Bite.Melee Weapon Attack: +4 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 5 (1d6 + 2) piercing damage. If the target is a creature, it must succeed on a DC 12 Constitution saving throw against disease or become poisoned until the disease is cured. Every 24 hours that elapse, the creature must repeat the saving throw, reducing its hit point maximum by 5 (1d10) on a failure. This reduction lasts until the disease is cured. The creature dies if the disease reduces its hit point maximum to 0.
I'm assuming 'creature' is generic for say, any type of monster or player characters?
Bite.Melee Weapon Attack: +4 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 5 (1d6 + 2) piercing damage. If the target is a creature, it must succeed on a DC 12 Constitution saving throw against disease or become poisoned until the disease is cured. Every 24 hours that elapse, the creature must repeat the saving throw, reducing its hit point maximum by 5 (1d10) on a failure. This reduction lasts until the disease is cured. The creature dies if the disease reduces its hit point maximum to 0.
I'm assuming 'creature' is generic for say, any type of monster or player characters?
There are three types of things that can be attacked in 5e: “Objects,” “Creatures,” and “Targets.”
An Object is anything that is not a Creature. Objects include, but are not limited to: Magic Items, Equipment, and Vehicles.
A Creature is anything that is not an Object. Creatures include everything on this list: Monsters.
A Target is anything. Targets can include, but are not limited to: Objects, and Creatures. Although some things can also target Spells. (Like Counterspell for example.)
The Death Dog’s Bite Attack can hit any “one target,” but if that “target” happens to be a “creature,” then it adds the special poisoned effect.
Not entirely true - not everything is an Object or a Creature.
The "Tiny Hut" spell only prevents Objects and Creatures from entering it - this would not apply to breath weapons.
That is both true and not true.
True:
A breath weapon is not an object. But if you’ll note, I did not link spells as either objets or creatures. I specifically omitted them under those categories and specifically included them under targets because they could be “targets.”
I neglected to specify “magical effects” in that same way.
A 10-foot-radius immobile dome of force springs into existence around and above you and remains stationary for the duration. The spell ends if you leave its area.
Nine creatures of Medium size or smaller can fit inside the dome with you. The spell fails if its area includes a larger creature or more than nine creatures. Creatures and objects within the dome when you cast this spell can move through it freely. All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it. Spells and other magical effects can't extend through the dome or be cast through it. The atmosphere inside the space is comfortable and dry, regardless of the weather outside.
Until the spell ends, you can command the interior to become dimly lit or dark. The dome is opaque from the outside, of any color you choose, but it is transparent from the inside.
Not entirely true - not everything is an Object or a Creature.
The "Tiny Hut" spell only prevents Objects and Creatures from entering it - this would not apply to breath weapons.
That is both true and not true.
True:
A breath weapon is not an object. But if you’ll note, I did not link spells as either objets or creatures. I specifically omitted them under those categories and specifically included them under targets because they could be “targets.”
I neglected to specify “magical effects” in that same way.
A 10-foot-radius immobile dome of force springs into existence around and above you and remains stationary for the duration. The spell ends if you leave its area.
Nine creatures of Medium size or smaller can fit inside the dome with you. The spell fails if its area includes a larger creature or more than nine creatures. Creatures and objects within the dome when you cast this spell can move through it freely. All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it. Spells and other magical effects can't extend through the dome or be cast through it. The atmosphere inside the space is comfortable and dry, regardless of the weather outside.
Until the spell ends, you can command the interior to become dimly lit or dark. The dome is opaque from the outside, of any color you choose, but it is transparent from the inside.
* - (a small crystal bead)
Doesn't Sage Advice come down on the side of (for example) a dragon's breath weapon not being a magical effect, meaning it would get through the Tiny Hut?
Not entirely true - not everything is an Object or a Creature.
The "Tiny Hut" spell only prevents Objects and Creatures from entering it - this would not apply to breath weapons.
That is both true and not true.
True:
A breath weapon is not an object. But if you’ll note, I did not link spells as either objets or creatures. I specifically omitted them under those categories and specifically included them under targets because they could be “targets.”
I neglected to specify “magical effects” in that same way.
A 10-foot-radius immobile dome of force springs into existence around and above you and remains stationary for the duration. The spell ends if you leave its area.
