I am pretty new to D&D and making a Bladesinger Wizard. At 6th level I get 2 attacks and can cast a cantrip as one. I was wondering, dragon's breath is a bonus action to cast and an action to use. I believe that you can only cast 1 spell and a cantrip as a spellcaster, however, I believe that means casting a spell. In the case of dragon's breath, would the action to activate it be considered a spell used or just an attack? Could I do the breath action as well as a cantrip or am I misunderstanding this? Would this thought process also work on Shadow Blade as well?
Once Dragon's Breath is cast, on a subsequent round you can use your action to breathe the breath as well as your bonus action to cast a spell with a casting time of 1 action - since using the breath is not casting a spell.
You can't attack and breath in the same round though, since the action to use the breath is not spell casting.
I am also trying to understand duel wielding. If I were to have 2 scimitars and dragon's breath already up, could I use dragon's breath attack, then green flame or booming blade with a scimitar, then could I bonus action attack with my other scimitar or does the cantrip attack not count as a weapon attack?
Dragon's Breath requires the creature under the spell's effect to "use an action to exhale energy of the chosen type in a 15-foot cone". Unless there is another effect in play, a character only has a single action on a given turn. So, using Dragon's Breath would prevent you from utilizing a cantrip as part of an attack action- as no attack action has been taken on the turn. Similarly, as no attack action has been taken, you would be unable to make a bonus action attack with your other/offhand weapon.
I am also trying to understand duel wielding. If I were to have 2 scimitars and dragon's breath already up, could I use dragon's breath attack, then green flame or booming blade with a scimitar, then could I bonus action attack with my other scimitar or does the cantrip attack not count as a weapon attack?
You cannot use Dragon Breath and use the Attack action, it’s either/or. If you don’t use the Attack action, then you cannot use two-weapon fighting.
I am also trying to understand duel wielding. If I were to have 2 scimitars and dragon's breath already up, could I use dragon's breath attack, then green flame or booming blade with a scimitar, then could I bonus action attack with my other scimitar or does the cantrip attack not count as a weapon attack?
Did you even read the answer to the original post of this thread? Because you are asking if you can do even more than was already said couldn't be done.
To reiterate (and rephrase) the answer that is a week older than your question: using the breath action takes an action. You can't take the attack action and the breath action with the same action. And the breath action is not casting a cantrip, nor a weapon attack. So you can't use it as part of the bladesinger's extra attack.
Now that we have cover the part of your question already mentioned to be impossible before you asked, lets move on to the little bit of extra. You can take the twf bonus action if you take the attack action, but not if you take the breath action. You can cast GFB/BB once with the attack action, but the other attack must be a weapon attack that doesn't require your action (just to be clear).
Relax dude, no call for that kind of tone when someone is asking for help, especially when they explained they're new to D&D. The difference between a Bonus Action spell, the special breath Action it lets you take on that or future turns, taking multiple attacks within a single Attack Action, having a class feature that replaces one of those attacks with a Cantrip, other Bonus Action attacks that aren't part of an Attack but can't be taken unless the Attack action has been taken... it is very understandable to be confused about how all of that fits together, and to need to ask about it a couple of different times or have it described in different ways to understand why and how it works.
As it may be irrelevant to the current discussion but maybe a benefit to the OP, if you cast DB on another person/creature who is lower in the initiative order the spell would be usable during that round.
The "Attack Action" is a unique action, and a lot of your abilities as a Bladesinger and Dual Wielder are dependent on it.
As a Level 6 Blade Singer, whenever you take the Attack Action you are capable of making two separate Attacks. As a Special feature of Blade Singing, you can replace one of those attacks with any Cantrip you know, but you must take the Attack Action before being allowed to cast a Cantrip... If you take any action other than the Attack Action, you do not get the Cantrip option.
When dual-Wielding, you gain the ability to make a Bonus Action attack with your off-hand weapon. However, you are only allowed to use this Unique Bonus Action AFTER you have already taken the Attack Action. So you could do any of the following:
Having Dragon's Breath cast on yourself gives you access to a Unique Action wholly separate from the Attack Action. If you use the Dragon's Breath Action you are not able to use the Cantrip granted by your Extra Attack Feature. You also cannot use your Dual Wield Bonus Action Attack, because you can only use that feature after taking the Attack Action. Dragon's Breath overrides all of your unique class features and does not combine with them.
Oh, and to answer your question about Shadow Blade... when you cast Shadow Blade it creates a useable weapon in your character's hand. On the first turn that you create the Shadow Blade, you MUST use your Bonus Action to summon it. After that turn you simply treat it as a weapon you are holding, so Shadow Blade can be combined with your Extra Attack Feature, including the Cantrip option. On the first turn that you use to summon the Shadow Blade you cannot use your Dual Wield Bonus Attack, but on subsequent turns you can then use your Dual Wield Bonus Attack. Just remember that Shadow Blade is a Concentration Spell, and if you're going to be getting attacked regularly you might lose concentration on it, but I think Shadow Blade will do better with your intended fighting style than Dragon's Breath.
Oh, I did not know that Booming Blade got errata'd. I suppose that makes sense... it's a really overpowered spell if you can combine it with Shadow Blade.
