I wonder regarding teleportation spells like Misty Step, or Teleport, do the actually like phase out the character, and to phase in at another location without any path trace (like Marvel's Nightcrawler), or does the character become briefly intangible, and then visibly move to the target location (the Misty Step description sounds like that)?
If so what happens with Emanations like Conjure Woodland Beings and Spirit Guardians during that teleportation. Do they cease to work briefly, or will a 30ft Misty Step in combination with a Spirit Guardians affect creatures along the path? Or if not, could I just teleport 5 squares, and have the emanation come into effect again?
The reason why I am asking is, I looked at the Boon of Fluid Forms, which RAW will let you shape-shift into Auril (First Form) (Rime of the Frost Maiden). This form can 'Misty Step' at will and can teleport up to 30 ft 3 times per round as a legendary action. So I wonder, if the emanations disappear and reappear, or are actually stay active and move during the teleport.
Teleportation is a special kind of magical transportation. If you teleport, you disappear and reappear elsewhere instantly, without moving through the intervening space. This transportation doesn’t expend movement unless a rule tells you otherwise, and teleportation never provokes Opportunity Attacks.
When you teleport, all the equipment you’re wearing and carrying teleports with you. If you’re touching another creature when you teleport, that creature doesn’t teleport with you unless the teleportation effect says otherwise.
If the destination space of your teleportation is occupied by another creature or blocked by a solid obstacle, you instead appear in the nearest unoccupied space of your choice.
The description of a teleportation effect tells you if you must see the teleportation’s destination.
Answer to your question is right there in the rules glossary. Whenever you have a rules question, always check the rules glossary first as often you can find the information you need.
I had checked that, but it only deals with equipment. There is nothing, which explains what happens to emanations. I would assume, that the Emanation will disappear and reappear as well. But that would also mean, that creatures which had been within the emanation at the start of the turn will take damage (if they have not already on this turn), when after the teleport (presumably 5ft) the emanation counts as entering their spaces, due to a brief interruption caused by the disappearance. Or is that assumption wrong?
I had checked that, but it only deals with equipment. There is nothing, which explains what happens emanations. I would assume, that the Emanation will disappear and reappear as well. But that would also mean, that creatures which had been within the emanation at the start of the turn will take damage, when after the teleport (presumably 5ft) they count as entering the emanation upon it's reappearance.
No, they don't count as entering the emanation. When it comes to areas and movement, Area A moving onto Creature B does not count as Creature B entering Area A. When it comes to areas, there are usually the following trigger states:
When a creature enters.... - This refers to a creature changing its game position from outside the area to inside it, but doesn't include the area changing its position to now include the creature, as the creature was not the one entering
When a creature starts/ends its turn.... - Simples one, check if a creature is in the area either at the start or end of a turn
When a creature moves through/within the area - This one can be more complex because there'll usually be additional constraints. Typically the effect will either trigger once the first time the creature changes its position while in the area, or once per X feet (typically 5")
I wonder regarding teleportation spells like Misty Step, or Teleport, do the actually like phase out the character, and to phase in at another location without any path trace (like Marvel's Nightcrawler), or does the character become briefly intangible, and then visibly move to the target location (the Misty Step description sounds like that)?
If so what happens with Emanations like Conjure Woodland Beings and Spirit Guardians during that teleportation. Do they cease to work briefly, or will a 30ft Misty Step in combination with a Spirit Guardians affect creatures along the path? Or if not, could I just teleport 5 squares, and have the emanation come into effect again?
The reason why I am asking is, I looked at the Boon of Fluid Forms, which RAW will let you shape-shift into Auril (First Form) (Rime of the Frost Maiden). This form can 'Misty Step' at will and can teleport up to 30 ft 3 times per round as a legendary action. So I wonder, if the emanations disappear and reappear, or are actually stay active and move during the teleport.
Beyond =/= strict RAW.
I want you to seriously consider if you could run this at Adventurer's League before trying to do this, before worrying about emanations teleporting with you.
Because you're turning into a Forgotten Realms GOD. Do you honestly think that'd be allowed under the strictest RAW conditions players are likely going to encounter, even if you are a worshipper or Cleric of Auril?
