components needs 2 hands to cast (one hand for tools/focus) while other casters could use 1 (Somatic components can be done with the same hand used for Material components).
Can you use a worn infused item instead of a hand-held one (ex. bag of holding) as per the allowance for infused items to be used as a spellcasting focus for the Artificer (ie. do you have to be holding the item in your hand or can it be something you're wearing) thus eliminating this requirement for 2-hands in order to cast M spells with costly components?
I ask because the line that states you can use an infused item as a focus does not state that it must be held in one's hand(s).
2) Does the Artillerist's Eldritch Cannon count as a creature for the purposes of spells that affect "creatures" (ie. fireball, cone of cold, etc). What about Shatter which states "non-magical object"?
My interpretation is that the Eldritch Cannon has the Magical Object characteristic as opposed to Creature or Object. This would mean, at least if I'm understanding things correctly, any spell that specifies that it affects Creatures, such as a Fireball, would not affect the Eldritch Cannon. Subsequently, Shatter, which specifies it does not affect Magical Objects, would also not affect the Eldritch Cannon.
Thoughts and insight appreciated.
First point: The rules on spellcasting explicitly state that the focus is held, not worn:
"A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components." - PHB Chapter 10 Spellcasting (Components)
You don't need a focus if you are using components, but you do need the hand free - I don't see where you are getting the two-hand requirement from? The focus is only required when casting a spell without using material components (you use the components if they are consumed by the spell or have a price listed)
Artificers always require a focus, no matter what components a spell requires. Their spellcasting feature specifies: "You produce your artificer spell effects through your tools. You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool—in hand when you cast any spell with this Spellcasting feature." Since a spellcasting focus can't substitute for material components that are expended or that have a specific value, this means that casting spells with such components requires two free hands for the artificer.
For the OP: the above quote answers your first question. The artificer must have the focus in hand. BurnishedBronze answered your second question: the eldritch cannon is an object, so it's not a creature.
So I've been looking at Artificer quite a bit recently and found myself wondering a few things...
(Apologies if this has been answered before, couldn't for the life of me find 'em.)
1) Artificer requires a focus for all spells (either tools or an infused item), so they can't use a Component Pouch for any spells with an M requirement. Any spell with costly components needs 2 hands to cast (one hand for tools/focus) while other casters could use 1 (Somatic components can be done with the same hand used for Material components).
Can you use a worn infused item instead of a hand-held one (ex. bag of holding) as per the allowance for infused items to be used as a spellcasting focus for the Artificer (ie. do you have to be holding the item in your hand or can it be something you're wearing) thus eliminating this requirement for 2-hands in order to cast M spells with costly components?
I ask because the line that states you can use an infused item as a focus does not state that it must be held in one's hand(s).
2) Does the Artillerist's Eldritch Cannon count as a creature for the purposes of spells that affect "creatures" (ie. fireball, cone of cold, etc). What about Shatter which states "non-magical object"?
My interpretation is that the Eldritch Cannon has the Magical Object characteristic as opposed to Creature or Object. This would mean, at least if I'm understanding things correctly, any spell that specifies that it affects Creatures, such as a Fireball, would not affect the Eldritch Cannon. Subsequently, Shatter, which specifies it does not affect Magical Objects, would also not affect the Eldritch Cannon.
Thoughts and insight appreciated.
First point: The rules on spellcasting explicitly state that the focus is held, not worn:
"A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components." - PHB Chapter 10 Spellcasting (Components)
You don't need a focus if you are using components, but you do need the hand free - I don't see where you are getting the two-hand requirement from? The focus is only required when casting a spell without using material components (you use the components if they are consumed by the spell or have a price listed)
Artificers always require a focus, no matter what components a spell requires. Their spellcasting feature specifies: "You produce your artificer spell effects through your tools. You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool—in hand when you cast any spell with this Spellcasting feature." Since a spellcasting focus can't substitute for material components that are expended or that have a specific value, this means that casting spells with such components requires two free hands for the artificer.
For the OP: the above quote answers your first question. The artificer must have the focus in hand. BurnishedBronze answered your second question: the eldritch cannon is an object, so it's not a creature.
It doesn't appear to be so black and white since the Spellcasting note for Artificer also includes the following:
After you gain the Infuse Item feature at 2nd level, you can also use any item bearing one of your infusions as a spellcasting focus.
This leaves a bit of a grey area since you can infuse your own armour as well as other items such as hats, goggles, bags, rings, etc. Perhaps it's just an unusual quirk of the class that they can cast a spell while waving around a suit of armour they're holding in-hand? That's a rather comical image, to be honest.
