Question, I looked everywhere and could not find a clarification on this situation.
A player has a Gloomstalker Ranger with the Alertness Feat +5 to Initiative.
The character also has a Magic Item that grans quote: "Alert. Always on the lookout for danger, you gain the following benefits: You can't be surprised while you are conscious. You gain a +5 bonus to initiative. Other creatures don't gain advantage on attack rolls against you as a result of being unseen by you."
The question is does that Alert property the equivalent of the Alertness Feat? As feats don't stack then it would not stack. But if the property is not considered a feat it should stack I believe.
It would be helpful to have a link to the original source of the magic item. Assuming what you quoted is accurate it reads like the magic item gives you the Alert feat.
If the magic items gives the character the Alert feat then they do not stack because a character can't benefit from the same feat twice.
However, if the magic item does NOT state that it gives the character the Alert feat specifically but is instead applying a magic item property that has the same wording as the alert feat then they aren't the same. The Alert feat is one thing and the "Alert" property of this magic item is a different thing. In the latter case, then RAW, the properties of both the feat and the magic item would stack giving +10 to initiative.
In the latter case, it is up to the DM to decide if in their game, the Alert feat and the Alert property of the magic item will be treated as the same thing. (A DM makes rulings for their game and they could decide that the magic item just gives the character the Alert feat and the intent was to avoid cases where it could be stacked).
However, having the same description or mechanical effects does not automatically mean that the items can't stack. A cloak of protection and a ring of protection have exactly the same mechanical properties but can both affect a character at the same time. Another home brewed magic item with the property "Protection: the character has +1 to AC and +1 to Saves while wielding this item" (maybe a weapon or shield) .. would be expected to stack with a ring and cloak of protection ... so why would a magic item with an Alert property as described, not stack with a feat that does the same thing? Unless the magic items specifically gives the character the Alert feat or that was what it was intended to do.
Either way, whether it is allowed to stack or not is up to the DM. RAW, items with the same NAME do not stack ... the Alert feat from two sources do not stack. However, in general, the same properties from different sources CAN stack - so a magic item with an "Alert" property would, RAW, stack with the Alert feat.
P.S. I haven't heard of any magic item that gives the same benefits as the Alert feat which may mean that it is a homebrewed item which are inherently more likely to be unbalanced. If it is homebrewed then, as DM, you can just decide that it gives the character the Alert feat and so won't stack if a character already has it.
If the magic items gives the character the Alert feat then they do not stack because a character can't benefit from the same feat twice.
However, if the magic item does NOT state that it gives the character the Alert feat specifically but is instead applying a magic item property that has the same wording as the alert feat then they aren't the same. The Alert feat is one thing and the "Alert" property of this magic item is a different thing. In the latter case, then RAW, the properties of both the feat and the magic item would stack giving +10 to initiative.
In the latter case, it is up to the DM to decide if in their game, the Alert feat and the Alert property of the magic item will be treated as the same thing. (A DM makes rulings for their game and they could decide that the magic item just gives the character the Alert feat and the intent was to avoid cases where it could be stacked).
However, having the same description or mechanical effects does not automatically mean that the items can't stack. A cloak of protection and a ring of protection have exactly the same mechanical properties but can both affect a character at the same time. Another home brewed magic item with the property "Protection: the character has +1 to AC and +1 to Saves while wielding this item" (maybe a weapon or shield) .. would be expected to stack with a ring and cloak of protection ... so why would a magic item with an Alert property as described, not stack with a feat that does the same thing? Unless the magic items specifically gives the character the Alert feat or that was what it was intended to do.
Either way, whether it is allowed to stack or not is up to the DM. RAW, items with the same NAME do not stack ... the Alert feat from two sources do not stack. However, in general, the same properties from different sources CAN stack - so a magic item with an "Alert" property would, RAW, stack with the Alert feat.
P.S. I haven't heard of any magic item that gives the same benefits as the Alert feat which may mean that it is a homebrewed item which are inherently more likely to be unbalanced. If it is homebrewed then, as DM, you can just decide that it gives the character the Alert feat and so won't stack if a character already has it.
You literally said the exact thing that makes the chance of these stacking zero. "RAW, items with the same NAME do not stack." If you got a feat that's called Alert and a feature granted by a magic item that's called Alert, then you've got two game features with the same name, which means they don't stack. Your comparison to a feature that grants "Protection" wasn't very good because neither the Cloak of Protection nor the Ring of Protection are called (or have features that are called) "Protection." If they each said "Protection: The character has a +1 to AC and +1 to saving throws," then they definitely would not be able to stack.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
These benefits should stack as they are properties from a magic item and a feat. The rule that you can take each feat only once is when taking feat when leveling, not when magic item properties mimic them.