I am pretty new to D&D and making a Bladesinger Wizard. At 6th level I get 2 attacks and can cast a cantrip as one. I was wondering, dragon's breath is a bonus action to cast and an action to use. I believe that you can only cast 1 spell and a cantrip as a spellcaster, however, I believe that means casting a spell. In the case of dragon's breath, would the action to activate it be considered a spell used or just an attack? Could I do the breath action as well as a cantrip or am I misunderstanding this? Would this thought process also work on Shadow Blade as well?
Once Dragon's Breath is cast, on a subsequent round you can use your action to breathe the breath as well as your bonus action to cast a spell with a casting time of 1 action - since using the breath is not casting a spell.
You can't attack and breath in the same round though, since the action to use the breath is not spell casting.
Yeah this. An action granted by a spell is not a cast a spell action.
I am also trying to understand duel wielding. If I were to have 2 scimitars and dragon's breath already up, could I use dragon's breath attack, then green flame or booming blade with a scimitar, then could I bonus action attack with my other scimitar or does the cantrip attack not count as a weapon attack?
Dragon's Breath requires the creature under the spell's effect to "use an action to exhale energy of the chosen type in a 15-foot cone". Unless there is another effect in play, a character only has a single action on a given turn. So, using Dragon's Breath would prevent you from utilizing a cantrip as part of an attack action- as no attack action has been taken on the turn. Similarly, as no attack action has been taken, you would be unable to make a bonus action attack with your other/offhand weapon.
You cannot use Dragon Breath and use the Attack action, it’s either/or. If you don’t use the Attack action, then you cannot use two-weapon fighting.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Did you even read the answer to the original post of this thread? Because you are asking if you can do even more than was already said couldn't be done.
To reiterate (and rephrase) the answer that is a week older than your question: using the breath action takes an action. You can't take the attack action and the breath action with the same action. And the breath action is not casting a cantrip, nor a weapon attack. So you can't use it as part of the bladesinger's extra attack.
Now that we have cover the part of your question already mentioned to be impossible before you asked, lets move on to the little bit of extra. You can take the twf bonus action if you take the attack action, but not if you take the breath action. You can cast GFB/BB once with the attack action, but the other attack must be a weapon attack that doesn't require your action (just to be clear).
Relax dude, no call for that kind of tone when someone is asking for help, especially when they explained they're new to D&D. The difference between a Bonus Action spell, the special breath Action it lets you take on that or future turns, taking multiple attacks within a single Attack Action, having a class feature that replaces one of those attacks with a Cantrip, other Bonus Action attacks that aren't part of an Attack but can't be taken unless the Attack action has been taken... it is very understandable to be confused about how all of that fits together, and to need to ask about it a couple of different times or have it described in different ways to understand why and how it works.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
As it may be irrelevant to the current discussion but maybe a benefit to the OP, if you cast DB on another person/creature who is lower in the initiative order the spell would be usable during that round.
I do get a bit snarky when annoyed. Sorry about that.
But being new is hardly an excuse for asking the same question that just got answered.
Okay, let me try to break it down a bit...
The "Attack Action" is a unique action, and a lot of your abilities as a Bladesinger and Dual Wielder are dependent on it.
As a Level 6 Blade Singer, whenever you take the Attack Action you are capable of making two separate Attacks. As a Special feature of Blade Singing, you can replace one of those attacks with any Cantrip you know, but you must take the Attack Action before being allowed to cast a Cantrip... If you take any action other than the Attack Action, you do not get the Cantrip option.
When dual-Wielding, you gain the ability to make a Bonus Action attack with your off-hand weapon. However, you are only allowed to use this Unique Bonus Action AFTER you have already taken the Attack Action. So you could do any of the following:
Attack Action (Attack-Cantrip), Bonus Action Dual Wield Attack
Attack Action (Attack-Attack), Bonus Action Dual Wield Attack
Attack Action (Cantrip-Attack), Bonus Action Dual Wield Attack
Having Dragon's Breath cast on yourself gives you access to a Unique Action wholly separate from the Attack Action. If you use the Dragon's Breath Action you are not able to use the Cantrip granted by your Extra Attack Feature. You also cannot use your Dual Wield Bonus Action Attack, because you can only use that feature after taking the Attack Action. Dragon's Breath overrides all of your unique class features and does not combine with them.
Oh, and to answer your question about Shadow Blade... when you cast Shadow Blade it creates a useable weapon in your character's hand. On the first turn that you create the Shadow Blade, you MUST use your Bonus Action to summon it. After that turn you simply treat it as a weapon you are holding, so Shadow Blade can be combined with your Extra Attack Feature, including the Cantrip option. On the first turn that you use to summon the Shadow Blade you cannot use your Dual Wield Bonus Attack, but on subsequent turns you can then use your Dual Wield Bonus Attack. Just remember that Shadow Blade is a Concentration Spell, and if you're going to be getting attacked regularly you might lose concentration on it, but I think Shadow Blade will do better with your intended fighting style than Dragon's Breath.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium
Here is my tip for maximizing damage using bladesinger and a bonus action spell:
Of course you also have to start your blade song at some point, probably turn before.
Oh, I did not know that Booming Blade got errata'd. I suppose that makes sense... it's a really overpowered spell if you can combine it with Shadow Blade.
Watch Crits for Breakfast, an adults-only RP-Heavy Roll20 Livestream at twitch.tv/afterdisbooty
And now you too can play with the amazing art and assets we use in Roll20 for our campaign at Hazel's Emporium