1) Can a spellcaster cast a spell and use one hand to do all of the following at the same time: Somatic, Material Components, and divine focus?
2) With Ritual Caster: Can a spellcaster cast a spell and use one hand to do all of the following at the same time: Hold ritual book, Somatic, and material components? (I assume this answer is same as above since the ritual book is similar to a divine focus).
1. Kind of. You don’t need both material components From a component pouch and a divine focus, just one or the other (the exception is if a component has a specific cost attached, then you need it specifically) but you can perform somatic gestures with the same hand you use for the focus/components. 2. as above
3 and 4. No. The hand must be empty, unless you have the warcaster feat.
So basically, you can have a weapon in one hand and nothing in the other, or a shield in one hand and nothing in the other. But you can only have a weapon and shield if you have warcaster. There are some ways around that by using your free item interaction, to all but juggle, but imo, it’s a real hassle. Alt, warcaster is a really solid feat for any melee caster either way.
1. Kind of. You don’t need both material components From a component pouch and a divine focus, just one or the other (the exception is if a component has a specific cost attached, then you need it specifically) but you can perform somatic gestures with the same hand you use for the focus/components.
One caveat, if the spell requires any material components with a specific cost, they must be pulled out independently from your Spellcasting focus, so that requires the “use an item” action (or free item interaction), but if you have to pull out both that material and your focus you would not be able to cast it in the same turn. If your focus is already out, you can use your free item interaction to pull out the specific component and still cast that turn.
1. Kind of. You don’t need both material components From a component pouch and a divine focus, just one or the other (the exception is if a component has a specific cost attached, then you need it specifically) but you can perform somatic gestures with the same hand you use for the focus/components. 2. as above
3 and 4. No. The hand must be empty, unless you have the warcaster feat.
So basically, you can have a weapon in one hand and nothing in the other, or a shield in one hand and nothing in the other. But you can only have a weapon and shield if you have warcaster. There are some ways around that by using your free item interaction, to all but juggle, but imo, it’s a real hassle. Alt, warcaster is a really solid feat for any melee caster either way.
Also if you're a Cleric/Paladin you can have your holy symbol on your shield. Away from PHB and don't have it purchased here or id link it. But look in the Equipment section.
This argument spins out of control every time it happens, but I can't pass a good fight up.
A spell focus explicitly says that it can be held in a hand used to perform somatic components. It does not say "if and only if the spell also involves a material component," it just says:
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components -- or to hold a spellcasting focus -- but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
Don't let people (even Jeremy Crawford) try to convince you that there are secret unwritten rules in play that make that sentence not mean what it clearly means: S, VS, MS, VMS spells are a cinch, as long as long as you're holding a spell focus, and as long as there's no special Material components that can't be subbed by the spell focus.
Wizard holding a quarterstaff in one hand, and a spell focus in the other? They can cast S spells just fine.
Cleric or Paladin holding a sword in one hand, and a shield with a holy symbol in the other? They can cast S spells just fine.
But, then what does Warcaster do??? Let's a caster cast S/VS spells with full hands that aren't holding a focus, gives advantage on con saves, lets you cast spells as reactions... lots really. Warcaster is a plenty robust and useful feat, without trying to turn it into a feat tax for clerics and paladins using an unwritten read-between-the-lines interpretation of the headings in the Spellcasting section.
This argument spins out of control every time it happens, but I can't pass a good fight up.
A spell focus explicitly says that it can be held in a hand used to perform somatic components. It does not say "if and only if the spell also involves a material component," it just says:
A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components -- or to hold a spellcasting focus -- but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
Don't let people (even Jeremy Crawford) try to convince you that there are secret unwritten rules in play that make that sentence not mean what it clearly means: S, VS, MS, VMS spells are a cinch, as long as long as you're holding a spell focus, and as long as there's no special Material components that can't be subbed by the spell focus.
Wizard holding a quarterstaff in one hand, and a spell focus in the other? They can cast S spells just fine.
Cleric or Paladin holding a sword in one hand, and a shield with a holy symbol in the other? They can cast S spells just fine.
But, then what does Warcaster do??? Let's a caster cast S/VS spells with full hands that aren't holding a focus, gives advantage on con saves, lets you cast spells as reactions... lots really. Warcaster is a plenty robust and useful feat, without trying to turn it into a feat tax for clerics and paladins using an unwritten read-between-the-lines interpretation of the headings in the Spellcasting section.
