If i drop my weapon, cast a somatic spell, then as an object interaction pickup/reequip my weapon in the same turn, would this be considered within the allowed rules?
Ref.
-Somatic: Requires one free hand (and either a weapon or shield could be in the other)
- Dropping weapon: The "Other Activity on Your Turn" section (p. 190) makes no mention of dropping items. So it's considered "free action" by our dm (correct?)
- Reequip: you are allowed to interact with only one object per turn for free (again p. 190, Other Activities on Your Turn, PHB).
There can be ways to have shields and weapons attached to you.
There are two main types of grips with shields. some shields have centrally positioned grips that are held in a fist. other shields have a loop for the forearm to go through and a handle to hold. Especially in the second case, a shield may also have a strap fastened to both sides of the shield so as to give just enough slack to go over the wielder's head. This makes it easy to free up a hand and then to regain a grip on the shield.
RAW, shields require an action to don and doff. Mechanically, you can't work around that restriction with fancy grips or straps or anything like that. If you want to use the shield-hand as a free hand for things like somatic components, grappling, or wielding weapons, you need to spend your action to doff the shield. Then, if you want to make use of the shield again, you need to spend an additional action to don the shield again.
OP, your method is perfectly allowed within the rules. Some people think it looks kind of goofy and like to homebrew around it, but that's a different issue.
If i drop my weapon, cast a somatic spell, then as an object interaction pickup/reequip my weapon in the same turn, would this be considered within the allowed rules?
Ref.
-Somatic: Requires one free hand (and either a weapon or shield could be in the other)
- Dropping weapon: The "Other Activity on Your Turn" section (p. 190) makes no mention of dropping items. So it's considered "free action" by our dm (correct?)
- Reequip: you are allowed to interact with only one object per turn for free (again p. 190, Other Activities on Your Turn, PHB).
The rules don't specifically say dropping a held item doesn't count as a free item interaction. You can release a grappled target whenever you like (no action required) is the closest we have in the rules, but it's not item interactions.
But a Dev said he would allow it.
@RSIxidor Does dropping an item count as your one use of "interacting with an object," or can you drop an item as a "free/no action."
@JeremyECrawford In most circumstances, I would allow a character to let go of something without using an action.
I ready an action to cast Thunderwave on OP if he drops anything.
Since you use the spell slot as soon as you ready the spell and have to maintain concentration until actually casting it, there really isn't much point since if the target doesn't drop anything then both the action and spell are wasted.
If i drop my weapon, cast a somatic spell, then as an object interaction pickup/reequip my weapon in the same turn, would this be considered within the allowed rules?
Taking the Warcaster Feat lets you do Somatic gestures without dropping stuff and have other benefits. But yes drop/pick up is allowed by the rules.
You have practiced casting spells in the midst of combat, learning techniques that grant you the following benefits:
You have advantage on Constitution saving throws that you make to maintain your concentration on a spell when you take damage.
You can perform the somatic components of spells even when you have weapons or a shield in one or both hands.
When a hostile creature's movement provokes an opportunity attack from you, you can use your reaction to cast a spell at the creature, rather than making an opportunity attack. The spell must have a casting time of 1 action and must target only that creature.
If i drop my weapon, cast a somatic spell, then as an object interaction pickup/reequip my weapon in the same turn, would this be considered within the allowed rules?
Ref.
-Somatic: Requires one free hand (and either a weapon or shield could be in the other)
- Dropping weapon: The "Other Activity on Your Turn" section (p. 190) makes no mention of dropping items. So it's considered "free action" by our dm (correct?)
- Reequip: you are allowed to interact with only one object per turn for free (again p. 190, Other Activities on Your Turn, PHB).
The rules don't specifically say dropping a held item doesn't count as a free item interaction. You can release a grappled target whenever you like (no action required) is the closest we have in the rules, but it's not item interactions.
But a Dev said he would allow it.
@RSIxidor Does dropping an item count as your one use of "interacting with an object," or can you drop an item as a "free/no action."
@JeremyECrawford In most circumstances, I would allow a character to let go of something without using an action.
The books do not need to tell you this, but:
You're not holding: every object that exists and isn't in your hand. This requires no action.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
The RAI on this is pretty clear. Sheathing a weapon is explicitly called out as an Interact, implying they did not want you to just put your weapon away, cast, and pull it back out in one turn. If anyone could do that, War Caster wouldn't need that bullet.
