IMPORTANT NOTE: I know the Dragonborn racial feature doesn’t work with extra attack. That is NOT what I am asking about.
Basically: is a creature, such as a red dragon wyrmling, taking the Attack action when it uses it’s Breath Weapon. For monsters the rules seem a little unclear, and I haven’t been able to find clarification on it. A link would be appreciated. What I’m trying to figure out is if a Druid/Fighter/whatever Wildshaped into a Half-Dragon beast can use extra attack to Breath Weapon and then bite or whatever.
Here is the text from the Half-Dragon Template:
New Action: Breath Weapon. The half-dragon has the breath weapon of its dragon half. The half-dragon's size determines how this action functions.
Based on that (specifically the “New Action” part), I would be inclined to believe that it is in fact it’s own action, even if monster attacks are the Attack action, because specific beats general, but I want to make sure I’m right.
(Btw, I’ll explain the reasoning behind this incredibly specific example if anyone cares)
Well, this assumes wildshape into a templated creature is possible in the first place, but no, a monster action is only an attack if it says it is one. For example, a druid with multiple attacks changed into a Giant Toad can use Bite multiple times (as it is tagged as 'melee weapon attack'), but cannot use Swallow without spending its action to do so.
Makes sense, thanks. Templated monsters are legal, as they keep their beast classification, assuming your DM says that you have seen one before in the first place.
I don't know if I agree with that interpretation. I assume that NPCs can perform any of the standard actions, assuming they have the reasonable physiological functionality to do so. The actions listed in the stat block only expand their options.
The stat block of a monster lists the ACTIONS it can perform.
Normally they don't get the PC thing called an Attack Action.
They absolutely get the attack action. Every creature gets all the standard actions: attack, dash, dodge, disengage, ready, help, hide, improvise, etc
They don't necessarily have to use the attack action, since all their attacks (besides unarmed strike sometimes) are listed as actions, but if they take the attack action, they are able to attack with 1 weapon attack. This is mostly useful to know for druids.
In reference to the OP, actions that are not weapon attacks can't be part of an attack action.
The stat block of a monster lists the ACTIONS it can perform.
Normally they don't get the PC thing called an Attack Action.
They absolutely get the attack action. Every creature gets all the standard actions: attack, dash, dodge, disengage, ready, help, hide, improvise, etc
They don't necessarily have to use the attack action, since all their attacks (besides unarmed strike sometimes) are listed as actions, but if they take the attack action, they are able to attack with 1 weapon attack. This is mostly useful to know for druids.
In reference to the OP, actions that are not weapon attacks can't be part of an attack action.
I came to say the same thing. If it's not an attack, it can't be part of the attack action.
And if you're not using an object it can't be part of the use an object action. And if you're not helping it's not the help action and water is wet and the sky is blue. Does this really need to be pointed out?
A half-dragon beast seems like a walking definition of Monstrosity to me, but what do I know?
I'm pretty sure the Monstrosity creature group exists primarily so they could have a bunch of beasts with cool actions and not have to worry about how they would work with Wild Shape.
A half-dragon beast seems like a walking definition of Monstrosity to me, but what do I know?
I'm pretty sure the Monstrosity creature group exists primarily so they could have a bunch of beasts with cool actions and not have to worry about how they would work with Wild Shape.
And conjure animals and the like. It seems to be 'unnatural but not abomination'.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
IMPORTANT NOTE: I know the Dragonborn racial feature doesn’t work with extra attack. That is NOT what I am asking about.
Basically: is a creature, such as a red dragon wyrmling, taking the Attack action when it uses it’s Breath Weapon. For monsters the rules seem a little unclear, and I haven’t been able to find clarification on it. A link would be appreciated. What I’m trying to figure out is if a Druid/Fighter/whatever Wildshaped into a Half-Dragon beast can use extra attack to Breath Weapon and then bite or whatever.
Here is the text from the Half-Dragon Template:
New Action: Breath Weapon. The half-dragon has the breath weapon of its dragon half. The half-dragon's size determines how this action functions.
Based on that (specifically the “New Action” part), I would be inclined to believe that it is in fact it’s own action, even if monster attacks are the Attack action, because specific beats general, but I want to make sure I’m right.
(Btw, I’ll explain the reasoning behind this incredibly specific example if anyone cares)
Well, this assumes wildshape into a templated creature is possible in the first place, but no, a monster action is only an attack if it says it is one. For example, a druid with multiple attacks changed into a Giant Toad can use Bite multiple times (as it is tagged as 'melee weapon attack'), but cannot use Swallow without spending its action to do so.
Makes sense, thanks. Templated monsters are legal, as they keep their beast classification, assuming your DM says that you have seen one before in the first place.
The stat block of a monster lists the ACTIONS it can perform.
Normally they don't get the PC thing called an Attack Action.
I don't know if I agree with that interpretation. I assume that NPCs can perform any of the standard actions, assuming they have the reasonable physiological functionality to do so. The actions listed in the stat block only expand their options.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
Monsters get all the default actions as well as the ones listed in their stat block.
They absolutely get the attack action. Every creature gets all the standard actions: attack, dash, dodge, disengage, ready, help, hide, improvise, etc
They don't necessarily have to use the attack action, since all their attacks (besides unarmed strike sometimes) are listed as actions, but if they take the attack action, they are able to attack with 1 weapon attack. This is mostly useful to know for druids.
In reference to the OP, actions that are not weapon attacks can't be part of an attack action.
I came to say the same thing. If it's not an attack, it can't be part of the attack action.
And if you're not using an object it can't be part of the use an object action. And if you're not helping it's not the help action and water is wet and the sky is blue. Does this really need to be pointed out?
"Not all those who wander are lost"
A half-dragon beast seems like a walking definition of Monstrosity to me, but what do I know?
I'm pretty sure the Monstrosity creature group exists primarily so they could have a bunch of beasts with cool actions and not have to worry about how they would work with Wild Shape.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
And conjure animals and the like. It seems to be 'unnatural but not abomination'.