I think I know this one but wanted to bounce it off the hivemind anyway. Two spells can be cast per round if one of them is a bonus action and the other a 1 action cantrip. If, for whatever reason, the caster needs to use say counterspell as a reaction (someone is trying to counter one of your other spells) can they do so? That would be a 3rd spell in the round, and RAW say only two and only under very specific circumstances. I am inclined to allow it, but just curious on the topic since it popped into my head.
By RAW, the other exception is Action Surge. If you use both of your Actions to cast spells, but not your Bonus Action, you could then also use your Reaction on your turn to cast a 3rd spell. Though casting 2 leveled spells via Action Surge is probably not RAI.
By RAW, the other exception is Action Surge. If you use both of your Actions to cast spells, but not your Bonus Action, you could then also use your Reaction on your turn to cast a 3rd spell. Though casting 2 leveled spells via Action Surge is probably not RAI.
It is definitely RAW the way you described, and I would argue RAI, as the only way you’re getting that is by taking Eldritch Knight (a quarter-caster) or multiclassing (losing top tier abilities), so its a trade off of sorts
The other way to cast three spells in a turn is if you cast a leveled spell as a bonus action and then Action Surge you could also cast two Cantrips, one with each action.
OP has some confusing language though. The scenario they mention (Using your Bonus Action and Action spells, Enemy using Counterspell, and You immediately respond with Counterspell) is asking about using Counterspell on your turn, which has been covered above: you can't do it.
However, they also reference a limit of "2 spells per round" which is not accurate. Using your bonus action spell, then cantrip action, and casting as a reaction later in the round on someone else's turn should be fine. Example:
- Misty Step (bonus) --> Fire bolt (action) --> Enemy Counterspells Fire Bolt --> You cannot Counterspell their Counterspell. HOWEVER
- Misty Step (bonus) --> Fire bolt (action) --> End your Turn --> Enemy casts Fireball on their turn --> You Counterspell their Fireball (reaction). All good.
Counterspell is casting time= 1 Reaction. Therefore it falls under a different phase of the turn, hence my question.
Phases of a turn aren't an actual thing. While a lot of people take exception to it (because it's kinda dumb), casting a bonus action spell on your turn does prevent casting a reaction spell during the same turn.
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
There's no ambiguity there; if it's the same turn, you can't cast it.
On your turn, you can move a distance up to your speed and take one action. You decide whether to move first or take your action first. Your speed--sometimes called your walking speed--is noted on your character sheet.
The most common actions you can take are described in the Actions in Combat section. Many class features and other abilities provide additional options for your action.
You can forgo moving, taking an action, or doing anything at all on your turn. If you can't decide what to do on your turn, consider taking the Dodge or Ready action, as described in "Actions in Combat."
Bonus Actions
Various class features, spells, and other abilities let you take an additional action on your turn called a bonus action. The Cunning Action feature, for example, allows a rogue to take a bonus action. You can take a bonus action only when a special ability, spell, or other feature of the game states that you can do something as a bonus action. You otherwise don't have a bonus action to take.
You can take only one bonus action on your turn, so you must choose which bonus action to use when you have more than one available.
You choose when to take a bonus action during your turn, unless the bonus action's timing is specified, and anything that deprives you of your ability to take actions also prevents you from taking a bonus action.
Other Activity on Your Turn
Your turn can include a variety of flourishes that require neither your action nor your move.
You can communicate however you are able, through brief utterances and gestures, as you take your turn.
You can also interact with one object or feature of the environment for free, during either your move or your action. For example, you could open a door during your move as you stride toward a foe, or you could draw your weapon as part of the same action you use to attack.
If you want to interact with a second object, you need to use your action. Some magic items and other special objects always require an action to use, as stated in their descriptions.
The DM might require you to use an action for any of these activities when it needs special care or when it presents an unusual obstacle. For instance, the DM could reasonably expect you to use an action to open a stuck door or turn a crank to lower a drawbridge.
Reactions
Certain special abilities, spells, and situations allow you to take a special action called a reaction. A reaction is an instant response to a trigger of some kind, which can occur on your turn or on someone else's. The opportunity attack, described later in this section, is the most common type of reaction.
When you take a reaction, you can't take another one until the start of your next turn. If the reaction interrupts another creature's turn, that creature can continue its turn right after the reaction.
Most spells require a single action to cast, but some spells require a bonus action, a reaction, or much more time to cast.
Bonus Action
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
Reactions
Some spells can be cast as reactions. These spells take a fraction of a second to bring about and are cast in response to some event. If a spell can be cast as a reaction, the spell description tells you exactly when you can do so.
