Keyleth steadies her bow, pulls an arrow back, and fires at one of the kobolds.
OoC: Does the table grant partial cover to the kobolds on the far side of it? If they're equally difficult to hit, Keyleth will go for one on the far side of the table [K4]. If those have cover though, she'll go for an easier target [K3].
OoC: Oh, right, sorry, I was mixing up surprise and hidden. I think the surprise and hiding rules in 5e are among the hardest ones to get my head around, personally. (Rules discussion in the spoiler)
In particular, since "surprised" is a condition that applies to the ambushee, resulting in their missing their turn in the first combat round, the part that seems unintuitive is this sentence from the PHB: "the DM compares the Dexterity (Stealth) checks of anyone hiding with the passive Wisdom (Perception) score of each creature on the opposing side. Any character or monster that doesn't notice a threat is surprised at the start of the encounter." One way to read that is that if anybody manages to be hidden from a threat, then everyone on the sneaker's side gets to act before the surprised individual ("that doesn't notice a threat"). Seems extreme, and unrealistic. Another way to read the "a" there is that a creature is only surprised if it doesn't notice any threat. Also perhaps extreme in the other direction, though maybe not, since once you notice any threat you're on alert. What's your take on this?
Yes surprise seems a bit confusing. If the DM rules the enemy hasn't seen you do you get a free attack? But the rules seem to indicate no unless you roll stealth and beat the enemies passive perception. That's how I read it. So, as I take it, any PC that has a stealth roll that beats the passive perception of the enemy gets a free attack before everyone is involved in the combat.
But this is only if the DM says you have approached unseen. Which means the DM can rule they have enemies that do that to the party also.
If you beat a DC 10 stealth roll, you get a round of combat before the mobs do, movement and action. If you fail the DC 10 then you can move, but no action.
Yes, Ransyl can use the the hand axe's as ranged as they can be thrown. But he is currently more than 20' away so it would be a disadvantage unless he moves closer
OoC: Sorry everyone, I misunderstood the surprise attack scenario when suggesting this plan. I don't think it matters whether you do a ranged or melee attack, since if your stealth roll is high enough you can do either as a "free attack", and if it isn't you can't do a free range attack anyway. And if you stealthed successfully you can move into whatever position is needed (within range) without revealing anyone. DM, I'm guessing Rhanloi thought he was opting out of the stealth check since he wasn't planning to do a surprise attack anyway.
Edit: Also, Ransyl, you're wearing heavy armor, right? In that case I think you are supposed to be at disadvantage on stealth rolls.
OoC: Sorry everyone, I misunderstood the surprise attack scenario when suggesting this plan. I don't think it matters whether you do a ranged or melee attack, since if your stealth roll is high enough you can do either as a "free attack", and if it isn't you can't do a free range attack anyway. And if you stealthed successfully you can move into whatever position is needed (within range) without revealing anyone. DM, I'm guessing Rhanloi thought he was opting out of the stealth check since he wasn't planning to do a surprise attack anyway.
Edit: Also, Ransyl, you're wearing heavy armor, right? In that case I think you are supposed to be at disadvantage on stealth rolls.
OoC: Dropping your greataxe on the ground should be a free action, and you can draw your handaxe as an "object interaction". But it may be that you don't have to drop the greataxe, just hold it in one hand while you draw your handaxe and throw it. You can't attack with a two-handed weapon in one hand, but I'm under the impression you can hold it in one hand. But this seems like one of those things that may come down to DM-discretion (I guess everything is subject to discretion, ultimately).
Keyleth steadies her bow, pulls an arrow back, and fires at one of the kobolds (4) and strikes it in the heart killing it. As it falls it releases its hold on a leash that it had in its hand. You realize by the movement that it is a fat crocodile on a leash.
Stealth: 23
Keyleth steadies her bow, pulls an arrow back, and fires at one of the kobolds.
OoC: Does the table grant partial cover to the kobolds on the far side of it? If they're equally difficult to hit, Keyleth will go for one on the far side of the table [K4]. If those have cover though, she'll go for an easier target [K3].
Attack: 15 Damage: 5
"Darvin" | Changeling | Hexblade 1 / Swords Bard 6 | Descent Into Avernus (AC 19; PP 14; 52/52 HP)
Anton Chergoba | Human | Battlemaster 4 | Lost Mines of Phandelver (AC 20; PP 14; 36/36 HP)
Stealth: 5
OoC: Oh, right, sorry, I was mixing up surprise and hidden. I think the surprise and hiding rules in 5e are among the hardest ones to get my head around, personally. (Rules discussion in the spoiler)
In particular, since "surprised" is a condition that applies to the ambushee, resulting in their missing their turn in the first combat round, the part that seems unintuitive is this sentence from the PHB: "the DM compares the Dexterity (Stealth) checks of anyone hiding with the passive Wisdom (Perception) score of each creature on the opposing side. Any character or monster that doesn't notice a threat is surprised at the start of the encounter." One way to read that is that if anybody manages to be hidden from a threat, then everyone on the sneaker's side gets to act before the surprised individual ("that doesn't notice a threat"). Seems extreme, and unrealistic. Another way to read the "a" there is that a creature is only surprised if it doesn't notice any threat. Also perhaps extreme in the other direction, though maybe not, since once you notice any threat you're on alert. What's your take on this?