Dropping is technically RAW but it feels like a pretty cheap loophole to me (probably because it is). Of course if a DM doesn't like it, there are plenty of ways to express that. Thick mud, rushing water, inclined slopes, mist clinging to the ground, etc. are all terrain that will gladly swallow up a dropped weapon. And if you try to pull that "I tie it to my wrist" BS I will just strike you down with divine lightning. It's no different than saying "I invent a crossbow that doesn't need to be loaded." Action economy is too vital a part of the game to just be handwaved away through your imagination.
tl;dr, yes it is legal. But it's pretty hard to argue that it's not against the spirit of the rules. This is the kind of thing that makes "rules lawyer" a derogatory term.
... And if you try to pull that "I tie it to my wrist" BS I will just strike you down with divine lightning. ...
Oh no. My player's character has done what any weapon-wielding spell caster might do. They've dropped their weapon or left it dangling.
You can always add a stipulation to say that a dangling weapon of whatever size might inhibit spellcasting. That's up to you - but let's drop the other BS.
A character would still need an action to again ready the weapon and could be limited in various circumstances by having a weapon looped onto their wrist.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Putting yours fingers on/off an object is interacting with it in some way. Some DM will have it count as a free object interaction, others won't and it's fine one way or another.
Putting yours fingers on/off an object is interacting with it in some way.
Not having your hand on it is decidedly: not interacting with it. IDK what to tell you. Every object you are not touching is an object you're not interacting with. Not interacting with all said items costs zero actions. The book shouldn't need to explain this.
Some DM will have it count as a free object interaction, others won't and it's fine one way or another.
True. Whatever a DM decides to rule, even if it were to go directly against something written in the books, is indeed the right call for their table.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Letting go of an item is explicitly not an interaction? Then that must mean that handing an item to another character better not be on the list of things constituting interacting with objects around you, since that is just a very specific circumstance of letting something go.
Wait. Nevermind. I don't care to challenge your thoughts are on this topic. I agree with a previous poster that even if it might be technically allowed, it is the worst kind of rules lawyering: avoiding actual rules by looking for loopholes in an in-exhaustive list of possibilities.
Letting go of an item is explicitly not an interaction? Then that must mean that handing an item to another character better not be on the list of things constituting interacting with objects around you, since that is just a very specific circumstance of letting something go.
Throwing or handing an item is a item interaction. You are attempting to control it. Letting it go is not an attempt to control it. Attempting to control is is: Interacting with it. Is pretty straightforward.
Wait. Nevermind. I don't care to challenge your thoughts are on this topic. I agree with a previous poster that even if it might be technically allowed, it is the worst kind of rules lawyering: avoiding actual rules by looking for loopholes in an in-exhaustive list of possibilities.
I agree too. I don't allow it at my tables even though it is RAW.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
And if you try to pull that "I tie it to my wrist" BS I will just strike you down with divine lightning. It's no different than saying "I invent a crossbow that doesn't need to be loaded." Action economy is too vital a part of the game to just be handwaved away through your imagination.
But this is literally my bread and butter as an Artificer.
I appreciate the potential, gaming mechanical balance in gaming in saying that it takes a round to either don or doff a shield but, as far as physical mechanics is concerned, this is BS.
Unless a shield is being moved to a stowed position it could be relatively easy to either drop the shield or leave it hanging from a strap. It could then be pretty easy to swing it around again to grab hold of it.
INTERACTING WITH OBJECTS AROUND YOU
Here are a few examples of the sorts of thing you can do in tandem with your movement and action:
draw or sheathe a sword
open or close a door
withdraw a potion from your backpack
pick up a dropped axe
take a bauble from a table
remove a ring from your finger
stuff some food into your mouth
plant a banner in the ground
fish a few coins from your belt pouch
drink all the ale in a flagon
throw a lever or a switch
pull a torch from a sconce
take a book from a shelf you can reach
extinguish a small flame
don a mask
pull the hood of your cloak up and over your head
put your ear to a door
kick a small stone
turn a key in a lock
tap the floor with a 10-foot pole
hand an item to another character
21 items are listed as "a few examples". The text leaves the reader to potentially fill in the blanks for the many other potential options.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
If i drop my weapon, cast a somatic spell, then as an object interaction pickup/reequip my weapon in the same turn, would this be considered within the allowed rules?
Ref.
-Somatic: Requires one free hand (and either a weapon or shield could be in the other)
- Dropping weapon: The "Other Activity on Your Turn" section (p. 190) makes no mention of dropping items. So it's considered "free action" by our dm (correct?)
- Reequip: you are allowed to interact with only one object per turn for free (again p. 190, Other Activities on Your Turn, PHB).
There can be ways to have shields and weapons attached to you.
There are two main types of grips with shields. some shields have centrally positioned grips that are held in a fist. other shields have a loop for the forearm to go through and a handle to hold. Especially in the second case, a shield may also have a strap fastened to both sides of the shield so as to give just enough slack to go over the wielder's head. This makes it easy to free up a hand and then to regain a grip on the shield.
weapons can have straps to attach them to wrists.
