You learn the magic of the primeval woods, which are revered and protected by your people. You learn one druid cantrip of your choice. You also learn the longstrider and pass without trace spells, each of which you can cast once without expending a spell slot. You regain the ability to cast these two spells in this way when you finish a long rest. Wisdom is your spellcasting ability for all three spells.
So o have a wood elf durid and I picked this spell to get a extra cantrip and the ability to cast those two spells for free once per long rest, my question is does this mean I always have those spells prepared because of the feat? It does say you lean the spells so I know you can cast then normally with one of your spell slots (like if you were a wizard that doesn't normally get the pass without trace spell) so would my druid always get those two spells prepared without having to prep them for that day?
The short answer is "no" - if you wish to cast these spells using spell slots, you will need to prepare them as normal.
The feat Wood Elf Magic does exactly what it says, no more, no less - this is how the D&D rules are written.
"You also learn the longstrider and pass without trace spells"
This means that your character has knowledge of these spells and they are effectively added to the spell list for the character. It doesn't say anything about them being automatically prepared, as any class can take this feat and different classes have different spellcasting mechanics.
"each of which you can cast once without expending a spell slot."
You can cast longstrider once and you can cast pass without trace once, without the need to use spell slots.
"You regain the ability to cast these two spells in this way when you finish a long rest. Wisdom is your spellcasting ability for all three spells."
The spells, though being known, don't have a class associated with them. That means that they don't count as "your druid spells" as well as not being prepared. Even if they were spells on your class list and you were a spells known class (such as ranger), they would remain non-castable with slots.
Ok so after a bit more research because everyone who posted on here looked at the wrong rules, these spells count as "wood elf spells" and they are "learned". It acts similar to multiclass spell casting in witch different classes know and prep spells in different ways, some classes always have all there learned spells prepared, others know all there spells and have to pick what spells they have prepared.
In the case of things like wood elf magic those two spells count as prepared so you can cast them each once for free, furthermore because they are LEARNED spells if you have a spell slot of a apporite level to cast them with you can use that you cast those prepared spells additional times.
However this is not the case with some feat and race spells looking at a tieflings "you may cast hellish rebuke once as a second level spell" as it does not say the spell is learned or known so it is not prepared and it is not on any of your spell lists meaning you dont know it actually works when you do something like that you just do it
Research where? The relevant text (the rules text) is exactly as presented. "Learned" != "Prepared" and nothing in the feat indicates that the spells count as prepared (or are in the list of "your druid spells" - which are the only spells that a druid can use slots on, as I pointed out before); the only thing that might say that is the wishful interpretation of some other author. There is even a clarification in sage advice.
I think the OP is referring to the text under character classes.
Bards: "The Spells Known column of the Bard table shows when you learn more bard spells of your choice."
Sorcerer: "The Spells Known column of the Sorcerer table shows when you learn more sorcerer spells of your choice."
Wood Elf feat: "You learn one druid cantrip of your choice. You also learn the longstrider and pass without trace spells"
The OP is asking what is the difference between spells learned by bards and sorcerers which can certainly be cast with spell slots and spells learned using the wood elf magic feat which most of the replies indicate can't be cast with spell slots.
The wording is the same. The character "learns" the spells either through the spell-casting class feature or through the feat.
Magic Initiate uses different and more explicit wording: "In addition, choose one 1st-level spell from that same list. You learn that spell and can cast it at its lowest level. Once you cast it, you must finish a long rest before you can cast it again."
In the case of magic initiate, you may have learned the spell but the text explicitly states that you can only cast it at its lowest level and once you have cast it you must finish a long rest before casting it again. It doesn't matter if you might have been able to cast it with a spell slot since the feat is explicit in preventing you from casting it again.
This wording is missing from the wood elf magic feat. You learn the spells. You can cast them once each for free. It makes no statement about casting the spells with spell slots and since it uses the same wording as the spellcasting class features which can certainly cast any learned spell with a spell slot, I think there is a reasonable justification (or at least room for interpretation) to allow the spells granted by the wood elf magic feat to be castable with spell slots.
Well, as I pointed out, you can only spend slots on spells associated with one of your spell casting classes (per RAW). The feat does not associate any of these spells with any class, so they aren't fair game for slots. To be clear, there is no sentence that says "these spells count as druid spells for you."
As covered in the other thread, there is no rule text in the core rules that would suggest that these spells are not the class spells of the class spell lists on which they appear, merely because you learned them from a racial feat. There is no such thing as an “elf spell.”
feats and features that give you spells that CANT be used as class spells do that by letting you “cast” them using the feat without providing that you “learned” or “know” them. If you DO learn a spell, and that spell appears on a classes spell list, and you have the spellcasting feature of that class, then there is no rules text in core that suggests you cannot cast (and prepare, if necessary) that spell using your class spellcasting feature in addition to whatever mechanism the feat provides.
And as discussed and detailed at length in that same thread, your spellcasting class/multiclass feature says exactly what spells you can cast with slots (hint: the answer is not "every spell on my class spell list." ).
If you are saying that a druid needs to prepare the spells, I agree.
right, you can cast the spells on your class list that you know. So if a feat let’s you know a spell, and that spell appears on the class list of your spellcasting class, then you can cast it with spell slots per the rules of your spellcasting feature.
And yes, the Druid spellcasting feature requires known spells to be prepared in order to use slots. Druid and cleric already know all the spells on their class list, so meh, not much at stake in this particular context.
No. Reread the spellcasting feature closely. Your interpretation is not only different from Jeremy Crawford and therefore the SAC, it is different from them because it is different from RAW -- which is the real problem with most of your wrong conclusions; not that they're different from SAC, but that being different from SAC almost invariably means that they are different from THE RULES as laid out in the core rulebooks.
The spells you can cast with slots are the subset of spells from your class list that you select to prepare or know with one of your class features or spells that otherwise designate themselves as counting as coming from a class for you (and they must be cast with the spell casting ability of the class they are associated with). They are not any spell on your class list that you know. I have repeatedly pointed out the actual text of actual rules on this topic. You are wrong.
There therefore must be such a thing as an elf spell, it is a spell that comes from an elf racial feature and doesn't say that these spells count as X class for you.
Yeah, it doesn’t say that, which is why you didn’t use a quote. Anyway, I’m aware no one agrees, was just presenting my view on RAW core text, your objection is noted.
"You prepare the list of druid spells that are available for you to cast, choosing from the druid spell list."
"Wisdom is your spellcasting ability for your druid spells, since your magic draws upon your devotion and attunement to nature."
The rules clearly refer to a separate list that is not "the druid spell list" which are the spells a particular druid can cast. It is pretty obvious. You, on the other hand cannot quote text indicating that you can select spell casting abilities for spells you know, or indicating that spells not associated with a class are fair to cast with slots.
Using Druid is nonsensical, since “your Druid spells” equals the entire Druid spell list. Let’s use sorcerer.
The disagreement comes down to whether “your Sorcerer spells” means “spells on the sorcerer spell list that you know, no matter how you came to know them” or “spells on the sorcerer spell list that you know only by virtue of taking levels in sorcerer or Magic Initiate (Sorcerer)”. I’m reading it the first way, you’re reading it the second, your way is reasonable but not spelled out explicitly in any rules text so instead I am reading it the first way since it requires less unwritten rule text.
So, if you're not using some spell slot to cast it (assuming your DM allows you to use a spell slot to cast it), is Longstrider always cast at level 1?
So, if you're not using some spell slot to cast it (assuming your DM allows you to use a spell slot to cast it), is Longstrider always cast at level 1?
Yes, any spells cast without spell slots are always at their lowest possible level unless something specifically states the level of the casting (for example, wands with spells that state what level the spell is or provide options for upcasting like wand of fireballs)
Magic Initiate If you’re a spellcaster, can you pick your own class when you gain the Magic Initiate feat? Yes, the feat doesn’t say you can’t. For example, if you’re a wizard and gain the Magic Initiate feat, you can choose wizard and thereby learn two more wizard cantrips and another 1st-level wizard spell.
If you have spell slots, can you use them to cast the 1st-level spell you learn with the Magic Initiate feat? Yes, but only if the class you pick for the feat is one of your classes. For example, if you pick sorcerer and you are a sorcerer, the Spellcasting feature for that class tells you that you can use your spell slots to cast the sorcerer spells you know, so you can use your spell slots to cast the 1st-level sorcerer spell you learn from Magic Initiate. Similarly, if you are a wizard and pick that class for the feat, you learn a 1st-level wizard spell, which you could add to your spellbook and subse- quently prepare. In short, you must follow your character’s normal spellcasting rules, which determine whether you can expend spell slots on the 1st-level spell you learn from Magic Initiate.
We're aware of the Sage Advice. It is not pertinent to this topic. Racial spells are racial spells, not class spells; they cannot be cast using spell slots.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
So wood elf magic does this (found in xanthars)
You learn the magic of the primeval woods, which are revered and protected by your people. You learn one druid cantrip of your choice. You also learn the longstrider and pass without trace spells, each of which you can cast once without expending a spell slot. You regain the ability to cast these two spells in this way when you finish a long rest. Wisdom is your spellcasting ability for all three spells.
