Many people use links to Jeremy Crawford’s tweets to back up their arguments about rules. After reading through the Sage Advice Compendium, I often find that some of those tweets didn’t make the cut. I’m wondering how much credence I should put in those tweets.
For example, I’ve been trying to figure out what a 2016 Crawford tweet really means. The tweet was in response to a question about the spell Heat Metal that asked whether the bonus action to cause damage on following turns can be made when the caster is beyond the range of the spell. His answer was a reference to page 203 of the PHB that says “Once a spell is cast, it’s effects aren’t limited by it’s range, unless the spell’s description says otherwise.” By answering the question in this way, he is implying that the bonus action is an effect of the spell and therefore not limited by range without really saying yes or no. It also doesn’t answer whether the bonus action is limited by other requirements of the original casting. Heat Metal specifies that you must be able to see the metal object. Does the bonus action require the caster to still be able to see the object.
Several spells allow you to use an action or bonus action to move the area of effect on following turns. Bigby’s Hand, Flaming Sphere, Moonbeam are examples. If I apply Crawford’s tweet to its most extreme interpretation, a caster could cast Bigby’s Hand 120’ away then move it 60’ farther away and the caster could move away 30’ more. Each of the casters turns, it could repeat this. For Flaming Sphere, the caster could move the sphere 30’ away each turn with a bonus action and use dash to move 60’ feet in the other direction. Presumably the caster could blindly move the sphere around until it hit something, forcing a saving throw if it rammed into a creature.
Since long ranges are seldom an issue in most campaigns, I’m not seeing this as a game-breaking issue but I’m not sure if this is what Crawford really intended to mean. Perhaps there is more explanation to this tweet that I am not finding.
Sage Advice is not official rules. It's Jeremy Crawford's interpretation of the intention of the rules, but it's not official unless it's in errata or an official publication.
He is in the process of updating sage advice, so there might be more clarity in the next few weeks when he does so. Probably not given the way he tends to respond, but one can hope
If by "official" you mean RAW, then only the published rules and published errata are RAW. Sage Advice is the definition of RAI. It's also worth noting there are several times when Jeremy Crawford has reversed himself or issued contradictory rulings.
It is also worth noting that on a number of occasions Jeremy Crawford has said that he is giving his interpretation, in the end it's up to the DM at each table to make the final decision.
Found on his personal Twitter: 1. D&D has rules. 2. The DM decides how to use those rules. 3. I sometimes clarify what the rules do and do not say and share what our intent was. 4. The DM still decides how to use the rules.
The rules applied at any individual table are up to the DM.
Even the Adventurers League resources clearly indicate that the DM can rule how they like on ambiguous things and does not need to consider any other sources beyond the rule books. This includes ignoring Sage Advice. It is, after all, "ADVICE'.
That said, some folks see ambiguity where there isn't really any and some of JCs tweets referring to the rule book are simply saying that the answer is in the book. He repeatedly tells folks that what the spells do is listed in the spell description .. nothing more or less .. and in many cases the problems arise because a particular DM or player imagines the spell working in some specific way and then it doesn't make sense to them.
"Once a spell is cast, its effects aren't limited by its range, unless the spell's description says otherwise." p203 top
This clearly states that after being cast ... range does NOT matter ... UNLESS the spell says otherwise. That is very clear (to me anyway).
Example: Heat Metal
Heat Metal:
"HEAT METAL 2nd-level transmutation Casting Time: 1 action Range: 60 feet Components: V. S, M (a piece of iron and a flame) Duration; Concentration, up to 1 minute Choose a manufactured metal object, such as a metal weapon or a suit of heavy or medium metal armor, that you can see within range. You cause the object to glow red-hot. Any creature in physical contact with the object takes 2d8 fire damage when you cast the spell. Until the spell ends, you can use a bonus action on each of your subsequent turns to cause this damage again."
1) The spell has a range of 60 feet WHEN CAST. Spell effects are NOT limited by range.
