My group has been having trouble agreeing on how this spell works.
This spell transforms a creature that you can see within range (60 ft) into a new form.
Now the Bard and Druid both cast this on themselves. Can they do this because it's a concentration spell, won't turning into a creatures (that can't cast spells) prevent them from casting spells and stop any current concentrations?
Part 1: They can do this as a concentration spell. The form retains their WIS, INT, and CHA stats, so they essentially retain their brains but their body changes. This would allow them to "think" about the spell they've cast and "concentrate" on it.
Part 2: By turning into a creature it is very possible to prevent yourself from casting any further spells, it is also possible to polymorph and still cast other spells. If you turn into a Bullette, you're going to find it hard to talk and wiggle your fingers, no more spell casting for you. If you turn into a Derugar, well you'd still have a voice and fingers so spell casting is still an option.
Part 3: It won't stop any concentration for the same reason as Part 1.
Part 1: They can do this as a concentration spell. The form retains their WIS, INT, and CHA stats, so they essentially retain their brains but their body changes. This would allow them to "think" about the spell they've cast and "concentrate" on it.
You're thinking of Wild Shape. Polymorph changes all of your statistics; you only retain your personality and alignment (with the implication that you still have all your memories, and can tell friend from foe.)
Part 2: By turning into a creature it is very possible to prevent yourself from casting any further spells, it is also possible to polymorph and still cast other spells. If you turn into a Bullette, you're going to find it hard to talk and wiggle your fingers, no more spell casting for you. If you turn into a Derugar, well you'd still have a voice and fingers so spell casting is still an option.
The text is a bit confusing, but Polymorph explicitly forbids casting spells; the bit about being unable to speak and being unable to do anything that requires hands are separate restrictions unrelated to the no-casting-spells thing.
My group has been having trouble agreeing on how this spell works.
This spell transforms a creature that you can see within range (60 ft) into a new form.
Now the Bard and Druid both cast this on themselves. Can they do this because it's a concentration spell, won't turning into a creatures (that can't cast spells) prevent them from casting spells and stop any current concentrations?
Per rules as written, it doesn't break concentration. As a DM, you are free to rule otherwise if you think it doesn't make sense.
https://www.sageadvice.eu/2014/10/22/polymorph-concentration/
Homebrew Rules || Homebrew FAQ || Snippet Codes || Tooltips
DDB Guides & FAQs, Class Guides, Character Builds, Game Guides, Useful Websites, and WOTC Resources
Part 1: They can do this as a concentration spell. The form retains their WIS, INT, and CHA stats, so they essentially retain their brains but their body changes. This would allow them to "think" about the spell they've cast and "concentrate" on it.
Part 2: By turning into a creature it is very possible to prevent yourself from casting any further spells, it is also possible to polymorph and still cast other spells. If you turn into a Bullette, you're going to find it hard to talk and wiggle your fingers, no more spell casting for you. If you turn into a Derugar, well you'd still have a voice and fingers so spell casting is still an option.
Part 3: It won't stop any concentration for the same reason as Part 1.
You're thinking of Wild Shape. Polymorph changes all of your statistics; you only retain your personality and alignment (with the implication that you still have all your memories, and can tell friend from foe.)
The text is a bit confusing, but Polymorph explicitly forbids casting spells; the bit about being unable to speak and being unable to do anything that requires hands are separate restrictions unrelated to the no-casting-spells thing.
That aside, being unable to cast spells isn't the same as being unable to concentrate on a previously-cast spell. The polymorph spell doesn't interrupt the concentration of its target.
The Forum Infestation (TM)