So o have a wood elf durid and I picked this spell to get a extra cantrip and the ability to cast those two spells for free once per long rest, my question is does this mean I always have those spells prepared because of the feat? It does say you lean the spells so I know you can cast then normally with one of your spell slots (like if you were a wizard that doesn't normally get the pass without trace spell) so would my druid always get those two spells prepared without having to prep them for that day?
The short answer is "no" - if you wish to cast these spells using spell slots, you will need to prepare them as normal.
The feat Wood Elf Magic does exactly what it says, no more, no less - this is how the D&D rules are written.
"You also learn the longstrider and pass without trace spells"
This means that your character has knowledge of these spells and they are effectively added to the spell list for the character. It doesn't say anything about them being automatically prepared, as any class can take this feat and different classes have different spellcasting mechanics.
"each of which you can cast once without expending a spell slot."
You can cast longstrider once and you can cast pass without trace once, without the need to use spell slots.
"You regain the ability to cast these two spells in this way when you finish a long rest. Wisdom is your spellcasting ability for all three spells."
Deals with "recharge" of this feat.
I hope that helps!
Pun-loving nerd | Faith Elisabeth Lilley | She/Her/Hers | Profile art by Becca Golins
If you need help with homebrew, please post on the homebrew forums, where multiple staff and moderators can read your post and help you!
"We got this, no problem! I'll take the twenty on the left - you guys handle the one on the right!"🔊
Basically it says you know them - not that you prepare them.
Mega Yahtzee Thread:
Highest 41: brocker2001 (#11,285).
Yahtzee of 2's: Emmber (#36,161).
Lowest 9: JoeltheWalrus (#312), Emmber (#12,505) and Dertinus (#20,953).
The spells, though being known, don't have a class associated with them. That means that they don't count as "your druid spells" as well as not being prepared. Even if they were spells on your class list and you were a spells known class (such as ranger), they would remain non-castable with slots.
Ok so after a bit more research because everyone who posted on here looked at the wrong rules, these spells count as "wood elf spells" and they are "learned". It acts similar to multiclass spell casting in witch different classes know and prep spells in different ways, some classes always have all there learned spells prepared, others know all there spells and have to pick what spells they have prepared.
In the case of things like wood elf magic those two spells count as prepared so you can cast them each once for free, furthermore because they are LEARNED spells if you have a spell slot of a apporite level to cast them with you can use that you cast those prepared spells additional times.
However this is not the case with some feat and race spells looking at a tieflings "you may cast hellish rebuke once as a second level spell" as it does not say the spell is learned or known so it is not prepared and it is not on any of your spell lists meaning you dont know it actually works when you do something like that you just do it
Research where? The relevant text (the rules text) is exactly as presented. "Learned" != "Prepared" and nothing in the feat indicates that the spells count as prepared (or are in the list of "your druid spells" - which are the only spells that a druid can use slots on, as I pointed out before); the only thing that might say that is the wishful interpretation of some other author. There is even a clarification in sage advice.
I think the OP is referring to the text under character classes.
Bards: "The Spells Known column of the Bard table shows when you learn more bard spells of your choice."
Sorcerer: "The Spells Known column of the Sorcerer table shows when you learn more sorcerer spells of your choice."
Wood Elf feat: "You learn one druid cantrip of your choice. You also learn the longstrider and pass without trace spells"
The OP is asking what is the difference between spells learned by bards and sorcerers which can certainly be cast with spell slots and spells learned using the wood elf magic feat which most of the replies indicate can't be cast with spell slots.
The wording is the same. The character "learns" the spells either through the spell-casting class feature or through the feat.
Magic Initiate uses different and more explicit wording: "In addition, choose one 1st-level spell from that same list. You learn that spell and can cast it at its lowest level. Once you cast it, you must finish a long rest before you can cast it again."
In the case of magic initiate, you may have learned the spell but the text explicitly states that you can only cast it at its lowest level and once you have cast it you must finish a long rest before casting it again. It doesn't matter if you might have been able to cast it with a spell slot since the feat is explicit in preventing you from casting it again.
This wording is missing from the wood elf magic feat. You learn the spells. You can cast them once each for free. It makes no statement about casting the spells with spell slots and since it uses the same wording as the spellcasting class features which can certainly cast any learned spell with a spell slot, I think there is a reasonable justification (or at least room for interpretation) to allow the spells granted by the wood elf magic feat to be castable with spell slots.
Well, as I pointed out, you can only spend slots on spells associated with one of your spell casting classes (per RAW). The feat does not associate any of these spells with any class, so they aren't fair game for slots. To be clear, there is no sentence that says "these spells count as druid spells for you."