2) Until the spell ends, you can use a bonus action on each of your subsequent turns to cause the damage again." This ability has NO range constraint. You don't even need to be on the same plane of existence. The spell effect is not limited by range AFTER the spell is cast. A caster, as long as they maintain concentration on the spell for a period of up to a minute can continue to use their bonus action to cause damage.
There is no ambiguity in what is written. The ambiguity comes from thinking about how the spell must work and whether that would constrain it further ... but there are no rules supporting further restrictions. The rules are pretty clear ... range has no effect on on-going effects and the spell description takes precedence. The caster always has the option to take a bonus action to inflict further damage in this case. Of course, if the target teleports away, you have no idea whether your bonus action will be doing further damage since you don't know if a creature is still in touch with it but that does not remove the option of using the bonus action to cause damage if something happens to be touching it.
Bigby's Hand:
"BIGBY'S HAND 5th-level evocation Casting Time: 1 action Range: 120 feet Components: V, S. M (an eggshell and a snakeskin glove) Duration: Concentration, up to 1 minute You create a Large hand of shimmering, translucent force in an unoccupied space that you can see within range. The hand lasts for the spell's duration, and it moves at your command, mimicking the movements of your own hand. The hand is an object that has AC 20 and hit points equal to your hit point maximum. if it drops to 0 hit points, the spell ends. It has a Strength of 26 (+8) and a Dexterity of 10 (+0). The hand doesn't fill its space. When you cast the spell and as a bonus action on your subsequent turns, you can move the hand up to 60 feet and then cause one of the following effects with it."
Again, the hand is initially formed within 120' since that is part of the casting requirement. However, as stated in the rules, range does not apply to subsequent use of the spell. For example, you could cast the spell, cast dimension door to a local cliff top 500' away on the next round and then send the hand on the next round 60' and attack at target. Alternatively, a fighter/wizard with action surge could do it all in one round.
Range also does not affect concentration or spell effects. If you cast hunter's mark on a creature and it dimension doors away ... you will still get the bonus effects from damage when you fire off your long bow at 600' range at the target that is now over 500' away (assuming you can see it).
"Several spells allow you to use an action or bonus action to move the area of effect on following turns. Bigby’s Hand, Flaming Sphere, Moonbeam are examples. If I apply Crawford’s tweet to its most extreme interpretation, a caster could cast Bigby’s Hand 120’ away then move it 60’ farther away and the caster could move away 30’ more. Each of the casters turns, it could repeat this. For Flaming Sphere, the caster could move the sphere 30’ away each turn with a bonus action and use dash to move 60’ feet in the other direction. Presumably the caster could blindly move the sphere around until it hit something, forcing a saving throw if it rammed into a creature."
The answers to all of the examples in your paragraph are Yes, Yes and Yes. All of these spells have movable effects that can be activated on a bonus action or action. None of them have any additional range constraints in the spell description. However, if a caster moves to somewhere where they can not see the spell effect and possible targets then it will be up to the DM to adjudicate how the movement is handled and whether there are actually any targets that can be affected by the movement of the spell or its area of effect.
Anyway, a lot of the questions to Sage Advice are like these ones. The answer is fairly clearly stated in the rule book and folks ask because they have some other way of thinking about it. Since it is very difficult to guess what the other person is thinking (since the answer seems pretty obvious given the written rule) ... it can often be easier to suggest reading the book rather than giving an answer and then trying to argue about why.
------------------
Just as an additional example: Most of the damage cantrips have rider effects
"CHILL TOUCH Necromancy cantrip Casting Time: 1 action Range: 120 feet Components: V, S Duration: 1 round You create a ghostly, skeletal hand in the space of a creature within range. Make a ranged spell attack against the creature to assail it with the chill of the grave. On a hit, the target takes 1d8 necrotic damage, and it can't regain hit points until the start of your next turn. Until then, the hand clings to the target."
This spell can be cast on a target within 120'.
This spell has two effects on a hit:
1) the target take 1d8 necrotic damage
2) the target can't regain hit points until the start of my next turn.