If you got a feat that's called Alert and a feature granted by a magic item that's called Alert, then you've got two game features with the same name, which means they don't stack.
Nah, two different sorts of features (feat, spell, item and so on) would stack just fine even if their name is the same. Just as two of the same sort of feature would stack just fine if their names aren't the same (like the cloak and ring "of protection").
If you got a feat that's called Alert and a feature granted by a magic item that's called Alert, then you've got two game features with the same name, which means they don't stack.
Nah, two different sorts of features (feat, spell, item and so on) would stack just fine even if their name is the same. Just as two of the same sort of feature would stack just fine if their names aren't the same (like the cloak and ring "of protection").
That's not what the text says, though.
"When two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. "
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
If you got a feat that's called Alert and a feature granted by a magic item that's called Alert, then you've got two game features with the same name, which means they don't stack.
Nah, two different sorts of features (feat, spell, item and so on) would stack just fine even if their name is the same. Just as two of the same sort of feature would stack just fine if their names aren't the same (like the cloak and ring "of protection").
That's not what the text says, though.
"When two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. "
That's true, but the text also says "Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items." A feature of a magic item is not a game feature; only the magic item itself is. So unless the magic item is called "Alert," the name collision isn't relevant here.
That said, it's clearly a homebrew item, so RAW discussion doesn't seem productive. Whether or not it stacks is entirely up to the DM. If they want it to not stack in a way that jives with RAW, they can say "You gain the Alert feat" or something.
If you got a feat that's called Alert and a feature granted by a magic item that's called Alert, then you've got two game features with the same name, which means they don't stack.
Nah, two different sorts of features (feat, spell, item and so on) would stack just fine even if their name is the same. Just as two of the same sort of feature would stack just fine if their names aren't the same (like the cloak and ring "of protection").
That's not what the text says, though.
"When two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. "
That's true, but the text also says "Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items." A feature of a magic item is not a game feature; only the magic item itself is. So unless the magic item is called "Alert," the name collision isn't relevant here.
That said, it's clearly a homebrew item, so RAW discussion doesn't seem productive. Whether or not it stacks is entirely up to the DM. If they want it to not stack in a way that jives with RAW, they can say "You gain the Alert feat" or something.
Ah, fair enough.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
That's true, but the text also says "Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items." A feature of a magic item is not a game feature; only the magic item itself is. So unless the magic item is called "Alert," the name collision isn't relevant here.
That said, it's clearly a homebrew item, so RAW discussion doesn't seem productive. Whether or not it stacks is entirely up to the DM. If they want it to not stack in a way that jives with RAW, they can say "You gain the Alert feat" or something.
This seems like a particularly problematic hair to split to me.
Certainly the item the OP is talking about is a homebrew creation and WotC would never have written an item like that. However, there are similar scenarios in the published rules.
If you got a feat that's called Alert and a feature granted by a magic item that's called Alert, then you've got two game features with the same name, which means they don't stack.
Nah, two different sorts of features (feat, spell, item and so on) would stack just fine even if their name is the same. Just as two of the same sort of feature would stack just fine if their names aren't the same (like the cloak and ring "of protection").
That's not what the text says, though.
"When two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. "
That's true, but the text also says "Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items." A feature of a magic item is not a game feature; only the magic item itself is. So unless the magic item is called "Alert," the name collision isn't relevant here.
That said, it's clearly a homebrew item, so RAW discussion doesn't seem productive. Whether or not it stacks is entirely up to the DM. If they want it to not stack in a way that jives with RAW, they can say "You gain the Alert feat" or something.
That list also specifies “class features,” but not “subclass features.” By your argument subclass features should be exempted too then. Since that’s obviously not RAI, I would argue that the rule should also apply to features of magic items.
If you got a feat that's called Alert and a feature granted by a magic item that's called Alert, then you've got two game features with the same name, which means they don't stack.
Nah, two different sorts of features (feat, spell, item and so on) would stack just fine even if their name is the same. Just as two of the same sort of feature would stack just fine if their names aren't the same (like the cloak and ring "of protection").
That's not what the text says, though.
"When two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. "
That's true, but the text also says "Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items." A feature of a magic item is not a game feature; only the magic item itself is. So unless the magic item is called "Alert," the name collision isn't relevant here.