As covered in the other thread, there is no rule text in the core rules that would suggest that these spells are not the class spells of the class spell lists on which they appear, merely because you learned them from a racial feat. There is no such thing as an “elf spell.”
feats and features that give you spells that CANT be used as class spells do that by letting you “cast” them using the feat without providing that you “learned” or “know” them. If you DO learn a spell, and that spell appears on a classes spell list, and you have the spellcasting feature of that class, then there is no rules text in core that suggests you cannot cast (and prepare, if necessary) that spell using your class spellcasting feature in addition to whatever mechanism the feat provides.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
And as discussed and detailed at length in that same thread, your spellcasting class/multiclass feature says exactly what spells you can cast with slots (hint: the answer is not "every spell on my class spell list." ).
If you are saying that a druid needs to prepare the spells, I agree.
right, you can cast the spells on your class list that you know. So if a feat let’s you know a spell, and that spell appears on the class list of your spellcasting class, then you can cast it with spell slots per the rules of your spellcasting feature.
And yes, the Druid spellcasting feature requires known spells to be prepared in order to use slots. Druid and cleric already know all the spells on their class list, so meh, not much at stake in this particular context.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
No. Reread the spellcasting feature closely. Your interpretation is not only different from Jeremy Crawford and therefore the SAC, it is different from them because it is different from RAW -- which is the real problem with most of your wrong conclusions; not that they're different from SAC, but that being different from SAC almost invariably means that they are different from THE RULES as laid out in the core rulebooks.
The spells you can cast with slots are the subset of spells from your class list that you select to prepare or know with one of your class features or spells that otherwise designate themselves as counting as coming from a class for you (and they must be cast with the spell casting ability of the class they are associated with). They are not any spell on your class list that you know. I have repeatedly pointed out the actual text of actual rules on this topic. You are wrong.
There therefore must be such a thing as an elf spell, it is a spell that comes from an elf racial feature and doesn't say that these spells count as X class for you.
Yeah, it doesn’t say that, which is why you didn’t use a quote. Anyway, I’m aware no one agrees, was just presenting my view on RAW core text, your objection is noted.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Request granted.
"You prepare the list of druid spells that are available for you to cast, choosing from the druid spell list."
"Wisdom is your spellcasting ability for your druid spells, since your magic draws upon your devotion and attunement to nature."
The rules clearly refer to a separate list that is not "the druid spell list" which are the spells a particular druid can cast. It is pretty obvious. You, on the other hand cannot quote text indicating that you can select spell casting abilities for spells you know, or indicating that spells not associated with a class are fair to cast with slots.
Using Druid is nonsensical, since “your Druid spells” equals the entire Druid spell list. Let’s use sorcerer.
The disagreement comes down to whether “your Sorcerer spells” means “spells on the sorcerer spell list that you know, no matter how you came to know them” or “spells on the sorcerer spell list that you know only by virtue of taking levels in sorcerer or Magic Initiate (Sorcerer)”. I’m reading it the first way, you’re reading it the second, your way is reasonable but not spelled out explicitly in any rules text so instead I am reading it the first way since it requires less unwritten rule text.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
I give up. I'm certain that this is obvious in the spellcasting feature, and they double down on the wording in multiclassing rules.
So, if you're not using some spell slot to cast it (assuming your DM allows you to use a spell slot to cast it), is Longstrider always cast at level 1?
Yes, any spells cast without spell slots are always at their lowest possible level unless something specifically states the level of the casting (for example, wands with spells that state what level the spell is or provide options for upcasting like wand of fireballs)
Sage Advice Compendium Page 8.
Magic Initiate
If you’re a spellcaster, can you pick your own class when you gain the Magic Initiate feat?
Yes, the feat doesn’t say you can’t. For example, if you’re a wizard and gain the Magic Initiate feat, you can choose wizard and thereby learn two more wizard cantrips and another 1st-level wizard spell.
If you have spell slots, can you use them to cast the 1st-level spell you learn with the Magic Initiate feat?
Yes, but only if the class you pick for the feat is one of your classes. For example, if you pick sorcerer and you are a sorcerer, the Spellcasting feature for that class tells you that you can use your spell slots to cast the sorcerer spells you know, so you can use your spell slots to cast the 1st-level sorcerer spell you learn from Magic Initiate. Similarly, if you are a wizard and pick that class for the feat, you learn a 1st-level wizard spell, which you could add to your spellbook and subse- quently prepare.
In short, you must follow your character’s normal spellcasting rules, which determine whether you can expend spell slots on the 1st-level spell you learn from Magic Initiate.
We're aware of the Sage Advice. It is not pertinent to this topic. Racial spells are racial spells, not class spells; they cannot be cast using spell slots.
You don't know what fear is until you've witnessed a drunk bird divebombing you while carrying a screaming Kobold throwing fire anywhere and everywhere.