If the target Plane Shifts away ... they STILL can not regain hit points until the start of my next turn. Ongoing spell effects are NOT affected by range.
Also, even if the target is IMMUNE or resistant to necrotic damage, they STILL can not regain hit points until the start of my next turn. The two effects are independent of each other. There is no statement saying IF the target takes the damage then the second effect occurs. However, many folks seem to imagine the damage causing the second effect and don't apply it if the target is immune to the damage. This is a side effect of applying how they think a spell should work rather than what the spell itself says.
In the case of these cantrips like chill touch or ray of frost, they can do a certain amount of damage and a secondary effect if they hit and the secondary effect is not dependent on the target taking damage.
I’m starting to see the reasoning that guides his rulings. It seems like when there are multiple ways of interpreting a rule, choose the simplest interpretation.
So if you apply this reasoning to the Animal Shapes spell, the sentence “On subsequent turns, you can use your action to transform affected creatures into new forms.” means that there is no limit on the range to the affected creatures, any and all affected creatures can be transformed with your action, you can be on another plane of existence and still use your action to transform them.
When you are in the extradimensional space of a Rope Trick spell, you can’t cast spells out. If the spell has already been cast and the caster enters the space, the caster can use the bonus action of Heat Metal to cause the damage again. Is that the simplest interpretation of “Attacks and spells can’t cross through the entrance...” ? If you say that phrase means you can’t use the bonus action, aren’t you saying that it also cancels any spell effects that are on you as you cross the entrance? Does causing damage equal an attack or must it have an attack roll.
I’m starting to see the reasoning that guides his rulings. It seems like when there are multiple ways of interpreting a rule, choose the simplest interpretation.
So if you apply this reasoning to the Animal Shapes spell, the sentence “On subsequent turns, you can use your action to transform affected creatures into new forms.” means that there is no limit on the range to the affected creatures, any and all affected creatures can be transformed with your action, you can be on another plane of existence and still use your action to transform them.
When you are in the extradimensional space of a Rope Trick spell, you can’t cast spells out. If the spell has already been cast and the caster enters the space, the caster can use the bonus action of Heat Metal to cause the damage again. Is that the simplest interpretation of “Attacks and spells can’t cross through the entrance...” ? If you say that phrase means you can’t use the bonus action, aren’t you saying that it also cancels any spell effects that are on you as you cross the entrance? Does causing damage equal an attack or must it have an attack roll.
I think I need to keep researching this.
I think the easiest way is to read what it says and apply it.
"ROPE TRICK 2nd-level transmutation Casting Time: 1 action Range: Touch Components: V, S, M (powdered corn extract and a twisted loop of parchment) Duration: 1 hour You touch a length of rope that is up to 60 feet long. One end of the rope then rises into the air until the whole rope hangs perpendicular to the ground. At the upper end of the rope, an invisible entrance opens to an extradimensional space that lasts until the spell ends. The extradimensional space can be reached by climbing to the top of the rope. The space can hold as many as eight Medium or smaller creatures. The rope can be pulled into the space, making the rope disappear from view outside the space. Attacks and spells can't cross through the entrance into or out of the extradimensional space, but those inside can see out of it as if through a 3-foot-by-5-foot window centered on the rope. Anything inside the extradimensional space drops out when the spell ends."
"A spell's duration is the length of time the spell persists."
The above quote from p203 of the PHB indicates that the spell effect is still considered the spell.
Spells like heat metal are cast on a target. If the caster entered a rope trick then they could continue to use the bonus action to cause damage since it is neither an attack or a spell and the spell is still active. However, if a creature/object currently affected by a spell enters a rope trick, that spell would end (or the creature/object would be prevented from entering) since it can't cross the entrance.
Intended? I have no idea :) .. but that is what the rules say.