But that is a discussion to make with the DM of the session, as it is up to interpretation (damage amount from being set on fire by fireball etc)
Fair enough. I've been looking for outside opinions because I'm torn. On the one hand the Cannon is given HP and saving throw information but on the other hand it is specifically noted to be a Magical Item.
So I've been looking at Artificer quite a bit recently and found myself wondering a few things...
(Apologies if this has been answered before, couldn't for the life of me find 'em.)
1) Artificer requires a focus for all spells (either tools or an infused item), so they can't use a Component Pouch for any spells with an M requirement. Any spell with costly components needs 2 hands to cast (one hand for tools/focus) while other casters could use 1 (Somatic components can be done with the same hand used for Material components).
Can you use a worn infused item instead of a hand-held one (ex. bag of holding) as per the allowance for infused items to be used as a spellcasting focus for the Artificer (ie. do you have to be holding the item in your hand or can it be something you're wearing) thus eliminating this requirement for 2-hands in order to cast M spells with costly components?
I ask because the line that states you can use an infused item as a focus does not state that it must be held in one's hand(s).
2) Does the Artillerist's Eldritch Cannon count as a creature for the purposes of spells that affect "creatures" (ie. fireball, cone of cold, etc). What about Shatter which states "non-magical object"?
My interpretation is that the Eldritch Cannon has the Magical Object characteristic as opposed to Creature or Object. This would mean, at least if I'm understanding things correctly, any spell that specifies that it affects Creatures, such as a Fireball, would not affect the Eldritch Cannon. Subsequently, Shatter, which specifies it does not affect Magical Objects, would also not affect the Eldritch Cannon.
Thoughts and insight appreciated.
First point: The rules on spellcasting explicitly state that the focus is held, not worn:
"A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components." - PHB Chapter 10 Spellcasting (Components)
You don't need a focus if you are using components, but you do need the hand free - I don't see where you are getting the two-hand requirement from? The focus is only required when casting a spell without using material components (you use the components if they are consumed by the spell or have a price listed)
Artificers always require a focus, no matter what components a spell requires. Their spellcasting feature specifies: "You produce your artificer spell effects through your tools. You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool—in hand when you cast any spell with this Spellcasting feature." Since a spellcasting focus can't substitute for material components that are expended or that have a specific value, this means that casting spells with such components requires two free hands for the artificer.
For the OP: the above quote answers your first question. The artificer must have the focus in hand. BurnishedBronze answered your second question: the eldritch cannon is an object, so it's not a creature.
It doesn't appear to be so black and white since the Spellcasting note for Artificer also includes the following:
After you gain the Infuse Item feature at 2nd level, you can also use any item bearing one of your infusions as a spellcasting focus.
This leaves a bit of a grey area since you can infuse your own armour as well as other items such as hats, goggles, bags, rings, etc. Perhaps it's just an unusual quirk of the class that they can cast a spell while waving around a suit of armour they're holding in-hand? That's a rather comical image, to be honest.
But that is a discussion to make with the DM of the session, as it is up to interpretation (damage amount from being set on fire by fireball etc)
Fair enough. I've been looking for outside opinions because I'm torn. On the one hand the Cannon is given HP and saving throw information but on the other hand it is specifically noted to be a Magical Item.
Appreciate the thoughts!
With regards to Infusions as a focus, I'd check with your DM.
Personally, I'd allow any infusion that is a held item (Shield, Weapon and obviously Wand), be willing to consider rings because they're worn on the hand, but anything else (bag, goggles etc) would have to be held in hand.
With regards to Infusions as a focus, I'd check with your DM.
Personally, I'd allow any infusion that is a held item (Shield, Weapon and obviously Wand), be willing to consider rings because they're worn on the hand, but anything else (bag, goggles etc) would have to be held in hand.
Again, I think you've got the right of it. Shields, weapons, enhanced arcane foci, etc all make sense and feel like they'd be as close to RAI as possible. I don't think worn items were intended though it does offer an interesting alternative in dire circumstances in the event that something happens to one's tools/infused weapon/focus, haha.
Thanks again for the alternative point of view, really appreciate it!
Except you are forgetting that there is already a worn item, Hat of Wizardry that can be used as a spellcasting focus for wizards. Thus any infused worn item should also be allowed to be a focus.
Except you are forgetting that there is already a worn item, Hat of Wizardry that can be used as a spellcasting focus for wizards. Thus any infused worn item should also be allowed to be a focus.
But the hat expressly states conditions that enable it to work:
This antiquated, cone-shaped hat is adorned with gold crescent moons and stars. While you are wearing it, you gain the following benefits:
Whereas, the Artificer feature says that you can use infusions as a a Focus:
After you gain the Infuse Item feature at 2nd level, you can also use any item bearing one of your infusions as a spellcasting focus.
This provides no conditions as to how you need to be in contact with them and a number of infusions do not require attunement, thus I'd recommend that they work as normal focuses according to normal focus rules, rather than following the exception for a specific magic item.
Specific beats general, but Specific is specific. Unless the rule states otherwise, a different specific rule does not trump it for any similar cases.
I don't recall anything saying that you need to hold a spellcasting focus to use it. Just that that's the natural thing to do with a staff or wand. I mean, Amulets and Emblems can be worn and i don't see anything saying that makes this illegible to be used a spellcasting focus. I don't see anything wrong with using your infused armor as a spellcasting focus than I see, for example a paladin using a emblem on their shield or a necklace as a spellcasting focus.
Edit: "Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell."
Using a armor as a spellcasting focus just requires you use it... as armor. While using a wand as a spellcasting focus, yeah you use a wand by holding it. Technically it doesn't define what "using" something means in this context, but I assume it's using it for it's intended purpose (wearing armor for example).
I don't recall anything saying that you need to hold a spellcasting focus to use it. Just that that's the natural thing to do with a staff or wand. I mean, Amulets and Emblems can be worn and i don't see anything saying that makes this illegible to be used a spellcasting focus. I don't see anything wrong with using your infused armor as a spellcasting focus than I see, for example a paladin using a emblem on their shield or a necklace as a spellcasting focus.
Edit: "Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell."
Using a armor as a spellcasting focus just requires you use it... as armor. While using a wand as a spellcasting focus, yeah you use a wand by holding it. Technically it doesn't define what "using" something means in this context, but I assume it's using it for it's intended purpose (wearing armor for example).
"A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components."
PHB - Spellcasting - Components (under Material)
Technically, casting a spell without Material components doesn't need a focus/component pouch, except for with an Artificer as the Spellcaster
I would allow any artificer infusion to serve as a spellcasting focus...but you still need the free hand to use it. Whether that means holding a shield, a weapon, a wand, or placing your hand to a sigil on your armor or rubbing the gem on a ring, you still need the hand to use the focus..
To me the RAI is not that you can gain access to the focus without the free hand, so as long as you are using the free hand to interact with the focus in some way I'm ok.
I would allow any artificer infusion to serve as a spellcasting focus...but you still need the free hand to use it. Whether that means holding a shield, a weapon, a wand, or placing your hand to a sigil on your armor or rubbing the gem on a ring, you still need the hand to use the focus..
To me the RAI is not that you can gain access to the focus without the free hand, so as long as you are using the free hand to interact with the focus in some way I'm ok.
That's what the RAW is. You can use any of your infused items as a focus. You also need to have the focus "in hand." Nothing about the former rule removes the requirement of the latter rule, so just wearing an infused item isn't enough. Does "placing your [otherwise free] hand to a sigil on your armor" count as having the armor "in hand"? That's where DM interpretation may differ. Personally, I'd agree with you that it's enough to satisfy the rule.
I would allow any artificer infusion to serve as a spellcasting focus...but you still need the free hand to use it. Whether that means holding a shield, a weapon, a wand, or placing your hand to a sigil on your armor or rubbing the gem on a ring, you still need the hand to use the focus..
To me the RAI is not that you can gain access to the focus without the free hand, so as long as you are using the free hand to interact with the focus in some way I'm ok.
I really think that makes sense. Since the Artificer doesn't cast spells in the traditional sense it's like the infusion is something modified into the item/armour/etc so s/he needs to touch it in order to activate it and "cast" the spell. I quite like that take; hadn't thought of it quite like that.
Artificer is kinda weird. Ultimately, DM's call seems the right way of it, as with everything. I was looking for other opinions so I had some ammunition, so to speak, for when I talk to my DM about how he wants to handle it. So I can offer to him different ways of handling things and see what his preference is (we're both fairly new to 5e).
WoTC doesn't seem to have an issue with worn items being used.
Power Armor
3rd-level Armorer feature
Your metallurgical pursuits have led to you making armor a conduit for your artificer magic. As an action, you can turn a suit of heavy armor you are wearing into power armor, provided you have smith’s tools in hand.