"Darvin" | Changeling | Hexblade 1 / Swords Bard 6 | Descent Into Avernus (AC 19; PP 14; 52/52 HP)
Anton Chergoba | Human | Battlemaster 4 | Lost Mines of Phandelver (AC 20; PP 14; 36/36 HP)
Stealth: 21
Ransyl
Stealth: 12
OOC - who else was going to do a ranged attack?
Yes surprise seems a bit confusing. If the DM rules the enemy hasn't seen you do you get a free attack? But the rules seem to indicate no unless you roll stealth and beat the enemies passive perception. That's how I read it. So, as I take it, any PC that has a stealth roll that beats the passive perception of the enemy gets a free attack before everyone is involved in the combat.
But this is only if the DM says you have approached unseen. Which means the DM can rule they have enemies that do that to the party also.
OoC: Can Ransyl use his hand axes as a ranged attack?
Also I think that Faen could do Frostbite if she moves forward a bit but it really doesn’t do much
If you beat a DC 10 stealth roll, you get a round of combat before the mobs do, movement and action. If you fail the DC 10 then you can move, but no action.
Yes, Ransyl can use the the hand axe's as ranged as they can be thrown. But he is currently more than 20' away so it would be a disadvantage unless he moves closer
OoC: Sorry everyone, I misunderstood the surprise attack scenario when suggesting this plan. I don't think it matters whether you do a ranged or melee attack, since if your stealth roll is high enough you can do either as a "free attack", and if it isn't you can't do a free range attack anyway. And if you stealthed successfully you can move into whatever position is needed (within range) without revealing anyone. DM, I'm guessing Rhanloi thought he was opting out of the stealth check since he wasn't planning to do a surprise attack anyway.
Edit: Also, Ransyl, you're wearing heavy armor, right? In that case I think you are supposed to be at disadvantage on stealth rolls.
"Darvin" | Changeling | Hexblade 1 / Swords Bard 6 | Descent Into Avernus (AC 19; PP 14; 52/52 HP)
Anton Chergoba | Human | Battlemaster 4 | Lost Mines of Phandelver (AC 20; PP 14; 36/36 HP)
dm?
ooc - range on my hand axe says 20/60. How would i get the 60?
OoC: The 60 is the maximum range you can throw it, but if it's more than 20 you have disadvantage on the attack roll.
"Darvin" | Changeling | Hexblade 1 / Swords Bard 6 | Descent Into Avernus (AC 19; PP 14; 52/52 HP)
Anton Chergoba | Human | Battlemaster 4 | Lost Mines of Phandelver (AC 20; PP 14; 36/36 HP)
Ahhh, thanks.
OOC- do I have enough action to move within 20 ft (toward the other table), put down my greataxe, take out my Handaxe, and then throw it at K3?
if so, I’ll do it.
OoC: Dropping your greataxe on the ground should be a free action, and you can draw your handaxe as an "object interaction". But it may be that you don't have to drop the greataxe, just hold it in one hand while you draw your handaxe and throw it. You can't attack with a two-handed weapon in one hand, but I'm under the impression you can hold it in one hand. But this seems like one of those things that may come down to DM-discretion (I guess everything is subject to discretion, ultimately).
"Darvin" | Changeling | Hexblade 1 / Swords Bard 6 | Descent Into Avernus (AC 19; PP 14; 52/52 HP)
Anton Chergoba | Human | Battlemaster 4 | Lost Mines of Phandelver (AC 20; PP 14; 36/36 HP)
OOC - just checked, and my chain mail armor does put me at disadvantage. Here is my second roll for stealth. My first roll was 12.
Stealth: 5
You don't need to drop the greataxe. You can hold it in one hand and draw a handaxe and throw after your movement.
Your positions are approximate so feel free to fudge 5 feet one way or the other. But you were grouped in that area.
Keyleth (9/9), Radagast (5/8), Kobold2 (?), Ransyl (13/13), Faen (10/10), Kobold3 (?),
Kobold4 (?), Kirinar (11/12), Crocodile (?), Kobold1 (?)Keyleth steadies her bow, pulls an arrow back, and fires at one of the kobolds (4) and strikes it in the heart killing it. As it falls it releases its hold on a leash that it had in its hand. You realize by the movement that it is a fat crocodile on a leash.
Radagast is up
Radagast turns at the nearest Kobold (1) and casts his chill touch spell.
Attack: 14 Damage: 8