"Certain magic items can absorb the ambient magic of a dragon’s hoard. " - FToD. By this line it is safe to assume that you can further enhance already magic items with hoard bonuses, but to what degree?
Would this allow the improvement to a Vorpal Sword to achieve +6 (+3 from item, +3 from hoard) since the bonus comes from 2 separate magical sources?
Then for Artifacts such as Sword of Zariel for example that are incredibly powerful as they stand, could those get +X bonuses that they lack among the other properties?
Personally I would rule that you can up a +2 to a +3 when you achieve Ascendant while gaining the other bonuses at their tiers, but i would like to hear thoughts on this new RAW.
Edit: Yes, this is purely based on RAW. I am trying to understand what is possible based on the information provided without assuming the intentions of designers. While there is no written item that goes above +3, I have also not encountered a rule stating that there cannot be larger bonuses. The book does state "Certain magic items..." implying that there are some restrictions, but does not expand on them, leaving the criteria for "Certain" (and if the hoard item may already have magic imbued into it prior) up to interpretation/DM Discretion.
The "certain magic items" it refers to are those listed in the hoard item section of FToD, namely the Dragon’s Wrath Weapon, Dragon-Touched Focus, Dragon Vessel, and the Scaled Ornament. It is not a system for augmenting other magic items.
I'm going to go with a "Yes" on this one, from RAW and RAI.
For reference, here is a talk with Jeremy Crawford on YouTube. About 3 minutes in he touches on if the hoard bonus can add to an existing magic item. The quote below is taken from the YouTube transcript and I cleaned it a little for legibility.
Dragons are to the material plane what... celestials are to the upper planes and what fiends are to the lower planes. They are an incarnation of the plane's essence.
Dragons gain power from the wealth and other things that they amass, but then also their own power sort of suffuses it (the hoard) the longer they're with it.
Items, especially magic items, that stay in that sort of magic stew around a dragon in time can gain this ability to be a hoard item. Where it actually can start changing depending on how many hordes you soak it in.
This is connected to dragon slaying because this process of having a magic item gain a new ability by soaking in a horde takes time.
Bold sections are my emphasis on why I interpret this as RAW and RAI. The hoard item descriptions classify which item types can benefit from soaking in a hoard, and what powers those items can acquire, by type.
Meaning a +1 weapon could gain another +1 from the hoard bonuses and I'd stack them as a DM to an effective +2. Examples of more powerful items gaining more +1's show the extreme end of it, but I'd say yes based on the reading and video. Absolutely yes.
Stuff Jeremey Crawford says on Youtube and RAW are two different things. RAW is what's in the book.
The book has a Magic Items section and then a separate Hoard Magic Items section. These items are referred to specifically as hoard items and they are assumed to have certain mechanics attached including descriptions of exactly what each state does and what rarity that state is. It's pretty clear they are meant to be separate items that can grow in the same spirit behind Wildemount's Vestiges of Divergence.
Can you stick a Vorpal Sword into a hoard? Sure. But what that does to it will require homebrew. There are no generic rules that say each state adds +1 to the weapon or anything like that. All of the advancements are written into the hoard items themselves. So if you want to apply this progression to an item that is not listed here as a hoard magic item, you are going to have to make it up. You could argue that quirks could apply to any magic item by RAW though, as they are presented as a separate mechanic.
For the record, i do think this is intended to be a template for DMs to apply as they see fit and to add their own progressions to items. But it is also presented in a way that doesn't allow players to feel entitled to it without the DM's explicit buy-in. Certainly most of us see no need to have +6 weapons floating around, or having PCs derail a campaign to go slay dragons in order to obtain one.
First of all remember that the max magic bonus in the game is +3 so anything above that is definitely a no.so no legendary items or artifacts would be affected - they are a part of the ambient magic concentration doing the enhancement to lesser weapons. Now, could lesser weapons be enhanced or are you stuck with just the specific listed weapons? By RAW you are probably stuck but it’s not that clear. At this time (obviously neither I or anyone else have played/DMed thru a campaign with this stuff) I would allow +1 and +2 items to potentially be enhanced - possibly gaining additional powers ( perhaps that is one way dragonslaying weapons develop). I don’t think would prove game breaking but I reserve the right to change my mind later.
