Level
8th
Casting Time
1 Action
Range/Area
150 ft.
Components
V, S, M *
Duration
Instantaneous
School
Enchantment
Attack/Save
INT Save
Damage/Effect
Psychic
You blast the mind of a creature that you can see within range, attempting to shatter its intellect and personality. The target takes 4d6 psychic damage and must make an Intelligence saving throw.
On a failed save, the creature's Intelligence and Charisma scores become 1. The creature can't cast spells, activate magic items, understand language, or communicate in any intelligible way. The creature can, however, identify its friends, follow them, and even protect them.
At the end of every 30 days, the creature can repeat its saving throw against this spell. If it succeeds on its saving throw, the spell ends.
The spell can also be ended by greater restoration, heal, or wish.
* - (a handful of clay, crystal, glass, or mineral spheres)
I hate how this is worded. It brings the DM into horrible situations. Right now I had a villain cast this spell on the parties wizard, they were pretty much ****ed. I found that fair, but due to the wording of the spell I had to be the ******* to say "I interpret it as..." and put my foot down.
Such a spell should under all circumstances directly state how exactly it works. According to Jeremy Crawford the spell is intended to not be removable by dispell magic and only magically curable with the spells listed. I personally think it is worded clearly up to the point were it states "...this spell is also ended by using...". Calling it a spell, creates an issue. Because, dispell magic upcast to 8th level or regularly cast and then followed up by a DC 18 save, would absolutely end a spell that still affects you. I personally do believe, that it should only be removable with those high level healing spells (I mean, look at it like this, a party that is encountering someone who can cast this, should have access to heal, greater restoration or maybe even wish and a villain fighting against such a party couod reasonably alsp have stuff like this).
My gripe is, that it forces the DM to decide how its done. I think cancelling out this spell with dispell magic or cleansing touch would make it too easy to get rid of, then the spell would turn from reasonably useful and good to near utterly pointless. You just get one 8th level slot, if that can be undone by dispelling it so easily, then its just a bad spell. Anyhow, its worded poorly, in the sense that it calls the effects of the spell still a spell, that directly contradicts how its intended to be used. I do think though, it is reasonable for any DM to claim that only the spells listed can end it.
So you could cast FeebleMind on an Adult Blue Dracolich, fails, cast Command Undead?
This spell doesnt make much sense with wisdom casters in mind.
Befuddlement * D&D Free Rules, pg. 245
Link to the 2024 version of this spell
* Spell was renamed from Feeblemind into Befuddlement.
"The creature can, however, identify its friends, follow them, and even protect them." this is entirely stupid. Please justify to me how a 1 INT character is going to understand when to "protect" its friends, or how to even do that?? They don't understand tools. So other than flailing at them when personally endangered, I don't see how this character does anything other than drool....hell, walking up stairs is a challenge. This spell screws over players. It basically means they can't do anything at all until it is ended. Every 30 days....what a load of crap.