I dont know. it just sounds cool. my one new player wanted to enchant his cat to speak english. Is that allowed? lol
They could cast awaken on the cat. But that’s not really the same as making a magic item since it down involve imbuing any real magical properties, but mostly because a cat is a creature and not an object.
If you want guidelines for creating magic items, you can find them in Xanathar's Guide to Everything. Beyond that the only magic effects that players can produce by RAW are the spells and features on their character sheet. There's a handful of spells with a "Permanent" or "Until dispelled" duration, but they're generally very high level and/or have pricey components. Any other effect is up to you to decide if you want to allow or disallow.
I have a question about a bow the DM let me get enchanted. I visited two different Enchanters in my world, spending 500 gp the first time and around 2000 gp the second time. What i got at the end was a bow with 3D20 peircing damage, +5 radiant damage, +5 electric damage, +5 fire damage. +10 to hit, and 1000 range.
Other DND players outside the campain I'm in say that Enchants like that aren't allowed if we follow the official rules, but other sources I looked at don't give me a clear answer. Is my bow legal in official DND?
I mean “legal” is not really an applicable term here, but that’s a massively OP weapon at a ridiculously low cost compared to the benchmarks found in the DMG and similar sources. You’re definitely not going to find anything comparable in Adventurer’s League or official published content.
I have a question about a bow the DM let me get enchanted. I visited two different Enchanters in my world, spending 500 gp the first time and around 2000 gp the second time. What i got at the end was a bow with 3D20 peircing damage, +5 radiant damage, +5 electric damage, +5 fire damage. +10 to hit, and 1000 range.
Other DND players outside the campain I'm in say that Enchants like that aren't allowed if we follow the official rules, but other sources I looked at don't give me a clear answer. Is my bow legal in official DND?
Um no, first 3D20 is not a “legal” weapon die, in that most weapon die are at most d12’s. And for what it has as enchantments, that should have been a very expensive item and taken quite abit of time to make, by the rules.
Of course by chance you pass by one in a dungeon, finder’s keepers.
Ok, thanks. The only reason my DM let me get a weapon like that was because another character has been blowing up kingdoms. And he's making me fight a Tarrasque by myself...
I'm wondering if I could use a magic item as a bonus acton. For example: I'm fighting a goblin and am almost dead, so I puch the goblin in the face. Then, as abonus action, I puch it with my other fist thats wearing a ring of waterwalking. would I be able to cast waterwalking from the ring and punch the goblin at the same time before running to the other side of a river?
Well, RAW you can't make a bonus action unarmed attack unless you're a Monk. And unless the magic item says differently, casting a spell from one takes its normal cast time- 1 action in this case- so you cannot do it as a part of a bonus action.
I'm wondering if I could use a magic item as a bonus acton. For example: I'm fighting a goblin and am almost dead, so I puch the goblin in the face. Then, as abonus action, I puch it with my other fist thats wearing a ring of waterwalking. would I be able to cast waterwalking from the ring and punch the goblin at the same time before running to the other side of a river?
Neither of those actions are, by RAW, allowable as bonus actions on their own (without certain class abilities), so you most certainly could not, by RAW do all three of:
1. Punch the Goblin (Attack Action)
2. Punch the Goblin again (Bonus Action, already not RAW unless you are a Monk)
3. Activate a magic Item (By RAW this is a full Magic Action, so especially given you've used your Action and Bonus Action anyways, you'd be completely out of any possible action economy with which to use your Ring, the fact that you are OOC/Roleplaying that the second punch was done by the hand "Wearing the Ring" is completely irrelevant to the rules-based mechanics/simulation of the Combat Rounds of the game.)
Even as a Monk, you couldn't do this because the Bonus Action Punch is reliant on having taken the Attack action in the first place.
The "Activating a Magic Item" thing even has (or had) a specific subclass ability in the Rogue to be able to use a Magic Item as a Bonus Action, strongly indicating that the Action economy wants those items to generally be your full action
Most Broadly: Your Bonus Action is not just "another Action," Bonus Actions are specific, controlled types of things that are allowed as a BA, its not just a "Second thing your character can do that round"
They could cast awaken on the cat. But that’s not really the same as making a magic item since it down involve imbuing any real magical properties, but mostly because a cat is a creature and not an object.
Creating Epic Boons on DDB
DDB Buyers' Guide
Hardcovers, DDB & You
Content Troubleshooting
If you want guidelines for creating magic items, you can find them in Xanathar's Guide to Everything. Beyond that the only magic effects that players can produce by RAW are the spells and features on their character sheet. There's a handful of spells with a "Permanent" or "Until dispelled" duration, but they're generally very high level and/or have pricey components. Any other effect is up to you to decide if you want to allow or disallow.
Thank you!
Spells: My spells. Races: My races Monsters: My monsters Magic items: My items
I have a question about a bow the DM let me get enchanted. I visited two different Enchanters in my world, spending 500 gp the first time and around 2000 gp the second time. What i got at the end was a bow with 3D20 peircing damage, +5 radiant damage, +5 electric damage, +5 fire damage. +10 to hit, and 1000 range.
Other DND players outside the campain I'm in say that Enchants like that aren't allowed if we follow the official rules, but other sources I looked at don't give me a clear answer. Is my bow legal in official DND?
I mean “legal” is not really an applicable term here, but that’s a massively OP weapon at a ridiculously low cost compared to the benchmarks found in the DMG and similar sources. You’re definitely not going to find anything comparable in Adventurer’s League or official published content.
Um no, first 3D20 is not a “legal” weapon die, in that most weapon die are at most d12’s. And for what it has as enchantments, that should have been a very expensive item and taken quite abit of time to make, by the rules.
Of course by chance you pass by one in a dungeon, finder’s keepers.
Ok, thanks. The only reason my DM let me get a weapon like that was because another character has been blowing up kingdoms. And he's making me fight a Tarrasque by myself...
Sounds like your Dm let things get out of hand.
If you are DM technically you can do anything you want, so yes you could let them do that
I'm wondering if I could use a magic item as a bonus acton. For example: I'm fighting a goblin and am almost dead, so I puch the goblin in the face. Then, as abonus action, I puch it with my other fist thats wearing a ring of waterwalking. would I be able to cast waterwalking from the ring and punch the goblin at the same time before running to the other side of a river?
Well, RAW you can't make a bonus action unarmed attack unless you're a Monk. And unless the magic item says differently, casting a spell from one takes its normal cast time- 1 action in this case- so you cannot do it as a part of a bonus action.
Neither of those actions are, by RAW, allowable as bonus actions on their own (without certain class abilities), so you most certainly could not, by RAW do all three of:
1. Punch the Goblin (Attack Action)
2. Punch the Goblin again (Bonus Action, already not RAW unless you are a Monk)
3. Activate a magic Item (By RAW this is a full Magic Action, so especially given you've used your Action and Bonus Action anyways, you'd be completely out of any possible action economy with which to use your Ring, the fact that you are OOC/Roleplaying that the second punch was done by the hand "Wearing the Ring" is completely irrelevant to the rules-based mechanics/simulation of the Combat Rounds of the game.)
Even as a Monk, you couldn't do this because the Bonus Action Punch is reliant on having taken the Attack action in the first place.
The "Activating a Magic Item" thing even has (or had) a specific subclass ability in the Rogue to be able to use a Magic Item as a Bonus Action, strongly indicating that the Action economy wants those items to generally be your full action
Most Broadly: Your Bonus Action is not just "another Action," Bonus Actions are specific, controlled types of things that are allowed as a BA, its not just a "Second thing your character can do that round"