The world turns, the sun rises and sets, and this argument will be had again and again and again. I don't begrudge others their (incorrect) opinions on this matter, JC misunderstanding the 5E game system while afforded years of unsupervised twitter access has created a terrible minefield of traps for trusting players hungry for guidance... but words have meaning, and ""a spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components - or to hold a spellcasting focus - but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components" doesn't contain any twists or turns that invites any other interpretation than the one plain on its face. RAW is everything, unwritten RAI is an illusion or a lie, and a spell focus is truly as simple a tool to use as it appears at first blush :)
The world turns, the sun rises and sets, and this argument will be had again and again and again. I don't begrudge others their (incorrect) opinions on this matter, JC misunderstanding the 5E game system while afforded years of unsupervised twitter access has created a terrible minefield of traps for trusting players hungry for guidance... but words have meaning, and ""a spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components - or to hold a spellcasting focus - but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components" doesn't contain any twists or turns that invites any other interpretation than the one plain on its face. RAW is everything, unwritten RAI is an illusion or a lie, and a spell focus is truly as simple a tool to use as it appears at first blush :)
Except the only place that paragraph appears is in the components section under the heading “Material.” You have to include the whole section, not just the half of a paragraph you want to hang your false argument on:
Material (M)
Casting some spells requires particular objects, specified in parentheses in the component entry. A character can use a component pouch or a spellcasting focus (found in “Equipment”) in place of the components specified for a spell. But if a cost is indicated for a component, a character must have that specific component before he or she can cast the spell.
If a spell states that a material component is consumed by the spell, the caster must provide this component for each casting of the spell. A spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components -- or to hold a spellcasting focus -- but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components.
That’s how you know it only applies to spells that actually have Material Components.
Nah, just hold a spell focus, "it can be the same hand [used] to perform somatic components." The action economy isn't designed to make casters constantly need to be rifling through their pockets, and attempting to follow that (unwritten, wrong) rule will just slow your table down and annoy everyone .
The incorrect argument on this rule disregards what the general components rules say: component rules are requirements that must be met in order to cast a spell. With that text, you must treat a spell with only an S component as having the requirement "the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures." Having a hand that is occupied does not meet this requirement because, as is made obvious in the exception in the material component rules, the rules would tell you -- where it is relevant -- if you didn't actually need a free hand for S component spells. It is really rather simple to understand and can only be seriously and continuously misunderstood if you refuse to argue from any point of view except what you wish the rule was.
It is never wrong to limit applicability of rules to the game states that are listed in their text. It is always wrong to apply rules outside of their relevant game states.
Feel free to use your own house rule on this topic. Few think that it makes "in world" sense.
Sorry if I missed someone explaining it but. Does the same, free hand rule, count towards Blood Hunters? And if so, is it for all of their spells or just certain kinds? For example, you don't need a free hand to cast Crimson Rite but you do need a free hand for Blood Curses.
Those are class features, not spells. Spells are only the things in the spells chapter that you gain access through the Spellcasting or Pact Magic class features (or occasionally a race or feat).
1) Can a spellcaster cast a spell and use one hand to do all of the following at the same time: Somatic, Material Components, and divine focus?
2) With Ritual Caster: Can a spellcaster cast a spell and use one hand to do all of the following at the same time: Hold ritual book, Somatic, and material components? (I assume this answer is same as above since the ritual book is similar to a divine focus).
3) Can example 1 work with a shield on same hand?
4) Can example 2 work with a shield on same hand?
1. Kind of. You don’t need both material components From a component pouch and a divine focus, just one or the other (the exception is if a component has a specific cost attached, then you need it specifically) but you can perform somatic gestures with the same hand you use for the focus/components.
2. as above
3 and 4. No. The hand must be empty, unless you have the warcaster feat.
So basically, you can have a weapon in one hand and nothing in the other, or a shield in one hand and nothing in the other. But you can only have a weapon and shield if you have warcaster.
There are some ways around that by using your free item interaction, to all but juggle, but imo, it’s a real hassle. Alt, warcaster is a really solid feat for any melee caster either way.
Cool! Thank you for your help!
One caveat, if the spell requires any material components with a specific cost, they must be pulled out independently from your Spellcasting focus, so that requires the “use an item” action (or free item interaction), but if you have to pull out both that material and your focus you would not be able to cast it in the same turn. If your focus is already out, you can use your free item interaction to pull out the specific component and still cast that turn.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Also if you're a Cleric/Paladin you can have your holy symbol on your shield. Away from PHB and don't have it purchased here or id link it. But look in the Equipment section.
This argument spins out of control every time it happens, but I can't pass a good fight up.
A spell focus explicitly says that it can be held in a hand used to perform somatic components. It does not say "if and only if the spell also involves a material component," it just says:
Don't let people (even Jeremy Crawford) try to convince you that there are secret unwritten rules in play that make that sentence not mean what it clearly means: S, VS, MS, VMS spells are a cinch, as long as long as you're holding a spell focus, and as long as there's no special Material components that can't be subbed by the spell focus.
Wizard holding a quarterstaff in one hand, and a spell focus in the other? They can cast S spells just fine.
Cleric or Paladin holding a sword in one hand, and a shield with a holy symbol in the other? They can cast S spells just fine.
But, then what does Warcaster do??? Let's a caster cast S/VS spells with full hands that aren't holding a focus, gives advantage on con saves, lets you cast spells as reactions... lots really. Warcaster is a plenty robust and useful feat, without trying to turn it into a feat tax for clerics and paladins using an unwritten read-between-the-lines interpretation of the headings in the Spellcasting section.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
And that is blatantly incorrect. Rav, that you?
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
The world turns, the sun rises and sets, and this argument will be had again and again and again. I don't begrudge others their (incorrect) opinions on this matter, JC misunderstanding the 5E game system while afforded years of unsupervised twitter access has created a terrible minefield of traps for trusting players hungry for guidance... but words have meaning, and ""a spellcaster must have a hand free to access a spell's material components - or to hold a spellcasting focus - but it can be the same hand that he or she uses to perform somatic components" doesn't contain any twists or turns that invites any other interpretation than the one plain on its face. RAW is everything, unwritten RAI is an illusion or a lie, and a spell focus is truly as simple a tool to use as it appears at first blush :)
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Except the only place that paragraph appears is in the components section under the heading “Material.” You have to include the whole section, not just the half of a paragraph you want to hang your false argument on:
That’s how you know it only applies to spells that actually have Material Components.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
So with one hand:
S and material components
or
S and divine symbol
but not
S and divine symbol and material cost gp component?
You can use the same hand for all three, but you need the action economy to pull out both the focus and the component.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Nah, just hold a spell focus, "it can be the same hand [used] to perform somatic components." The action economy isn't designed to make casters constantly need to be rifling through their pockets, and attempting to follow that (unwritten, wrong) rule will just slow your table down and annoy everyone .
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
The incorrect argument on this rule disregards what the general components rules say: component rules are requirements that must be met in order to cast a spell. With that text, you must treat a spell with only an S component as having the requirement "the caster must have free use of at least one hand to perform these gestures." Having a hand that is occupied does not meet this requirement because, as is made obvious in the exception in the material component rules, the rules would tell you -- where it is relevant -- if you didn't actually need a free hand for S component spells. It is really rather simple to understand and can only be seriously and continuously misunderstood if you refuse to argue from any point of view except what you wish the rule was.
It is never wrong to limit applicability of rules to the game states that are listed in their text. It is always wrong to apply rules outside of their relevant game states.
Feel free to use your own house rule on this topic. Few think that it makes "in world" sense.
If the spell Mage Hand could be used as a ""free hand"" to keep the required components for the next spells.............. *sigh.
My Ready-to-rock&roll chars:
Dertinus Tristany // Amilcar Barca // Vicenç Sacrarius // Oriol Deulofeu // Grovtuk
Sorry if I missed someone explaining it but. Does the same, free hand rule, count towards Blood Hunters? And if so, is it for all of their spells or just certain kinds? For example, you don't need a free hand to cast Crimson Rite but you do need a free hand for Blood Curses.
Those are class features, not spells. Spells are only the things in the spells chapter that you gain access through the Spellcasting or Pact Magic class features (or occasionally a race or feat).
Thank you, that was really helpful.