When you create the tentacle, you can make a melee spell attack against one creature within 10 feet of it. On a hit, the target takes 1d8 cold damage, and its speed is reduced by 10 feet until the start of your next turn. When you reach 10th level in this class, the damage increases to 2d8.
As a bonus action on your turn, you can move the tentacle up to 30 feet and repeat the attack. You can summon the tentacle a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.
Turn 1: Eldritch Blast, then create Tentacle as BA, then make tentacle attack.
Turn 2: Eldritch Blast, then Tentacle attack, then repeat attack as BA.
When you create the tentacle, you can make a melee spell attack against one creature within 10 feet of it. On a hit, the target takes 1d8 cold damage, and its speed is reduced by 10 feet until the start of your next turn. When you reach 10th level in this class, the damage increases to 2d8.
As a bonus action on your turn, you can move the tentacle up to 30 feet and repeat the attack. You can summon the tentacle a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.
Turn 1: Eldritch Blast, then create Tentacle as BA, then make tentacle attack.
Turn 2: Eldritch Blast, then Tentacle attack, then repeat attack as BA.
Is this correct?
No, that there's no feature that gives you that attack in blue.
You use a BA to create it and you get an attack with that BA.
Then in following turns, you can use your BA to move and attack with it. The attack you're "repeating" is the initial one you made when you cast it.
To be clear, you use your BA to summon and attack with it, then can use your BA to move it and attack with it. The tentacle does nothing without you using your BA.
Well... you can leave it in a space and ARGUE that it provides cover passively or even blocks movement? It isn’t a creature, but also, it’s a real 10-foot tentacle.
Well... you can leave it in a space and ARGUE that it provides cover passively or even blocks movement? It isn’t a creature, but also, it’s a real 10-foot tentacle.
Tentacle of rhe deeps doesn't say it occupies its space, which means it can be in the same square as another creature and provides no cover (as an empty space would). Spiritual weapon works the same way.
The Spiritual Weapon floats, is "spectral," and isn't necessarily any larger than a regular weapon. It's pretty easy to imagine how you'd stand in the same square as it.
The Tentacle on the other hand is a 10-foot tentacle that has been summoned to the battlefield, not an illusion or magical force or anything. It may not be a creature, but that isn't to say that it takes up less space than a similarly sized creature would, like perhaps a Constrictor Snake, Giant Poisonous Snake, Enormous Tentacle, or the "Independent Tentacles" of a Clockwork Kraken.
PHB Chapter 9 certainly tells us that creatures take up space in battle, and rules about multiple creatures not being able to fit within the same square. That is not to say that objects or forces can't also take up space in battle, or might not also impose restrictions on who can move through their squares and how. There aren't any rules in the PHB that tell you a statue or a tree takes up a space on the combat grid, or that a creature might be able to move through its square but not end there unless it's two sizes smaller (not even the Cover section talks about moving through objects)... but that would be a pretty reasonable way for a DM to treat a medium statue in battle, don't you think?
All I'm saying is, after talking with your DM about the tentacle, it may be that there are other useful purposes you can put it to other than its attack ability. The ability tells you explicitly how attacking with the tentacle works, and what sort of action economy is required to make it perform that function. That is not to say that its physical presence on the battlefield doesn't also serve the sometimes useful purpose of being a slab of meat between you and an enemy. Mordenkainen's Faithful Hound doesn't describe it being a creature, but it's open to interpretation whether it is a physical force that takes up a space. Same with Unseen Servant. Same with lots of stuff. It doesn't tell you one way or the other, and your mileage with your DM may vary, with what they find to be the reasonable implications of the entity on the battlefield.
Edit: I recognize that all of this is pretty off topic, I won't belabor it further. I agree that it's true that the tentacle "does nothing" (as in takes no actions, makes no attacks) without your Bonus Action, not sure why I went off on this tangent really, other than the implication that that attack is the absolute only usefulness you might find for the tentacle narratively or even in combat.