That said, it's clearly a homebrew item, so RAW discussion doesn't seem productive. Whether or not it stacks is entirely up to the DM. If they want it to not stack in a way that jives with RAW, they can say "You gain the Alert feat" or something.
That list also specifies “class features,” but not “subclass features.” By your argument subclass features should be exempted too then. Since that’s obviously not RAI, I would argue that the rule should also apply to features of magic items.
I feel like subclass features qualify as class features, though. Subclasses themselves are class features, and subclass features are listed under the "Features" section of each class's class table.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
If you got a feat that's called Alert and a feature granted by a magic item that's called Alert, then you've got two game features with the same name, which means they don't stack.
Nah, two different sorts of features (feat, spell, item and so on) would stack just fine even if their name is the same. Just as two of the same sort of feature would stack just fine if their names aren't the same (like the cloak and ring "of protection").
That's not what the text says, though.
"When two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. "
That's true, but the text also says "Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items." A feature of a magic item is not a game feature; only the magic item itself is. So unless the magic item is called "Alert," the name collision isn't relevant here.
That said, it's clearly a homebrew item, so RAW discussion doesn't seem productive. Whether or not it stacks is entirely up to the DM. If they want it to not stack in a way that jives with RAW, they can say "You gain the Alert feat" or something.
That list also specifies “class features,” but not “subclass features.” By your argument subclass features should be exempted too then. Since that’s obviously not RAI, I would argue that the rule should also apply to features of magic items.
I feel like subclass features qualify as class features, though. Subclasses themselves are class features, and subclass features are listed under the "Features" section of each class's class table.
I agree. And by extension magic item features should also count as parts of “magic items,” names included
If you got a feat that's called Alert and a feature granted by a magic item that's called Alert, then you've got two game features with the same name, which means they don't stack.
Nah, two different sorts of features (feat, spell, item and so on) would stack just fine even if their name is the same. Just as two of the same sort of feature would stack just fine if their names aren't the same (like the cloak and ring "of protection").
That's not what the text says, though.
"When two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. "
That's true, but the text also says "Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items." A feature of a magic item is not a game feature; only the magic item itself is. So unless the magic item is called "Alert," the name collision isn't relevant here.
That said, it's clearly a homebrew item, so RAW discussion doesn't seem productive. Whether or not it stacks is entirely up to the DM. If they want it to not stack in a way that jives with RAW, they can say "You gain the Alert feat" or something.
That list also specifies “class features,” but not “subclass features.” By your argument subclass features should be exempted too then. Since that’s obviously not RAI, I would argue that the rule should also apply to features of magic items.
I feel like subclass features qualify as class features, though. Subclasses themselves are class features, and subclass features are listed under the "Features" section of each class's class table.
I agree. And by extension magic item features should also count as parts of “magic items,” names included
I dunno, it feels like those are different situations. A subclass feature is a class feature, so the name of a subclass feature is the name of a class feature, but the name of a feature within a magic item definitely isn't the name of the magic item.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
That's true, but the text also says "Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items." A feature of a magic item is not a game feature; only the magic item itself is. So unless the magic item is called "Alert," the name collision isn't relevant here.
That said, it's clearly a homebrew item, so RAW discussion doesn't seem productive. Whether or not it stacks is entirely up to the DM. If they want it to not stack in a way that jives with RAW, they can say "You gain the Alert feat" or something.
This seems like a particularly problematic hair to split to me.
Certainly the item the OP is talking about is a homebrew creation and WotC would never have written an item like that. However, there are similar scenarios in the published rules.
That's not a similar scenario at all. The Potion of Growth explicitly cites the spell. Likewise, if this item said "You gain the Alert feat" then it wouldn't stack, which was my suggested wording (with two seconds of thought). If the potion's description instead said "Enlarge. [a word for word copy of the relevant portion of Enlarge/Reduce's description]" then it would absolutely stack with the spell, which is why it isn't written that way.
If the magic items gives the character the Alert feat then they do not stack because a character can't benefit from the same feat twice.
However, if the magic item does NOT state that it gives the character the Alert feat specifically but is instead applying a magic item property that has the same wording as the alert feat then they aren't the same. The Alert feat is one thing and the "Alert" property of this magic item is a different thing. In the latter case, then RAW, the properties of both the feat and the magic item would stack giving +10 to initiative.