Wi1dBi11, Where does it say that +3 is the max magic bonus in the game? I have not come across anything stating this in any of the books. While there is no item published in 5e with a bonus larger than +3, I have not found a restriction limiting more.
The "certain magic items" it refers to are those listed in the hoard item section of FToD, namely the Dragon’s Wrath Weapon, Dragon-Touched Focus, Dragon Vessel, and the Scaled Ornament. It is not a system for augmenting other magic items.
No, If this was allowed, It would be more explitically stated, and makes no sense for the kind of system it is.
I fully believe these are valid interpretations, but my point is that it does not explicitly state that "certain magic items" are restricted to 'items in listed in this section' (as they could have). It offers no specific restrictions to limit a general interpretation (Specific < General), but as it stands we only have a general RAW to draw separate conclusions from. Like i said, personally I would not allow +6 items as a DM nor am I asking you to include this in your own game. I am simply trying to explore the possibilities of RAW and hoping I missed key info somewhere. Perhaps it was intentionally vague to allow DMs to explore these possibilities. I am not one of the writers and as such cannot assume their intentions with certainty.
As others have stated, having a specific list of hoard items right after "certain magic items" indicates pretty clearly to me that "certain magic items" only refers to the hoard item list, and not any other items.
I voted no based on the aspects of RAW, though I think that the vagueness of exactly what each item is, lends itself well to being applied to existing magic items like a template and I believe that likely fits RAI and if not it is at least RAF.
I voted no based on the aspects of RAW, though I think that the vagueness of exactly what each item is, lends itself well to being applied to existing magic items like a template and I believe that likely fits RAI and if not it is at least RAF.
It is no more vague than Mariner's Armor or Hellfire Weapons though. I do not think RAW intends for magic items to have multiple mechanical templates stacked on top of each other, unless a magic item specifically says so, like Moonblades where you can combine Vorpal and Defender templates together.
For RAF, then yeah, I would totally let my party get +7 weapons by steeping +3 ones in a dragon hoard and then dip them into a special brazier in one of the adventures for another +1.
Wi1dBi11, Where does it say that +3 is the max magic bonus in the game? I have not come across anything stating this in any of the books. While there is no item published in 5e with a bonus larger than +3, I have not found a restriction limiting more.
NukeA, that is the point they haven’t published a rule directly but in every other version they have had listed +4 and +5 items in the DMG and elsewhere. The simple fact that we are here , what 5 years or so after the start of 5e, and there are no official nonartifact items of greater than +3 tells me they don’t want them present in this “low magic” version of the game. I personally am sure enough of this that I’ve retconned my old epic 1-4e characters magic down to this level ( that or labeled the items artifacts. Even though they only operate as NPCs in my homebrew FR world. Sometimes it’s not the presence of a written rule that tells you the limit but the clear abscence of certain evidence that tells you what their (WOtC) internal rules must be.
The "certain magic items" it refers to are those listed in the hoard item section of FToD, namely the Dragon’s Wrath Weapon, Dragon-Touched Focus, Dragon Vessel, and the Scaled Ornament. It is not a system for augmenting other magic items.
No, If this was allowed, It would be more explitically stated, and makes no sense for the kind of system it is.
I fully believe these are valid interpretations, but my point is that it does not explicitly state that "certain magic items" are restricted to 'items in listed in this section' (as they could have). It offers no specific restrictions to limit a general interpretation (Specific < General), but as it stands we only have a general RAW to draw separate conclusions from. Like i said, personally I would not allow +6 items as a DM nor am I asking you to include this in your own game. I am simply trying to explore the possibilities of RAW and hoping I missed key info somewhere. Perhaps it was intentionally vague to allow DMs to explore these possibilities. I am not one of the writers and as such cannot assume their intentions with certainty.
It tells us that hoard items are different to regular magic items, in the chapter intro (emphasis mine):
“Hoard Items” introduces a new kind of magic items, which siphon the magical energy associated with a dragon’s hoard.
And in the first paragraph of the hoard items section:
Certain magic items can absorb the ambient magic of a dragon’s hoard. The mightier the dragon, the more powerful the item becomes when it is steeped in the dragon’s hoard. These items, called hoard items, have four states, which are summarized on the Hoard Item States table. A hoard item in its Slumbering state has certain base properties, and it gains additional properties when it enters the Stirring, Wakened, or Ascendant state.