You gain the following benefits while wearing the power armor:
If the armor normally has a Strength requirement, the power armor lacks this requirement for you.
You can use the power armor as a spellcasting focus for your artificer spells.
The power armor attaches to you and can’t be removed against your will. It also expands to cover your entire body, and it replaces any missing limbs, functioning identically to a body part it is replacing.
The armor continues to be power armor until you doff it, you don another suit of armor, or you die.
WoTC doesn't seem to have an issue with worn items being used.
Power Armor
3rd-level Armorer feature
Your metallurgical pursuits have led to you making armor a conduit for your artificer magic. As an action, you can turn a suit of heavy armor you are wearing into power armor, provided you have smith’s tools in hand.
You gain the following benefits while wearing the power armor:
If the armor normally has a Strength requirement, the power armor lacks this requirement for you.
You can use the power armor as a spellcasting focus for your artificer spells.
The power armor attaches to you and can’t be removed against your will. It also expands to cover your entire body, and it replaces any missing limbs, functioning identically to a body part it is replacing.
The armor continues to be power armor until you doff it, you don another suit of armor, or you die.
This is UA, at least until Tashas comes out, so the final version of this may change. I would still rule the free hand is a requirement because nothing here overrides that portion of the general focus rule
1. your getting the spellcasting rule wrong, ANY class can use a component pouch for any material components without a cost (the bag itself is not the material component but HAS various components it in such a wool, animal skulls, copper wire and so on) second off you don't need two hands free, nothing in the rule book states that, all you need is one hand for most spells one to preform somatic gestures/hold focus/hold material component, if the component has a cost or is consumed that just means you have to have that object on you or in your hand.
2. just treat the cannon as you would any other creature, it is magical so shatter will do normal damage.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
D&D is not a video game, you don't need a tank or a healer, for thar matter you can turn pretty much any class into a frontliner, heavy damage dealer or healer with the right feats and items.
1. your getting the spellcasting rule wrong, ANY class can use a component pouch for any material components without a cost (the bag itself is not the material component but HAS various components it in such a wool, animal skulls, copper wire and so on) second off you don't need two hands free, nothing in the rule book states that, all you need is one hand for most spells one to preform somatic gestures/hold focus/hold material component, if the component has a cost or is consumed that just means you have to have that object on you or in your hand.
2. just treat the cannon as you would any other creature, it is magical so shatter will do normal damage.
First problem:
You produce your artificer spell effects through your tools. You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool—in hand when you cast any spell with this Spellcasting feature.
Note that this specifies that you must have a spell casting focus for spellcasting as an artificer.
Whereas, the text for a Wizard (the only bit that mentions a focus):
You can use an arcane focus (see the Adventuring Gear section) as a spellcasting focus for your wizard spells.
Note that this says can and not must, you get to choose whether you use one or not.
Second problem, the Cannon is explicitly described as a Magical Object, which is definitely not a creature.
The cannon is a magical object. Regardless of size, the cannon has an AC of 18 and a number of hit points equal to five times your artificer level. It is immune to poison damage, psychic damage, and all conditions. If it is forced to make an ability check or a saving throw, treat all its ability scores as 10 (+0). If the mending spell is cast on it, it regains 2d6 hit points. It disappears if it is reduced to 0 hit points or after 1 hour. You can dismiss it early as an action.
Read the first sentence: The cannon is a magical object. Compare this with the Steel Defender
By 3rd level, your tinkering has borne you a faithful companion, a steel defender. It is friendly to you and your companions, and it obeys your commands. See this creature’s game statistics in the steel defender stat block. You determine the creature’s appearance and whether it has two legs or four; your choice has no effect on its game statistics.
Which clearly states that it counts as a creature.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So I've been looking at Artificer quite a bit recently and found myself wondering a few things...
(Apologies if this has been answered before, couldn't for the life of me find 'em.)
1) Artificer requires a focus for all spells (either tools or an infused item), so they can't use a Component Pouch for any spells with an M requirement. Any spell with costly components needs 2 hands to cast (one hand for tools/focus) while other casters could use 1 (Somatic components can be done with the same hand used for Material components).
Can you use a worn infused item instead of a hand-held one (ex. bag of holding) as per the allowance for infused items to be used as a spellcasting focus for the Artificer (ie. do you have to be holding the item in your hand or can it be something you're wearing) thus eliminating this requirement for 2-hands in order to cast M spells with costly components?