If that is how you are interpreting the rule, then the heat metal spell would end as well since it is maintained by concentration. DMs have the final say in any and all rule decisions. They way I look at it is that if a spell requires concentration to maintain then it ends when you enter the extradimensional space, but if the spell doesn't require concentration then the spell doesn't end because it is now an effect that is affecting a character. This is how I see the rules. In the end ask your DM how they would rule on this matter and that is how you'll play with that DM. Each DM may have a different ruling on the matter.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
Remember this is a game and it's suppose to be fun for everybody. Let's all have fun and kill monsters.
Jeremy's tweets are official rulings - applications or interpretations of the rules. They're official statements about what the words on the page are supposed to mean or how a certain rule was intended to work.
People often turn to Sage Advice in cases where a sentence can be read different ways or when it's not clear whether a particular rule applies; in a sense, Jeremy's an impartial 3rd party and has more insight into the design process of the rules, so his rulings are at least as valid as anyone else's and help quickly settle disputes at the game table. But the official rules are in the 3 core books and if a DM interprets some text in the books differently that's just as valid.
Crawford's Heat Metal ruling is arguably correct since the spell's text never says you have to stay within range or see the metal object to use the bonus action on subsequent turns. It says you have to be able to see the object to choose it when you cast the spell, but that has no bearing on the spell's other rules after the target has been chosen and the spell's effect has been applied. Whether that was a design goof on the part of Heat Metal's designer is a separate question.
If that is how you are interpreting the rule, then the heat metal spell would end as well since it is maintained by concentration. DMs have the final say in any and all rule decisions. They way I look at it is that if a spell requires concentration to maintain then it ends when you enter the extradimensional space, but if the spell doesn't require concentration then the spell doesn't end because it is now an effect that is affecting a character. This is how I see the rules. In the end ask your DM how they would rule on this matter and that is how you'll play with that DM. Each DM may have a different ruling on the matter.
However, concentration is not the spell. The spell is cast on a particular target. The spell is not on the caster and its target simultaneously. The rules don't have any indication that there is any mystical connection between the caster and the spell's target after it is cast. The only statements are that for the spell to continue the caster must continue to concentrate. The rules on losing concentration are very clear. Passing into an extra-dimensional space does not break concentration. So the spell should not stop. However, spells aren't allowed to cross into the extra dimensional space of Rope Trick. So if the spells target tries to cross then presumably either the spell is prevented from crossing (and thus stopped) or the character is stopped from entering.
Personally, I think it was intended to prevent the casting of spells across the entrance to the Rope Trick ... but that isn't what it actually says.
Rollback Post to RevisionRollBack
To post a comment, please login or register a new account.
Many people use links to Jeremy Crawford’s tweets to back up their arguments about rules. After reading through the Sage Advice Compendium, I often find that some of those tweets didn’t make the cut. I’m wondering how much credence I should put in those tweets.
For example, I’ve been trying to figure out what a 2016 Crawford tweet really means. The tweet was in response to a question about the spell Heat Metal that asked whether the bonus action to cause damage on following turns can be made when the caster is beyond the range of the spell. His answer was a reference to page 203 of the PHB that says “Once a spell is cast, it’s effects aren’t limited by it’s range, unless the spell’s description says otherwise.” By answering the question in this way, he is implying that the bonus action is an effect of the spell and therefore not limited by range without really saying yes or no. It also doesn’t answer whether the bonus action is limited by other requirements of the original casting. Heat Metal specifies that you must be able to see the metal object. Does the bonus action require the caster to still be able to see the object.
Several spells allow you to use an action or bonus action to move the area of effect on following turns. Bigby’s Hand, Flaming Sphere, Moonbeam are examples. If I apply Crawford’s tweet to its most extreme interpretation, a caster could cast Bigby’s Hand 120’ away then move it 60’ farther away and the caster could move away 30’ more. Each of the casters turns, it could repeat this. For Flaming Sphere, the caster could move the sphere 30’ away each turn with a bonus action and use dash to move 60’ feet in the other direction. Presumably the caster could blindly move the sphere around until it hit something, forcing a saving throw if it rammed into a creature.
Since long ranges are seldom an issue in most campaigns, I’m not seeing this as a game-breaking issue but I’m not sure if this is what Crawford really intended to mean. Perhaps there is more explanation to this tweet that I am not finding.
Sage Advice is not official rules. It's Jeremy Crawford's interpretation of the intention of the rules, but it's not official unless it's in errata or an official publication.
https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/894971396018667520
Homebrew Rules || Homebrew FAQ || Snippet Codes || Tooltips
DDB Guides & FAQs, Class Guides, Character Builds, Game Guides, Useful Websites, and WOTC Resources
Also see:
https://twitter.com/JeremyECrawford/status/1089298834491039744
Even a blind squirrel finds a nut once in awhile.
He is in the process of updating sage advice, so there might be more clarity in the next few weeks when he does so. Probably not given the way he tends to respond, but one can hope
If by "official" you mean RAW, then only the published rules and published errata are RAW. Sage Advice is the definition of RAI. It's also worth noting there are several times when Jeremy Crawford has reversed himself or issued contradictory rulings.
"Not all those who wander are lost"
It is also worth noting that on a number of occasions Jeremy Crawford has said that he is giving his interpretation, in the end it's up to the DM at each table to make the final decision.
Found on his personal Twitter:
1. D&D has rules.
2. The DM decides how to use those rules.
3. I sometimes clarify what the rules do and do not say and share what our intent was.
4. The DM still decides how to use the rules.
The rules for D&D are in the books.
The rules applied at any individual table are up to the DM.
Even the Adventurers League resources clearly indicate that the DM can rule how they like on ambiguous things and does not need to consider any other sources beyond the rule books. This includes ignoring Sage Advice. It is, after all, "ADVICE'.
That said, some folks see ambiguity where there isn't really any and some of JCs tweets referring to the rule book are simply saying that the answer is in the book. He repeatedly tells folks that what the spells do is listed in the spell description .. nothing more or less .. and in many cases the problems arise because a particular DM or player imagines the spell working in some specific way and then it doesn't make sense to them.
"Once a spell is cast, its effects aren't limited by its range, unless the spell's description says otherwise." p203 top
This clearly states that after being cast ... range does NOT matter ... UNLESS the spell says otherwise. That is very clear (to me anyway).
Example: Heat Metal
Heat Metal:
"HEAT METAL
2nd-level transmutation
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: 60 feet
Components: V. S, M (a piece of iron and a flame)
Duration; Concentration, up to 1 minute
Choose a manufactured metal object, such as a metal weapon or a suit of heavy or medium metal armor, that you can see within range. You cause the object to glow red-hot. Any creature in physical contact with the object takes 2d8 fire damage when you cast the spell. Until the spell ends, you can use a bonus action on each of your subsequent turns to cause this damage again."
1) The spell has a range of 60 feet WHEN CAST. Spell effects are NOT limited by range.
2) Until the spell ends, you can use a bonus action on each of your subsequent turns to cause the damage again." This ability has NO range constraint. You don't even need to be on the same plane of existence. The spell effect is not limited by range AFTER the spell is cast. A caster, as long as they maintain concentration on the spell for a period of up to a minute can continue to use their bonus action to cause damage.
There is no ambiguity in what is written. The ambiguity comes from thinking about how the spell must work and whether that would constrain it further ... but there are no rules supporting further restrictions. The rules are pretty clear ... range has no effect on on-going effects and the spell description takes precedence. The caster always has the option to take a bonus action to inflict further damage in this case. Of course, if the target teleports away, you have no idea whether your bonus action will be doing further damage since you don't know if a creature is still in touch with it but that does not remove the option of using the bonus action to cause damage if something happens to be touching it.
