I was talking with a friend about our game and he reminded me about a combo I used at level 2. We were playing out of the Abyss and traveling from one town to another. I was a level 2 artificer at the time and had chosen to get 2 alchemist jugs as my items. Each night I used them to fill up glass vials that I had purchased, netting 4 vials a night. We got into combat with a rather tough mini-boss we encounter during our escape from the Underdark. On my turn, I pulled out 10 vials of acid that I had bound together with string. I then used catapult to throw them at the boss, which failed the dex save. So the guy then takes 3d8 bludgeoning damage + 10d6 acid damage. So at level 2, I dealt 54 damage! Now given this was basically throwing money away to end an encounter as I could have sold them for 250g instead, but it was fun to watch the entire party's draws drop.
There's a pretty long thread somewhere arguing about Catapult and how it works with these. For one thing it launches "an object," and it's a bit of a stretch to just tie a bunch of stuff together and call the whole thing an object. Secondly, that object can't weigh more than 5 pounds and vials are 1lb. each, so you were over the weight limit regardless.
I'm glad it was a cool moment in your campaign! But yeah, I believe most DMs only let this work with one vial, if they let it work at all.
There's a pretty long thread somewhere arguing about Catapult and how it works with these. For one thing it launches "an object," and it's a bit of a stretch to just tie a bunch of stuff together and call the whole thing an object. Secondly, that object can't weigh more than 5 pounds and vials are 1lb. each, so you were over the weight limit regardless.
I'm glad it was a cool moment in your campaign! But yeah, I believe most DMs only let this work with one vial, if they let it work at all.
Unless you argue that you're launching one vial and that it carries the others with it, but I wouldn't allow it as a DM unless it's the party's only decent source of fire or acid damage against a troll, and that would still only work for a round.
There's a pretty long thread somewhere arguing about Catapult and how it works with these. For one thing it launches "an object," and it's a bit of a stretch to just tie a bunch of stuff together and call the whole thing an object. Secondly, that object can't weigh more than 5 pounds and vials are 1lb. each, so you were over the weight limit regardless.
I'm glad it was a cool moment in your campaign! But yeah, I believe most DMs only let this work with one vial, if they let it work at all.
Unless you argue that you're launching one vial and that it carries the others with it, but I wouldn't allow it as a DM unless it's the party's only decent source of fire or acid damage against a troll, and that would still only work for a round.
I, personally, would allow it, as it's a one-time thing and they're losing lots of possible money for it. Plus, it's a pretty cool scene, tbh.
It's a weird situation. Vials weight a negligible amount according to the equipment rules, and four fluid ounces should weight four ounces, meaning such an acid vial should weigh roughly four ounces.
However, if you look up Acid Vial in the equipment section, where the rules for how much damage such an item would do, it weighs 1 lb.
So, somehow, putting acid in a vial causes the combined mass to increase by about 300%.
Or, you buying a vial and putting four ounces of acid into it doesn't create an "Acid Vial" as described in the equipment section. Such an acid vial is apparently an Acid Pint, based on weight.
And, just a little technicality. Catapult says you cannot select an item that is "worn or carried," so you'd have to put the item down somewhere first before you could use it for Catapult.
It's a weird situation. Vials weight a negligible amount according to the equipment rules, and four fluid ounces should weight four ounces, meaning such an acid vial should weigh roughly four ounces.
However, if you look up Acid Vial in the equipment section, where the rules for how much damage such an item would do, it weighs 1 lb.
So, somehow, putting acid in a vial causes the combined mass to increase by about 300%.
Or, you buying a vial and putting four ounces of acid into it doesn't create an "Acid Vial" as described in the equipment section. Such an acid vial is apparently an Acid Pint, based on weight.
And, just a little technicality. Catapult says you cannot select an item that is "worn or carried," so you'd have to put the item down somewhere first before you could use it for Catapult.
I was talking with a friend about our game and he reminded me about a combo I used at level 2. We were playing out of the Abyss and traveling from one town to another. I was a level 2 artificer at the time and had chosen to get 2 alchemist jugs as my items. Each night I used them to fill up glass vials that I had purchased, netting 4 vials a night. We got into combat with a rather tough mini-boss we encounter during our escape from the Underdark. On my turn, I pulled out 10 vials of acid that I had bound together with string. I then used catapult to throw them at the boss, which failed the dex save. So the guy then takes 3d8 bludgeoning damage + 10d6 acid damage. So at level 2, I dealt 54 damage! Now given this was basically throwing money away to end an encounter as I could have sold them for 250g instead, but it was fun to watch the entire party's draws drop.
There's a pretty long thread somewhere arguing about Catapult and how it works with these. For one thing it launches "an object," and it's a bit of a stretch to just tie a bunch of stuff together and call the whole thing an object. Secondly, that object can't weigh more than 5 pounds and vials are 1lb. each, so you were over the weight limit regardless.
I'm glad it was a cool moment in your campaign! But yeah, I believe most DMs only let this work with one vial, if they let it work at all.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
Unless you argue that you're launching one vial and that it carries the others with it, but I wouldn't allow it as a DM unless it's the party's only decent source of fire or acid damage against a troll, and that would still only work for a round.
I have a weird sense of humor.
I also make maps.(That's a link)
I, personally, would allow it, as it's a one-time thing and they're losing lots of possible money for it. Plus, it's a pretty cool scene, tbh.
Looking for a campaign? Or, perhaps, trying to start one? Come join Rolegate! Just send me a friend request (same name as here) and I'll help you get started!
Ducks are just geese lite. Focus on the future. It'll become the past soon enough.
Istari and White Counsel in Club. Not the wish-granter of a thread.
Become a Plague Doctor today!
Join the Knights of the Random Table and Calius and Kothar Industries!
Homebrew: Artifact, Dungeon
May be offline due to school
It's a weird situation. Vials weight a negligible amount according to the equipment rules, and four fluid ounces should weight four ounces, meaning such an acid vial should weigh roughly four ounces.
However, if you look up Acid Vial in the equipment section, where the rules for how much damage such an item would do, it weighs 1 lb.
So, somehow, putting acid in a vial causes the combined mass to increase by about 300%.
Or, you buying a vial and putting four ounces of acid into it doesn't create an "Acid Vial" as described in the equipment section. Such an acid vial is apparently an Acid Pint, based on weight.
And, just a little technicality. Catapult says you cannot select an item that is "worn or carried," so you'd have to put the item down somewhere first before you could use it for Catapult.
Rules don't matter when it's fun!
Looking for a campaign? Or, perhaps, trying to start one? Come join Rolegate! Just send me a friend request (same name as here) and I'll help you get started!
Ducks are just geese lite. Focus on the future. It'll become the past soon enough.
Istari and White Counsel in Club. Not the wish-granter of a thread.
Become a Plague Doctor today!
Join the Knights of the Random Table and Calius and Kothar Industries!
Homebrew: Artifact, Dungeon
May be offline due to school