Nine creatures of Medium size or smaller can fit inside the dome with you. The spell fails if its area includes a larger creature or more than nine creatures. Creatures and objects within the dome when you cast this spell can move through it freely. All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it. Spells and other magical effects can't extend through the dome or be cast through it. The atmosphere inside the space is comfortable and dry, regardless of the weather outside.
Until the spell ends, you can command the interior to become dimly lit or dark. The dome is opaque from the outside, of any color you choose, but it is transparent from the inside.
* - (a small crystal bead)
Doesn't Sage Advice come down on the side of (for example) a dragon's breath weapon not being a magical effect, meaning it would get through the Tiny Hut?
If they did, I haven’t seen it. Could you please link me?
Are there any creatures that are resistant only to non-magical [insert dragon breath damage type here] damage? I've only seen the non-magical condition on bludgeoning/piercing/slashing damage.
Are there any creatures that are resistant only to non-magical [insert dragon breath damage type here] damage? I've only seen the non-magical condition on bludgeoning/piercing/slashing damage.
Officially? Not that I know of. But honestly, now that you mention it, that also feels strange somehow.
"All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it. Spells and other magical effects can't extend through the dome or be cast through it. The atmosphere inside the space is comfortable and dry, regardless of the weather outside."
You could surmise from the wording that nothing gets in unless you want it to. In my game I would say if it can stop a sharknado lightning hurricane, it can stop dragon breath.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
Bite.Melee Weapon Attack: +4 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 5 (1d6 + 2) piercing damage. If the target is a creature, it must succeed on a DC 12 Constitution saving throw against disease or become poisoned until the disease is cured. Every 24 hours that elapse, the creature must repeat the saving throw, reducing its hit point maximum by 5 (1d10) on a failure. This reduction lasts until the disease is cured. The creature dies if the disease reduces its hit point maximum to 0.
I'm assuming 'creature' is generic for say, any type of monster or player characters?
There are three types of things that can be attacked in 5e: “Objects,” “Creatures,” and “Targets.”
An Object is anything that is not a Creature. Objects include, but are not limited to: Magic Items, Equipment, and Vehicles.
A Creature is anything that is not an Object. Creatures include everything on this list: Monsters.
A Target is anything. Targets can include, but are not limited to: Objects, and Creatures. Although some things can also target Spells. (Like Counterspell for example.)
The Death Dog’s Bite Attack can hit any “one target,” but if that “target” happens to be a “creature,” then it adds the special poisoned effect.
Follow-up question:
The Death Dog has a multi-attack with its bite. So for each bite that hits I understand the player would need to make the Con saving throw. Though once the player is poisoned and nothing indicated, let alone conditions indicate, that it would stack there is no need for the save to be performed again.
Let's go back to the beginning for a second. The OP's question is specifically about the Death Dog's Bite action. This is explicitly an attack, so we can bypass theory-crafting system-wide definitions, and go right to Making an Attack:
Making an Attack
Whether you're striking with a melee weapon, firing a weapon at range, or making an attack roll as part of a spell, an attack has a simple structure.
1. Choose a target. Pick a target within your attack's range: a creature, an object, or a location.
You can target a creature, an object, or a location. That's all we need to know.
If you target a creature with the Bite action, you can force them to roll the CON saving throw.
As for multiattack to bite the same creature twice? Honestly, I don't know for sure, but my instinct is telling me to treat it like a Shadow's Strength Drain--the effect accumulates. The feature calls for the same saving throw to be repeated for the Max HP drain effect to occur (as opposed to a different type of save or DC), so one possible interpretation could be read as:
Target is poisoned per failing the 1st saving throw, and will suffer Max HP drain if they fail the subsequent saving throw
Target is hit with Bite again (same or subsequent turn(s))
Target is forced to make the same saving throw again (there's more poison in them than before)
The 2nd saving throw fulfills the criteria of the feature, and a failure here would cause immediate drain
Clock resets back to 24 hours for the next scheduled saving throw
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Let's go back to the beginning for a second. The OP's question is specifically about the Death Dog's Bite action. This is explicitly an attack, so we can bypass theory-crafting system-wide definitions, and go right to Making an Attack:
Making an Attack
Whether you're striking with a melee weapon, firing a weapon at range, or making an attack roll as part of a spell, an attack has a simple structure.
1. Choose a target. Pick a target within your attack's range: a creature, an object, or a location.
You can target a creature, an object, or a location. That's all we need to know.
If you target a creature with the Bite action, you can force them to roll the CON saving throw.
