So I am making an Artificer for my weekend campaign. I decided to go artillerist and am reading eldritch cannon. The wording makes it seem like you can make a new cannon after your initial cannon has expired or died as long as you cast at least one 1st level spell. I am sure it is supposed to read that you can make a new cannon by expending a first level spell to make a new cannon. Just curious what everyone else thinks. I expect most of us to read it as "expend a spell to make a new cannon each time."
The first cannon you get after each long rest is "free" in that you only need your woodcarver or smiths tools.
If for some reason it ends up destroyed before you end your next long rest, you may create a new one using your tools with the added cost of expending a spell slot.
Until 15th level, you can only have one active at a time (then you get two). Any cannon after the first you make each day still takes a spell slot though.
It probably should have said "unless" instead of "until".
I don't think it is so ambiguous that you can stretch it to let you resummon your turret for free after casting a leveled spell (it would have mentioned spells if that was the case like other features that actually work that way).
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello,
So I am making an Artificer for my weekend campaign. I decided to go artillerist and am reading eldritch cannon. The wording makes it seem like you can make a new cannon after your initial cannon has expired or died as long as you cast at least one 1st level spell. I am sure it is supposed to read that you can make a new cannon by expending a first level spell to make a new cannon. Just curious what everyone else thinks. I expect most of us to read it as "expend a spell to make a new cannon each time."
Honestly i feel like the artificer is a hot mess right now so just ask your DM or treat it as RAW and abuse it.
The first cannon you get after each long rest is "free" in that you only need your woodcarver or smiths tools.
If for some reason it ends up destroyed before you end your next long rest, you may create a new one using your tools with the added cost of expending a spell slot.
Until 15th level, you can only have one active at a time (then you get two). Any cannon after the first you make each day still takes a spell slot though.
Site Info: Wizard's ToS | Fan Content Policy | Forum Rules | Physical Books | Content Not Working | Contact Support
How To: Homebrew Rules | Create Homebrew | Snippet Codes | Tool Tips (Custom) | Rollables (Generator)
My Homebrew: Races | Subclasses | Backgrounds | Feats | Spells | Magic Items
Other: Beyond20 | Page References | Other Guides | Entitlements | Dice Randomization | Images Fix | FAQ
It probably should have said "unless" instead of "until".
I don't think it is so ambiguous that you can stretch it to let you resummon your turret for free after casting a leveled spell (it would have mentioned spells if that was the case like other features that actually work that way).