I ask because the line that states you can use an infused item as a focus does not state that it must be held in one's hand(s).
2) Does the Artillerist's Eldritch Cannon count as a creature for the purposes of spells that affect "creatures" (ie. fireball, cone of cold, etc). What about Shatter which states "non-magical object"?
My interpretation is that the Eldritch Cannon has the Magical Object characteristic as opposed to Creature or Object. This would mean, at least if I'm understanding things correctly, any spell that specifies that it affects Creatures, such as a Fireball, would not affect the Eldritch Cannon. Subsequently, Shatter, which specifies it does not affect Magical Objects, would also not affect the Eldritch Cannon.
Thoughts and insight appreciated.
First point: The rules on spellcasting explicitly state that the focus is held, not worn:
"A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components." - PHB Chapter 10 Spellcasting (Components)
You don't need a focus if you are using components, but you do need the hand free - I don't see where you are getting the two-hand requirement from? The focus is only required when casting a spell without using material components (you use the components if they are consumed by the spell or have a price listed)
Second point: It is explicitly described as a Magical Object, thus it is definitely not a non-magical object. And from the fact that objects are not creatures and vice versa, it is not a creature either. See how the Battle Smith - Steel Defender is not an Object but a Construct and thus a Creature
"The cannon is a magical object." - Eberron: Rising from the Last War Chapter 1: Character Creation (Artificer Specialists)
"By 3rd level, your tinkering has borne you a faithful companion, a steel defender. It is friendly to you and your companions, and it obeys your commands. See this creature’s game statistics in the steel defender stat block." - Eberron: Rising from the Last War Chapter 1: Character Creation (Artificer Specialists)
Fireball may have an impact on your cannon however it doesn't deal damage directly:
"It ignites flammable objects in the area that aren't being worn or carried." - Fireball Spell
This may be disputed by the further text of your Eldritch Cannon that gives rules on how to handle checks, save etc:
"Regardless of size, the cannon has an AC of 18 and a number of hit points equal to five times your artificer level. It is immune to poison damage, psychic damage, and all conditions. If it is forced to make an ability check or a saving throw, treat all its ability scores as 10 (+0)." - Eberron: Rising from the Last War Chapter 1: Character Creation (Artificer Specialists)
But that is a discussion to make with the DM of the session, as it is up to interpretation (damage amount from being set on fire by fireball etc)
I hope this helps
Artificers always require a focus, no matter what components a spell requires. Their spellcasting feature specifies: "You produce your artificer spell effects through your tools. You must have a spellcasting focus—specifically thieves’ tools or some kind of artisan’s tool—in hand when you cast any spell with this Spellcasting feature." Since a spellcasting focus can't substitute for material components that are expended or that have a specific value, this means that casting spells with such components requires two free hands for the artificer.
For the OP: the above quote answers your first question. The artificer must have the focus in hand. BurnishedBronze answered your second question: the eldritch cannon is an object, so it's not a creature.
Yeah, you're right, I don't know how I missed that, you do need two hands free when spell casting with consumed or priced components, good catch Saga
It doesn't appear to be so black and white since the Spellcasting note for Artificer also includes the following:
This leaves a bit of a grey area since you can infuse your own armour as well as other items such as hats, goggles, bags, rings, etc. Perhaps it's just an unusual quirk of the class that they can cast a spell while waving around a suit of armour they're holding in-hand? That's a rather comical image, to be honest.
Fair enough. I've been looking for outside opinions because I'm torn. On the one hand the Cannon is given HP and saving throw information but on the other hand it is specifically noted to be a Magical Item.
Appreciate the thoughts!
With regards to Infusions as a focus, I'd check with your DM.
Personally, I'd allow any infusion that is a held item (Shield, Weapon and obviously Wand), be willing to consider rings because they're worn on the hand, but anything else (bag, goggles etc) would have to be held in hand.
Again, I think you've got the right of it. Shields, weapons, enhanced arcane foci, etc all make sense and feel like they'd be as close to RAI as possible. I don't think worn items were intended though it does offer an interesting alternative in dire circumstances in the event that something happens to one's tools/infused weapon/focus, haha.
Thanks again for the alternative point of view, really appreciate it!
Except you are forgetting that there is already a worn item, Hat of Wizardry that can be used as a spellcasting focus for wizards. Thus any infused worn item should also be allowed to be a focus.