As for multiattack to bite the same creature twice? Honestly, I don't know for sure, but my instinct is telling me to treat it like a Shadow's Strength Drain--the effect accumulates. The feature calls for the same saving throw to be repeated for the Max HP drain effect to occur (as opposed to a different type of save or DC), so one possible interpretation could be read as:
Target is poisoned per failing the 1st saving throw, and will suffer Max HP drain if they fail the subsequent saving throw
Target is hit with Bite again (same or subsequent turn(s))
Target is forced to make the same saving throw again (there's more poison in them than before)
The 2nd saving throw fulfills the criteria of the feature, and a failure here would cause immediate drain
Clock resets back to 24 hours for the next scheduled saving throw
More likely I'm misunderstanding but I thought the Max Hit point reduction did not occur until 24 hours have elapsed and on a fail save. When I read 'Every 24 hours that elapse, the creature must repeat the saving throw, reducing its hit point maximum by 5 (1d10) on a failure.' I did not take into account the max hp was reduced automatically.
No, that's correct, it's not automatic! The ability calls for them to make another saving throw (after being poisoned) every 24 hours, and failure on those saving throws inflicts the drain.
My assumption is that, since it's the exact same saving throw (CON DC 12)--the feature even says it's a repeat of the same throw--that being subjected to the save again, via another successful Bite attack, jumpstarts the sequence. Failing the saving throw after being initially poisoned causes a drain to occur, and schedules another saving throw 24 hours later. I see it as a closed loop with a return conditional of "make saving throw again", which can be triggered by 24 hours passing or being directly forced to make the save (Bite).
The alternative would be stacking a unique instance of the disease for each successful Bite attack (and failed initial save), but I don't think that's right as you can't have multiple active instances of the same disease. Another alternative would be that it's just one-and-done... get the disease once, and then that's it until you die or get cured (i.e. additional bites do nothing except piercing damage if they already have the disease). I don't think that's right either as this is a drain, and drains are cumulative.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Are there any creatures that are resistant only to non-magical [insert dragon breath damage type here] damage? I've only seen the non-magical condition on bludgeoning/piercing/slashing damage.
Actually, with the latest errata, some monsters now have dropped “Resistance to bludgeoning/piercing/slashing damage from nonmagical” and picked up “resistance to nonmagical attacks” which would even include normal fire.
Do you have a link handy to the errata document? The most recent errata article on the WotC website seems to be from 2018 and I don't want to look through their Twitter history to find it XD
Do you have a link handy to the errata document? The most recent errata article on the WotC website seems to be from 2018 and I don't want to look through their Twitter history to find it XD
Links are all in here, as well as the DDB relevant bits.
Need a clarification with Death Dog bite.
Bite. Melee Weapon Attack: +4 to hit, reach 5 ft., one target. Hit: 5 (1d6 + 2) piercing damage. If the target is a creature, it must succeed on a DC 12 Constitution saving throw against disease or become poisoned until the disease is cured. Every 24 hours that elapse, the creature must repeat the saving throw, reducing its hit point maximum by 5 (1d10) on a failure. This reduction lasts until the disease is cured. The creature dies if the disease reduces its hit point maximum to 0.
I'm assuming 'creature' is generic for say, any type of monster or player characters?
There are three types of things that can be attacked in 5e: “Objects,” “Creatures,” and “Targets.”
An Object is anything that is not a Creature. Objects include, but are not limited to: Magic Items, Equipment, and Vehicles.
A Creature is anything that is not an Object. Creatures include everything on this list: Monsters.
A Target is anything. Targets can include, but are not limited to: Objects, and Creatures. Although some things can also target Spells. (Like Counterspell for example.)
The Death Dog’s Bite Attack can hit any “one target,” but if that “target” happens to be a “creature,” then it adds the special poisoned effect.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Not entirely true - not everything is an Object or a Creature.
The "Tiny Hut" spell only prevents Objects and Creatures from entering it - this would not apply to breath weapons.
That is both true and not true.
True:
A breath weapon is not an object. But if you’ll note, I did not link spells as either objets or creatures. I specifically omitted them under those categories and specifically included them under targets because they could be “targets.”
I neglected to specify “magical effects” in that same way.
False:
A breath weapon cannot cross through a Tiny Hut:
A 10-foot-radius immobile dome of force springs into existence around and above you and remains stationary for the duration. The spell ends if you leave its area.