RAW, shields require an action to don and doff. Mechanically, you can't work around that restriction with fancy grips or straps or anything like that. If you want to use the shield-hand as a free hand for things like somatic components, grappling, or wielding weapons, you need to spend your action to doff the shield. Then, if you want to make use of the shield again, you need to spend an additional action to don the shield again.
OP, your method is perfectly allowed within the rules. Some people think it looks kind of goofy and like to homebrew around it, but that's a different issue.
I ready an action to cast Thunderwave on OP if he drops anything.
The rules don't specifically say dropping a held item doesn't count as a free item interaction. You can release a grappled target whenever you like (no action required) is the closest we have in the rules, but it's not item interactions.
But a Dev said he would allow it.
Since you use the spell slot as soon as you ready the spell and have to maintain concentration until actually casting it, there really isn't much point since if the target doesn't drop anything then both the action and spell are wasted.
Taking the Warcaster Feat lets you do Somatic gestures without dropping stuff and have other benefits. But yes drop/pick up is allowed by the rules.
The books do not need to tell you this, but:
You're not holding: every object that exists and isn't in your hand. This requires no action.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
The book gives a few exemples of object interaction. The absence of dropping one may not necessarily mean it is not a free object interaction.
The RAI on this is pretty clear. Sheathing a weapon is explicitly called out as an Interact, implying they did not want you to just put your weapon away, cast, and pull it back out in one turn. If anyone could do that, War Caster wouldn't need that bullet.
Dropping is technically RAW but it feels like a pretty cheap loophole to me (probably because it is). Of course if a DM doesn't like it, there are plenty of ways to express that. Thick mud, rushing water, inclined slopes, mist clinging to the ground, etc. are all terrain that will gladly swallow up a dropped weapon. And if you try to pull that "I tie it to my wrist" BS I will just strike you down with divine lightning. It's no different than saying "I invent a crossbow that doesn't need to be loaded." Action economy is too vital a part of the game to just be handwaved away through your imagination.
tl;dr, yes it is legal. But it's pretty hard to argue that it's not against the spirit of the rules. This is the kind of thing that makes "rules lawyer" a derogatory term.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
Oh no. My player's character has done what any weapon-wielding spell caster might do. They've dropped their weapon or left it dangling.
You can always add a stipulation to say that a dangling weapon of whatever size might inhibit spellcasting. That's up to you - but let's drop the other BS.
A character would still need an action to again ready the weapon and could be limited in various circumstances by having a weapon looped onto their wrist.
Dropping an item is: Not interacting with it. It falls because you're not interacting with it.
The books do not need to tell you that 'not interacting with an item" doesn't use an action.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Putting yours fingers on/off an object is interacting with it in some way. Some DM will have it count as a free object interaction, others won't and it's fine one way or another.
Not having your hand on it is decidedly: not interacting with it. IDK what to tell you. Every object you are not touching is an object you're not interacting with. Not interacting with all said items costs zero actions. The book shouldn't need to explain this.
True. Whatever a DM decides to rule, even if it were to go directly against something written in the books, is indeed the right call for their table.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
You're having your hand on it in order to let go of it. It's in your hand and you interact with it in some way to drop it.
So, not holding an item that was previously in your hand is still not an item interaction.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
Letting go of an item is explicitly not an interaction? Then that must mean that handing an item to another character better not be on the list of things constituting interacting with objects around you, since that is just a very specific circumstance of letting something go.Wait. Nevermind. I don't care to challenge your thoughts are on this topic. I agree with a previous poster that even if it might be technically allowed, it is the worst kind of rules lawyering: avoiding actual rules by looking for loopholes in an in-exhaustive list of possibilities.
Throwing or handing an item is a item interaction. You are attempting to control it. Letting it go is not an attempt to control it. Attempting to control is is: Interacting with it. Is pretty straightforward.
I agree too. I don't allow it at my tables even though it is RAW.
I'm probably laughing.
It is apparently so hard to program Aberrant Mind and Clockwork Soul spell-swapping into dndbeyond they had to remake the game without it rather than implement it.
But this is literally my bread and butter as an Artificer.
I understand your point but could not resist
I appreciate the potential, gaming mechanical balance in gaming in saying that it takes a round to either don or doff a shield but, as far as physical mechanics is concerned, this is BS.
Unless a shield is being moved to a stowed position it could be relatively easy to either drop the shield or leave it hanging from a strap. It could then be pretty easy to swing it around again to grab hold of it.
21 items are listed as "a few examples". The text leaves the reader to potentially fill in the blanks for the many other potential options.