Longer Casting Times
Certain spells (including spells cast as rituals) require more time to cast: minutes or even hours. When you cast a spell with a casting time longer than a single action or reaction, you must spend your action each turn casting the spell, and you must maintain your concentration while you do so. If your concentration is broken, the spell fails, but you don't expend a spell slot. If you want to try casting the spell again, you must start over.
Ok, that defines the action, bonus action and reaction. I it does not say that you cannot cast a reaction and bonus in the same turn. Wait..it took longer for the full thing to load. Reading now.
Ok, works for me. One of my players is building a quick action character and I just wanted to have it on hand for when the subject inevitably comes up.
A spell cast with a bonus action is especially swift. You must use a bonus action on your turn to cast the spell, provided that you haven't already taken a bonus action this turn. You can't cast another spell during the same turn, except for a cantrip with a casting time of 1 action.
Though currently the difference is moot as there aren't any reaction cantrips (you can cast a cantrip as a reaction with ready, but that won't help with casting multiple spells during a single turn).
Hello,
I think I know this one but wanted to bounce it off the hivemind anyway. Two spells can be cast per round if one of them is a bonus action and the other a 1 action cantrip. If, for whatever reason, the caster needs to use say counterspell as a reaction (someone is trying to counter one of your other spells) can they do so? That would be a 3rd spell in the round, and RAW say only two and only under very specific circumstances. I am inclined to allow it, but just curious on the topic since it popped into my head.
Thanks,
Evan
RAW, no.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
I think the rules say you can't cast another spell (except cantrip) on your turn, if you cast a bonus action spell.
So if your reaction spell happens on someone else's turn, you should be fine.
More Interesting Lock Picking Rules
*with a casting time of 1 Action
**But not on your turn because of the Bonus Action spell.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
By RAW, the other exception is Action Surge. If you use both of your Actions to cast spells, but not your Bonus Action, you could then also use your Reaction on your turn to cast a 3rd spell. Though casting 2 leveled spells via Action Surge is probably not RAI.
It is definitely RAW the way you described, and I would argue RAI, as the only way you’re getting that is by taking Eldritch Knight (a quarter-caster) or multiclassing (losing top tier abilities), so its a trade off of sorts
The other way to cast three spells in a turn is if you cast a leveled spell as a bonus action and then Action Surge you could also cast two Cantrips, one with each action.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
OP has some confusing language though. The scenario they mention (Using your Bonus Action and Action spells, Enemy using Counterspell, and You immediately respond with Counterspell) is asking about using Counterspell on your turn, which has been covered above: you can't do it.
However, they also reference a limit of "2 spells per round" which is not accurate. Using your bonus action spell, then cantrip action, and casting as a reaction later in the round on someone else's turn should be fine. Example:
- Misty Step (bonus) --> Fire bolt (action) --> Enemy Counterspells Fire Bolt --> You cannot Counterspell their Counterspell. HOWEVER
- Misty Step (bonus) --> Fire bolt (action) --> End your Turn --> Enemy casts Fireball on their turn --> You Counterspell their Fireball (reaction). All good.
"To die would be an awfully big adventure"
That’s true, I missed that.
1 Turn =/= 1 Round
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Counterspell is casting time= 1 Reaction. Therefore it falls under a different phase of the turn, hence my question.
Action-cantrip
Bonus action-Spiritual weapon
Reaction-Counterspell
Three different phases and spells, each with a different assigned part of the turn.
Phases of a turn aren't an actual thing. While a lot of people take exception to it (because it's kinda dumb), casting a bonus action spell on your turn does prevent casting a reaction spell during the same turn.
That is helpful. Do you know where that specifically is printed?
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/phb/spellcasting#BonusAction
There's no ambiguity there; if it's the same turn, you can't cast it.
Here:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/combat#TheOrderofCombat
And here:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/spellcasting#CastingaSpell
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Ok, that defines the action, bonus action and reaction. I it does not say that you cannot cast a reaction and bonus in the same turn. Wait..it took longer for the full thing to load. Reading now.
Ok, works for me. One of my players is building a quick action character and I just wanted to have it on hand for when the subject inevitably comes up.
Thank you all.
Evan
Allowed during your Turn (no Action Surge)
"(None)" means doing something other than Cast a Spell.
Allowed during your Turn (Action Surge)
Disallowed
Anything not in the list above.
I noticed some inaccuracies:
https://www.dndbeyond.com/sources/basic-rules/spellcasting#CastingaSpell
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
Though currently the difference is moot as there aren't any reaction cantrips (you can cast a cantrip as a reaction with ready, but that won't help with casting multiple spells during a single turn).