Bigby's Hand:
"BIGBY'S HAND
5th-level evocation
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: 120 feet
Components: V, S. M (an eggshell and a
snakeskin glove)
Duration: Concentration, up to 1 minute
You create a Large hand of shimmering, translucent force in an unoccupied space that you can see within range. The hand lasts for the spell's duration, and it moves at your command, mimicking the movements of your own hand. The hand is an object that has AC 20 and hit points equal to your hit point maximum. if it drops to 0 hit points, the spell ends. It has a Strength of 26 (+8) and a Dexterity of 10 (+0). The hand doesn't fill its space. When you cast the spell and as a bonus action on your subsequent turns, you can move the hand up to 60 feet and then cause one of the following effects with it."
Again, the hand is initially formed within 120' since that is part of the casting requirement. However, as stated in the rules, range does not apply to subsequent use of the spell. For example, you could cast the spell, cast dimension door to a local cliff top 500' away on the next round and then send the hand on the next round 60' and attack at target. Alternatively, a fighter/wizard with action surge could do it all in one round.
Range also does not affect concentration or spell effects. If you cast hunter's mark on a creature and it dimension doors away ... you will still get the bonus effects from damage when you fire off your long bow at 600' range at the target that is now over 500' away (assuming you can see it).
"Several spells allow you to use an action or bonus action to move the area of effect on following turns. Bigby’s Hand, Flaming Sphere, Moonbeam are examples. If I apply Crawford’s tweet to its most extreme interpretation, a caster could cast Bigby’s Hand 120’ away then move it 60’ farther away and the caster could move away 30’ more. Each of the casters turns, it could repeat this. For Flaming Sphere, the caster could move the sphere 30’ away each turn with a bonus action and use dash to move 60’ feet in the other direction. Presumably the caster could blindly move the sphere around until it hit something, forcing a saving throw if it rammed into a creature."
The answers to all of the examples in your paragraph are Yes, Yes and Yes. All of these spells have movable effects that can be activated on a bonus action or action. None of them have any additional range constraints in the spell description. However, if a caster moves to somewhere where they can not see the spell effect and possible targets then it will be up to the DM to adjudicate how the movement is handled and whether there are actually any targets that can be affected by the movement of the spell or its area of effect.
Anyway, a lot of the questions to Sage Advice are like these ones. The answer is fairly clearly stated in the rule book and folks ask because they have some other way of thinking about it. Since it is very difficult to guess what the other person is thinking (since the answer seems pretty obvious given the written rule) ... it can often be easier to suggest reading the book rather than giving an answer and then trying to argue about why.
------------------
Just as an additional example: Most of the damage cantrips have rider effects
"CHILL TOUCH
Necromancy cantrip
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: 120 feet
Components: V, S
Duration: 1 round
You create a ghostly, skeletal hand in the space of a creature within range. Make a ranged spell attack against the creature to assail it with the chill of the grave. On a hit, the target takes 1d8 necrotic damage, and it can't regain hit points until the start of your next turn. Until then, the hand clings to the target."
This spell can be cast on a target within 120'.
This spell has two effects on a hit:
1) the target take 1d8 necrotic damage
2) the target can't regain hit points until the start of my next turn.
If the target Plane Shifts away ... they STILL can not regain hit points until the start of my next turn. Ongoing spell effects are NOT affected by range.
Also, even if the target is IMMUNE or resistant to necrotic damage, they STILL can not regain hit points until the start of my next turn. The two effects are independent of each other. There is no statement saying IF the target takes the damage then the second effect occurs. However, many folks seem to imagine the damage causing the second effect and don't apply it if the target is immune to the damage. This is a side effect of applying how they think a spell should work rather than what the spell itself says.
In the case of these cantrips like chill touch or ray of frost, they can do a certain amount of damage and a secondary effect if they hit and the secondary effect is not dependent on the target taking damage.
I’m starting to see the reasoning that guides his rulings. It seems like when there are multiple ways of interpreting a rule, choose the simplest interpretation.
So if you apply this reasoning to the Animal Shapes spell, the sentence “On subsequent turns, you can use your action to transform affected creatures into new forms.” means that there is no limit on the range to the affected creatures, any and all affected creatures can be transformed with your action, you can be on another plane of existence and still use your action to transform them.
When you are in the extradimensional space of a Rope Trick spell, you can’t cast spells out. If the spell has already been cast and the caster enters the space, the caster can use the bonus action of Heat Metal to cause the damage again. Is that the simplest interpretation of “Attacks and spells can’t cross through the entrance...” ? If you say that phrase means you can’t use the bonus action, aren’t you saying that it also cancels any spell effects that are on you as you cross the entrance? Does causing damage equal an attack or must it have an attack roll.
I think I need to keep researching this.
I think the easiest way is to read what it says and apply it.
"ROPE TRICK
2nd-level transmutation
Casting Time: 1 action
Range: Touch
Components: V, S, M (powdered corn extract and a
twisted loop of parchment)
Duration: 1 hour
You touch a length of rope that is up to 60 feet long. One end of the rope then rises into the air until the whole rope hangs perpendicular to the ground. At the upper end of the rope, an invisible entrance opens to an extradimensional space that lasts until the spell ends. The extradimensional space can be reached by climbing to the top of the rope. The space can hold as many as eight Medium or smaller creatures. The rope can be pulled into the space, making the rope disappear from view outside the space.
Attacks and spells can't cross through the entrance into or out of the extradimensional space, but those inside can see out of it as if through a 3-foot-by-5-foot window centered on the rope. Anything inside the extradimensional space drops out when the spell ends."
"A spell's duration is the length of time the spell persists."
The above quote from p203 of the PHB indicates that the spell effect is still considered the spell.
Spells like heat metal are cast on a target. If the caster entered a rope trick then they could continue to use the bonus action to cause damage since it is neither an attack or a spell and the spell is still active. However, if a creature/object currently affected by a spell enters a rope trick, that spell would end (or the creature/object would be prevented from entering) since it can't cross the entrance.
Intended? I have no idea :) .. but that is what the rules say.
If that is how you are interpreting the rule, then the heat metal spell would end as well since it is maintained by concentration. DMs have the final say in any and all rule decisions. They way I look at it is that if a spell requires concentration to maintain then it ends when you enter the extradimensional space, but if the spell doesn't require concentration then the spell doesn't end because it is now an effect that is affecting a character. This is how I see the rules. In the end ask your DM how they would rule on this matter and that is how you'll play with that DM. Each DM may have a different ruling on the matter.
Remember this is a game and it's suppose to be fun for everybody. Let's all have fun and kill monsters.
Jeremy's tweets are official rulings - applications or interpretations of the rules. They're official statements about what the words on the page are supposed to mean or how a certain rule was intended to work.
People often turn to Sage Advice in cases where a sentence can be read different ways or when it's not clear whether a particular rule applies; in a sense, Jeremy's an impartial 3rd party and has more insight into the design process of the rules, so his rulings are at least as valid as anyone else's and help quickly settle disputes at the game table. But the official rules are in the 3 core books and if a DM interprets some text in the books differently that's just as valid.
Crawford's Heat Metal ruling is arguably correct since the spell's text never says you have to stay within range or see the metal object to use the bonus action on subsequent turns. It says you have to be able to see the object to choose it when you cast the spell, but that has no bearing on the spell's other rules after the target has been chosen and the spell's effect has been applied. Whether that was a design goof on the part of Heat Metal's designer is a separate question.
The Forum Infestation (TM)
However, concentration is not the spell. The spell is cast on a particular target. The spell is not on the caster and its target simultaneously. The rules don't have any indication that there is any mystical connection between the caster and the spell's target after it is cast. The only statements are that for the spell to continue the caster must continue to concentrate. The rules on losing concentration are very clear. Passing into an extra-dimensional space does not break concentration. So the spell should not stop. However, spells aren't allowed to cross into the extra dimensional space of Rope Trick. So if the spells target tries to cross then presumably either the spell is prevented from crossing (and thus stopped) or the character is stopped from entering.
Personally, I think it was intended to prevent the casting of spells across the entrance to the Rope Trick ... but that isn't what it actually says.