"Nothing—not physical objects, energy, or other spell effects—can pass through the barrier, in or out, though a creature in the sphere can breathe there."
This makes it clear that spells, which need a direct line from the caster to the target, are not able to pass through the sphere, like Fire Bolt or Magic missile. But what about spells that don´t need to travel through the sphere, like Catapult for instance? With Catapult you choose an object within 60ft of you, like a stone outside of the sphere and shoot it at your target. Then the object deals damage to itself and the target if it hits. Which brings me to my next question:
"The sphere is immune to all damage, and a creature or object inside can’t be damaged by attacks or effects originating from outside, nor can a creature inside the sphere damage anything outside it."
This is a bit confusing. If nothing can pass through the sphere then a creature inside can´t hit anyone outside of it and vice versa and therefore it can´t damage anything outside. But does a spell damaging someone count as the caster damaging the creature directly, especially if it is a spell like Catapult where the object hitting its target does the damage? And what about falling damage? The sphere is weightless, but this doesn´t include the creature inside of it. So shouldn´t a creature outside of the sphere still receive halved falling damage if the sphere lands on it and the creature inside too?
In conclusion, i think that spells that take effect outside of the sphere should be possible to be casted and should also be able to deal damage, since the spell doesn´t need to travel through the sphere and the caster isn´t directly damaging the target but the spell is damaging it. The creature inside should also be able to receive falling damage just like creatures outside should, bc the sphere passes on the force of impact onto the other side of the sphere, hence hitting the creature on that side.
But I want to hear your opinions and interpretations.
Basically: it's total cover that you can see through. Most spells are blocked. Spells still require a line between caster and target, which is blocked by the sphere.
You can cast spells that target inside - like you can prestidigitation a drink you're holding to taste different or make a minor illusion in your space. You can also use spells with a target of self.
This means that you could Misty Step either out of - or into - the sphere.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond. Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ thisFAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
But the sphere only stops physical objects, energie (i guess they mean lighting, heat or radiation with that. Technically light should also be stoped from coming through since light is a form of energy, but since you can see through it i guess they only count some things as energy) or spell effects. But the thing is that the spell takes effect ouside of the sphere so the effects are not stopped by the sphere, this rule seems to only be there to stop aoe-spells like mass suggestion, etc which don´t have a physical form etc. Unless they mean with "energy" the weave itself moving to that location in order to create the spell, but that would be paradox since teleportation somehow works even though you are weaving the magic inside the sphere and need a point outside of it. And ethereal things are not stopped by the sphere either unlike with wall of force, so it doesn´t stop everything like it states and shouldn´t be taken literally. I don´t think it obstructs your path like a real physical obstruction would, for instance glass. And since it doesn´t say anywhere that you have total cover inside the sphere there is nothing really stopping the casting of spells imo. It is really up for interpretation at this point, bc so many thing are not really clear as you can see. It would be cool if the creators of the spell would clarify things more, bc "Energy" can mean so many things and spell effects happen at different points of spells, like some take effect by the caster, others only if the target fails a save, or if the spell hits.
But the sphere only stops physical objects, energie (i guess they mean lighting, heat or radiation with that. Technically light should also be stoped from coming through since light is a form of energy, but since you can see through it i guess they only count some things as energy) or spell effects.
That's not how the phrase works.
"What have you eaten today?"
"Nothing - not waffles, pancakes, or toast - has passed my lips."
You don't say this after you ate a bowl of cereal. You're saying you've eaten absolutely nothing and throwing out some examples of what you haven't eaten.
If it stopped only those three things, it would be worded "Physical objects, energy, and other spell effects cannot pass through the barrier." But it's not worded that way.
Likewise if it was just worded "Nothing can pass through the barrier," you would absolutely have players arguing that energy/spell effects aren't actually a thing and thus don't count, so they call out those specific things.
Nothing can pass through the barrier. Including light, although that doesn't seem to be intended.