Also, DND Teleportation -/- Nightcrawler teleportation. There isn't a metaphorical ""Brimstone Dimension" for there to act as an atmosphere for you to enter & exit out of.
Furthermore, Emanations typically originate from the self, so, assuming your taking on a godly aspect is allowed by AL-strict RAW, let alone any DM who's familiar with FR lore...that Emanation is going to restart from you, assuming you haven't broken concentration via the numerous steps it took to get here.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
DM, player & homebrewer(Current homebrew project is an unofficial conversion of SBURB/SGRUB from Homestuck into DND 5e)
Once made Maxwell's Silver Hammer come down upon Strahd's head to make sure he was dead.
Always study & sharpen philosophical razors. They save a lot of trouble.
That's not what I meant. My 2024 PHB states under Woodland Beings and Spirit Guardians "...whenever the Emanation enters a creature's space..."
So if the Emanation disappears with the teleporting character, and also reappears with the teleporting character it would potentially also (re-)enter other creatures' spaces, would it not?
I want you to seriously consider if you could run this at Adventurer's League before trying to do this, before worrying about emanations teleporting with you.
Because you're turning into a Forgotten Realms GOD. Do you honestly think that'd be allowed under the strictest RAW conditions players are likely going to encounter, even if you are a worshipper or Cleric of Auril?
a) this is about game mechanics, not fluff. And I am not talking about Adventurer's League either.
b) Why is there a need to worship Auril to pull that stunt off? Players do way worse without having to change their alignment. By that logic the assassin subclass should be strictly prohibited. On the other hand, do you imply that every widow, who lost her husband to Umberlee, and thus joins her clergy in Baldur's Gate is of evil alignment per se? Hard to believe.
Their original question doesn't mention D&D Beyond, they're only asking about rules as written. So not sure what this has to do with the price of coffee.
I want you to seriously consider if you could run this at Adventurer's League before trying to do this, before worrying about emanations teleporting with you.
They never said they were playing in AL and this is the AL subforum, so AL is irrelevant.
Because you're turning into a Forgotten Realms GOD. Do you honestly think that'd be allowed under the strictest RAW conditions players are likely going to encounter, even if you are a worshipper or Cleric of Auril?
Yes, because nothing in the rules, be they the general rules or the rules of the boon itself prohibit Auril (First Form) as an option. The criteria are:
Beast, Humanoid, or Monstrosity (check, Monstrosity)
Challenge Rating 10 or lower (check, CR 9)
That's it, nothing about "you can't choose an FR god" or anything else.
Also, DND Teleportation -/- Nightcrawler teleportation. There isn't a metaphorical ""Brimstone Dimension" for there to act as an atmosphere for you to enter & exit out of.
They weren't asking about anything like that. The question was simply "When you teleport from point A to point B do you count as passing through the intervening space?" to which the answer was no.
Furthermore, Emanations typically originate from the self, so, assuming your taking on a godly aspect is allowed by AL-strict RAW, let alone any DM who's familiar with FR lore...that Emanation is going to restart from you, assuming you haven't broken concentration via the numerous steps it took to get here.
I think maybe you failed to understand the question—they were asking about casting a spell such as Conjure Woodland Beings or Spirit Guardians (which creates a self-centered emanation) before then teleporting adjacent to a creature. Specifically if that would count as the emanation entering the creatures space (which it would). The spell doesn't "restart", it persists.
Also while those spells each require concentration, Boon of Fluid Forms does not.
Maybe actually listen to what I'm saying instead of chopping it up to tear apart my metaphor.
There is a difference between Strict RAW as it would be interpreted offline, SUCH AS AT AL, vs what DND Beyond puts in lists because it arbitrarily fits a list criteria.
This is the Giant Fly familiar discourse by YouTuber & serial cloak & dagger, smoke & mirrors liar about WotC, DND, and RAW DND Shorts all over again.
If I hadn't blocked him, I'd have thunk this came from him.
Just because it's in a list on Beyond doesn't mean it's going to happen.
I don't think STRICT RAW would even allow the Auril transformation, since there is no RAW dealing with turning into a god, even an aspect of such. That form is ONLY in the list because of what kind of creature it's tagged as, not necessarily because it can be done.
OP is trying to rules lawyer that they can become a god, then abuse their powers, under the pretense of Auril's first form being in an arbitrary listing on Beyond.
Now, as for the Emanation....your interpretation is right, but OP's circumstances are EXTREMELY questionable for trying to get there.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
DM, player & homebrewer(Current homebrew project is an unofficial conversion of SBURB/SGRUB from Homestuck into DND 5e)
Once made Maxwell's Silver Hammer come down upon Strahd's head to make sure he was dead.
Always study & sharpen philosophical razors. They save a lot of trouble.
There is a difference between Strict RAW as it would be interpreted offline, SUCH AS AT AL, vs what DND Beyond puts in lists because it arbitrarily fits a list criteria.
DDB has nothing to do with this though. Is Auril (First Form) a Monstrosity? Yes. Does Auril (First Form) have a CR of 10 or lower? Yes. Is there any rule anywhere saying you can't shape-change into a "god" (note that "god" isn't a monster tag so that's not a rules concept)? No, nope, nowhere. Strict RAW Auril (First Form) would be a valid choice for Boon of Fluid Form unless you can point to a rule that says otherwise. What seems to be happening here is that you've just got a "feeling" that it shouldn't be allowed for no rules-grounded reason and you're going with that.
That form is ONLY in the list because of what kind of creature it's tagged as, not necessarily because it can be done.
That's literally why it can be done.
OP is trying to rules lawyer that they can become a god, then abuse their powers, under the pretense of Auril's first form being in an arbitrary listing on Beyond.
Nope, not an "arbitrary listing on Beyond", that's literally what the stat block says in the physical book. Auril (First Form) is a CR 9 Monstrosity, see:
Can you point to any rule anywhere that would disqualify this stat block as a choice for Boon of Fluid Form?
Because honestly it seems like you just don't like the idea this works and are plucking at straws to shut it down.
Sunnyssundries I'm not sure if this reply helps, but here's an example comparing the wording for moving vs teleporting:
Cloud of Daggers: "you can take a Magic action to teleport the Cube up to 30 feet", and "A creature also takes this damage if it enters the Cube or ends its turn there or if the Cube moves into its space". So this isn't movement along a path from A to B.
For comparison,Moonbeam is different, since it explicitly moves rather than teleports:
... you can take a Magic action on later turns to move the Cylinder up to 60 feet.
Now, for example, if you teleport while you have Spirit Guardians("Range: Self" and Emanation spell) around you, it should still affect creatures when you reappear because "the Emanation enters a creature’s space", like you and Davyd mentioned earlier.
There is a difference between Strict RAW as it would be interpreted offline, SUCH AS AT AL, vs what DND Beyond puts in lists because it arbitrarily fits a list criteria.
DDB has nothing to do with this though. Is Auril (First Form) a Monstrosity? Yes. Does Auril (First Form) have a CR of 10 or lower? Yes. Is there any rule anywhere saying you can't shape-change into a "god" (note that "god" isn't a monster tag so that's not a rules concept)? No, nope, nowhere. Strict RAW Auril (First Form) would be a valid choice for Boon of Fluid Form unless you can point to a rule that says otherwise. What seems to be happening here is that you've just got a "feeling" that it shouldn't be allowed for no rules-grounded reason and you're going with that.
That form is ONLY in the list because of what kind of creature it's tagged as, not necessarily because it can be done.
That's literally why it can be done.
OP is trying to rules lawyer that they can become a god, then abuse their powers, under the pretense of Auril's first form being in an arbitrary listing on Beyond.
Nope, not an "arbitrary listing on Beyond", that's literally what the stat block says in the physical book. Auril (First Form) is a CR 9 Monstrosity, see:
Can you point to any rule anywhere that would disqualify this stat block as a choice for Boon of Fluid Form?
Because honestly it seems like you just don't like the idea this works and are plucking at straws to shut it down.
Dungeon Master's Guide
Rules Rely on Good-Faith Interpretation. The rules assume that everyone reading and interpreting the rules has the interests of the group’s fun at heart and is reading the rules in that light.
Outlining these principles can help hold players’ exploits at bay. If a player persistently tries to twist the rules of the game, have a conversation with that player outside the game and ask them to stop.
Accessing a God's form via this boon feels like bad-faith interpretation of the rules.