If you only read the first sentence, then yes it opens the door to other magic items, but that's because you've taken it out of context. These are new rules for new items.
Mechanically it is a mess if you start applying hoard item status to existing magic items. I mean is a Slumbering Dragon's Wrath Vorpal Sword uncommon or legendary? And if you did get it to Ascendant status, what rarity is it then? Artifact? Something new? There just aren't rules for this.
Don't get me wrong, I like the system, and can see potential for homebrewing hoard items from existing magic items, but I think it needs to be heavily modified to do so. Maybe even tailored for each one, like deconstructing a Vorpal Sword so it starts as an uncommon sword that ignores resistance to slashing damage, gaining +1, then +2, and finally +3 and the decapitation rule when it reaches legendary status.
you can link the hoard magic to the regular magic but yes RAW seems to limit it to the specific items listed. RoF would allow a broader reading, my recommendation - beginning DMs follow RAW, intermediate - limit things to +3 max/very rare, old pros - have fun you know what you can handle.
So, my copy is still waiting at the FLGS, but from I'm gathering we're saying a like you could to a wrymling's hoard an impressive antagonistic but good natured hand shake like this:
And if the handshake remains in the hoard till the dragon grows to a great wyrm, a party could gain this:
FWIW, I can't cite anything either but what W!ldB!ll is saying about +3 parameters to magic weapons and skepticism that these rules are not supposed to somehow break the distribution seems to reflect a design balance philosophy I've read elsewhere so I think the OP is sorta overreaching with the implications. I mean if a DM wants to grant their party truly epic weapons I guess, however and maybe I'll go into this more after I read it, it seems to me that given the status of Dragons of being "essences" of the prime material plane (including its magic) I think the hoards would likely be bound within the magical conventions the game's balance arguably reflects. If hoards are a sorta magical wellspring, they may well be presences from which other arcanist draw the magic to enchant items, so prior magic items finding their way into hordes wouldn't so much "grow" as much as sort of experience a "homecoming" in a sort of primordial forces way. At least that's how I'd lean from this thread and some of the hype talk around the interwebs.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Jander Sunstar is the thinking person's Drizzt, fight me.
The "certain magic items" it refers to are those listed in the hoard item section of FToD, namely the Dragon’s Wrath Weapon, Dragon-Touched Focus, Dragon Vessel, and the Scaled Ornament. It is not a system for augmenting other magic items.
No, If this was allowed, It would be more explitically stated, and makes no sense for the kind of system it is.
I fully believe these are valid interpretations, but my point is that it does not explicitly state that "certain magic items" are restricted to 'items in listed in this section' (as they could have). It offers no specific restrictions to limit a general interpretation (Specific < General), but as it stands we only have a general RAW to draw separate conclusions from. Like i said, personally I would not allow +6 items as a DM nor am I asking you to include this in your own game. I am simply trying to explore the possibilities of RAW and hoping I missed key info somewhere. Perhaps it was intentionally vague to allow DMs to explore these possibilities. I am not one of the writers and as such cannot assume their intentions with certainty.
Yes, let's talk specific and general. Where is the "general rule" that states what bonuses a Vorpal Sword would gain from each hoard state? People are just pulling "it would add +1" from nowhere. I'll say it again - nowhere in the book does it have general rules about what bonuses an item would gain when it advances through the hoard states.
The only rules we have for bonuses gained from hoard states are the stages in the descriptions of the hoard items. Those are specific rules for specific items. Same as any other magic item. If those rules were a template to be applied to existing weapons it would have absolutely been presented as such.
You can't just decide to apply bonuses from the description of one item to another item. If you want to argue you can have a Vorpal Dragon's Wrath Weapon, well then your game was already broken before this book came out because you could claim the same for any other two enchantments.
"This wondrous item can be a septer, an orb, an amulet, a crystal or other finely crafted object."
"This ornament can be Jewelry, cloak or other wearable accessory."
This all is pretty vague to me, however we both agree that it isn't RAW.
These quotes describe the physical form of the items, not their mechanical properties. There's no going "well, my Amulet of Protection is finely crafted, so it counts!"