But problem is that several things can pass through the sphere. Light, noise, air, ghosts and other ethereal things are let through. And since energy isn´t clearly defined and spell effects sometimes only take effect if they hit the target, etc. I don´t see a reason why spells that take effect outside of the sphere shouldn´t work. And Nothing would have been clearer, instead of naming only some very vague things and have contradictions in it. (like the ability to see but not getting damaged by bright light like a laser, or being able to hear but not getting effected by things like shatter, or being able to breath but don´t be harmed by toxic gases, etc.) Since this is clearly not nothing, they should make it clear what can and can´t come through.
Nothing about the spell’s text suggests that you can see through it (or hear through it, for that matter).
You know I don't think I have ever considered that as an interpetation, but it is an interesting one. I suppose it would be based on the the definition of shimmering. One interpetation is:
And you can see through the shimmering of the desert (distorted but it is translucent/transparent.)
Also counter to that interpetation is: being inside the sphere does not give the enclosed creature the blinded or deafened conditions. If the spell intended that, it would have stated it.
But now you have put the idea in my head...I really want to run with it. :)
Maybe the creature inside doesn't get the blinded or deafened condition bc it can still see and hear inside of the sphere. If the sphere really blocks everything than the creature inside would be treated as blinded, deafened and mute for everything outside of the sphere, but for the space inside of it not.
Nothing about the spell’s text suggests that you can see through it (or hear through it, for that matter).
You know I don't think I have ever considered that as an interpetation, but it is an interesting one. I suppose it would be based on the the definition of shimmering. One interpetation is:
And you can see through the shimmering of the desert (distorted but it is translucent/transparent.)
Also counter to that interpetation is: being inside the sphere does not give the enclosed creature the blinded or deafened conditions. If the spell intended that, it would have stated it.
But now you have put the idea in my head...I really want to run with it. :)
Shimmering doesn't mean it's transparent, and your definition doesn't mean that. Read this one:
shimmering
/ˈʃɪmərɪŋ/
Learn to pronounce
adjective
shining with a soft, slightly wavering light.
"the shimmering waters of Lake Como"
Then look at shimmering water:
I'm not sure if that will actually work when posted, but if not, just Google "shimmering water". It's not transparent in the sense that you can see through it. Shimmering is a surface level phenomenon.
That said, I agree, if it weren't transparent/you couldn't see through it, it would confer the blinded condition in the person inside the sphere, and it would mention that no one could see through it. It doesn't, so I'm strongly inclined to believe that you can see through it. You are not deafenedneither, nor is anyone said to not be able to hear, so sound can get through it. Light and sound can pass through it.
The description of the spell itself refutes a literal and dictionary definition of then words used - it says that nothing can pass through it, but says that creatures can breathe freely implying that air can. It says it cannot be damaged, but describes how it may be destroyed by a spell. Taking a hardline, literal, approach to the phrasing isn't going to work.
Still, it does say that spells cannot pass through it suggests to me that catapult wouldn't work. The spell needs to reach the object in order to act upon it. From an RAI point of view, I think the text is pretty clear that the intention is that the effect of the spell is to insulate the creature inside the sphere from the outside. Not from some attacks, but all. Even destroying the sphere does no harm to the encased creature. There are some spells that I'd have a question mark next to - wish? That's pretty hard to resolve in my opinion. However, I'd feel pretty well grounded in ruling that your catapult fails.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
Nothing about the spell’s text suggests that you can see through it (or hear through it, for that matter).
You know I don't think I have ever considered that as an interpetation, but it is an interesting one. I suppose it would be based on the the definition of shimmering. One interpetation is:
And you can see through the shimmering of the desert (distorted but it is translucent/transparent.)
Also counter to that interpetation is: being inside the sphere does not give the enclosed creature the blinded or deafened conditions. If the spell intended that, it would have stated it.
But now you have put the idea in my head...I really want to run with it. :)
Shimmering doesn't mean it's transparent, and your definition doesn't mean that. Read this one:
shimmering
/ˈʃɪmərɪŋ/
Learn to pronounce
adjective
shining with a soft, slightly wavering light.