& the transform into Named NPCs via Epic Boon, Giant Fly from an item/Named NPC Familiars, & named/singular creature/NPC 2014 Conjure spell targets aren't the only case of bad-faith interpretation of rules due to the dev team's parameters that Beyond has enabled.
One thing to note first: the reason that Conjure Animals doesn't use the word "emanation" is because an Emanation is centered on a creature or object and moves around when that creature/object moves around. Conjure Animals intentionally does not work that way, so it doesn't use that word.
I think you may have some misconceptions about how the other spells work, so here is how these three spells you've referenced work:
Conjure Animals is a Large (i.e., 2x2 on a 5-foot grid map) area effect that can be moved around by the caster. It forces a creature to make a Dexterity save when any of the following happen:
The caster moves the area such that the creature is within 10 feet of it
The creature moves to a space within 10 feet of it (yes, even if they're already within 10 feet of it)
The creature ends its turn within 10 feet of it
The creature is only subject to this effect the first time one of these things happens on a turn. The creature takes damage only if they fail the save.
Spirit Guardians is a 15-foot Emanation centered on the caster that moves around with the caster. It forces a creature to make a Wisdom save when any of the following happen:
The caster moves such that the creature is in the Emanation
The creature moves such that they are in the Emanation
The creature ends its turn in the Emanation
The creature is only subject to this effect the first time one of these things happens on a turn. The creature takes full damage if they fail the save and half damage if they succeed.
Spike Growth is a 20-foot Sphere that can't move. A creature takes damage from it if any of the following happen:
The creature enters the area, either willingly or forcibly
The creature moves within the area, either willingly or forcibly
The creature takes damage for every five feet it moves in the area, with no per-turn limit. There is no saving throw to resist it, but no damage is dealt if the creature stays in one spot within it.
Accessing a God's form via this boon feels like bad-faith interpretation of the rules.
Where's the bad faith thought? There's no rules-bending. No weird use of grammar or syntax. It's a literal, simple reading of the rules. The rules allowing something you don't like doesn't make it bad faith (and tbh trying to suggest this is a bad faith reading ironically seems like a bad faith application of that principle from the DMG). We're not talking about whether or not a player should be allowed to do this or asserting there's nothing a DM could do to say no. A DM can put on their grown-up pants and say "While this would be allowed per the rules, I'm not going to allow it because [insert a reason that's hopefully reasonable].
The fact you've pivoted from "RAW doesn't allow this" to "This is a bad faith interpretation of the rules" kinda suggests you're coming at this with your gut rather than any actual rules foundation.
& the transform into Named NPCs via Epic Boon, Giant Fly from an item/Named NPC Familiars, & named/singular creature/NPC 2014 Conjure spell targets aren't the only case of bad-faith interpretation of rules due to the dev team's parameters that Beyond has enabled.
You keep trying to pin the blame on DDB which is really weird. Nothing about this is to do with D&D Beyond. That's such a bizarre take it just further calls into question your responses and their validity.
You have a personal opinion that "gods" shouldn't be a valid choice for Boon of Fluid Form, which is an epic level boon by the way, the highest tier of game reward. That's a valid opinion to have and one you are free to enforce as a DM. You don't need to be misleading about the rules to support it, your opinion can stand on its own two feet without the rules supporting it.
Don’t most emanations that do this have language about only taking the damage the first time on a turn? I’m just going off memory here, so I might be wrong. So if you’re teleporting around, it’s going to be all on the same turn, right? So I’d think that would disallow this tactic.
I guess someone might grab you and dimension door from one side of an enemy to another to try and proc the damage again. But I’m not going to hold my breath waiting for someone to use their action and a 4th level spell slot for that. And if they did, I’d point to the old good faith reading section of the DMG.
Don’t most emanations that do this have language about only taking the damage the first time on a turn? I’m just going off memory here, so I might be wrong. So if you’re teleporting around, it’s going to be all on the same turn, right?
Nope!
The idea is that the Auril‘s first form has Teleportation as a legendary action (3/round). And legendary actions are taken at other players‘/monsters‘ turn.
Thus the idea is to utilise CWB/SG up to five times in one round. Move action(60ft fly speed), and/or bonus action Misty Step (at will) at player‘s own turn, plus ready action resulting in another up to 60ft fly, and 3 legendary action teleports out of player‘s own turn.
