If you're following the rules to the letter, the hand can only do the following things: "manipulate an object, open an unlocked door or container, stow or retrieve an item from an open container, or pour the contents out of a vial."
There are also things it specifically can't do: "The hand can't attack, activate magic items, or carry more than 10 pounds." This is all spelled out in the spell description.
Of course the DM can make allowances for things, but this is still a cantrip and should not be given powers that overshadow higher level spells.
The mage hand explicitly cannot attack, activate magic items or carry more than 10 pounds.
As a general rule of thumb, spells only do what they say they do.
A spectral, floating hand appears at a point you choose within range. The hand lasts for the duration or until you dismiss it as an action. The hand vanishes if it is ever more than 30 feet away from you or if you cast this spell again. You can use your action to control the hand. You can use the hand to manipulate an object, open an unlocked door or container, stow or retrieve an item from an open container, or pour the contents out of a vial. You can move the hand up to 30 feet each time you use it. The hand can’t attack, activate magic items, or carry more than 10 pounds.
So mage hand cannot attack nor can it intercept attacks or use deflect missile, even if a monk uses the mage hand.
While there are ways to get extra functionality out of mage hand, such as the arcane trickster rogue subclass, there is no way I know of to attack or defend with it.
1. Can Mage Hand be used like the Monk feature Deflect Missiles?
2. Can Mage Hand use and attack with single-handed weapons (like a handaxe for example)
These would seem like a great combat combos for the spellcasters out there.
DruidVSAdventure
Check out my Homebrew Class The Evoker
If you're following the rules to the letter, the hand can only do the following things: "manipulate an object, open an unlocked door or container, stow or retrieve an item from an open container, or pour the contents out of a vial."
There are also things it specifically can't do: "The hand can't attack, activate magic items, or carry more than 10 pounds." This is all spelled out in the spell description.
Of course the DM can make allowances for things, but this is still a cantrip and should not be given powers that overshadow higher level spells.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
The mage hand explicitly cannot attack, activate magic items or carry more than 10 pounds.
As a general rule of thumb, spells only do what they say they do.
You can use your action to control the hand. You can use the hand to manipulate an object, open an unlocked door or container, stow or retrieve an item from an open container, or pour the contents out of a vial. You can move the hand up to 30 feet each time you use it.
The hand can’t attack, activate magic items, or carry more than 10 pounds.
So mage hand cannot attack nor can it intercept attacks or use deflect missile, even if a monk uses the mage hand.
While there are ways to get extra functionality out of mage hand, such as the arcane trickster rogue subclass, there is no way I know of to attack or defend with it.
Ok thx for the help
DruidVSAdventure
Check out my Homebrew Class The Evoker