The tentacle isn't a slab of meat, it is described as the same "spectral" as Spiritual Weapon. Its attack does cold damage and slows movement (we'd assume through some sort of freezing/chilling debilitating effect). It doesn't Grapple or restrain like most other tentacle-style things. I personally therefore would only allow it to be otherwise useful if you have a situation requiring the application of coldness in order to damage or slow something.
Supporting evidence for it not acting at all like a creature is that it has no hit points or AC, thus no indication it can be destroyed. All wall-type or summoning spells/abilities will generally tell you what it takes to destroy the barrier/creature, or very specifically inform us that it is impenetrable/indestructible if that is the case.
Your other two examples; the hound is described as phantom, and likewise has no clear way to be destroyed. From that I would rule it does not fill its space because it is intended to be an alarm and damage system - not an indestructible barrier. The Servant has an AC, a hit point and even a strength value - many of the things required to be present in real space. I would rule that it occupies space, but not very effectively. Since it can't attack or even interact with other creatures at all, I would rule it a non-hostile non-combatant and allow all creatures to pass through its space but not remain there.
Original Question: BA to summon and attack turn 1, BA to move and attack subsequent turns.
The Spiritual Weapon floats, is "spectral," and isn't necessarily any larger than a regular weapon. It's pretty easy to imagine how you'd stand in the same square as it.
The Tentacle on the other hand is a 10-foot tentacle that has been summoned to the battlefield, not an illusion or magical force or anything. It may not be a creature, but that isn't to say that it takes up less space than a similarly sized creature would, like perhaps a Constrictor Snake, Giant Poisonous Snake, Enormous Tentacle, or the "Independent Tentacles" of a Clockwork Kraken.
PHB Chapter 9 certainly tells us that creatures take up space in battle, and rules about multiple creatures not being able to fit within the same square. That is not to say that objects or forces can't also take up space in battle, or might not also impose restrictions on who can move through their squares and how. There aren't any rules in the PHB that tell you a statue or a tree takes up a space on the combat grid, or that a creature might be able to move through its square but not end there unless it's two sizes smaller (not even the Cover section talks about moving through objects)... but that would be a pretty reasonable way for a DM to treat a medium statue in battle, don't you think?
I'm just pointing out that neither spiritual weapon nor tentacle of the deep are mentioned to have a size or take up space.
It is not a creature or an object, so discussing those rules isn't helpful. If I were to compare the magic tentacle summoned from nothing to an object, it would be a 10 foot length of rope or 10 foot pole not a medium statue I would think.
When you create the tentacle, you can make a melee spell attack against one creature within 10 feet of it. On a hit, the target takes 1d8 cold damage, and its speed is reduced by 10 feet until the start of your next turn. When you reach 10th level in this class, the damage increases to 2d8.
As a bonus action on your turn, you can move the tentacle up to 30 feet and repeat the attack. You can summon the tentacle a number of times equal to your proficiency bonus, and you regain all expended uses when you finish a long rest.
Turn 1: Eldritch Blast, then create Tentacle as BA, then make tentacle attack.
Turn 2: Eldritch Blast, then Tentacle attack, then repeat attack as BA.
Is this correct?
I am usually online between 2-8PM EST.
No, that there's no feature that gives you that attack in blue.
You use a BA to create it and you get an attack with that BA.
Then in following turns, you can use your BA to move and attack with it. The attack you're "repeating" is the initial one you made when you cast it.
It only attacks with your bonus action.
My homebrew subclasses (full list here)
(Artificer) Swordmage | Glasswright | (Barbarian) Path of the Savage Embrace
(Bard) College of Dance | (Fighter) Warlord | Cannoneer
(Monk) Way of the Elements | (Ranger) Blade Dancer
(Rogue) DaggerMaster | Inquisitor | (Sorcerer) Riftwalker | Spellfist
(Warlock) The Swarm
Basically what scatterbraind said.
To be clear, you use your BA to summon and attack with it, then can use your BA to move it and attack with it. The tentacle does nothing without you using your BA.