Don’t most emanations that do this have language about only taking the damage the first time on a turn? I’m just going off memory here, so I might be wrong. So if you’re teleporting around, it’s going to be all on the same turn, right?
Nope!
The idea is that the Auril‘s first form has Teleportation as a legendary action (3/round). And legendary actions are taken at other players‘/monsters‘ turn.
Thus the idea is to utilise CWB/SG up to five times in one round. Move action(60ft fly speed), and/or bonus action Misty Step (at will) at player‘s own turn, plus ready action resulting in another up to 60ft fly, and 3 legendary action teleports out of player‘s own turn.
Oh, I see.
In that case, you're using a '24 power to change into a '14 creature, so, yeah, things might get wonky. It could be RAW. But it's a real edge case. I'm not going to hold my breath waiting for someone to actually try it in game. (Not to mention the character doing it would be at least 19th level, which few play at, and honestly, this wouldn't be all that crazy at that point in the game.) But, if I were DM'ing, I'd probably just say, nope, it doesn't work. Teleportation is instantaneous, and the gap isn't long enough to count as leaving and entering again. But, of course, you do what's right for your table.
) But, if I were DM'ing, I'd probably just say, nope, it doesn't work. Teleportation is instantaneous, and the gap isn't long enough to count as leaving and entering again. But, of course, you do what's right for your table.
A gap is a gap, whether it is 1 turn, 1 second, 1 nanosecond. Thus, that‘s your own interpretation.
I wonder regarding teleportation spells like Misty Step, or Teleport, do the actually like phase out the character, and to phase in at another location without any path trace (like Marvel's Nightcrawler), or does the character become briefly intangible, and then visibly move to the target location (the Misty Step description sounds like that)?
If so what happens with Emanations like Conjure Woodland Beings and Spirit Guardians during that teleportation. Do they cease to work briefly, or will a 30ft Misty Step in combination with a Spirit Guardians affect creatures along the path? Or if not, could I just teleport 5 squares, and have the emanation come into effect again?
The reason why I am asking is, I looked at the Boon of Fluid Forms, which RAW will let you shape-shift into Auril (First Form) (Rime of the Frost Maiden). This form can 'Misty Step' at will and can teleport up to 30 ft 3 times per round as a legendary action. So I wonder, if the emanations disappear and reappear, or are actually stay active and move during the teleport.
Answer to your question is right there in the rules glossary. Whenever you have a rules question, always check the rules glossary first as often you can find the information you need.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
I had checked that, but it only deals with equipment. There is nothing, which explains what happens to emanations. I would assume, that the Emanation will disappear and reappear as well. But that would also mean, that creatures which had been within the emanation at the start of the turn will take damage (if they have not already on this turn), when after the teleport (presumably 5ft) the emanation counts as entering their spaces, due to a brief interruption caused by the disappearance. Or is that assumption wrong?
No, they don't count as entering the emanation. When it comes to areas and movement, Area A moving onto Creature B does not count as Creature B entering Area A. When it comes to areas, there are usually the following trigger states:
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Beyond =/= strict RAW.
I want you to seriously consider if you could run this at Adventurer's League before trying to do this, before worrying about emanations teleporting with you.
Because you're turning into a Forgotten Realms GOD. Do you honestly think that'd be allowed under the strictest RAW conditions players are likely going to encounter, even if you are a worshipper or Cleric of Auril?
Also, DND Teleportation -/- Nightcrawler teleportation. There isn't a metaphorical ""Brimstone Dimension" for there to act as an atmosphere for you to enter & exit out of.
Furthermore, Emanations typically originate from the self, so, assuming your taking on a godly aspect is allowed by AL-strict RAW, let alone any DM who's familiar with FR lore...that Emanation is going to restart from you, assuming you haven't broken concentration via the numerous steps it took to get here.
DM, player & homebrewer(Current homebrew project is an unofficial conversion of SBURB/SGRUB from Homestuck into DND 5e)
Once made Maxwell's Silver Hammer come down upon Strahd's head to make sure he was dead.
Always study & sharpen philosophical razors. They save a lot of trouble.