"the shimmering waters of Lake Como"
Then look at shimmering water:
I'm not sure if that will actually work when posted, but if not, just Google "shimmering water". It's not transparent in the sense that you can see through it. Shimmering is a surface level phenomenon.
That said, I agree, if it weren't transparent/you couldn't see through it, it would confer the blinded condition in the person inside the sphere, and it would mention that no one could see through it. It doesn't, so I'm strongly inclined to believe that you can see through it. You are not deafenedneither, nor is anyone said to not be able to hear, so sound can get through it. Light and sound can pass through it.
The description of the spell itself refutes a literal and dictionary definition of then words used - it says that nothing can pass through it, but says that creatures can breathe freely implying that air can. It says it cannot be damaged, but describes how it may be destroyed by a spell. Taking a hardline, literal, approach to the phrasing isn't going to work.
Still, it does say that spells cannot pass through it suggests to me that catapult wouldn't work. The spell needs to reach the object in order to act upon it. From an RAI point of view, I think the text is pretty clear that the intention is that the effect of the spell is to insulate the creature inside the sphere from the outside. Not from some attacks, but all. Even destroying the sphere does no harm to the encased creature. There are some spells that I'd have a question mark next to - wish? That's pretty hard to resolve in my opinion. However, I'd feel pretty well grounded in ruling that your catapult fails.
A shimmering wall of air isn't a shimmering pool of water. Both are interesting descriptions, which as you said why we can't use 'Natural Language' to resolve this. Neither of us knows what the author meant.
But in the end, the lack of conditions are the best clue. As for what spells can affect it are limited:
The other reason Otiluke's Resilient Barrier does not allow a creature inside to damage creatures on the outside (tip: if you are the caster of a damaging spell, you are considered the source of the damage, as you are the source of the spell) is because it would be beyond insanely broken otherwise. A caster could Superbubble themselves and become absolutely invincible against all harm, and then lash their targets with spell effects with impugnity...at least, up until a DM got pissed off at the spellcaster cheesing the spell this way and decides the cheese worked in both directions. Then enemy spells which do not involve projectiles or other 'traveling' effects, but which instead originate at a space/point/target you can see will be thrown at you through your own superbubble, leaving you trapped inside a sphere that offers you no protection.
This is a case where you do not want to cheese the spell, because doing so means you're effectively removing its entire function, i.e. an impenetrable, resolute shield, or an unbreachable prison. Resilient Sphere is an incredibly powerful tool when used well. You can use it to shield yourself, of course - or you can use it to save an ally critically close to death who could not tolerate another round of combat. You can use it to imprison an enemy for a minute with a single save, as well as allowing high-speed characters to easily reposition that enemy for woe (or your bubbled ally for weal). Bubbling an enemy spellcaster turns off all their spells - even existing concentration effects fall off, because the creature can no longer damage anything outside the bubble with spells. The only real drawback to the spell is its short range - and the fact that it doesn't actually stop spells, if a player decides to argue with a DM over what counts as 'through the sphere', and what qualifies as the source of spell damage.
Trust me. You'll break a lot of things if you decide that spellcasters aren't the source of their spell's effects anymore. Don't do that. It's not good for the game.
Would someone be able to cast mage hand and subsequently manipulate it from within the sphere? It's not really clear to me if a spell like that actually needs to "pass through the barrier".
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
"Nothing—not physical objects, energy, or other spell effects—can pass through the barrier, in or out, though a creature in the sphere can breathe there."
This makes it clear that spells, which need a direct line from the caster to the target, are not able to pass through the sphere, like Fire Bolt or Magic missile. But what about spells that don´t need to travel through the sphere, like Catapult for instance? With Catapult you choose an object within 60ft of you, like a stone outside of the sphere and shoot it at your target. Then the object deals damage to itself and the target if it hits. Which brings me to my next question:
"The sphere is immune to all damage, and a creature or object inside can’t be damaged by attacks or effects originating from outside, nor can a creature inside the sphere damage anything outside it."