Well... you can leave it in a space and ARGUE that it provides cover passively or even blocks movement? It isn’t a creature, but also, it’s a real 10-foot tentacle.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Tentacle of rhe deeps doesn't say it occupies its space, which means it can be in the same square as another creature and provides no cover (as an empty space would). Spiritual weapon works the same way.
The Spiritual Weapon floats, is "spectral," and isn't necessarily any larger than a regular weapon. It's pretty easy to imagine how you'd stand in the same square as it.
The Tentacle on the other hand is a 10-foot tentacle that has been summoned to the battlefield, not an illusion or magical force or anything. It may not be a creature, but that isn't to say that it takes up less space than a similarly sized creature would, like perhaps a Constrictor Snake, Giant Poisonous Snake, Enormous Tentacle, or the "Independent Tentacles" of a Clockwork Kraken.
PHB Chapter 9 certainly tells us that creatures take up space in battle, and rules about multiple creatures not being able to fit within the same square. That is not to say that objects or forces can't also take up space in battle, or might not also impose restrictions on who can move through their squares and how. There aren't any rules in the PHB that tell you a statue or a tree takes up a space on the combat grid, or that a creature might be able to move through its square but not end there unless it's two sizes smaller (not even the Cover section talks about moving through objects)... but that would be a pretty reasonable way for a DM to treat a medium statue in battle, don't you think?
All I'm saying is, after talking with your DM about the tentacle, it may be that there are other useful purposes you can put it to other than its attack ability. The ability tells you explicitly how attacking with the tentacle works, and what sort of action economy is required to make it perform that function. That is not to say that its physical presence on the battlefield doesn't also serve the sometimes useful purpose of being a slab of meat between you and an enemy. Mordenkainen's Faithful Hound doesn't describe it being a creature, but it's open to interpretation whether it is a physical force that takes up a space. Same with Unseen Servant. Same with lots of stuff. It doesn't tell you one way or the other, and your mileage with your DM may vary, with what they find to be the reasonable implications of the entity on the battlefield.
Edit: I recognize that all of this is pretty off topic, I won't belabor it further. I agree that it's true that the tentacle "does nothing" (as in takes no actions, makes no attacks) without your Bonus Action, not sure why I went off on this tangent really, other than the implication that that attack is the absolute only usefulness you might find for the tentacle narratively or even in combat.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
The tentacle isn't a slab of meat, it is described as the same "spectral" as Spiritual Weapon. Its attack does cold damage and slows movement (we'd assume through some sort of freezing/chilling debilitating effect). It doesn't Grapple or restrain like most other tentacle-style things. I personally therefore would only allow it to be otherwise useful if you have a situation requiring the application of coldness in order to damage or slow something.
Supporting evidence for it not acting at all like a creature is that it has no hit points or AC, thus no indication it can be destroyed. All wall-type or summoning spells/abilities will generally tell you what it takes to destroy the barrier/creature, or very specifically inform us that it is impenetrable/indestructible if that is the case.
Your other two examples; the hound is described as phantom, and likewise has no clear way to be destroyed. From that I would rule it does not fill its space because it is intended to be an alarm and damage system - not an indestructible barrier. The Servant has an AC, a hit point and even a strength value - many of the things required to be present in real space. I would rule that it occupies space, but not very effectively. Since it can't attack or even interact with other creatures at all, I would rule it a non-hostile non-combatant and allow all creatures to pass through its space but not remain there.
Original Question: BA to summon and attack turn 1, BA to move and attack subsequent turns.
Lol, how did I read that twenty times and miss "spectral" every time? >_<
Good points.
dndbeyond.com forum tags
I'm going to make this way harder than it needs to be.
Not that it's a very useful word. After all, we have no reason to believe a Specter doesn't occupy a space...
I'm just pointing out that neither spiritual weapon nor tentacle of the deep are mentioned to have a size or take up space.
It is not a creature or an object, so discussing those rules isn't helpful. If I were to compare the magic tentacle summoned from nothing to an object, it would be a 10 foot length of rope or 10 foot pole not a medium statue I would think.