That's not what I meant. My 2024 PHB states under Woodland Beings and Spirit Guardians "...whenever the Emanation enters a creature's space..."
So if the Emanation disappears with the teleporting character, and also reappears with the teleporting character it would potentially also (re-)enter other creatures' spaces, would it not?
Oh, yes, yeah. With that explicit clause the emenation would be entering the creatures space after teleporting.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
a) this is about game mechanics, not fluff. And I am not talking about Adventurer's League either.
b) Why is there a need to worship Auril to pull that stunt off? Players do way worse without having to change their alignment. By that logic the assassin subclass should be strictly prohibited. On the other hand, do you imply that every widow, who lost her husband to Umberlee, and thus joins her clergy in Baldur's Gate is of evil alignment per se? Hard to believe.
Their original question doesn't mention D&D Beyond, they're only asking about rules as written. So not sure what this has to do with the price of coffee.
They never said they were playing in AL and this is the AL subforum, so AL is irrelevant.
Yes, because nothing in the rules, be they the general rules or the rules of the boon itself prohibit Auril (First Form) as an option. The criteria are:
That's it, nothing about "you can't choose an FR god" or anything else.
They weren't asking about anything like that. The question was simply "When you teleport from point A to point B do you count as passing through the intervening space?" to which the answer was no.
I think maybe you failed to understand the question—they were asking about casting a spell such as Conjure Woodland Beings or Spirit Guardians (which creates a self-centered emanation) before then teleporting adjacent to a creature. Specifically if that would count as the emanation entering the creatures space (which it would). The spell doesn't "restart", it persists.
Also while those spells each require concentration, Boon of Fluid Forms does not.
(And AL is irrelevant)
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Maybe actually listen to what I'm saying instead of chopping it up to tear apart my metaphor.
There is a difference between Strict RAW as it would be interpreted offline, SUCH AS AT AL, vs what DND Beyond puts in lists because it arbitrarily fits a list criteria.
This is the Giant Fly familiar discourse by YouTuber & serial cloak & dagger, smoke & mirrors liar about WotC, DND, and RAW DND Shorts all over again.
If I hadn't blocked him, I'd have thunk this came from him.
Just because it's in a list on Beyond doesn't mean it's going to happen.
I don't think STRICT RAW would even allow the Auril transformation, since there is no RAW dealing with turning into a god, even an aspect of such. That form is ONLY in the list because of what kind of creature it's tagged as, not necessarily because it can be done.
OP is trying to rules lawyer that they can become a god, then abuse their powers, under the pretense of Auril's first form being in an arbitrary listing on Beyond.
Now, as for the Emanation....your interpretation is right, but OP's circumstances are EXTREMELY questionable for trying to get there.
DM, player & homebrewer(Current homebrew project is an unofficial conversion of SBURB/SGRUB from Homestuck into DND 5e)
Once made Maxwell's Silver Hammer come down upon Strahd's head to make sure he was dead.
Always study & sharpen philosophical razors. They save a lot of trouble.
DDB has nothing to do with this though. Is Auril (First Form) a Monstrosity? Yes. Does Auril (First Form) have a CR of 10 or lower? Yes. Is there any rule anywhere saying you can't shape-change into a "god" (note that "god" isn't a monster tag so that's not a rules concept)? No, nope, nowhere. Strict RAW Auril (First Form) would be a valid choice for Boon of Fluid Form unless you can point to a rule that says otherwise. What seems to be happening here is that you've just got a "feeling" that it shouldn't be allowed for no rules-grounded reason and you're going with that.
That's literally why it can be done.
Nope, not an "arbitrary listing on Beyond", that's literally what the stat block says in the physical book. Auril (First Form) is a CR 9 Monstrosity, see:
Can you point to any rule anywhere that would disqualify this stat block as a choice for Boon of Fluid Form?
Because honestly it seems like you just don't like the idea this works and are plucking at straws to shut it down.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Sunnyssundries I'm not sure if this reply helps, but here's an example comparing the wording for moving vs teleporting:
Cloud of Daggers: "you can take a Magic action to teleport the Cube up to 30 feet", and "A creature also takes this damage if it enters the Cube or ends its turn there or if the Cube moves into its space". So this isn't movement along a path from A to B.