But the hat expressly states conditions that enable it to work:
Whereas, the Artificer feature says that you can use infusions as a a Focus:
This provides no conditions as to how you need to be in contact with them and a number of infusions do not require attunement, thus I'd recommend that they work as normal focuses according to normal focus rules, rather than following the exception for a specific magic item.
Specific beats general, but Specific is specific. Unless the rule states otherwise, a different specific rule does not trump it for any similar cases.
I don't recall anything saying that you need to hold a spellcasting focus to use it. Just that that's the natural thing to do with a staff or wand. I mean, Amulets and Emblems can be worn and i don't see anything saying that makes this illegible to be used a spellcasting focus. I don't see anything wrong with using your infused armor as a spellcasting focus than I see, for example a paladin using a emblem on their shield or a necklace as a spellcasting focus.
Edit:
"Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell."
Using a armor as a spellcasting focus just requires you use it... as armor. While using a wand as a spellcasting focus, yeah you use a wand by holding it. Technically it doesn't define what "using" something means in this context, but I assume it's using it for it's intended purpose (wearing armor for example).
if I edit a message, most of the time it's because of grammar. The rest of the time I'll put "Edit:" at the bottom.
"A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components — or to hold a spellcasting focus — but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components."
PHB - Spellcasting - Components (under Material)
Technically, casting a spell without Material components doesn't need a focus/component pouch, except for with an Artificer as the Spellcaster
I would allow any artificer infusion to serve as a spellcasting focus...but you still need the free hand to use it. Whether that means holding a shield, a weapon, a wand, or placing your hand to a sigil on your armor or rubbing the gem on a ring, you still need the hand to use the focus..
To me the RAI is not that you can gain access to the focus without the free hand, so as long as you are using the free hand to interact with the focus in some way I'm ok.
I think that's fair, I'd just interpreted the question as asking if wearing an item counts, without you needing the hand free
That's what the RAW is. You can use any of your infused items as a focus. You also need to have the focus "in hand." Nothing about the former rule removes the requirement of the latter rule, so just wearing an infused item isn't enough. Does "placing your [otherwise free] hand to a sigil on your armor" count as having the armor "in hand"? That's where DM interpretation may differ. Personally, I'd agree with you that it's enough to satisfy the rule.
That’s why my Artificer made his crossbow and scope infusions. Keeps the pearl for identify in a button he clicks on his scope. 😉
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
I really think that makes sense. Since the Artificer doesn't cast spells in the traditional sense it's like the infusion is something modified into the item/armour/etc so s/he needs to touch it in order to activate it and "cast" the spell. I quite like that take; hadn't thought of it quite like that.
Artificer is kinda weird. Ultimately, DM's call seems the right way of it, as with everything. I was looking for other opinions so I had some ammunition, so to speak, for when I talk to my DM about how he wants to handle it. So I can offer to him different ways of handling things and see what his preference is (we're both fairly new to 5e).
Thank you all for your thoughts and insights!
WoTC doesn't seem to have an issue with worn items being used.
Power Armor
3rd-level Armorer feature
Your metallurgical pursuits have led to you making armor a conduit for your artificer magic. As an action, you can turn a suit of heavy armor you are wearing into power armor, provided you have smith’s tools in hand.
You gain the following benefits while wearing the power armor:
The armor continues to be power armor until you doff it, you don another suit of armor, or you die.
This is UA, at least until Tashas comes out, so the final version of this may change. I would still rule the free hand is a requirement because nothing here overrides that portion of the general focus rule
1. your getting the spellcasting rule wrong, ANY class can use a component pouch for any material components without a cost (the bag itself is not the material component but HAS various components it in such a wool, animal skulls, copper wire and so on)
second off you don't need two hands free, nothing in the rule book states that, all you need is one hand for most spells one to preform somatic gestures/hold focus/hold material component, if the component has a cost or is consumed that just means you have to have that object on you or in your hand.
2. just treat the cannon as you would any other creature, it is magical so shatter will do normal damage.
D&D is not a video game, you don't need a tank or a healer, for thar matter you can turn pretty much any class into a frontliner, heavy damage dealer or healer with the right feats and items.
First problem:
Note that this specifies that you must have a spell casting focus for spellcasting as an artificer.
Whereas, the text for a Wizard (the only bit that mentions a focus):
Note that this says can and not must, you get to choose whether you use one or not.
Second problem, the Cannon is explicitly described as a Magical Object, which is definitely not a creature.
Read the first sentence: The cannon is a magical object. Compare this with the Steel Defender
Which clearly states that it counts as a creature.