In the latter case, it is up to the DM to decide if in their game, the Alert feat and the Alert property of the magic item will be treated as the same thing. (A DM makes rulings for their game and they could decide that the magic item just gives the character the Alert feat and the intent was to avoid cases where it could be stacked).
However, having the same description or mechanical effects does not automatically mean that the items can't stack. A cloak of protection and a ring of protection have exactly the same mechanical properties but can both affect a character at the same time. Another home brewed magic item with the property "Protection: the character has +1 to AC and +1 to Saves while wielding this item" (maybe a weapon or shield) .. would be expected to stack with a ring and cloak of protection ... so why would a magic item with an Alert property as described, not stack with a feat that does the same thing? Unless the magic items specifically gives the character the Alert feat or that was what it was intended to do.
Either way, whether it is allowed to stack or not is up to the DM. RAW, items with the same NAME do not stack ... the Alert feat from two sources do not stack. However, in general, the same properties from different sources CAN stack - so a magic item with an "Alert" property would, RAW, stack with the Alert feat.
P.S. I haven't heard of any magic item that gives the same benefits as the Alert feat which may mean that it is a homebrewed item which are inherently more likely to be unbalanced. If it is homebrewed then, as DM, you can just decide that it gives the character the Alert feat and so won't stack if a character already has it.
This I am sure is the answer. The item gives the Alert property, not the Alert feat. So I believe since they are not 2 of the same feat they would stack. So +10 to Initiative.
This character has a +20 initiatve at level 20.
Dexterity +5
Alertness x2 +10
Wisdom maxed +5, Dread Ambusher You can give yourself a bonus to your initiative rolls equal to your Wisdom modifier.
If you got a feat that's called Alert and a feature granted by a magic item that's called Alert, then you've got two game features with the same name, which means they don't stack.
Nah, two different sorts of features (feat, spell, item and so on) would stack just fine even if their name is the same. Just as two of the same sort of feature would stack just fine if their names aren't the same (like the cloak and ring "of protection").
That's not what the text says, though.
"When two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. "
If you got a feat that's called Alert and a feature granted by a magic item that's called Alert, then you've got two game features with the same name, which means they don't stack.
Nah, two different sorts of features (feat, spell, item and so on) would stack just fine even if their name is the same. Just as two of the same sort of feature would stack just fine if their names aren't the same (like the cloak and ring "of protection").
That's not what the text says, though.
"When two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. "
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny. Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Question, I looked everywhere and could not find a clarification on this situation.
A player has a Gloomstalker Ranger with the Alertness Feat +5 to Initiative.
The character also has a Magic Item that grans quote: "Alert. Always on the lookout for danger, you gain the following benefits: You can't be surprised while you are conscious. You gain a +5 bonus to initiative. Other creatures don't gain advantage on attack rolls against you as a result of being unseen by you."
The question is does that Alert property the equivalent of the Alertness Feat? As feats don't stack then it would not stack. But if the property is not considered a feat it should stack I believe.
The feat in question is called Alert. - https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/customization-options#Alert
It would be helpful to have a link to the original source of the magic item. Assuming what you quoted is accurate it reads like the magic item gives you the Alert feat.
This would mean they have two instance of the Alert feat and a creature cannot benefit from more than one instance of a game feature. - https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/dmg/running-the-game#CombiningGameEffects
So no, they don't stack.
If the magic items gives the character the Alert feat then they do not stack because a character can't benefit from the same feat twice.
However, if the magic item does NOT state that it gives the character the Alert feat specifically but is instead applying a magic item property that has the same wording as the alert feat then they aren't the same. The Alert feat is one thing and the "Alert" property of this magic item is a different thing. In the latter case, then RAW, the properties of both the feat and the magic item would stack giving +10 to initiative.
In the latter case, it is up to the DM to decide if in their game, the Alert feat and the Alert property of the magic item will be treated as the same thing. (A DM makes rulings for their game and they could decide that the magic item just gives the character the Alert feat and the intent was to avoid cases where it could be stacked).
However, having the same description or mechanical effects does not automatically mean that the items can't stack. A cloak of protection and a ring of protection have exactly the same mechanical properties but can both affect a character at the same time. Another home brewed magic item with the property "Protection: the character has +1 to AC and +1 to Saves while wielding this item" (maybe a weapon or shield) .. would be expected to stack with a ring and cloak of protection ... so why would a magic item with an Alert property as described, not stack with a feat that does the same thing? Unless the magic items specifically gives the character the Alert feat or that was what it was intended to do.