Again, the whole Slumbering/Stirring/Awakened/Ascendant thing applies strictly to the four items described in the book. You can't add the sword's properties to a Vorpal Sword any more than you could add a Gambler's Blade's properties to a Vorpal Sword by glueing them together and waiting a year for the glue to set. A cool DM could use this particular section of Fizban's as inspiration to add dragon-themed flavor and set dressing to regular loot, especially for younger dragons/smaller hoards where these items would be very scarce to see, but the Dragon's Wrath weapon, the Dragon-Touched focus, the Dragon's Vessel and the Scaled Ornament are each their own distinct magic items that cannot be combined with anything else by RAW. if your DM says otherwise then cool, but that's a DM cooking the books, not something the rules intend to let happen.
"This wondrous item can be a septer, an orb, an amulet, a crystal or other finely crafted object."
"This ornament can be Jewelry, cloak or other wearable accessory."
This all is pretty vague to me, however we both agree that it isn't RAW.
These quotes describe the physical form of the items, not their mechanical properties. There's no going "well, my Amulet of Protection is finely crafted, so it counts!"
Again, the whole Slumbering/Stirring/Awakened/Ascendant thing applies strictly to the four items described in the book. You can't add the sword's properties to a Vorpal Sword any more than you could add a Gambler's Blade's properties to a Vorpal Sword by glueing them together and waiting a year for the glue to set. A cool DM could use this particular section of Fizban's as inspiration to add dragon-themed flavor and set dressing to regular loot, especially for younger dragons/smaller hoards where these items would be very scarce to see, but the Dragon's Wrath weapon, the Dragon-Touched focus, the Dragon's Vessel and the Scaled Ornament are each their own distinct magic items that cannot be combined with anything else by RAW. if your DM says otherwise then cool, but that's a DM cooking the books, not something the rules intend to let happen.
Exactly which part of "it isn't RAW" are people just not understanding here?!
"Certain magic items can absorb the ambient magic of a dragon’s hoard. "
- FToD. By this line it is safe to assume that you can further enhance already magic items with hoard bonuses, but to what degree?
Personally I would rule that you can up a +2 to a +3 when you achieve Ascendant while gaining the other bonuses at their tiers, but i would like to hear thoughts on this new RAW.
Edit: Yes, this is purely based on RAW. I am trying to understand what is possible based on the information provided without assuming the intentions of designers.
While there is no written item that goes above +3, I have also not encountered a rule stating that there cannot be larger bonuses. The book does state "Certain magic items..." implying that there are some restrictions, but does not expand on them, leaving the criteria for "Certain" (and if the hoard item may already have magic imbued into it prior) up to interpretation/DM Discretion.
No, If this was allowed, It would be more explitically stated, and makes no sense for the kind of system it is.
My homebrew content: Monsters, subclasses, Magic items, Feats, spells, races, backgrounds
The "certain magic items" it refers to are those listed in the hoard item section of FToD, namely the Dragon’s Wrath Weapon, Dragon-Touched Focus, Dragon Vessel, and the Scaled Ornament. It is not a system for augmenting other magic items.
I'm going to go with a "Yes" on this one, from RAW and RAI.
For reference, here is a talk with Jeremy Crawford on YouTube. About 3 minutes in he touches on if the hoard bonus can add to an existing magic item. The quote below is taken from the YouTube transcript and I cleaned it a little for legibility.
Bold sections are my emphasis on why I interpret this as RAW and RAI. The hoard item descriptions classify which item types can benefit from soaking in a hoard, and what powers those items can acquire, by type.
Meaning a +1 weapon could gain another +1 from the hoard bonuses and I'd stack them as a DM to an effective +2. Examples of more powerful items gaining more +1's show the extreme end of it, but I'd say yes based on the reading and video. Absolutely yes.
Stuff Jeremey Crawford says on Youtube and RAW are two different things. RAW is what's in the book.
The book has a Magic Items section and then a separate Hoard Magic Items section. These items are referred to specifically as hoard items and they are assumed to have certain mechanics attached including descriptions of exactly what each state does and what rarity that state is. It's pretty clear they are meant to be separate items that can grow in the same spirit behind Wildemount's Vestiges of Divergence.
