You cannot use movement to manipulate the area an attack would cover. For example, in the case presented above, the dragon could move to cover an optimal area that's 60 x 5 ft., but it couldn't move while using it's breath weapon to affect an area bigger than 60 x 5 ft.
I think the only issue with this is if you're doing it mechanically. If it fires off a 60x5ft line of acid as it's flying, that's fine. But if this would cause that 60x5ft line to become a sort of reverse 60ft cone, then it breaks the weapon. The point I'm trying to get across is that it would need to be a single blast, not a continued breath as it travels.
If you're asking if the dragon can only use the weapon when facing forward, then I don't think that would be the case. A dragon can turn its head, so I'd say use your best judgement as to how far to the side it can shoot the breath weapon. It may not be able to shoot backwards, but nothing in D&D really limits you from turning around (unless maybe you're restrained or something), so it could just fly in place to turn and shoot where it needs to.
Sorry I wasn't clear, I'm not trying to make the breath weapon bigger.
I'll try and paint a picture. The Party are positioned foolishly in a vertical line on the map. The Dragon flies above them traveling in a vertical line on the map, say at a height of 10 ft, and breaths a line of acid 60 x 5 ft, can it hit the party who are foolishly in a line?
You can break up your movement on your turn, using some of your speed before and after your action. For example, if you have a speed of 30 feet, you can move 10 feet, take your action, and then move 20 feet.
Moving Between Attacks
If you take an action that includes more than one weapon attack, you can break up your movement even further by moving between those attacks. For example, a fighter who can make two attacks with the Extra Attack feature and who has a speed of 25 feet could move 10 feet, make an attack, move 15 feet, and then attack again.
Using Different Speeds
If you have more than one speed, such as your walking speed and a flying speed, you can switch back and forth between your speeds during your move. Whenever you switch, subtract the distance you've already moved from the new speed. The result determines how much farther you can move. If the result is 0 or less, you can't use the new speed during the current move.
For example, if you have a speed of 30 and a flying speed of 60 because a wizard cast the fly spell on you, you could fly 20 feet, then walk 10 feet, and then leap into the air to fly 30 feet more.
Sorry I wasn't clear, I'm not trying to make the breath weapon bigger.
I'll try and paint a picture. The Party are positioned foolishly in a vertical line on the map. The Dragon flies above them traveling in a vertical line on the map, say at a height of 10 ft, and breaths a line of acid 60 x 5 ft, can it hit the party who are foolishly in a line?
Technically you might have to land, breath the line attack, and then take off again depending on how close the first target is because of the slight altitude. But yes a dragon can (and should!) totally do that, and then even continue flying if they have movement left.
Edit: Technically you don’t “strafe” you pause, line ability, and then continue flying. But thematically and narratively you can describe it as strafing.
It is iconic and imagination inspiring. You aren't making the breath weapon cover greater area, just changing how it is applied. You should totally do it that way.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
You (or rather, the dragon) most certainly can! Nothing says that the dragpn can't attack to the sides of the direction it's facing. And since the attack doesn't require the dragon to land it can also continue flying.
You (or rather, the dragon) most certainly can! Nothing says that the dragpn can't attack to the sides of the direction it's facing. And since the attack doesn't require the dragon to land it can also continue flying.
There is no facing in D&D 5e, and the rule for Line Attacks such as breath weapons follow the same rules as line attacks such as Lightning Bolt, and the rules for those specify the point of origins is one end of the line.
You (or rather, the dragon) most certainly can! Nothing says that the dragpn can't attack to the sides of the direction it's facing. And since the attack doesn't require the dragon to land it can also continue flying.
There is no facing in D&D 5e, and the rule for Line Attacks such as breath weapons follow the same rules as line attacks such as Lightning Bolt, and the rules for those specify the point of origins is one end of the line.
I would 100% allow this in any game I play. It fits the rules and is freakin awesome. No worrys. I pity your players. Even force them into a straight line 5 feet wide by having them in a few foot deep ravine with no way to climb out (medival barbed wire?) to magnify the deadliness.
IamSposta is correct, the rules for line attacks basically means you can't do a super cool strafing attack with a line dragon breath weapon.
Thematically it would look cooler than the dragon landing, breathing a line and then flying away so I'll allow the strafing in my game and shorten the breath weapon based on the height of the dragon from the party.
Obviously, if the PCs have a similar spell I'd allow the same thing. I prefer things to look cool even if the rules say no.
IamSposta is correct, the rules for line attacks basically means you can't do a super cool strafing attack with a line dragon breath weapon.
Thematically it would look cooler than the dragon landing, breathing a line and then flying away so I'll allow the strafing in my game and shorten the breath weapon based on the height of the dragon from the party.
Obviously, if the PCs have a similar spell I'd allow the same thing. I prefer things to look cool even if the rules say no.
Thanks for all the responses guys!
I'm still not certain we know what you mean when you are saying strafing here.
A dragon can use its breath weapon when on land or when flying - no restriction. You can move before or after the breath, but can't move during because it is an instantaneous effect.
A creature making a line attack can choose a point of origin anywhere within or on the edge of the space(s) it occupies (or another point within the range of the spell if the line starts elsewhere). The creature can then choose any direction for that line including up or down or any three-dimensional diagonal vector. The creature can choose to be hit by its own line attack, but usually chooses not to.
If the targets are positioned in a line (vertical or otherwise) and the dragon can use its movement to get any part of the spaces it occupies to align with that line then it will be able to direct its breath attack to hit everyone in the line. The breath fills the full 60ft line, but if it is pointing up or down or diagonally vertical, then the line will be shorter when viewed on a 2D map (or it might hit the ground and stop).
Considering how long ago the question was asked, I am not sure they are looking to elaborate further at this point.