This is a bit confusing. If nothing can pass through the sphere then a creature inside can´t hit anyone outside of it and vice versa and therefore it can´t damage anything outside. But does a spell damaging someone count as the caster damaging the creature directly, especially if it is a spell like Catapult where the object hitting its target does the damage? And what about falling damage? The sphere is weightless, but this doesn´t include the creature inside of it. So shouldn´t a creature outside of the sphere still receive halved falling damage if the sphere lands on it and the creature inside too?
In conclusion, i think that spells that take effect outside of the sphere should be possible to be casted and should also be able to deal damage, since the spell doesn´t need to travel through the sphere and the caster isn´t directly damaging the target but the spell is damaging it. The creature inside should also be able to receive falling damage just like creatures outside should, bc the sphere passes on the force of impact onto the other side of the sphere, hence hitting the creature on that side.
But I want to hear your opinions and interpretations.
Basically: it's total cover that you can see through. Most spells are blocked. Spells still require a line between caster and target, which is blocked by the sphere.
You can cast spells that target inside - like you can prestidigitation a drink you're holding to taste different or make a minor illusion in your space. You can also use spells with a target of self.
This means that you could Misty Step either out of - or into - the sphere.
Click ✨ HERE ✨ For My Youtube Videos featuring Guides, Tips & Tricks for using D&D Beyond.
Need help with Homebrew? Check out ✨ this FAQ/Guide thread ✨ by IamSposta.
But the sphere only stops physical objects, energie (i guess they mean lighting, heat or radiation with that. Technically light should also be stoped from coming through since light is a form of energy, but since you can see through it i guess they only count some things as energy) or spell effects. But the thing is that the spell takes effect ouside of the sphere so the effects are not stopped by the sphere, this rule seems to only be there to stop aoe-spells like mass suggestion, etc which don´t have a physical form etc. Unless they mean with "energy" the weave itself moving to that location in order to create the spell, but that would be paradox since teleportation somehow works even though you are weaving the magic inside the sphere and need a point outside of it. And ethereal things are not stopped by the sphere either unlike with wall of force, so it doesn´t stop everything like it states and shouldn´t be taken literally. I don´t think it obstructs your path like a real physical obstruction would, for instance glass. And since it doesn´t say anywhere that you have total cover inside the sphere there is nothing really stopping the casting of spells imo. It is really up for interpretation at this point, bc so many thing are not really clear as you can see. It would be cool if the creators of the spell would clarify things more, bc "Energy" can mean so many things and spell effects happen at different points of spells, like some take effect by the caster, others only if the target fails a save, or if the spell hits.
That's not how the phrase works.
"What have you eaten today?"
"Nothing - not waffles, pancakes, or toast - has passed my lips."
You don't say this after you ate a bowl of cereal. You're saying you've eaten absolutely nothing and throwing out some examples of what you haven't eaten.
If it stopped only those three things, it would be worded "Physical objects, energy, and other spell effects cannot pass through the barrier." But it's not worded that way.
Likewise if it was just worded "Nothing can pass through the barrier," you would absolutely have players arguing that energy/spell effects aren't actually a thing and thus don't count, so they call out those specific things.
Nothing can pass through the barrier. Including light, although that doesn't seem to be intended.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
But problem is that several things can pass through the sphere. Light, noise, air, ghosts and other ethereal things are let through. And since energy isn´t clearly defined and spell effects sometimes only take effect if they hit the target, etc. I don´t see a reason why spells that take effect outside of the sphere shouldn´t work. And Nothing would have been clearer, instead of naming only some very vague things and have contradictions in it. (like the ability to see but not getting damaged by bright light like a laser, or being able to hear but not getting effected by things like shatter, or being able to breath but don´t be harmed by toxic gases, etc.) Since this is clearly not nothing, they should make it clear what can and can´t come through.
Nothing about the spell’s text suggests that you can see through it (or hear through it, for that matter).
You know I don't think I have ever considered that as an interpetation, but it is an interesting one. I suppose it would be based on the the definition of shimmering. One interpetation is:
And you can see through the shimmering of the desert (distorted but it is translucent/transparent.)