Can you stick a Vorpal Sword into a hoard? Sure. But what that does to it will require homebrew. There are no generic rules that say each state adds +1 to the weapon or anything like that. All of the advancements are written into the hoard items themselves. So if you want to apply this progression to an item that is not listed here as a hoard magic item, you are going to have to make it up. You could argue that quirks could apply to any magic item by RAW though, as they are presented as a separate mechanic.
For the record, i do think this is intended to be a template for DMs to apply as they see fit and to add their own progressions to items. But it is also presented in a way that doesn't allow players to feel entitled to it without the DM's explicit buy-in. Certainly most of us see no need to have +6 weapons floating around, or having PCs derail a campaign to go slay dragons in order to obtain one.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
First of all remember that the max magic bonus in the game is +3 so anything above that is definitely a no.so no legendary items or artifacts would be affected - they are a part of the ambient magic concentration doing the enhancement to lesser weapons.
Now, could lesser weapons be enhanced or are you stuck with just the specific listed weapons? By RAW you are probably stuck but it’s not that clear. At this time (obviously neither I or anyone else have played/DMed thru a campaign with this stuff) I would allow +1 and +2 items to potentially be enhanced - possibly gaining additional powers ( perhaps that is one way dragonslaying weapons develop). I don’t think would prove game breaking but I reserve the right to change my mind later.
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.
Wi1dBi11, Where does it say that +3 is the max magic bonus in the game? I have not come across anything stating this in any of the books. While there is no item published in 5e with a bonus larger than +3, I have not found a restriction limiting more.
I fully believe these are valid interpretations, but my point is that it does not explicitly state that "certain magic items" are restricted to 'items in listed in this section' (as they could have). It offers no specific restrictions to limit a general interpretation (Specific < General), but as it stands we only have a general RAW to draw separate conclusions from.
Like i said, personally I would not allow +6 items as a DM nor am I asking you to include this in your own game. I am simply trying to explore the possibilities of RAW and hoping I missed key info somewhere.
Perhaps it was intentionally vague to allow DMs to explore these possibilities. I am not one of the writers and as such cannot assume their intentions with certainty.
As others have stated, having a specific list of hoard items right after "certain magic items" indicates pretty clearly to me that "certain magic items" only refers to the hoard item list, and not any other items.
Check Licenses and Resync Entitlements: < https://www.dndbeyond.com/account/licenses >
Running the Game by Matt Colville; Introduction: < https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e-YZvLUXcR8 >
D&D with High School Students by Bill Allen; Season 1 Episode 1: < https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=52NJTUDokyk&t >
I voted no based on the aspects of RAW, though I think that the vagueness of exactly what each item is, lends itself well to being applied to existing magic items like a template and I believe that likely fits RAI and if not it is at least RAF.
She/Her Player and Dungeon Master
It is no more vague than Mariner's Armor or Hellfire Weapons though. I do not think RAW intends for magic items to have multiple mechanical templates stacked on top of each other, unless a magic item specifically says so, like Moonblades where you can combine Vorpal and Defender templates together.
For RAF, then yeah, I would totally let my party get +7 weapons by steeping +3 ones in a dragon hoard and then dip them into a special brazier in one of the adventures for another +1.
Check Licenses and Resync Entitlements: < https://www.dndbeyond.com/account/licenses >
Running the Game by Matt Colville; Introduction: < https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=e-YZvLUXcR8 >
D&D with High School Students by Bill Allen; Season 1 Episode 1: < https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=52NJTUDokyk&t >
"This wondrous item can be a septer, an orb, an amulet, a crystal or other finely crafted object."
"This ornament can be Jewelry, cloak or other wearable accessory."
This all is pretty vague to me, however we both agree that it isn't RAW.
She/Her Player and Dungeon Master
NukeA, that is the point they haven’t published a rule directly but in every other version they have had listed +4 and +5 items in the DMG and elsewhere. The simple fact that we are here , what 5 years or so after the start of 5e, and there are no official nonartifact items of greater than +3 tells me they don’t want them present in this “low magic” version of the game. I personally am sure enough of this that I’ve retconned my old epic 1-4e characters magic down to this level ( that or labeled the items artifacts. Even though they only operate as NPCs in my homebrew FR world. Sometimes it’s not the presence of a written rule that tells you the limit but the clear abscence of certain evidence that tells you what their (WOtC) internal rules must be.
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.
