The Peace Cleric, out of Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, can channel the Balm of Peace, which reads: "You can use your Channel Divinity to make your very presence a soothing balm. As an action, you can move up to your speed, without provoking opportunity attacks, and when you move within 5 feet of any other creature during this action, you can restore a number of hit points to that creature equal to 2d6 + your Wisdom modifier (minimum of 1 hit point). A creature can receive this healing only once whenever you take this action."
This speaks to one creature. "you move within 5 feet of any other creature during this action, you can restore a number of hit points to that creature." It would then imply that the Balm would end after selecting one creature.
Specifically - creature, not creatures. This would infer that only one creature is healed if you move in five feet of it, and not for example, “all creatures that you move within 5 feet of” or stating anything about the effect applying to multiple or all creatures.
This conversation has been a source of debate on my table. Is there an official ruling? How can I ask for one?
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
The last sentence then becomes unnecessary. "A creature can receive this healing only once whenever you take this action."
If it only triggers once why write this at the bottom. There would be no need unless you didn't want someone who was moving to use it on others to try and double back and use it again on someone that already benefitted.
That would indicate that only a creature can receive it, and then it would stop. It is again, referring to one creature, not "any or all". It could have been intended as that one creature gets it then and no future powers or whatever in another supplement would make this happen to that one creature. It could be to future-proof the action.
Also it says any other creature... not one other creature.
This means any and all creatures you pass within 5 feet of, but again, each one only once per turn.
The spell does not say "any and all creatures". Fireball, for example, does say "each creature". Other spells and effects that are intended for multiple creatures specifically note creature*s*, and this spell does not. Compairing the wording to other D&D effects and Sage Advice rulings, it notes only one creature.
What does the ability do? Very simply: it lets you move, as an action. This special movement, though, has special properties.
Up to your speed.
Doesn't provoke.
If it moves you close to creatures it heals them 2d8+mod (if you want).
Each creature can benefit only once from that heal.
Uses up a channel divinity.
That's it.
Your first two are correct, second two are wrong. It does not heal 2d8. It heals 2d6. Again, it does not state "each creature" that you move past. Fireball does not "Each creature", however.
The interesting wording is that when other spells and effects are meant to target more than one creature, the wording specifically calls that out. It does not rely on inference as this effect does.
Odd and not the first time language of the spell was unclear to RAI - the debate with Green Flame Blade, right? If it targeted others outside the attack or the attacker as the wording of the spell was unclear.
Movement is incremental, so the healing applied is done one target at a time. Otherwise all creatures would heal each time you moved adjacent to any one of them - this is what your "each creature" wording would imply in this case. Movement can be stopped or altered or broken up so that you have to do things as you go.
Don't compare it to fireball, that's an instantaneous area spell - totally different method of delivery. Compare it to something that is triggered by movement, like Ashardalon’s Stride which coincidentally has the same language. If you apply your single target interpretation to that spell, it would be doing a whopping 1d6 damage as a 3rd level spell.
Move adjacent to one creature, heal the creature. Continue moving to another creature, heal that one. You can't just move your whole move and then say "each creature you moved adjacent to gained 2d6 hp" because what if you triggered a trap in the middle of your movement? Who has the extra hp at that point and who doesn't? That's only an easy question to answer if you are healing creatures one at a time as you move adjacent to them.
And as others have said, the RAI is not unclear at all because if it was meant to heal a single creature it would just say that in much simpler language than what we got.
What does the ability do? Very simply: it lets you move, as an action. This special movement, though, has special properties.
Up to your speed.
Doesn't provoke.
If it moves you close to creatures it heals them 2d8+mod (if you want).
Each creature can benefit only once from that heal.
Uses up a channel divinity.
That's it.
Your first two are correct, second two are wrong.
Uh...
It does not heal 2d8. It heals 2d6.
Typo, thanks for pointing it out.
Again, it does not state "each creature" that you move past. Fireball does not "Each creature", however.
Yo. So... did you just not read the last sentence of the ability?
"A creature can receive this healing only once whenever you take this action"
So, each creature can only get healed once when you activate it because it says they can only benefit from it once. That is pretty hard to argue against.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
And as others have said, the RAI is not unclear at all because if it was meant to heal a single creature it would just say that in much simpler language than what we got.
If the language was clear oh, why does it not say any creatures thorough? That would clear up.
What does the ability do? Very simply: it lets you move, as an action. This special movement, though, has special properties.
Up to your speed.
Doesn't provoke.
If it moves you close to creatures it heals them 2d8+mod (if you want).
Each creature can benefit only once from that heal.
Uses up a channel divinity.
That's it.
Your first two are correct, second two are wrong.
Uh...
It does not heal 2d8. It heals 2d6.
Typo, thanks for pointing it out.
Again, it does not state "each creature" that you move past. Fireball does not "Each creature", however.
Yo. So... did you just not read the last sentence of the ability?
"A creature can receive this healing only once whenever you take this action"
So, each creature can only get healed once when you activate it because it says they can only benefit from it once. That is pretty hard to argue against.
Yo. You had a typo, that means you can be wrong about other inferences. If you want to attack about reading, you didn't read my citation of the rule.
The operative part that indicates it applies to multiple creatures is:
you move within 5 feet of any othercreature
"any other creature" means multiple creature unless specified otherwise. Any means the first, second, third, or tenth creature. If it applied to a single creature it would something to the effect of "The first time you move within 5 feet.." or "you move within 5 feet of any one creature"
This is confirmed by the final sentence specifying the limit on a creature receiving the healing once; if it only applied once, this limit wouldn't be needed.
The Peace Cleric, out of Tasha's Cauldron of Everything, can channel the Balm of Peace, which reads: "You can use your Channel Divinity to make your very presence a soothing balm. As an action, you can move up to your speed, without provoking opportunity attacks, and when you move within 5 feet of any other creature during this action, you can restore a number of hit points to that creature equal to 2d6 + your Wisdom modifier (minimum of 1 hit point). A creature can receive this healing only once whenever you take this action."
This speaks to one creature. "you move within 5 feet of any other creature during this action, you can restore a number of hit points to that creature." It would then imply that the Balm would end after selecting one creature.
Specifically - creature, not creatures. This would infer that only one creature is healed if you move in five feet of it, and not for example, “all creatures that you move within 5 feet of” or stating anything about the effect applying to multiple or all creatures.
This conversation has been a source of debate on my table. Is there an official ruling? How can I ask for one?
What does the ability do? Very simply: it lets you move, as an action. This special movement, though, has special properties.
That's it.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
That would indicate that only a creature can receive it, and then it would stop. It is again, referring to one creature, not "any or all". It could have been intended as that one creature gets it then and no future powers or whatever in another supplement would make this happen to that one creature. It could be to future-proof the action.
The spell does not say "any and all creatures". Fireball, for example, does say "each creature". Other spells and effects that are intended for multiple creatures specifically note creature*s*, and this spell does not. Compairing the wording to other D&D effects and Sage Advice rulings, it notes only one creature.
Your first two are correct, second two are wrong. It does not heal 2d8. It heals 2d6.
Again, it does not state "each creature" that you move past. Fireball does not "Each creature", however.
The interesting wording is that when other spells and effects are meant to target more than one creature, the wording specifically calls that out. It does not rely on inference as this effect does.
Odd and not the first time language of the spell was unclear to RAI - the debate with Green Flame Blade, right? If it targeted others outside the attack or the attacker as the wording of the spell was unclear.
Movement is incremental, so the healing applied is done one target at a time. Otherwise all creatures would heal each time you moved adjacent to any one of them - this is what your "each creature" wording would imply in this case. Movement can be stopped or altered or broken up so that you have to do things as you go.
Don't compare it to fireball, that's an instantaneous area spell - totally different method of delivery. Compare it to something that is triggered by movement, like Ashardalon’s Stride which coincidentally has the same language. If you apply your single target interpretation to that spell, it would be doing a whopping 1d6 damage as a 3rd level spell.
Move adjacent to one creature, heal the creature. Continue moving to another creature, heal that one. You can't just move your whole move and then say "each creature you moved adjacent to gained 2d6 hp" because what if you triggered a trap in the middle of your movement? Who has the extra hp at that point and who doesn't? That's only an easy question to answer if you are healing creatures one at a time as you move adjacent to them.
And as others have said, the RAI is not unclear at all because if it was meant to heal a single creature it would just say that in much simpler language than what we got.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
Uh...
Typo, thanks for pointing it out.
Yo. So... did you just not read the last sentence of the ability?
"A creature can receive this healing only once whenever you take this action"
So, each creature can only get healed once when you activate it because it says they can only benefit from it once. That is pretty hard to argue against.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
If the language was clear oh, why does it not say any creatures thorough? That would clear up.
Yo. You had a typo, that means you can be wrong about other inferences. If you want to attack about reading, you didn't read my citation of the rule.
It's more than evident that Balm of Peace can heal multiple creatures since the last sentence place a limit to once per creature.
The operative part that indicates it applies to multiple creatures is:
"any other creature" means multiple creature unless specified otherwise. Any means the first, second, third, or tenth creature. If it applied to a single creature it would something to the effect of "The first time you move within 5 feet.." or "you move within 5 feet of any one creature"
This is confirmed by the final sentence specifying the limit on a creature receiving the healing once; if it only applied once, this limit wouldn't be needed.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here