Also counter to that interpetation is: being inside the sphere does not give the enclosed creature the blinded or deafened conditions. If the spell intended that, it would have stated it.
But now you have put the idea in my head...I really want to run with it. :)
Maybe the creature inside doesn't get the blinded or deafened condition bc it can still see and hear inside of the sphere. If the sphere really blocks everything than the creature inside would be treated as blinded, deafened and mute for everything outside of the sphere, but for the space inside of it not.
Shimmering doesn't mean it's transparent, and your definition doesn't mean that. Read this one:
Then look at shimmering water:
I'm not sure if that will actually work when posted, but if not, just Google "shimmering water". It's not transparent in the sense that you can see through it. Shimmering is a surface level phenomenon.
That said, I agree, if it weren't transparent/you couldn't see through it, it would confer the blinded condition in the person inside the sphere, and it would mention that no one could see through it. It doesn't, so I'm strongly inclined to believe that you can see through it. You are not deafenedneither, nor is anyone said to not be able to hear, so sound can get through it. Light and sound can pass through it.
The description of the spell itself refutes a literal and dictionary definition of then words used - it says that nothing can pass through it, but says that creatures can breathe freely implying that air can. It says it cannot be damaged, but describes how it may be destroyed by a spell. Taking a hardline, literal, approach to the phrasing isn't going to work.
Still, it does say that spells cannot pass through it suggests to me that catapult wouldn't work. The spell needs to reach the object in order to act upon it. From an RAI point of view, I think the text is pretty clear that the intention is that the effect of the spell is to insulate the creature inside the sphere from the outside. Not from some attacks, but all. Even destroying the sphere does no harm to the encased creature. There are some spells that I'd have a question mark next to - wish? That's pretty hard to resolve in my opinion. However, I'd feel pretty well grounded in ruling that your catapult fails.
If you're not willing or able to to discuss in good faith, then don't be surprised if I don't respond, there are better things in life for me to do than humour you. This signature is that response.
A shimmering wall of air isn't a shimmering pool of water. Both are interesting descriptions, which as you said why we can't use 'Natural Language' to resolve this. Neither of us knows what the author meant.
But in the end, the lack of conditions are the best clue. As for what spells can affect it are limited:
Anything else its a solid defense, and a great choice for a well worded Contingency
The other reason Otiluke's Resilient Barrier does not allow a creature inside to damage creatures on the outside (tip: if you are the caster of a damaging spell, you are considered the source of the damage, as you are the source of the spell) is because it would be beyond insanely broken otherwise. A caster could Superbubble themselves and become absolutely invincible against all harm, and then lash their targets with spell effects with impugnity...at least, up until a DM got pissed off at the spellcaster cheesing the spell this way and decides the cheese worked in both directions. Then enemy spells which do not involve projectiles or other 'traveling' effects, but which instead originate at a space/point/target you can see will be thrown at you through your own superbubble, leaving you trapped inside a sphere that offers you no protection.
This is a case where you do not want to cheese the spell, because doing so means you're effectively removing its entire function, i.e. an impenetrable, resolute shield, or an unbreachable prison. Resilient Sphere is an incredibly powerful tool when used well. You can use it to shield yourself, of course - or you can use it to save an ally critically close to death who could not tolerate another round of combat. You can use it to imprison an enemy for a minute with a single save, as well as allowing high-speed characters to easily reposition that enemy for woe (or your bubbled ally for weal). Bubbling an enemy spellcaster turns off all their spells - even existing concentration effects fall off, because the creature can no longer damage anything outside the bubble with spells. The only real drawback to the spell is its short range - and the fact that it doesn't actually stop spells, if a player decides to argue with a DM over what counts as 'through the sphere', and what qualifies as the source of spell damage.
Trust me. You'll break a lot of things if you decide that spellcasters aren't the source of their spell's effects anymore. Don't do that. It's not good for the game.
Please do not contact or message me.
Would someone be able to cast mage hand and subsequently manipulate it from within the sphere? It's not really clear to me if a spell like that actually needs to "pass through the barrier".