Hello i was wondering if the cantrip mold earth may be used as a weapon. Basically from conducting research a 1 by 1 cubic foot of dirt weighs approximately 76 pounds at its lightest weight depending on composition, so a 5 by 5 cube of dirt as listed in the cantrip should be roughly 1600 lbs. The cantrip states that this movement of earth is instant and i would like to know if say for example an npc was suddenly burried under that much earth, what the result should be. The cantrip itself of course does no damage, but should the sudden weight?
The rubble that you've moved will be spread around, rather than all being directly on top of someone, so at worst they will be partly buried and have to dig their way out.
It isn't sudden weight either, it is being excavated so is a movement of loose earth that is being deposited.
If you target an area of loose earth, you can instantaneously excavate it, move it along the ground, and deposit it up to 5 feet away. This movement doesn’t have enough force to cause damage.
Arguing that "the movement doesn't but the weight does" seems a bit dodgy to me. If it's enough to bury them but it's not moving fast enough to hurt them, it's probably pushing them out of the way. Allowing this cantrip to push medium or smaller creatures 5ft wouldn't completely break the game if you wanted to rule it that way. Another ruling would be that you simply couldn't move it into an occupied square - it's my impression most people play it that way.
The answer depends on whether or not you are the DM of the game. If you are then you have full control over what the cantrip can or can't do, and every other aspect of your game for that matter. If however, you are a player in a game, looking for an argument to use to convince the DM..... No, it literally says in the spell description that it doesn't do any damage.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Hello i was wondering if the cantrip mold earth may be used as a weapon. Basically from conducting research a 1 by 1 cubic foot of dirt weighs approximately 76 pounds at its lightest weight depending on composition, so a 5 by 5 cube of dirt as listed in the cantrip should be roughly 1600 lbs. The cantrip states that this movement of earth is instant and i would like to know if say for example an npc was suddenly burried under that much earth, what the result should be. The cantrip itself of course does no damage, but should the sudden weight?
The rubble that you've moved will be spread around, rather than all being directly on top of someone, so at worst they will be partly buried and have to dig their way out.
It isn't sudden weight either, it is being excavated so is a movement of loose earth that is being deposited.
Well it specifically says:
Arguing that "the movement doesn't but the weight does" seems a bit dodgy to me. If it's enough to bury them but it's not moving fast enough to hurt them, it's probably pushing them out of the way. Allowing this cantrip to push medium or smaller creatures 5ft wouldn't completely break the game if you wanted to rule it that way. Another ruling would be that you simply couldn't move it into an occupied square - it's my impression most people play it that way.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
The answer depends on whether or not you are the DM of the game. If you are then you have full control over what the cantrip can or can't do, and every other aspect of your game for that matter. If however, you are a player in a game, looking for an argument to use to convince the DM..... No, it literally says in the spell description that it doesn't do any damage.