For comparison, Moonbeam is different, since it explicitly moves rather than teleports:
Because of that, spells like Moonbeam, Cloudkill, Conjure Animals or Spirit Guardians should affect creatures along the path of movement, but only once per turn.
Now, for example, if you teleport while you have Spirit Guardians ("Range: Self" and Emanation spell) around you, it should still affect creatures when you reappear because "the Emanation enters a creature’s space", like you and Davyd mentioned earlier.
Dungeon Master's Guide
Rules Rely on Good-Faith Interpretation. The rules assume that everyone reading and interpreting the rules has the interests of the group’s fun at heart and is reading the rules in that light.
Outlining these principles can help hold players’ exploits at bay. If a player persistently tries to twist the rules of the game, have a conversation with that player outside the game and ask them to stop.
Accessing a God's form via this boon feels like bad-faith interpretation of the rules.
& the transform into Named NPCs via Epic Boon, Giant Fly from an item/Named NPC Familiars, & named/singular creature/NPC 2014 Conjure spell targets aren't the only case of bad-faith interpretation of rules due to the dev team's parameters that Beyond has enabled.
DM, player & homebrewer(Current homebrew project is an unofficial conversion of SBURB/SGRUB from Homestuck into DND 5e)
Once made Maxwell's Silver Hammer come down upon Strahd's head to make sure he was dead.
Always study & sharpen philosophical razors. They save a lot of trouble.
Sunnyssundries Also, this reply (more threads below) has a really clear explanation comparing a few different wordings:
Where's the bad faith thought? There's no rules-bending. No weird use of grammar or syntax. It's a literal, simple reading of the rules. The rules allowing something you don't like doesn't make it bad faith (and tbh trying to suggest this is a bad faith reading ironically seems like a bad faith application of that principle from the DMG). We're not talking about whether or not a player should be allowed to do this or asserting there's nothing a DM could do to say no. A DM can put on their grown-up pants and say "While this would be allowed per the rules, I'm not going to allow it because [insert a reason that's hopefully reasonable].
The fact you've pivoted from "RAW doesn't allow this" to "This is a bad faith interpretation of the rules" kinda suggests you're coming at this with your gut rather than any actual rules foundation.
You keep trying to pin the blame on DDB which is really weird. Nothing about this is to do with D&D Beyond. That's such a bizarre take it just further calls into question your responses and their validity.
You have a personal opinion that "gods" shouldn't be a valid choice for Boon of Fluid Form, which is an epic level boon by the way, the highest tier of game reward. That's a valid opinion to have and one you are free to enforce as a DM. You don't need to be misleading about the rules to support it, your opinion can stand on its own two feet without the rules supporting it.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
Don’t most emanations that do this have language about only taking the damage the first time on a turn? I’m just going off memory here, so I might be wrong. So if you’re teleporting around, it’s going to be all on the same turn, right?
So I’d think that would disallow this tactic.
I guess someone might grab you and dimension door from one side of an enemy to another to try and proc the damage again. But I’m not going to hold my breath waiting for someone to use their action and a 4th level spell slot for that. And if they did, I’d point to the old good faith reading section of the DMG.
Nope!
The idea is that the Auril‘s first form has Teleportation as a legendary action (3/round). And legendary actions are taken at other players‘/monsters‘ turn.
Thus the idea is to utilise CWB/SG up to five times in one round. Move action(60ft fly speed), and/or bonus action Misty Step (at will) at player‘s own turn, plus ready action resulting in another up to 60ft fly, and 3 legendary action teleports out of player‘s own turn.
Oh, I see.
In that case, you're using a '24 power to change into a '14 creature, so, yeah, things might get wonky. It could be RAW. But it's a real edge case. I'm not going to hold my breath waiting for someone to actually try it in game. (Not to mention the character doing it would be at least 19th level, which few play at, and honestly, this wouldn't be all that crazy at that point in the game.) But, if I were DM'ing, I'd probably just say, nope, it doesn't work. Teleportation is instantaneous, and the gap isn't long enough to count as leaving and entering again. But, of course, you do what's right for your table.
A gap is a gap, whether it is 1 turn, 1 second, 1 nanosecond. Thus, that‘s your own interpretation.
Well, not if the gap is 0.