The way I have always understood the way that wizards cast spells is that they 1) Put a spell in their spellbook 2) Memorize that spell and all it's intricate components to prepare it 3) Cast the spell without the use of their spellbook (since they have it memorized for that day). If they wanted to cast a ritual spell, it does not have to be on their prepared spell list because they are taking the time to make sure they go through all the motions carefully, and I have always assumed they would be consulting their spellbook the entire time. So If a player in my game wanted to cast a spell that wasn't on their prepared spell list, but was in their spellbook, would it be reasonable to allow them to pull the book out and cast the spell directly from it? I'm inclined to say that this is reasonable. This would of course open up the opportunity for their enemies to more easily damage/destroy their book, and it would still use up a spell slot since it's not a ritual spell. Are there any rules that I missed, or am I making some incorrect assumptions on how wizard spells are cast?
Only ritual spells can be cast that way. If you could cast other spells that way, the rules would have specifically mentioned it. However, as a DM you can allow it.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat On - Mod Hat Off
You can cast a wizard spell as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag and you have the spell in your spellbook. You don’t need to have the spell prepared.
RAW it would either be strictly out of combat or you’re somehow having 100+ rounds due to the fact that to cast a spell as a ritual you add 10 minutes to the original casting time and if you do that you don’t expend a spell slot. Now you could house rule it that as a wizard you don’t have to prepare any ritual spells and can expend spell slots as normal for them and it might not even be too game breaking the riskiest looking spell is Rary’s Telepathic Bond but I digress.
If a player in my game wanted to cast a spell that wasn't on their prepared spell list, but was in their spellbook, would it be reasonable to allow them to pull the book out and cast the spell directly from it?
Yes but you still have to take into account the casting time for the base spell (several are 1 minute) and then add the 10 minutes
This would of course open up the opportunity for their enemies to more easily damage/destroy their book,
Depending on the players, this could actually be an interesting plot hook! Is the character paranoid, forking our a small fortune to have dozens of copies so nothing is lost? Or does the character have the one spellbook maybe not even knowing you can make backups? If the first I’d destroy the book every once in a while justify the fear immerse em if the second I’d take it as a more hostage situation type thing so the player doesn’t hate both you and him/herself
and it would still use up a spell slot since it's not a ritual spell.
The only part you got wrong unless you house rule it
You're technically house ruling to even allow casting non-ritual spells directly from the spellbook anyway. But also, only ritual spells can be cast without using a spell slot as per the rules as written.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
How I'm posting based on text formatting: Mod Hat On - Mod Hat Off
Public Mod Note(MellieDM): Please do not revive old threads. If you'd like to discuss this topic with our current community you are welcome to create a new thread! Thank you very much.
I'm still a new DM, but I feel like as long as there is some kind of give and take between the book and the caster they can cast spells from it without the components. Like, per level of the spell multiplied by 2 would be the damage they take. Like a level 9 spell would do 18 damage to the caster. But I don't know, I'm still new to this
Public Mod Note
(MellieDM):
Please do not revive old threads. If you'd like to discuss this topic with our current community you are welcome to create a new thread! Thank you very much.
I'm still a new DM, but I feel like as long as there is some kind of give and take between the book and the caster they can cast spells from it without the components. Like, per level of the spell multiplied by 2 would be the damage they take. Like a level 9 spell would do 18 damage to the caster. But I don't know, I'm still new to this
That is incorrect. You could make a houserule that way, but it is not correct RAW.
The way I have always understood the way that wizards cast spells is that they 1) Put a spell in their spellbook 2) Memorize that spell and all it's intricate components to prepare it 3) Cast the spell without the use of their spellbook (since they have it memorized for that day). If they wanted to cast a ritual spell, it does not have to be on their prepared spell list because they are taking the time to make sure they go through all the motions carefully, and I have always assumed they would be consulting their spellbook the entire time. So If a player in my game wanted to cast a spell that wasn't on their prepared spell list, but was in their spellbook, would it be reasonable to allow them to pull the book out and cast the spell directly from it? I'm inclined to say that this is reasonable. This would of course open up the opportunity for their enemies to more easily damage/destroy their book, and it would still use up a spell slot since it's not a ritual spell. Are there any rules that I missed, or am I making some incorrect assumptions on how wizard spells are cast?
I appreciate the help!
It is reasonable since the Ritual Casting feature of Wizards specifically says that they can cast rituals even if those rituals are not prepared.
Only ritual spells can be cast that way. If you could cast other spells that way, the rules would have specifically mentioned it. However, as a DM you can allow it.
Homebrew Rules || Homebrew FAQ || Snippet Codes || Tooltips
DDB Guides & FAQs, Class Guides, Character Builds, Game Guides, Useful Websites, and WOTC Resources
If I was DM’ing I’d allow it with the same 10 minute casting time that rituals have.
Professional computer geek
That's what I was leaning towards as well. So it would strictly be an out-of-combat thing.
Ritual Casting
You can cast a wizard spell as a ritual if that spell has the ritual tag and you have the spell in your spellbook. You don’t need to have the spell prepared.
RAW it would either be strictly out of combat or you’re somehow having 100+ rounds due to the fact that to cast a spell as a ritual you add 10 minutes to the original casting time and if you do that you don’t expend a spell slot. Now you could house rule it that as a wizard you don’t have to prepare any ritual spells and can expend spell slots as normal for them and it might not even be too game breaking the riskiest looking spell is Rary’s Telepathic Bond but I digress.
If you take anything away from this let it be
Yes but you still have to take into account the casting time for the base spell (several are 1 minute) and then add the 10 minutes
Depending on the players, this could actually be an interesting plot hook! Is the character paranoid, forking our a small fortune to have dozens of copies so nothing is lost? Or does the character have the one spellbook maybe not even knowing you can make backups? If the first I’d destroy the book every once in a while justify the fear immerse em if the second I’d take it as a more hostage situation type thing so the player doesn’t hate both you and him/herself
The only part you got wrong unless you house rule it
You're technically house ruling to even allow casting non-ritual spells directly from the spellbook anyway. But also, only ritual spells can be cast without using a spell slot as per the rules as written.
Homebrew Rules || Homebrew FAQ || Snippet Codes || Tooltips
DDB Guides & FAQs, Class Guides, Character Builds, Game Guides, Useful Websites, and WOTC Resources
Yup totally right I misunderstood a little thanks for the correction
I'm still a new DM, but I feel like as long as there is some kind of give and take between the book and the caster they can cast spells from it without the components. Like, per level of the spell multiplied by 2 would be the damage they take. Like a level 9 spell would do 18 damage to the caster. But I don't know, I'm still new to this
That is incorrect. You could make a houserule that way, but it is not correct RAW.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting