Regarding the primal beast in combat, do the ranger have to command it each round... ie if the ranger takes his bonus action to make the beast attack, is it only for this round ? what happens on the next rounds if not other commands are given ? dodge ?
Yes. It is a bonus action each round for it to attack. And, yes, if you do not command it, it will dodge. It can still move and have a reaction, but it’s only action without a command is to dodge.
No, this is for L5+ where you get 2 attacks in an attack action. You can take one attack, command the beast to attack as the second attack and then take the bonus action attack ( if you have one).
No, this is for L5+ where you get 2 attacks in an attack action. You can take one attack, command the beast to attack as the second attack and then take the bonus action attack ( if you have one).
I am having trouble with this one as well. It sounds like when your Ranger is L5+ you could slice once with your scimitar, have your beast strike and then as a bonus action, have the beast strike a second time? Or you could slice twice with your scimitar and use your bonus action to have the beast strike once that round?
could you use the Nick property to get three attacks with your scimitar and then use your bonus attack to have your beast strike?
The companion is a creature and, like any other creature, is limited to 1 action per turn. You can either command it to attack as a bonus action or by giving up one of yours, not both.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat On - Mod Hat Off
The companion is a creature and, like any other creature, is limited to 1 action per turn. You can either command it to attack as a bonus action or by giving up one of yours, not both.
You don't have to be level 5 to give up your attack to have the beast attack you just would not have an attack yourself before level 5, you could however then use your bonus action for something else like casting Hunter's Mark.
The companion is a creature and, like any other creature, is limited to 1 action per turn. You can either command it to attack as a bonus action or by giving up one of yours, not both.
Is there a place we could see this explicitly in the rules? This feels like an opinionated answer. An opinionated answer that I agree with, but hoping it's able to be cited.
"...but the only action it takes is the Dodge action, unless you take a Bonus Action on your turn to command it to take a different action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action. You can also sacrifice one of your attacks when you take the Attack action to command the beast to take the Attack action."
Frank, I get what your saying - RAW it can be read as sacrificing one of your attacks to have the beast do it’s multiattack and then using your bonus action to have it doing it’s multiattack action a second time.. however I see two problems with this. First the beast only gets one multiattack in a round so it can’t do it twice. Second, the text is badly written - it should be something along the lines of “ you can use your bonus action …. , or you can sacrifice one of your attacks …. “ they broke it into 2 sentences making it confusing. As a DM I would treat is RAI that it’s either/or for how you can command the beast not and.
Hi,
Regarding the primal beast in combat, do the ranger have to command it each round... ie if the ranger takes his bonus action to make the beast attack, is it only for this round ? what happens on the next rounds if not other commands are given ? dodge ?
Thanks,
Must command it each round or it will only dodge unless you are unconscious/incapacitated. Then it will act with the necessary action.
Yes. It is a bonus action each round for it to attack. And, yes, if you do not command it, it will dodge. It can still move and have a reaction, but it’s only action without a command is to dodge.
In the rules is says:
You can also sacrifice one of your attacks when you take the Attack action to command the beast to take the Beast’s Strike action.
Is this instead of using your bonus action or as well as, to give 2 attacks?
Thanks
No, this is for L5+ where you get 2 attacks in an attack action. You can take one attack, command the beast to attack as the second attack and then take the bonus action attack ( if you have one).
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.
I am having trouble with this one as well. It sounds like when your Ranger is L5+ you could slice once with your scimitar, have your beast strike and then as a bonus action, have the beast strike a second time? Or you could slice twice with your scimitar and use your bonus action to have the beast strike once that round?
could you use the Nick property to get three attacks with your scimitar and then use your bonus attack to have your beast strike?
I think you are correct. At level 5.
2 attacks yourself and then bonus action make 1 pet attack.
or
1 attack yourself then 2 attacks with pet.
Plus if are using 2 Light Weapons one with Nick then your character gets an extra attack. 3 attacks and 1 pet attack or 2 attacks and 2 pet attacks.
The companion is a creature and, like any other creature, is limited to 1 action per turn. You can either command it to attack as a bonus action or by giving up one of yours, not both.
Homebrew Rules || Homebrew FAQ || Snippet Codes || Tooltips
DDB Guides & FAQs, Class Guides, Character Builds, Game Guides, Useful Websites, and WOTC Resources
Thank you for the info.
You don't have to be level 5 to give up your attack to have the beast attack you just would not have an attack yourself before level 5, you could however then use your bonus action for something else like casting Hunter's Mark.
Is there a place we could see this explicitly in the rules? This feels like an opinionated answer. An opinionated answer that I agree with, but hoping it's able to be cited.
The beast stat block in 2024 under beastmaster ranger spells it out pretty clearly.
And the beast master rules states it allows commanding the beast to take an action in multiple ways. You didn't answer the question.
"...but the only action it takes is the Dodge action, unless you take a Bonus Action on your turn to command it to take a different action. That action can be one in its stat block or some other action. You can also sacrifice one of your attacks when you take the Attack action to command the beast to take the Attack action."
"When you command your Primal Companion beast to take the Attack action, the beast can make two attacks."
That is 5 total attacks at level 11.
Frank, I get what your saying - RAW it can be read as sacrificing one of your attacks to have the beast do it’s multiattack and then using your bonus action to have it doing it’s multiattack action a second time.. however I see two problems with this. First the beast only gets one multiattack in a round so it can’t do it twice. Second, the text is badly written - it should be something along the lines of “ you can use your bonus action …. , or you can sacrifice one of your attacks …. “ they broke it into 2 sentences making it confusing. As a DM I would treat is RAI that it’s either/or for how you can command the beast not and.
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.
Me too. I'm playing devil's advocate here. Where in the D24 rules does it say the primal beast only gets the one action?
All creatures only ever get 1 action as a default. It only gets another if something specifically gives it another, such as a fighter’s action surge.
Everyone says only one action, but where does it say that?