It tells us that hoard items are different to regular magic items, in the chapter intro (emphasis mine):
And in the first paragraph of the hoard items section:
If you only read the first sentence, then yes it opens the door to other magic items, but that's because you've taken it out of context. These are new rules for new items.
Mechanically it is a mess if you start applying hoard item status to existing magic items. I mean is a Slumbering Dragon's Wrath Vorpal Sword uncommon or legendary? And if you did get it to Ascendant status, what rarity is it then? Artifact? Something new? There just aren't rules for this.
Don't get me wrong, I like the system, and can see potential for homebrewing hoard items from existing magic items, but I think it needs to be heavily modified to do so. Maybe even tailored for each one, like deconstructing a Vorpal Sword so it starts as an uncommon sword that ignores resistance to slashing damage, gaining +1, then +2, and finally +3 and the decapitation rule when it reaches legendary status.
Wyrmling - Slumbering - Common -
young- stirring - uncommon
adult - awakened - rare
ancient - ascendant - very Rare
greatwyrm - ???? (?Artifact?) - Legendary & Artifact
you can link the hoard magic to the regular magic but yes RAW seems to limit it to the specific items listed. RoF would allow a broader reading, my recommendation - beginning DMs follow RAW, intermediate - limit things to +3 max/very rare, old pros - have fun you know what you can handle.
Wisea$$ DM and Player since 1979.
So, my copy is still waiting at the FLGS, but from I'm gathering we're saying a like you could to a wrymling's hoard an impressive antagonistic but good natured hand shake like this:
And if the handshake remains in the hoard till the dragon grows to a great wyrm, a party could gain this:
FWIW, I can't cite anything either but what W!ldB!ll is saying about +3 parameters to magic weapons and skepticism that these rules are not supposed to somehow break the distribution seems to reflect a design balance philosophy I've read elsewhere so I think the OP is sorta overreaching with the implications. I mean if a DM wants to grant their party truly epic weapons I guess, however and maybe I'll go into this more after I read it, it seems to me that given the status of Dragons of being "essences" of the prime material plane (including its magic) I think the hoards would likely be bound within the magical conventions the game's balance arguably reflects. If hoards are a sorta magical wellspring, they may well be presences from which other arcanist draw the magic to enchant items, so prior magic items finding their way into hordes wouldn't so much "grow" as much as sort of experience a "homecoming" in a sort of primordial forces way. At least that's how I'd lean from this thread and some of the hype talk around the interwebs.
Jander Sunstar is the thinking person's Drizzt, fight me.
Yes, let's talk specific and general. Where is the "general rule" that states what bonuses a Vorpal Sword would gain from each hoard state? People are just pulling "it would add +1" from nowhere. I'll say it again - nowhere in the book does it have general rules about what bonuses an item would gain when it advances through the hoard states.
The only rules we have for bonuses gained from hoard states are the stages in the descriptions of the hoard items. Those are specific rules for specific items. Same as any other magic item. If those rules were a template to be applied to existing weapons it would have absolutely been presented as such.
You can't just decide to apply bonuses from the description of one item to another item. If you want to argue you can have a Vorpal Dragon's Wrath Weapon, well then your game was already broken before this book came out because you could claim the same for any other two enchantments.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
These quotes describe the physical form of the items, not their mechanical properties. There's no going "well, my Amulet of Protection is finely crafted, so it counts!"
Again, the whole Slumbering/Stirring/Awakened/Ascendant thing applies strictly to the four items described in the book. You can't add the sword's properties to a Vorpal Sword any more than you could add a Gambler's Blade's properties to a Vorpal Sword by glueing them together and waiting a year for the glue to set. A cool DM could use this particular section of Fizban's as inspiration to add dragon-themed flavor and set dressing to regular loot, especially for younger dragons/smaller hoards where these items would be very scarce to see, but the Dragon's Wrath weapon, the Dragon-Touched focus, the Dragon's Vessel and the Scaled Ornament are each their own distinct magic items that cannot be combined with anything else by RAW. if your DM says otherwise then cool, but that's a DM cooking the books, not something the rules intend to let happen.
Please do not contact or message me.
Exactly which part of "it isn't RAW" are people just not understanding here?!
She/Her Player and Dungeon Master
Heh, I get you, Golaryn. I was springboarding off of your point to try and explain it to people who still can't figure it out.
Please do not contact or message me.