Either way, whether it is allowed to stack or not is up to the DM. RAW, items with the same NAME do not stack ... the Alert feat from two sources do not stack. However, in general, the same properties from different sources CAN stack - so a magic item with an "Alert" property would, RAW, stack with the Alert feat.
P.S. I haven't heard of any magic item that gives the same benefits as the Alert feat which may mean that it is a homebrewed item which are inherently more likely to be unbalanced. If it is homebrewed then, as DM, you can just decide that it gives the character the Alert feat and so won't stack if a character already has it.
You literally said the exact thing that makes the chance of these stacking zero. "RAW, items with the same NAME do not stack." If you got a feat that's called Alert and a feature granted by a magic item that's called Alert, then you've got two game features with the same name, which means they don't stack. Your comparison to a feature that grants "Protection" wasn't very good because neither the Cloak of Protection nor the Ring of Protection are called (or have features that are called) "Protection." If they each said "Protection: The character has a +1 to AC and +1 to saving throws," then they definitely would not be able to stack.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
These benefits should stack as they are properties from a magic item and a feat. The rule that you can take each feat only once is when taking feat when leveling, not when magic item properties mimic them.
Nah, two different sorts of features (feat, spell, item and so on) would stack just fine even if their name is the same. Just as two of the same sort of feature would stack just fine if their names aren't the same (like the cloak and ring "of protection").
That's not what the text says, though.
"When two or more game features have the same name, only the effects of one of them—the most potent one—apply while the durations of the effects overlap. "
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
That's true, but the text also says "Game features include spells, class features, feats, racial traits, monster abilities, and magic items." A feature of a magic item is not a game feature; only the magic item itself is. So unless the magic item is called "Alert," the name collision isn't relevant here.
That said, it's clearly a homebrew item, so RAW discussion doesn't seem productive. Whether or not it stacks is entirely up to the DM. If they want it to not stack in a way that jives with RAW, they can say "You gain the Alert feat" or something.
Since they both have the same name, “Alert,” they would not stack, no. If they had different names then they would.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Ah, fair enough.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
This seems like a particularly problematic hair to split to me.
Certainly the item the OP is talking about is a homebrew creation and WotC would never have written an item like that. However, there are similar scenarios in the published rules.
Consider the Enlarge/Reduce spell 'enlarge' effect and a Potion of Growth. Do these effects attack while the duration of both is active or does the effect of the Potion of Growth override the effect of the Enlarge/Reduce spell?
Potion of Growth applies the effect of Enlarge/Reduce, therefore the rules about stacking effects applies.
That list also specifies “class features,” but not “subclass features.” By your argument subclass features should be exempted too then. Since that’s obviously not RAI, I would argue that the rule should also apply to features of magic items.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
I feel like subclass features qualify as class features, though. Subclasses themselves are class features, and subclass features are listed under the "Features" section of each class's class table.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
I agree. And by extension magic item features should also count as parts of “magic items,” names included
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
I dunno, it feels like those are different situations. A subclass feature is a class feature, so the name of a subclass feature is the name of a class feature, but the name of a feature within a magic item definitely isn't the name of the magic item.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)
That's not a similar scenario at all. The Potion of Growth explicitly cites the spell. Likewise, if this item said "You gain the Alert feat" then it wouldn't stack, which was my suggested wording (with two seconds of thought). If the potion's description instead said "Enlarge. [a word for word copy of the relevant portion of Enlarge/Reduce's description]" then it would absolutely stack with the spell, which is why it isn't written that way.
This I am sure is the answer. The item gives the Alert property, not the Alert feat. So I believe since they are not 2 of the same feat they would stack. So +10 to Initiative.
This character has a +20 initiatve at level 20.
Dexterity +5
Alertness x2 +10
Wisdom maxed +5, Dread Ambusher You can give yourself a bonus to your initiative rolls equal to your Wisdom modifier.
Optional rules Combining Different Effect is from Xanathar's Guide to Everything.
Core rules Combining Magical Effects is from the Player's Handbook
Core rules Combining Game Effects is from the Dungeon Master's Guide.
Look at what you've done. You spoiled it. You have nobody to blame but yourself. Go sit and think about your actions.
Don't be mean. Rudeness is a vicious cycle, and it has to stop somewhere. Exceptions for things that are funny.
Go to the current Competition of the Finest 'Brews! It's a cool place where cool people make cool things.
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat Off - Mod Hat Also Off (I'm not a mod)