How odd. I don't know how this topic came to be on the front page of my view of the forum of there's no responses since that long ago. I was hardly trawling through ancient posts looking for a conversation to contribute to. Huh.
My party is about to fight an Adult Black Dragon and according to the rules "the dragon can exhale acid in a 60-foot line that is 5 feet wide."
So my question is - can the Dragon flyby the PCs, turn its head and exhale acid in a 60-foot line that is 5 feet wide and keep flying?
Or does a Dragon with a Breath Weapon that is a Line always have to be in front of the PCs and breath forward.
You cannot use movement to manipulate the area an attack would cover. For example, in the case presented above, the dragon could move to cover an optimal area that's 60 x 5 ft., but it couldn't move while using it's breath weapon to affect an area bigger than 60 x 5 ft.
Find my D&D Beyond articles here
I think the only issue with this is if you're doing it mechanically. If it fires off a 60x5ft line of acid as it's flying, that's fine. But if this would cause that 60x5ft line to become a sort of reverse 60ft cone, then it breaks the weapon. The point I'm trying to get across is that it would need to be a single blast, not a continued breath as it travels.
If you're asking if the dragon can only use the weapon when facing forward, then I don't think that would be the case. A dragon can turn its head, so I'd say use your best judgement as to how far to the side it can shoot the breath weapon. It may not be able to shoot backwards, but nothing in D&D really limits you from turning around (unless maybe you're restrained or something), so it could just fly in place to turn and shoot where it needs to.
How to add tooltips on dndbeyond
Sorry I wasn't clear, I'm not trying to make the breath weapon bigger.
I'll try and paint a picture.
The Party are positioned foolishly in a vertical line on the map.
The Dragon flies above them traveling in a vertical line on the map, say at a height of 10 ft, and breaths a line of acid 60 x 5 ft, can it hit the party who are foolishly in a line?
Breaking Up Your Move
You can break up your movement on your turn, using some of your speed before and after your action. For example, if you have a speed of 30 feet, you can move 10 feet, take your action, and then move 20 feet.
Moving Between Attacks
If you take an action that includes more than one weapon attack, you can break up your movement even further by moving between those attacks. For example, a fighter who can make two attacks with the Extra Attack feature and who has a speed of 25 feet could move 10 feet, make an attack, move 15 feet, and then attack again.
Using Different Speeds
If you have more than one speed, such as your walking speed and a flying speed, you can switch back and forth between your speeds during your move. Whenever you switch, subtract the distance you've already moved from the new speed. The result determines how much farther you can move. If the result is 0 or less, you can't use the new speed during the current move.
For example, if you have a speed of 30 and a flying speed of 60 because a wizard cast the fly spell on you, you could fly 20 feet, then walk 10 feet, and then leap into the air to fly 30 feet more.
Technically you might have to land, breath the line attack, and then take off again depending on how close the first target is because of the slight altitude. But yes a dragon can (and should!) totally do that, and then even continue flying if they have movement left.
Edit: Technically you don’t “strafe” you pause, line ability, and then continue flying. But thematically and narratively you can describe it as strafing.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Thematically, YES do it!
It is iconic and imagination inspiring. You aren't making the breath weapon cover greater area, just changing how it is applied. You should totally do it that way.
"Sooner or later, your Players are going to smash your railroad into a sandbox."
-Vedexent
"real life is a super high CR."
-OboeLauren
"............anybody got any potatoes? We could drop a potato in each hole an' see which ones get viciously mauled by horrible monsters?"
-Ilyara Thundertale
You (or rather, the dragon) most certainly can! Nothing says that the dragpn can't attack to the sides of the direction it's facing. And since the attack doesn't require the dragon to land it can also continue flying.
There is no facing in D&D 5e, and the rule for Line Attacks such as breath weapons follow the same rules as line attacks such as Lightning Bolt, and the rules for those specify the point of origins is one end of the line.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Exactly the point I was making.
I would 100% allow this in any game I play. It fits the rules and is freakin awesome. No worrys. I pity your players. Even force them into a straight line 5 feet wide by having them in a few foot deep ravine with no way to climb out (medival barbed wire?) to magnify the deadliness.
Proud poster on the Create a World thread
IamSposta is correct, the rules for line attacks basically means you can't do a super cool strafing attack with a line dragon breath weapon.
Thematically it would look cooler than the dragon landing, breathing a line and then flying away so I'll allow the strafing in my game and shorten the breath weapon based on the height of the dragon from the party.
Obviously, if the PCs have a similar spell I'd allow the same thing. I prefer things to look cool even if the rules say no.
Thanks for all the responses guys!
I'm still not certain we know what you mean when you are saying strafing here.
A dragon can use its breath weapon when on land or when flying - no restriction. You can move before or after the breath, but can't move during because it is an instantaneous effect.
A creature making a line attack can choose a point of origin anywhere within or on the edge of the space(s) it occupies (or another point within the range of the spell if the line starts elsewhere). The creature can then choose any direction for that line including up or down or any three-dimensional diagonal vector. The creature can choose to be hit by its own line attack, but usually chooses not to.
If the targets are positioned in a line (vertical or otherwise) and the dragon can use its movement to get any part of the spaces it occupies to align with that line then it will be able to direct its breath attack to hit everyone in the line. The breath fills the full 60ft line, but if it is pointing up or down or diagonally vertical, then the line will be shorter when viewed on a 2D map (or it might hit the ground and stop).
Considering how long ago the question was asked, I am not sure they are looking to elaborate further at this point.
She/Her Player and Dungeon Master
How odd. I don't know how this topic came to be on the front page of my view of the forum of there's no responses since that long ago. I was hardly trawling through ancient posts looking for a conversation to contribute to. Huh.
I have had few odd forums issues as of late so I am not too surprised.
She/Her Player and Dungeon Master