Nine creatures of Medium size or smaller can fit inside the dome with you. The spell fails if its area includes a larger creature or more than nine creatures. Creatures and objects within the dome when you cast this spell can move through it freely. All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it. Spells and other magical effects can't extend through the dome or be cast through it. The atmosphere inside the space is comfortable and dry, regardless of the weather outside.
Until the spell ends, you can command the interior to become dimly lit or dark. The dome is opaque from the outside, of any color you choose, but it is transparent from the inside.
* - (a small crystal bead)Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
So yes, any kind of monster or PC can be affected by the bite special stuff.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
Doesn't Sage Advice come down on the side of (for example) a dragon's breath weapon not being a magical effect, meaning it would get through the Tiny Hut?
If they did, I haven’t seen it. Could you please link me?
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Yeah, it's the one on what does and doesn't count as magic.
Hunh. Thanks. I must have missed that part. I guess that means they don’t overcome damage resistance either, which seems... odd somehow.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Are there any creatures that are resistant only to non-magical [insert dragon breath damage type here] damage? I've only seen the non-magical condition on bludgeoning/piercing/slashing damage.
Officially? Not that I know of. But honestly, now that you mention it, that also feels strange somehow.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
If you have say fire resistance, you are resistant to magical and normal fire.
The only variation I know of is resistance to spell damage.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
Regarding the Hut,
"All other creatures and objects are barred from passing through it. Spells and other magical effects can't extend through the dome or be cast through it. The atmosphere inside the space is comfortable and dry, regardless of the weather outside."
You could surmise from the wording that nothing gets in unless you want it to. In my game I would say if it can stop a sharknado lightning hurricane, it can stop dragon breath.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
Follow-up question:
The Death Dog has a multi-attack with its bite. So for each bite that hits I understand the player would need to make the Con saving throw. Though once the player is poisoned and nothing indicated, let alone conditions indicate, that it would stack there is no need for the save to be performed again.
Let's go back to the beginning for a second. The OP's question is specifically about the Death Dog's Bite action. This is explicitly an attack, so we can bypass theory-crafting system-wide definitions, and go right to Making an Attack:
You can target a creature, an object, or a location. That's all we need to know.
If you target a creature with the Bite action, you can force them to roll the CON saving throw.
As for multiattack to bite the same creature twice? Honestly, I don't know for sure, but my instinct is telling me to treat it like a Shadow's Strength Drain--the effect accumulates. The feature calls for the same saving throw to be repeated for the Max HP drain effect to occur (as opposed to a different type of save or DC), so one possible interpretation could be read as:
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
More likely I'm misunderstanding but I thought the Max Hit point reduction did not occur until 24 hours have elapsed and on a fail save. When I read 'Every 24 hours that elapse, the creature must repeat the saving throw, reducing its hit point maximum by 5 (1d10) on a failure.' I did not take into account the max hp was reduced automatically.
No, that's correct, it's not automatic! The ability calls for them to make another saving throw (after being poisoned) every 24 hours, and failure on those saving throws inflicts the drain.
My assumption is that, since it's the exact same saving throw (CON DC 12)--the feature even says it's a repeat of the same throw--that being subjected to the save again, via another successful Bite attack, jumpstarts the sequence. Failing the saving throw after being initially poisoned causes a drain to occur, and schedules another saving throw 24 hours later. I see it as a closed loop with a return conditional of "make saving throw again", which can be triggered by 24 hours passing or being directly forced to make the save (Bite).
The alternative would be stacking a unique instance of the disease for each successful Bite attack (and failed initial save), but I don't think that's right as you can't have multiple active instances of the same disease. Another alternative would be that it's just one-and-done... get the disease once, and then that's it until you die or get cured (i.e. additional bites do nothing except piercing damage if they already have the disease). I don't think that's right either as this is a drain, and drains are cumulative.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
Actually, with the latest errata, some monsters now have dropped “Resistance to bludgeoning/piercing/slashing damage from nonmagical” and picked up “resistance to nonmagical attacks” which would even include normal fire.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Do you have a link handy to the errata document? The most recent errata article on the WotC website seems to be from 2018 and I don't want to look through their Twitter history to find it XD
Links are all in here, as well as the DDB relevant bits.
https://www.dndbeyond.com/forums/dungeons-dragons-discussion/rules-game-mechanics/84086-october-2020-errata-changes-on-d-d-beyond
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting